Page 38 of 65 FirstFirst ... 28363738394048 ... LastLast

Thread: Cork AUL 2008/09

Paul got 2 goals took his 1st very well great finish. Brian Sull took the last for Cork and O Regan saved the Wexford Pen. Shinky had earlier missed hit the cross bar but the Wexford fella done the same it was 4-4 after 5 spotters
    "Build it and they will come"

First semi final in 8 years

Not bad for a team that is doubted so much on this thread, think there is a really good squad paddy o regan is the best keeper in the league, well he doesnt have much competition!!!!!!
    shinkwin,john kelleher d mccarthy and derek varian are quality
    brian sull the centre half saw him score a great goal against blarney street when he lobbed the fat keeper!!! berba esque
    fair play to the lads probably prefer to get roscommon, tipp will be very strong

Cheers for that.I have to disagree about the best keeper in the league!!.The wilton keeper is unreal,i've seen him loads of times and can't understand how he's not the aul keeper.He has played semi pro in italy.How many keepers in the aul can say that!!

41 Posts

in safe hands

The wilton keeper is top class alright but unfortunatley has a short fuse.He was rather harsly treated by the Aul management last season an lost the plot with them in the dressin room before the game down in Skib last year.Hence his ommision from this years panel,never a good thing to tell a manager what you think of him ,especially in a room full of his players.

On Sundays game sometimes the result is all that matters an not so much the how.We got there,it wasnt pretty in places but we are in the semis an with nothin to fear.We have played 3 games in which we looked dead an buried an turned it around.That for me says a lot about the spirit in the camp.Its pointless blowin holes in it at this stage.Wexford played very well,especially with 10 men an credit must go to Cork for a well deserved win.We battled very hard at times just to carve out a chance an players who have all the ability in the world just struggled a bit to find time an space during a first haf that was played at 90 miles an hour.

It just wasnt Figos day an even he cant be brilliant in each game,Betts put in an honest hard shift but a broken nose will get in the way of most players.Keegan I thought played well an his switch was just down to Broadfield bein a peno taker,managers decision an again I think he called it right.The startin 11 was strong,they didnt all play well but we are lucky we have a bench to make an impact which they did.All round we ave to be happy.If all our big players have a day on which they all play well then we could very well see the Oscar Traynor down in Rebel HQ this year.
    Last edited by littleman; 21/01/2009 at 6:15 AM.
    Their's only one Dinny Pop's.

I have to say Littleman i agree with you on 99% of it but as iv said before bar 2/3 on the line we were fairly thin. Both Bradfield and the young fella Gally are 2 left backs????? and Bradfield would not have seen action if not for pens, so the question I ask is why the need for Gally?

Berba it was a great goal scored by Brian on our fat keeper but that jersey he has is a size small and he aint no 32" waist
    "Build it and they will come"

Are Douglas hall in the Cork AUL League? If so any chance of a league table or any info on them?

I know what your saying lad but he's to good not to be included no matter what happened.What I heard was that he was told he was going to be starting down there an he was left on the line.Who wouldn't be ****ed off!!.I've seen the sub keeper from grangevale is it against wilton in a friendly an he was shocking.Surely if you want to win you need the best 11.Thats just my view on it!!.

71 Posts

Oscar Traynor/Douglas Hall

Lads, I had to leave at full time the other day having made the pronouncement after 85 minutes that Cork had fallen behind once too often! Shows what I know!!

I am involved with a team who are 1st division this year for the first time, so the only two teams I have experience of are Leeside and a bit of Blarney Street. I hope I dont offend anyone with my opinions. So my opinions are based on those games and the two Traynor games.

I have seen the game in Blarney and the game in Mayfield, and, honestly, the only guy who was better the other day than in Blarney was the left winger Derek (never know which is which) Varian/Mc Carthy. I was suprised to learn afterwards the keeper got man of the match, when you could harshly blame him for the 1st two goals. I thought the defence looked a little uncomfortable.The Wexford no. 9 was good, and his late substitution back-fired on them.

Anthony Buckley dominated against Kerry, but seem subdued the other day. Derek Delea was probably my man of the match, though he seemed less effective when he moved back. He was brilliant against us last year in the FAI.

Figo gave the manager the horrible problem of whether to substitute a guy who can change a game in a second just because he is having a slightly off day. He was magic in Blarney against Kerry.

I dunno if you can say the bench had nothing when they changed the game. With complete family bias, our unused player is good enough. Like any good player, he is unhappy being on the bench but respects the managers decision and cheers his team-mates on.

On the keeper with the small jersey, I have personal experience of him breaking our hearts...and he knows I wont forgive him!!

On the Douglas Hall thing, put Munster Senior League into google or try www.corkaul.com

41 Posts

callin it as it is

casilles you may be confusin Anthony Peelo with Darren Galvin.Peelo play right back Sunday an is an ex Gratt,Galvin plays as outside left with us at the minute,they were both on the same minor team with us.Galvin was wanted by the Aul but declined due to work commitments,he is very highly rated an his name came up in conversation again Sunday if I'm bein honest.

The Kinsale lad is a good honest player an gives 100% but what started before him in the back line was just about as good as it gets in the Aul.T'is easy for us to say Brian Sull didnt play well but its the small things we miss an the big ones we pass comment on.Shinkwin stood out again but Brian covered him an his full backs each time.The one time he misread the bounce of the ball they scored.The other 2 goals had more to do with the shockin display form the ref.I thought both penos were dodgy, there 2nd goal when he himself was inside the 18 yard box an fairly central he needed a lines man 25 yards away an to his right to make the call for the goal.There were at least 2 players an a goalkeeper in the linesmans way so for me the ref bottled it big time.

I dont think that the backline were poor,just they didnt get all the cover they should have from the midfield.The manager has a very difficult job an in tryin to accomidate some of the more skillful players we have ,the set up of the team may be suffering.A settled side has its midfielders center /right an left an it has a set shape to it.The players know there jobs an do it well,but playin forwards as wingers is great goin forward but from a defensive point of view it can leave your butt hangin out.Thing is if I was in charge I'd probably do the same thing because if he picked a more settled side he'd have less flair.Figo,Varian Macarthy ,Delea even the lad O'Mahony who got a brace,who starts the next game,even harder who dosent.Rather his problem than mine thankfully.You find a lot at this level that subs can be roled on rather than too quickly rather than movin a player to another position an I thought Sunday this was eveident as well. Delea seemed to have somewhat of a free role Sunday an though he worked hard the end result could have been better,A switch with Figo rahter than a substatution imo would have been a better move,but Im biased please forgive me.

Varian was excellent going forward but goin the other way he let Peelo on his own too much.Figo was the opposite,he rarely got forward .Betts is a very good player an Buckly though aging can still do a job at this level but we lack someone who will boss a game an be verbal,checkin team mates an beltin out orders for example.As a team we can be too nice,sometimes a few yellows can be worth it because it unsettles the opposition.They think feck this this crowd are really up for this an mroe often than not you have the upper hand.Of the 3 games we have played this one was probably our overall poorest performance.The 2 nd half of the Limerick an Kerry games were top class.But we still won.We can only as a team get better an I think Sundays win will have done the confidence of the players the world of good.Our biggest proble is havin the belife that we are as good as anything out there.We suffer from it in every national comp an I dont see why we should.We have beaten a Kerry side that was practically a league of Ireland 1st division side,a typically very strong Limerick side in there own back yard an again a very strong Wexford side,we have every right to be confident.

Quote Originally Posted by maestro View Post
    Are Douglas hall in the Cork AUL League? If so any chance of a league table or any info on them?
    No that Douglas Hall side are in the Munster Senior League - Junior Section. Pretty impressive that their 2nd team is into the last 32 of both FAI junior and MJC
    http://www.douglashallafc.com/mslj2008.html
    ”That should be NO problem for the defence – OH NOOOO!!”
    George Hamilton...
    http://www.innishvilla.com

dont douglas hall also have a team in 1st division aul????

Quote Originally Posted by streetscene View Post
    dont douglas hall also have a team in 1st division aul????
    They do but that's not the team in the MJC or FAI...
    ”That should be NO problem for the defence – OH NOOOO!!”
    George Hamilton...
    http://www.innishvilla.com

41 Posts

Douglas Hall MSL Juniors

There Msl juniors knocked Leeside out of either the Fai or Mjc.I think its the 3rd time they done it to Leeside,bogey team an all that.Na fair is fair they as junior teams in Cork are a very good side.

was at this game on sunday and have to say well done to all involved for a great result.as already said the performance was not the best but is this not the sign of a good team that wins matches when not playing to their potential. altough they were not brillant neither were they poor. for me there are two things people are forgetting.firstly this wexford team were no pushovers. they were a very organised and dogged team who deserve a lot of credit for their performance. after all there was only a penalty kick in it at the end. secondly in my opinion the syntethic pitch makes a huge difference especially if your team has flair players.the bounce of the ball is different and the pace of the game is slower. those watching the game with me on sunday all noticed the amount of free kicks and corners on both sides which failed to clear the first man. this is purely down to the kicker not been able to get his foot under the ball like he would on grass. of course i know this is the same for both sides but maybe it does explain why both varian and figo both had quite days by their own standards
    as always the selection of players both on the pitch and on the bench will allow debate. for me i dont think we can question it while the lads are doing the business on the pitch. the back four for me could have been better but as littleman said they also could have got more help. brian sull did get caught for the first goal but settled down after that.was suprised with keegan at left back but he was solid throughout and used the ball well as did peelo on the right who had his hands full with their no 11.shinkwin was shinkwin so enough said there. buckley and betts will have better days in the middle. a broken nose could account for betts not being his dominant self while buckley tried hard it just wasnt happening in there. for me delea should be in there with someone a bit more direct playing off McCarthy up front.
    thought the 3 subs who were brought on all made a huge impact so question marks over the bench are again un justified. o mahony in particular brought a freshness up front with his pace and his finishing was top class.credit must go to the manager for making the changes
    what did impress me last sunday was the commitment shown from the cork side. they really dug in and worked hard as shown by the fact they scored their 3 goals against a very strong breeze and at times when questions were being asked of them. there seems to be a good bond amonst them judging by their celebrations at the end.(also by some of the moves they were pulling on the dancefloor of havana browns sunday night) but thats for another day.this should stand to them in the rest of the competition.well done to all

big fella i see your arguement about a cork team never winning the fai and you use carrick utd as an example of what we are up against but carrick were also in mjc last year when leeside won it. so i would have to disagree with you on that. admittedly it would take an exceptional cork team to do it but i for one dont think we are that poor a league. its all on the day i think. i for one honestly expect kinsale to get through to the next round and who is to know after that.down in the fort and playing well they would give any junior team a game.

I know what your saying lad but you have to remember they won the fai last year an got to the last 32 of the fai senior cup.They had won the munster junior cup already an from talking to lads involved with the team it wasn't really there main aim!!,an regards to kinsale a very good side with very good players but it was nearly the same carrick side who beat them in kinsale when they hadn't been beaten at home in nearly 2 years at the time.Don't get me wrong I think cork aul is one of the most competetive leagues but just lacks something,more than likely down to msl!!!.

big fella i agree with the majority of what your saying and the msl is definetley the reason why that trophy has been absent from leeside for so long. but i also believe that if carrick played kinsale this year then you just dont know. a lot of it is on the day. a team of carricks level can always have an off day too so you have got to have belief

True but just to say again these teams don't have that many off days thats why they win the fai cups home or away!!!.Who do you think will win the aul this year?.

in my opinion the aul premier league is between 3 teams this year. wilton have led the way all year with kinsale breathing down their necks. for me it is one of these altough glenthorn are still involved but they have a lot of games in hand if i had to pick one i would have to go with kinsale simply cause they have been there before and have the experience.. should be close though as there is not much between the 3 sides.. who are you tipping

I fancy wilton if they can keep it going until the end.They're alot stronger than last year.They've brought in a few new players an look good.I can't see really any faults in the team from the back to the front two.Pakie o connor was one of the top goal scorers last season an he can't get his place just shows they've a strong side.Just be a good end to the season with kinsale an wilton left to play each other.

Page 38 of 65 FirstFirst ... 28363738394048 ... LastLast