Page 45 of 65 FirstFirst ... 35434445464755 ... LastLast

Thread: Cork AUL 2008/09

71 Posts

Oscar

Players got a text last night about Wexford. Dunno about kick off time.

Lads, is there a date where all yellow cards go back to zero?

As far as I know yellow cards carry on all season,don't think there's a time limit on them,once you reach your max points you'll be suspended and once served back to zero.

71 Posts

My €1.30

In these recession filled times, I saved up all week for my Friday night Echo, only to be disgusted by what I read on my favourite page - The AUL preview.

In the section previewing the MJC game involving our conquerers, a representative of their opponents tomorrow used the word "hammered" in reference to our game. It has prompted me to make a few points:

1) If the person quoted was at the previous MJC game, then he was the only person, including Dungarvan, who saw a hammering. If he wasnt at the game then any football person knows not to judge a game by the scoreline.

2) I always feel the dislike between MSL clubs is not replicated in the AUL, words like "hammering" do not back up that point.

3) The team in question came to our pitch last year, and left having beaten a then second division club 2-1. A hammering?

4) In our 3rd division days, we beat a team representing that club by 7-0. We havent used the word hammering to refer to that game then or since.

5) The person quoted will not be welcome at our home ground, when a team representing his club fulfill a league fixture later this season.

71 Posts

Welcome to Monard

Quote Originally Posted by Horse24 View Post
    In these recession filled times, I saved up all week for my Friday night Echo, only to be disgusted by what I read on my favourite page - The AUL preview.

In the section previewing the MJC game involving our conquerers, a representative of their opponents tomorrow used the word "hammered" in reference to our game. It has prompted me to make a few points:

1) If the person quoted was at the previous MJC game, then he was the only person, including Dungarvan, who saw a hammering. If he wasnt at the game then any football person knows not to judge a game by the scoreline.

2) I always feel the dislike between MSL clubs is not replicated in the AUL, words like "hammering" do not back up that point.

3) The team in question came to our pitch last year, and left having beaten a then second division club 2-1. A hammering?

4) In our 3rd division days, we beat a team representing that club by 7-0. We havent used the word hammering to refer to that game then or since.

5) The person quoted will not be welcome at our home ground, when a team representing his club fulfill a league fixture later this season.
    Up the Rebels against the Deise tomorrow - the worlds shortest war is over!!

Lads does anyone know what time the kinsale game is on sunday?.

Foot.ie! Fixtures always up to date on www.isrscork.com

Sunday 22nd February Kick Off 10-45(unless stated)
    Kinsale V Iorras Aonthaithe Madden Park 12.00 (F Murphy, P Buckley & D O'Mahony)

Cheers lad,thanks for that.I think kinsale could be dark horses in the fai junior cup this year.They seem to be geting good draws and geting homes one's aswell.Does anyone know if they've ever reached the semi's or further before.Best of luck sunday to all cork teams over the weekend.

Cheers big fella. We're eagerly anticipating tomorrows clash. Dont know much about them. Rumours they're a big strong side so we'll be up against it physically. If the day is anything like today we'll hopefully be in for a cracker, weather was fantastic.

Are leeside playing tomorrow as well?! Good luck if so. I think ye will be more than capable of seeing off dungarvan judging by what we saw last week.

Also lads, credit to minty for recognising he needed to bring extra bodies into the aul squad for the last game. Micky forde was drafted as was stephen o'donovan from kinsale. Good management in my opinion.

best of luck to both kinsale and leeside tomorrow from all at blarney street.. hope ye get the right results
    saw grattan and park draw 2-2 today.good game with grattan equalising in injury time. park should have had it wrapped up when their sub managed to hit the post when it seemed easier to score. that would have made it 3-1 but grattan kept pushing and their sub shane o mahony grabbed a point fotr them in injury time
    just heard there that glenthorn were beat 4-0 by everton in mjc. sorry dont have a report just the result. suprising though

Just wondering if anyone knows how the Glenvale v City Wanderers game went today in AUL 2?

Hard luck to kinsale over the weekend.A few shock results in the fai junior cup sunday.Has anyone any report on the Wilton v coachford game?.It looks like wilton have put down a marker for the rest of the league now.They seem to be siting comfortable at the top of the league now with the rest of the league playing catch up!!.

71 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Doug89 View Post
    Just wondering if anyone knows how the Glenvale v City Wanderers game went today in AUL 2?
    Doug it finished 2all. Wanderers a little disapointed having been 2-1 up with ten to go.

Thanks Horse, very tight in AUL 2, probably 5 clubs looking at the top 2 spots, should be interesting, with Alberts folding there are only 16 games - no room for many slip ups.....

Coachford 1 - 3 Wilton

Quote Originally Posted by BigFella 09 View Post
    .Has anyone any report on the Wilton v coachford game?.It looks like wilton have put down a marker for the rest of the league now.They seem to be siting comfortable at the top of the league now with the rest of the league playing catch up!!.

Coming into this game it must be said we were fairly confident of getting a result off the league leaders( especially at home) But it wasn't to be.
    We were on the backfoot from the beggining. For the 1st goal a great run was made from one of Wiltons strikers and left our defence standing, He squared it for the oncoming O Mahony(?) who let fly to lead 1 nil. Stayed that way untill half time. A second half penalty to make it 2 nil. We battled as ever and managed to score. At this stage we were slightly on top but failed to convert anymore chances. A brilliant free kick finished the game as a contest. Finished 3-1, In fairness could have been 5 or 6. They are a fine side and with only 5 games left in their campaign they are looking fairly good.

Cheers junglegym.It looks like it's in their own hands now.The way the table is looking every team must win all their games to catch them and all the top teams must play eachother.I think it will come down to wilton and kinsale in the end with each team having to play eachother,could be a great finish to the season if the fixture holds off until the last game of the year!!.

41 Posts

Invasion of the body snatchers

Bit of a weird weekend on the footballin front lads.

Firstly we had a 2 all draw with Park Saturday an the game hinged on an incident envolving a cocker spaniel,not pullin yer legs honest a cocker spaniel was instrumental in us gettin a point.We played really well in the 1st alf an I dont think Park would have had much to complain about if we had of gone in at the break a few goals to the good but after taking an early lead we let in a slopy goal an faild to convert any of our numerous chances for the remainder of the first half an went in 1 apeice.

In the 2nd half it was as if we swaped bodies with the Park lads an they had all the chances an more of the play an we were the total opposite of what we were in the first half bar the odd break.Park got a well deserved 2nd an looked the more likely to score to be honest.With injury time being played the cocker spaniel came into play,pardon the pun.A Park defender was chasing for the ball with Figo an the dog ran onto the pitch in front of them,the ref blew an stopped play,the dog ran off again an the ref decided to drop the ball much to the annoyence of the Park manager an team,Figo reacted the quicker to the drop an proceeded to run on an cross the ball into Shane O'Mahony who jinked it past the defender an smashed it into the net,The ref blew about 2 mins later an was lucky to get of the pitch alive judging by the way he got roared at by the Park management.Park is never an easy place to go to an you always get a hard game so all in all a point was a fair result.

I went to the Kinsale game fully confident that they would be too strong for Erris.I arrived to be told Kinsale were 1 down an what I saw for the remainder of the game was another dose of the body snatchin goin on.Erris actually played like you would have expected Kinsale to play an Kinsale were poor.The Erris keeper kicked the ball like knowone I have ever seen in my life,it was riduclous how far he was kickin it.Kinsale had a great shout for a peno at the start of the 2nd half but the ref was havin none of it,but then again he was very poor on the day.He let the game break down into a kickin game where you could see someone was goin to get hurt an more often than not someone did.How this game finished without a red I dont know.

As long as I've been watchin Kinsale play they were always one of the best defensive sides I have seen.Especially good in the air an very tight when defendin but Saturday was an off day.The 2nd goal was a terrible goal to give away.Both keepers has a part to play in it but the Kinsale keeper got no help from his back line who never reacted to his mistake.The Erris keeper hit another Howitzer from just outside his 18 yard area.It sailed towards the Kinsale goal,he tryed to tip it over it I think but made a hash of it an tipped it onto the bar,the Erris lad ran in an bundled it in then.

Kinsale had the better of the 2nd half but time an time again the delivery from out wide was terrible an even worse when they had Erris stretched at the back.The 2 Dereks are top strikers but if they can't get the right service then Kinsales chances of scoring go out the window,as it did Saturday.Its a pity because when you look at whats left in the competition then Kinsale would of had as good a chance as anyone if they could have overcome Erris to go all the way.A painful defeat but at least they have the league and Aoh to look forward too.
    Last edited by littleman; 24/02/2009 at 11:16 AM.
    Their's only one Dinny Pop's.

Quote Originally Posted by littleman View Post
    Bit of a weird weekend on the footballin front lads.

Firstly we had a 2 all draw with Park Saturday an the game hinged on an incident envolving a cocker spaniel,not pullin yer legs honest a cocker spaniel was instrumental in us gettin a point.We played really well in the 1st alf an I dont think Park would have had much to complain about if we had of gone in at the break a few goals to the good but after taking an early lead we let in a slopy goal an faild to convert any of our numerous chances for the remainder of the first half an went in 1 apeice.

In the 2nd half it was as if we swaped bodies with the Park lads an they had all the chances an more of the play an we were the total opposite of what we were in the first half bar the odd break.Park got a well deserved 2nd an looked the more likely to score to be honest.With injury time being played the cocker spaniel came into play,pardon the pun.A Park defender was chasing for the ball with Figo an the dog ran onto the pitch in front of them,the ref blew an stopped play,the dog ran off again an the ref decided to drop the ball much to the annoyence of the Park manager an team,Figo reacted the quicker to the drop an proceeded to run on an cross the ball into Shane O'Mahony who jinked it past the defender an smashed it into the net,The ref blew about 2 mins later an was lucky to get of the pitch alive judging by the way he got roared at by the Park management.Park is never an easy place to go to an you always get a hard game so all in all a point was a fair result.

I went to the Kinsale game fully confident that they would be too strong for Erris.I arrived to be told Kinsale were 1 down an what I saw for the remainder of the game was another dose of the body snatchin goin on.Erris actually played like you would have expected Kinsale to play an Kinsale were poor.The Erris keeper kicked the ball like knowone I have ever seen in my life,it was riduclous how far he was kickin it.Kinsale had a great shout for a peno at the start of the 2nd half but the ref was havin none of it,but then again he was very poor on the day.He let the game break down into a kickin game where you could see someone was goin to get hurt an more often than not someone did.How this game finished without a red I dont know.

As long as I've been watchin Kinsale play they were always one of the best defensive sides I have seen.Especially good in the air an very tight when defendin but Saturday was an off day.The 2nd goal was a terrible goal to give away.Both keepers has a part to play in it but the Kinsale keeper got no help from his back line who never reacted to his mistake.The Erris keeper hit another Howitzer from just outside his 18 yard area.It sailed towards the Kinsale goal,he tryed to tip it over it I think but made a hash of it an tipped it onto the bar,the Erris lad ran in an bundled it in then.

Kinsale had the better of the 2nd half but time an time again the delivery from out wide was terrible an even worse when they had Erris stretched at the back.The 2 Dereks are top strikers but if they can't get the right service then Kinsales chances of scoring go out the window,as it did Saturday.Its a pity because when you look at whats left in the competition then Kinsale would of had as good a chance as anyone if they could have overcome Erris to go all the way.A painful defeat but at least they have the league and Aoh to look forward too.
    Littleman,
    I heard a rumour from Grattan that Figo had told the Park lad that he was going to knock the ball back to the Park keeper and instead done a sneaky cross.
    Not judging, cute boy if he did.

41 Posts

Ruff justice

To be very honest the ref told the 2 lads he was goin to drop the ball between them an that enraged the Park lads.The Park player asked Figo what he was goin to do an Figo told him he was goin to play on as he didnt see why he shouldnt as we were as angry about it as they were.But the Park player maintained (an this is the funny part) that the dog was belong to a Grattan supporter an there fore we should give the ball back to them.The ref nearly fell over with laughter an told him to cop on an as I said just droped it an Figo reacted quicker.

I have no problem in admitting that Park were the better side in the 2nd half,but we should of had them dead an buried in the 1st so again 1 point apeice was fair.A game last 90 plus minutes an if you switch off you get what you deserve,Figo only put the ball in the box,Shane O'Mahony still had it all to do an took it with an unbeliveable turn an finish.I know hes only 18 but he will be some talent if we can hold on to him.

The game itself was a bad tempered affair an the ref who I have a high regard for didnt stamp his authority on it at all.I have no problem with Park but Saturday some of there players went out to hurt our players an thats a fact,the tackle on our sweeper in the 2nd half was a straight red in anyones book,a disgrace.An lettin it go only added fuel to the flames on both sides.John Kelleher is an unbelivable talent an performs on a level well above junior an draws an awful lot of bad challanges,an Park couldnt handle him in the 1st half an got more an more physcial on him as the game wore on.He is not a diver,nor dose he feign injury.He takes an awful lot of punishment week inweek out from players who are not big enough to admit there not up to his standard an the fob it off by sayin he goes down easy.

I have spoken to refs over the season who actually told me that they dread doin our games because they rekon Figo is just too good an some of the challanges he takes border on assualt.I'm not sayin skillful players should get extra protection but goin the other way they shouldnt be the target for abuse either.

As for the potential league winners I will use experience an say there are too many big games left to say whos goin to take it.What I do know is Wilton are at the minute on top an as it was pointed out already whoever wants to win it will have to put some run together.

Wilton have to play Leesdie,KinsaleGlenthorn I think an then us ,twice.Now if they are still on top at the end of that lot then they deserve to be champs.But I dont think it will pan out like that.
    Their's only one Dinny Pop's.

Foot.ie!

Quote Originally Posted by Horse24 View Post
    Doug it finished 2all. Wanderers a little disapointed having been 2-1 up with ten to go.

was at the game and have to say that wanderers were lucky to be in at half time, glenvale hit the post and missed a few chnces. wanderers scored from a questionable free kick, even though the young lad scored it from about 30 yds, and the 2nd was miles offside but to be fair the ref was poor for both teams. glenvale got back into it and sored in the last 5. even though from what i saw of the game they should have been disappointed that they didnt take their chances. have to agree that that the 2nd division is anyones at the moment....

Page 45 of 65 FirstFirst ... 35434445464755 ... LastLast