Page 47 of 65 FirstFirst ... 37454647484957 ... LastLast

Thread: Cork AUL 2008/09

41 Posts

Street sense

Fair points all round an you can see the difference between putting your point across with a bit of thought in it as apposed to just ploughin through with whats on your mind.

I'd agree with your thoughts on the current squad we have,our strenght in depth over the last 3 or 4 seasons was always that we could swap players at vital times an really hurt teams ,we never had a set 11,a squad of 18 an everybody played there part.When you look at the players that are absent from last seasons team Lofty,Cans,Jp O'Sullivan,Pa Connors,Danny Dunne,BB,Dricky,Kevin Goldsmith,Deck Gostel you really have to be honest with yourself an say its impossible to achive the same when players like that are gone.

Even still I thought we had a very strong squad this season , some of them are young an at times we have lacked that killer touch in front of goal an especially our ability to play the ball around.We have uncovered a few jems this season in Shane O'Mahony an David O'Leary an have Harry back for good ,hopefully.Dricky should be sorted for next season too so it aint all doom an gloom, a transition period would be the best way to describe it.

Hind sight is a great thing,it allows you to learn from your mistakes an get better for them,everyone has a job to do within a club and a new management with a set group of players will either work or it wont ,you have to let it run its course an not interfear an if you cant you should get out of the way,which I did.

I agree with you on Quinlin,he mixed it up an unsetteled a center half pairing who normal thrive on that kind of thing,but then again the game at that point wasnt goin our way so nothin surprised me.

Babs is class,pure an simple ,the best full back I have ever seen in the Aul by a mile.Postioning an pace,vision he has the lot an he should an could play at a far higher level ,an even if Figo was 100% he would have had a hard time gettin one over Babs,but then thats why Figo is the player he is,hes that good an everyone knows it,one his day he is unplayable for any defence.Figo an even Babs are some of those players we have all seen over the years an thought they were good enough to play pro,but slipped through the system,we could name many more but its just one of these things about junior football isnt it.

With regards to the ref,a word to the wise,Big Brother is watchin??????????
    Last edited by littleman; 05/03/2009 at 7:18 AM.
    Their's only one Dinny Pop's.

Jesus lads i took it for granted that the AUL squad were heading down on the friday night! This is madness surely?! There has to be some other reason for it? Maybe the players didn't enjoy the trip up to roscommon and would prefer to get a good nights sleep in their own beds? This has to be the reason other wise it doesnt make sense.

Anyway Best of luck to all involved and I hope they come back with a winners medal in each of their pockets. Great stage for the lads to show international manager what they can do.

Lads I dont know this babs character yer on about. Why is he not on the AUL team? Defence is the weak part of this team for me. Without Figo though if that is true creativity maybe hard to come by and that piles more pressure on the 2 dereks..

My starting 11 anyway->

O'Regan
    Peelo
    Shinkwin
    O'Sullivan
    Bradfield
    Varian
    Stephen O'Donovan
    Delea
    Betts
    JP Thompson
    McCarthy

4-5-1!

C'mon the Rebels!

41 Posts

Babs = Peelo

Babs an Peelo are the same person.

71 Posts
    I thought the AUL right full was from Kinsale?

Is Figo gone from the panel?

Lots of niggles from the 1-1 draw with Avondale last night, but nothing too serious I dont think.

Surely Big Brother can't use anything that is read on this site? Over the few months I have been on, the vast majority of opinions have been backed up in some way or clearly stated as the persons own opinion.

I havent heard any downright insults of people or committees

This site can only be good for local football. We all share knowledge, and make contacts which can only be good for the game.

41 Posts

Cool Food for thought

Babs is the right back.

Figo withdrew from the squad just prior to the Roscommon game.Hes had a problem with a stomach muscle an felt he needed to be 100% fit for Grattan first as he's captain an any games in which he didnt have to play could be used for R'n'R.Every one is dissapointed not to have him available but his position is totally understandable an i have the highest respect for him makin it .

On the Big Brother situation look lets be honest here nearly everybody on this thread has voiced their dissapointment at the performence of some official over the season.We may not name names but just as an example Horse,we play ye then they know its Blackstone an Grattan,who reffed it it easy to find out an they do talk to each other an they do share info on what clubs are givin more grief than others to refs.This is junior football an if you dont understand what comes along with that tag then you shouldnt get envolved with junior football.Dodgy pitchs,dodgy teams an dodgy refs are all part of the game an you have to be prepared for them whan they come your way.

This site is excellent,the post for the most part can be very entertaining an full of good info .It can be very funny to see the same incident played out in 3 or 4 different ways according to who was watchin an it adds to the banter. In fairness again for the most part we all know if we wanted to find out a little info on what ever rumor is about a word in the right ear on this thread will get you an answer true or false fine an quick.

But if you want to see what happens when the wrong type of person starts to get personal an loose's the plot just check some of the other threads.This is a good thread an we should keep it that way
    Last edited by littleman; 05/03/2009 at 4:33 PM.

Quote Originally Posted by Horse24 View Post
    We were 1 up against WGHill in the quarters of the Michaels Cup with 20 minutes to go in a sticky kinda messy game. The final result was a 3-1 defeat for us. Three goals that we are disapointed to concede. Worse than walking away from a game like that is the Manure fans telling you that the Pool are 2 down with 5 mins to go. The 3 o clock kick offs mean there isnt a second half for us to follow any more!

I didnt realise Pa Connors was with Corinthians - three talented brothers in that clan. Dave came back from OZ and scored the winner for us in Last years City Challenge Cup Final and went back to Oz. A genius of a player. Steven destroyed us another day with Northvilla.

Will Dublin be heavy favourites for Saturday? How long is the drive to Ferrycarrig?

Doug, looked at your division league table - March and 7 of the 10 teams has a genuine shout for promotion. Brilliant
    It's very close alright Horse, we are a point behind Casement with 2 games in hand so hopefully if we can avoid losing we will be still there at the end. Very similar to AUL 3 last year with ourselves, Carrigaline, Leeview, Ballincollig and Wilton all there right up until the end of April..... what a sweat it was!!!! To be honest there doesn't seem to be too much of a difference between the 2nd & 3rd divisions. I reckon there is a definite step up in class to the 1st, we were beaten by yourselves in AOH Cup and by Greenwood last week in City Challenge. Although I thought we gave a good show in both games, to be honest we couldn't complain about either result. Sometimes those games bring you back to reality which is no harm. Have ye played Lakewood in AOH yet??

71 Posts

Doug

Doug, I would agree in a sense at the differences between 1st and 2nd. However, i think it may have to do with you going straight through Div 2. We had 3 or 4 seasons in Div 2, so we dont notice much difference with Div 1. I know our league position shows different, but, it was down to changes in the club/team very close to the season kick off which resulted in a slowish start.

We played Lakewood in one of the starngest games ever. I wasnt there, but we won 5 nil. The funny thing is Lakewood can genuinely say they could have won the game!!!! We scored 3 late on, having used woodwork and line clearances to prtotect our lead.

Greenwood next for us.

All the best for that one Horse, that has the makings of a good game, will be close I'd say

Ok ok Littleman I see your point and apoligise for trying to wind you up I shall stop immediatly!! Wat I was trying to say was seeing it happen and knowing that ye were on for agreat chance down the left with our right back on the floor it drove me mad

Did I read the Echo right you coming on for the Killer B's???

Also on Have any1 been reading Lisa Fallons coloum on the Echo during the week? Lots on the Msl, How its run, Faciltys , Quality of football and today refs, will be watching intentily if she will follow it up on the Aul?

Last but certainly not least Best of luck to the Cork AUl this weekend ye have shown all through this trophy that ye have the mentality and capabilites to win so go out and do it
    "Build it and they will come"

41 Posts

Thumbs up Just cant help myself

That was me alright,it was 4 nil at tha stage an to be honest it wasnt as one sided as the score suggests.Only difference was they took theres an we didnt ,time an time again.I always find it weird that you play a team in the 3rd division that on league form are supposed to be strugglin an they turn up with players that are clearly a couple of divisions better than what their playin an look as good as anythin I,ve sen in Prem A this year,the mind boggles,,,,

On Ms Fallon,please forgive me again but the first few paragraphs durin the week went at great lenght to point out how junior football in Cork was struggling an how senior was doing so well,it then went on to talk about senior this an senior that with all senior managers an talked about junior ????????the very week the Aul reach the final of the Oscar Traynor,,,,,,,,,,,,,whoops one shoud do a bit more reserch me thinks.

The only story this weekend is the game tomorrow,tis in our own hands all we can do is give it our best.With all due respect to the Dubs,theres something special about this group of Cork players.To be behind an dead an buried in so many of the games an to fight back an get to this stage is an incredible achivement.I hope we win because those players deserve there little peice of history,,,,,,,,,,best of luck tomorrow lads we'er all behind you.

myself or Ms Fallon?

oh and the idea is to look at the camera!!!!!!
    Last edited by casilles; 06/03/2009 at 4:46 PM.

Streetwise
    best of luck to the lads tommorow its a one of game and anything can happen
    littleman why didnt you make your comeback a couple of weeks earlier you never know you could have been in. just to let you know its great to see people still togging off like that it restores faith in the game

Thumbs up Oscar - Win

Well done on the great win today even if the squad selection process does baffle me on occasions! You can't ask for more than a win! Maybe a bit more recognition now for the Cork AUL and some players might think again before joining the MSL
    Last edited by olachico; 07/03/2009 at 5:49 PM.

Super Result:

Well done to all the lads. Nice to see Keegan get Man Of The Match. All the years finally paid off. Great to get one over the Dubs

Streetwise
    great result could nt belive itwas 1966 since we last won it now back to the domestics hopefully we can get a good run of games going its hard training knowing theres no game. congrats again to minty and the lads.

fantastic result wasnt able to travel cause of work but by all accounts well deserved. I have been a bit of a critic of this operation before but fiar play to Minty for realising he had to bring a few in.

41 Posts

Oooh me head

Well where do I start an what do I start with.It was unreal to be honest,up in Wexford playin the Dubs,more Cork people than Dubs at it by the way as well.Gratts,Kinsale,Blackstone,Wilton Leeside,an Blarney St too have I forgotten some one well if I have Im sorry.

I'v been envolved in football for God knows how many years but I'v never experienced anything like this in terms of pure self belife.We were totally commited to takin that trophy back to Cork,no matter how many goals we had to get or what we had to do to get it.

The match report can wait till it all calms down in a few days.The Dubs flattered to deceive an scored a goal they didnt really deserve an Paul got an equaliser he totally deserved for the effort he put in,the winner may have been a tad lucky but who cares,we deserved it because anyone could see we wanted that trophy more than the Dubs.We closed them down an ran ourselves to near death just to deny them any space an it worked,Delea knew too well the 1st half wasnt his best but the 2nd he made his own,any one in the backline could have got man of the match to be honest,an Betts too.Brian Sull was absaloutely superb with Shinky an Jason an Babbs in top form.Everyone that started gave all the had an everyone on the bench gave all they could to keep the lads on the pitch goin.The Dubs lost the plot because they had no answere to our energy,when they got past one man another cleared to cover him.

A truly special team,never say die,totally committed to the cause,no bickerin what so ever on the pitch becaue we had to stay focused on the important thing,winning.Back to Brannigans,it used to be called Tipples when I was on the Aul team an a good well earned belt off the bevy.I'll talk soon I'm bait,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,Cork Aul,,,,,,,,,Oscar ,Traynor Champions 2008/9,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,yaaaaaaahhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh hhhhhhhooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo oooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo
    Last edited by littleman; 10/03/2009 at 11:22 PM.

71 Posts

Oscar Traynor

Fantastic win for Cork AUL.

I thought they were on top right throughout, even though the Dubs had a few chances, especially that scary one right near the end.

In a funny way I was disapointed at the Dubs, I thought they would be better. Someone had to point out the player, who is regarded as the best junior player in Ireland. They took off the guy who I regarded as their best player on the day.

The Cork keeper was good throughout. The defence never really were in trouble. A little disapointed at the goal Cork conceded though, the Dub seemed to be no danger out in the wing. The midfield won the battle. Derek Varian was good. Keith Kelleher was unlucky.

Upfront, the two lads looked dangerous every time the ball went up, especially O Shea. He must have went close for Man of the Match.

Even when they were one down, there wasnt the slightest worry in the Cork side. Could they go to the well one more time - Hell yeah!

I believe there was that feeling in this team that you get midway through the season when you know you are going to win something. They didnt show how good they were in stages of games this season, which makes you wonder what they can achieve again next season.

Littleman, I think you might get a POWERful message from streetscene about your list of teams at the match!!!

Wink

cant believe you let us out of the list littleman!!! you obviously cant remember who bought you the last jd and coke sat night
    lads firstly what a result against the dubs and fair play to all involved.man for man they all contributed and worked their socks off and i was delighted that we made the trip up there to support them.it must have been a first to have all the rival club supporters gathered together on the line all supporting the cause.nice for a change
    there was a strong wind which the dubs had at their backs starting off and they had the early pressure but never really created much.few dangerous crosses into the box alright but thankfully there was nobody there to get on the end of them. cork actually done very well against the wind and broke well on occasion in particular varian who carried the ball very well into the dublin half and who won a lot of frees. McCarthy won everything that came his way in the air and o mahony was outstandind playing off him.his constant running and hassling was an inspiration to everyone else and he summed up this cork team for me.the dubs did manage to take the lead after a scramble in the box but even then you felt if cork could get in at half time only one down then they had a great chance. however when o mahony did manage to get on the end of rebound there was a real believe all round us on the line that there was something big on the cards in the second half.this was well discussed in the line at the van for the burgers at half time.......
    however when the the second half started it was a much improved dublin team who took the field.they did play much better football and kept it better and it took cork a while to get up to the pace. however they did come more in to it as the game went on and looked dangerous on the break and when o mahony went on a great run it was only a last ditch tackle that stopped him.however derek delea who had carried on his run into the box was nicely placed to tap the ball into the empty net.2-1 to cork and madness all round.the dubs did come on strong but never created much except one chance which o regan in goal somehow managed to get something on as he dived the other way. after that cork held on well altought he four minutes injury time seemed to last for about ten.
    o regan in goal was solid again and justified his selection,the back four were strong and handled supposedly the best centre forward in ireland very well. the midfield battled hard and broke about even id say while up front o mahony was outstanding and was my man of the match.Mccarty as usual was very good.the subs all contributed
    credit to the manager and his backroom team.some tough decisions had to be made all throughout this campaign and they were never afraid to change things... some tough calls had to be made on sat too and again they got it right.there is a super bunch of lads in this squad and they deserve to be champions.lets just hope its not another 43 years before we see this cup back in cork again. well done to every one

41 Posts

Theres always one

Cheers Horse an to make matters worse he bought me a JD an all in Brannigans.I should be ashamed of myself.Blarney St too were very much in attendence at the game.Saturday night was mental,great craic in Brannigans an no doubt a few good nights to come,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,

Page 47 of 65 FirstFirst ... 37454647484957 ... LastLast