Saturday is D Day for us against Wilton.Some times in football theirs just no explaining why with the talent a team has an the ability they show just why they are in the position they are in.Its just one of those things you just have to try to work through an hope it comes right
.This season hasnt been what were are used to an I'm the first to admit it,but their is still a chance to turn it around an no matter how hard it would be I know that bunch of players will be well up for it Saturday an lookin to try to get some momentum goin down the finishin straight.I know the odds are stacked against us but I fancy the Gratts to win this one.Once a Gratt,always a Gratt
Last edited by littleman; 12/03/2009 at 12:12 AM.
Their's only one Dinny Pop's.
not as easy as some would think down in castle town roche today..went ahead after 5 mins,a powerful header from john betts off a corner and i stayed like that till 25 to go. we totally dominated but over down it regularly trying to walk it in instead of being a bit ruthless.. got the second from lawerence betts again from a corner and paul hogan finished off the scoring with 10 to go. credit to castle celtic who gave it a go and tried to play ball as well.. one of the better 3rd division teams i have seen.. anyway in to the last 16 now tue morning away to mayfield another tough game.
any report on the grattan/wilton game heard grattan were well in it nd might not have been the game that the scoreline suggests
glenthorn had good win in aoh too to set up a cracker of a game versus knockavilla in aoh.. interesting tie for kinsale tomorrow altough they should come thru with ease.. tough one for blackstone too i reckon they will get thru..alls quite on the forum is everyone after being laid off or what!!!!
Delighted to be in the last 8 of the AOH for the first time ever. A tough afternoon, we took the lead midway through the first half when the keeper made one of those errors that every other player on the field gets away with. We were well on top for a spell until the break. They had much more of the second half, and we defended well and had a few chances on the break. They had a corner in the dying seconds and nothing better to see than your keeper plucking it out of the sky. Away to Kinsale next, a tough one, but hey, its cup football and only 8 teams left who can win it and we are one of them.
When will the evening games start? We have minimum 13 games left, could stretch to 20!!
I heard Maymount won 11 and drew 1 in the month of April a few years back.
Littleman didnt ye play 2 games in 2 days last year? What was the story there? Was that a risky one?
ALL TOGETHER NOW - "We love you Dossena, we do"
Horse you first,we did play 2 league games to finish off last season.Kanturk away on Saturday an Ballypheane at home on Sunday.We had half the team goin on holidays the week after so it was a wise move.We had the league wrapped up anyway an a big squad so 2 games in 2 days was handy enough.The Aul didnt have a problem with it either,thought we were a bit mad to be honest.
Leeside an Coachford wasnt played cause the pitch was unplayable????????????????
Well barring a mircle thats us out of the runnin for the league well an true,we took the lead through Harry an looked ok for a victory until a deflected equaliser got Wilton level.We had them under pressure big time after that but their 2nd goal just about summed up our season.A simple ball through our defence,the sweeper had it at his feet guiding it back to our keeper ,the sweeper thought the keeper should come for it an the keeper had other ideas an the center forward chasin ended up havin a simple tap in.Crossed wires of the worst kind.The 3rd though a great strike was the result of another stuipid foul on our side.A goalkeeper with lead in his shoes fell rather than dived,an all this in about 5 or 10 mins at the end.Paul O'Mahony was sent off for a 2nd yellow,stuipid sendin off but the ref couldnt do anything about it,Paul on Wilton scorin took his shirt off,hence the 2nd yellow.We actually played well, Figo was outstanding again an bore the brunt of some terrible tackles.Best we can hope for it that we try to make the best of the rst of the season.When your lucks not in it can all go wrong an we could do with a little bit of luck right now.
I watched the Kinsale game on what must be the worst pitch in junior soccer,brutal an dangerous is all I can say to describe the place.Dillons in fairness were well in the game,they lost their keeper with an injury an that was the difference for me.Twas a good game though an despite the surface it was played at a great pace.
Leeside beat Coachford 1-0 according to Billys website Littleman........
As I said I watched the Kinsale / Dillons game an as we watching it on of the Oscar Traynor management arrived an said he had been down in Leeside an was told the game was off because the pitch was unplayable,weird one cause Leesides pitch is one of the better ones an the weather wasnt that bad.Any Leeside or Coachford people could ye give us an answer.
Leeside 1 - 0 Coachford
Pitch was fine, We had 11 players and Leeside had just a couple more. Only a hand full of 1st team players I'd say ( No offence to anyone playing ) It was a shocking game and one free kick from about 30 yards out evaded everyone on the way in. This was the difference. 3pts for Leeside but not title contenders on this performance....
That makes it a bit easier to understand,Leeside had a few lads away at the races my sources tell me too.
Wilton are going to be very very hard to catch now lads. I'd rather be in their position much more so than ours or leesides. That was a massive victory for them on saturday, i was hoping grattan would do us a favour but unfortunately not. Stil people have it in their own hands. If wilton win all their games, they'll win the league. If we win all our games we'll win at and the same goes for leeside. Gonna be alot to ask though.
Dillons cross pitch is disgraceful to be fair. Nothing against them but my god how do they get away with it? Didn't they welcome regional or some other team from up the country there earlier on in the season? That's embarassing. The bring your own water rule is a disgrace as well. We've got to play them again tomorrow morning on the same pitch!! The game on sunday was poor. We deservedly went one down to a penalty. Got the result in the end and that's what it's all about though. Home to Blackstone in the quarters which will be tricky to say the least. We played ye in a friendly earlier on in the season horse i think but both teams were missing a few.. Looking forward to the game.
We have 6 league games left to play ,Kinsale home an away,Leeside home an away an Glenthorn an Wilton away.Our name aint goin to be on the cup this year but with the games we have left we will have a big say in who gets it.
Someone is goin to get it big time even if I have to tog off meself an drag a result out.We have knowone but ourselves to blame,1 up an comfortable Saturday,as soon as we scored you could see Wilton were rattled,then the concentration goes an we conceed 3 in the 2nd half.Who ever wins will be worthy champs.
A good win for ourselves Sat down in Castletownroche. 3 -0 the end result and we were good for it, there keeper made to other great saves but we were trying at times to walk the ball in to the net.
Mayfield in the morning in the 4th rd of the AOH should be a tough one, read the won 3 nil themselves down in Springfield at the weekend and that isnt an easy place to go.
Anyone know if they play all there games on the astro? Know they played Mallow a few weeks ago on it alright. Its a great facility but in my opionion is should only be used in a emergency/ friendly, think it hinders defenders more so than attackers, I am all for good football but there is also an art to defending and it particilar tackling, which becomes none existint while playing on this surface.
"Build it and they will come"
On that point littleman we have 7 to play ourselves those been Glenthorn, Leeside, Park all twice and Kinsale away so still alot to play for and teams all have to play one an other, I can see yerselves and Park been there abouts for the Mossie, reason been take Kinsale for example in for the the league and the Aoh, games gonna be coming thick and fast maybe a league game Tue Mossie on Thurs and Aoh on weekend they willbe lookin to rest a few and yerselvew I know will be lookin to finish as strong as ye can
"Build it and they will come"
I only ever knew how to play one way,an that was to never give up an you wernt beat till the ref blew the final time.I've won an lost a lot over the years but the biggest one for me was the Aoh final in 1994.We played Passage an honestly it was boys against men.I was 20 an I was captain of the 1st Grattan side to ever reach an Aoh final.Paul Coughlan scored a hat trick for Passage but I was dead set on one thing an that was that the Passage backline wouldnt have it easy on the day an ran meself into the ground start to finish.We were well beaten on the day but I came off the pitch in Turners Cross dejected cause we lost but I had done everything within my power to try to win an that was my consolation.My point is you have to give the effort in every game,no matter what division or opposition an maintain the effort to stay on top,when the effort slips,so dose the form an the rest is history.
If you give your all in tryin to win an you still loose then thats all you could have been asked to give.An theirs no shame in that type of defeat.Of the games I watched this season their wasnt one where I though the opposition were better than us,we had chances in each game to go ahead an pull away but we let those chances pass us by time after time.Again this season for me has been a massive let down but thats football,good times an bad times.
Last edited by littleman; 16/03/2009 at 5:04 PM.
I went to the Superbowl on Sunday - by superbowl I mean the half of the pitch in Clashduv Road closest to the TSB bank! Went out to watch the Greenwood V Blackstone game!! If the Dillons Cross pitch is dangerous that one cant be far off! I can remember a winter cup game out there a few years ago when that half of the pitch was like a pond! Ducks landed in it and all!! Littleman if anyone ever complains about ye're pitch send them to both of those!!!![]()
Mayfield 1-Blarney St. 1(aet)
Blarney st win 4-2 pens
absolutely blessed to get out of mayfield this morning in aoh.. went one down in first half and looked all out of sorts. got one back twenty into the second half thru lawerence betts and then mayfield lost their keeper thru injury and as they had no sub they had to play with 10 men..unfortunetley we could not break them down even though we were camped in their half but it just was not happening for us in front of goal.. into extra time and we were awarded a pen for deliberate hand ball on the line so they were down to 9 men. up stepped our keeper who is our penalty taker and who is normally very dependable but this time he smashed it against the crossbar and mayfield were still in the game..stayed that way for the whole of extra time as we could not put the ball in the goal.. our keeper did save two in the shootout so he redeemed himself but i am one relieved person to get out of their with the win..its a funny old game....
Any truth that the AOH semis are back in the Cross this year?
Heard that too shilts
Blarney Street, Knockavilla, Park Utd. and Kinsale.
Corinthians Cup 2nd Round:
Grangevale 1- 1 Springfield B (Springfield won 4-3 on penalties)
Grangevale bowed out of the Corinthians Cup in the most disappointing fashion on St. Patrick’s Day having being beaten in a penalty shoot-out by 3rd Division side Springfield B.
A number of changes were made to the team that started the last game against Greenwood A with Eric Kennedy, Brian Wade and Colin McKeown all coming into the side for this encounter. Again the bench was strong with numerous first team regulars watching intently from the sideline.
The game started brightly from a Grangevale point of view with the home side settling well. After the initial sparring it became apparent that Springfield would be content with a shoot-out with their goalkeeper in particular taking every opportunity to waste time when the chance came.
Grangevale’s strike force appeared to have broken the deadlock after 22 mins when Danny Meade’s inch perfect cross was met by Jason Martin on the volley rattling the net only for referee Eddie Mullins to rule it out for offside, much to the disapproval of the home team and supporters.
At half time it was still evenly poised at nil all with the Vale having enjoyed the lions share of possession but failing to create the chances that the possession merited. At the back, Ahearn, O’Donovan, O’Sullivan and Burke were coping well with anything Springfield threw at them.
Springfield started the 2nd half with a spring in their step and on 55 mins the deadlock was broken when the Springfield stiker managed to head past Gary Ahearn to put the visitors 1-0 up. The Vale were level 2 mins later courtesy of the left boot of midfielder John Harris, who once again was a man of the match contender for the Vale.
Damo O’Callaghan and Paul Horgan replaced Kennedy and Wade adding fresh legs to the Grangevale wings but unfortunately Springfield’s stubbornness saw the 90 mins elapse with the score remaining at 1-1.
The Vale introduced Eric Maher to the attack in extra time in an attempt to force the issue, but again, although looking the more likely to score, the winner never arrived and following the resultant shoot-out, Springfield emerged victorious on a 4-3 scoreline.