Havent seen these in a while so

Saturday 10th January Kick Off 2 pm.
    Murphy’s Irish Stout AOH Cup 2nd Round:
    Park Utd “A” v Churchvilla....Park

Premier League:
    Blarney St Ath v Coachford ......Street
    Wilton Utd v Grattan Utd ....Draw

Sunday 11th January Kick Off 10-45(unless stated)

Munster Lucozade Sport Junior Cup 4th Round:
    Killumney Utd v Carrick Utd......Carrick

Grangevale v Blackstone Rovers ......Grangvale just
    UCC “B” v Kinsale “A”.....Kinsale at a canter
    Murphy’s Irish Stout AOH Cup 3rd Round:

Knockavilla v Leeside “A” Big 1 heading out & i say Knockavilla to advance

Murphy’s Irish Stout City Cup 2nd Round
    Glenvale v Grattan Utd “B” Revenge??? Glenvale to go on

Murphy’s Irish Stout County Cup 1st Round:
    Leeside “B” v Kinsale “B” 2 big clubs "B" teams- Leeside
    Springfield “A” v Macroom “B” Springfield

League 1A
    Glanworth Utd v Glenthorn Cel ..Glenthorn
    Last edited by casilles; 08/01/2009 at 7:00 PM. Reason: alll over the place
    "Build it and they will come"

41 Posts

Good enough or what

Well it depends on what your understanding of form is.90 mins,2 games ,half a season or more.The players I mentioned are form players for me based on how they have performed in the past say 3 seasons.True they,or at least some of them not be hitting A 100% at the minute but for them its only something they have to work through an they will so sorry Casislles but the players I mentioned are or have been consistant for the last 3 or 4 seasons bar the odd blip for there clubs.Thats what draws the attention to them.The Aul squad is picked on form an is bascially a roll of the dice because the players dont get much time to get used to playin with each other before each game.

I dont know if you are aware of the Irish junior set up but its run really well an a million miles form the Aul Oscar set up.The players selected for the squad will, if they reach the final squad have at least a half a dozen weekend training sessions (Fri/Sat with full time pro training staff,weight assessed,diet ect,,)under there belt an a few warm up games.An average player who has hit a purple patch will struggle at a level like this an the players I mentioned with all due respect are in no why shape or form average players.
    Their's only one Dinny Pop's.

Quote Originally Posted by casilles View Post
    Littleman on the the signing of Shawzer and Johnny Mc, 2 hard working ,honest ,good footballers and if villa had a few more like them they would have been challenging.

On the subject of the call ups to the irish team , how can you say on pure form to the mentioned players when ye have been quite clearly stuggling? not a dig just a fact?

A few games this weekend to look forward too
    i've played with shawzer and seen him a lot for villa last year and could never understand why he was never picked for the AUL team. Maybe Villa weren't a fashionable club. Hopefully with Grattan he'll get more recognition and a call up next year.

Himself and John Betts were always a great partnership when they played midfield together

[quote=casilles;1083274]Saturday 10th January Kick Off 2 pm.
    Park Utd “A” v Churchvilla.. Park Utd

Premier League:
    Blarney St Ath v Coachford .. Coachford
    Wilton Utd v Grattan Utd .. Grattan

Killumney Utd v Carrick Utd.. Carrick

Grangevale v Blackstone Rovers .. Blackstone
    UCC “B” v Kinsale “A”.. Nice easy one for Kinsale

Knockavilla v Leeside “A” .. Leeside

Glenvale v Grattan Utd “B” .. Glenvale

Where do Kilumney play or is it switched ????
    Kinsale have a great chance of getting to quaters of fai or will they go one better than Grattan ???
    Who was the last team before Gratttan to get that far???

[quote=berba;1083775][quote=casilles;1083274]Saturday 10th January Kick Off 2 pm.
    Park Utd “A” v Churchvilla.. Park Utd

Premier League:
    Blarney St Ath v Coachford .. Blarnet St
    Wilton Utd v Grattan Utd .. Wilton

Killumney Utd v Carrick Utd.. Carrick

Grangevale v Blackstone Rovers .. Blackstone
    UCC “B” v Kinsale “A”.. Kinsale

Knockavilla v Leeside “A” .. Leeside (aet)

Glenvale v Grattan Utd “B” .. gratten b

i think kilumney are using ballincollig school pitch this weekend berba but not definite.. get confirmation on this.. would hate to send you on a wild goose chase especially after you predicted against us again..

looking at fixtures for weekend i see glenthorn a have no game again this week.. by my reckoning that leaves them with only 5 league games played up to know which i think could be a distinct advantage for them in the long run.. is this fair? i know last week they had no game either and they started off the season behind eveyone as they had no pitch..when you consider they have no fixture this weekend,the aul are playing next weekend and the mossy is due to begin the week after then it could well be feb before they play another league game.. considering wilton will have 11 played after this weekend then that leaves them with a lot of games in hand.. throw in the fact that it looks like there will be no relegation from the premier this year then that puts them in a very strong position..i know they are going well in the cups but so are we for example and we still have 9 played this weekend.. i also know there is the argument that they have to go out and win all these games but i just wonder will teams give a damn around april/may with no relegation.. i know this is probably not their fault but i find it strange that the aul are letting them have lot of weekends with no games.. anyone shed any light on this.. is it an advantage or disadvantage to have so many games in hand? any opinions

Well i think it depends on how they do in the cups in the near future. From past experience when we have had to play 3 games or more in the space of 8days in may it can be really difficult. Games in hand are all well and good but points on the board are what's vital regardless of who the opposition is and whether or not there fighting for places. Often the battle is against themselves. Whether you can fight off the niggly injuries and whether or not players can pick themselves up and get motivated for game after game. Especially if they get a poor result and pick up an injury or two. It can become extremely difficult.

We had a good result last weekend but have a tough assignment in the next round. Nenagh are a top class outfit who regularly win their own league so we wont be taking any thing for granted and underestimate them. There is nothing like the buzz of an Fai junior cup game though. Totally different experience to anything else. Kinsale made it to the last 16 5 years ago but were beaten by a classy carrick team down in Charles fort that day. To match that this year would be fantastic but we'll have to wait and see. I wont be as cocky as the Westport posters were on the Fai junior thread! Would love to have seen them get beaten. Hard luck dillons cross.

Plenty of movement on the northside of the city with players hopping clubs like no tomorrow. Good luck to all and their new clubs. On the Grattan slump at the moment all i'll say is that form is temporary and class is permanent. They have proven it before and will do again i have no doubt. Losing mark o'sullivan will be a blow though. Having the league as the only thing to concentrate on could be both a blessing and a problem. It may mean your up for every game and will get results to match or it could go the other way and if you dont get the results players will lose interest and follow others out the door.

I know this is going back a bit but seeing that casilles brought it up again i think it's ok for me to mention.
    "Derek McCarthy is a smashin player but when you reach the quaters of the Fai every team has 2 Derek McCarthys so the standard is very high".

I've been around a bit and have seldom seen any player to match him. If only every team at the quarter final stage had two derek mc's, our amateur side would be unbeatable. Cant believe you mentioned half the grattan team and didn't include this man in your list of players worthy of a call up!! I know it's all about opinions but keep them realistic!

bog firstly well done on last week and i reckon ye will take nenagh if ye play to potential on the day.. would have to agree with ya about mr . mcarthy.. in my own opinion he is probably only other player in our league who could push that squad.. the man is a class centre forward.. i see littlemans arguement too but just dont think those mentioned are at that level.. watched two of them play senior league a few years back and they both struggled to be fair.. i know they have improved and have been oustanding for gratten last 2 years so maybe they deserve a trial at least.. i hope the management stick to their word and arrange a trial match for people on the fringes..
    any chance you could settle an arguement here and tell us what age derek mcarthy is and did he ever play msl

As far as I remember he played MSL for avondale either last year or the year before. Won an intermediate cup medal with them.

Not sure what age. 26/27 id say. He moved to Avondale the season before last for 6months and won an FAI intermediate cup medal. Even stood out at that level from all reports.. Just think he deserves recognition.

All games called off this morning at the farm. So that was us and UCC b and Wilton Grattan.

41 Posts

Norrie News

Sorry lads but not meaning to coin a phrase Mr Wind blew our chances of getting our season back on track on Sunday by preventing us form leaving our game against Wilton to go ahead.We trained hard all week an the management had difficult decisions to make because we had 18 players available for selection.I would hope that sends out a message to all that the reports of our demise are somewhat exaggerated an we have despite Billy"Sky News"Lyons depiction of our current position on Fridays Echo no intention of throwing in the towel,an thats official.The only dissapointing thing for us now is that we wont have any sort of game now till Feb,the Aul game next week an a free weekend due to a game in England takes care of the rest of January.Streescene as you pointed out games in hand are grand but you have to win them an with the amount of teams with irons still in the fire so to speak with regards to winning the league then for me tis still wide open.I watched the Street put another 3 points on the board against Coachford side that should be praying Ballypheane pull out because if they dont there as good as gone going on what I saw.

Some very good points being raised at the minute especially with regards to the Glenthorn thing.I do find it a little funny that the situation with there pitch has been let to run on for so long.I can totally understand them being protective of it but why have they not been just given an away game just to rack up games ????

Bog I think if you look again you will see I mentioned the 2 Dereks from Kinsale in my post about possible call ups.With regards to my comment about the quality of forwards in the last 8 of the Fai I personally think its a fair point.I may regard the Aul very highly an indeed my own team,yourelves an a few othersin our league/Cork highly as well but I would'nt try to kid myself or anyone else by thinking we have become as strong as the top 6 or 8 sides in the country.We as a league have only 1 side(yourselves)in the last 32,thats not good enough,not by a mile.This time last year we had 4 or 5 if Im correct at least.

As you yourself Bog pointed out,it would be an unbelivable success for ye to reach the last 16,that for me is the rock we perish on in Rebel HQ.The top sides enter to win the Fai an I dont mean that ye havnt either but I'm just being realistic .If at the start of the season you were told that ye would be capeable of either winning the Fai or reaching the last 16 what would you have thought the more possible scenario was,being perfectly honest.2 seasons ago we were 12 mins away from a 2/1 win to advance to the semis but we didnt have enough confidence to play the game out,we couldnt belive we were even in the last 8.Last season against Castlebar we again had the oppertuinity to advance to the last 8 but again with us 1 nil down we got a peno against 9 men,Figo lost his head an got sent off before the peno was took an Jp scored to equalise.Brian Sull was man enough to step to take what would have been Figos peno in the shootout an the rest is history.Again confidence from competing at that level year in year out,we lacked an it cost us.I think as a league an indeed clubs there is a little improvement each year but just not enough for us to make a bigger impact.Again as I have pointed out our Oscar side needs to be playing in the finals an winning there own competition an we as clubs need to be making a bigger impact in the Fai to warrant us being in the top teir of junior football.
    Last edited by littleman; 12/01/2009 at 12:37 PM.

71 Posts

Billy Lyons

Littleman, a bit harsh on Billy Lyons in my opinion. He slates us all, but, he does it with no agenda. He just says what he thinks.

Imagine our leagues without Billy Lyons - the year he was missing showed us what life may be like without him. It will take a few people to cover him, and I dont know if we will find a person or persons who will give up their whole weekend for the league.

As an opinion from an outsider looking in on the junior international team, I do think the geographical situation comes into it. You need to be a better player to get attention outside Dublin, or, as you stated, do well in the national cup.

I suppose its like any selection team, there will always be the opinion that they dont look enough at whats below the surface - ie away from Dublin, or lower leagues in the Cork AUL case.

41 Posts

Taken out of context

Sorry Horse if it seemed that I was commenting in a negative way about Billy.I would never do so as I have the highest respect for all that he dose for the Cork AUL an more so our clubs.Billy Lyons is probably one of the most hardworking people involved in Junior football in the country.I just used the Sky remark because hes the nearest thing we have to it.

Some very good points being raised at the minute especially with regards to the Glenthorn thing.I do find it a little funny that the situation with there pitch has been let to run on for so long.I can totally understand them being protective of it but why have they not been just given an away game just to rack up games ????

Just to clarify this matter can I say that anytime the pitch has been unplayable the match has been called off - for both teams

I have walked the pitch several times on a Friday evening and known that games would be off on the saturday/sunday - not my call to make though

I dont think too many premier games have been called off for the first team though - i'm open to correction on this .

In fact I was at a friendly game between Glenthorn A and Innishvilla on Saturday in St Aidans and people were complaining about having no league matches - they just havent been any league fixtures for them as far as i can work out

71 Posts

Norries

Quote Originally Posted by littleman View Post
    Sorry Horse if it seemed that I was commenting in a negative way about Billy.I would never do so as I have the highest respect for all that he dose for the Cork AUL an more so our clubs.Billy Lyons is probably one of the most hardworking people involved in Junior football in the country.I just used the Sky remark because hes the nearest thing we have to it.
    Littleman, glad for the clarification - lets go back to slating the non-norries!!

Ballyphehane Celtic gone

Ballyphehane Celtic are gone according to the updated tables on billys blog.

21 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by pass&move View Post
    A good result for Wilton I see. They've gained 6 points without kicking a ball. Not Wilton's fault but this is bull****! I hope nobody wins the league with imaginary points, for the sake of the leagues credibility.

Quote Originally Posted by pass&move View Post
    Damn, it looks pretty official now... That is a real shame and is very disappointing to see now 5 clubs having dropped out. Some with fairly long standing tradition... I will admit when Ballypheane were in our division about 3/4 year ago and we had a fairly handy side in the two games we played them I was seriously impressed, they were as good a footballing side as I had come up against that season.
    2 premier teams gone (Villa & Bally), 1 first division side (Lee Rangers, who've been around for ages), 1 2nd division side (Albert Rvrs who were damn nearly a premier A side on a few occasions in the last few years) and Casement celtic who in all fairness should be a big enough club to not have to pull out...

On another note chico, I heard ye enjoyed a good win over the villa on Saturday. I think we gave ye a good game of it in the first half but a few guys ran out of steam in the 2nd. Unfortunately our central mid who's been plagued with injuries all season suffered a bad cut to his knee from a stone and needed stitches, but thems the breaks I suppose... I think the lads were disappointing to concede 4 from set pieces... I think though it was a valuable and worthwhile workout for both sides...
    ”That should be NO problem for the defence – OH NOOOO!!”
    George Hamilton...
    http://www.innishvilla.com

Carrick Utd were very well looked after by Killumney after the Munster Junior Cup match last Sunday and would like to say a word of thanks to all involved.

Re Glenthorn V Innishvilla

Yep was at that match - Thought Innishvilla looked good for the first 20-30mins until as you said ye're centre midfielder got a nasty nasty cut in the leg . Most of the goals came in the second half with a substitute centre half bagging a hat-trick .

Sad to see Ballyphehane going and with the recession beginning to kick in I think we will see a lot more teams struggling with players leaving these shores

Page 36 of 65 FirstFirst ... 26343536373846 ... LastLast