Page 32 of 65 FirstFirst ... 22303132333442 ... LastLast

Thread: Cork AUL 2008/09

Quote Originally Posted by junglegym View Post
    Only saw the 2nd half Streetscene but your team did you proud and were unlucky with the result. Your keeper had an inspirational day and the team will have learned from the experiance.

Mind you Mayfield was a far cry from Cancun today. Twas F***ing Freezing.
    so any chance of the score then?
    the aul teams have to be thankful that mayfield and blarney have such good set ups as there would never be games played otherwise!

Blarney St Ath 1-2 Regional Utd
    Good game both sides play football. Regional deserved to win had the majority if chances, struck the bar 3 times!! thought we were gonna hold out for spotters but the scored with the last kick of the game. a good team and i hope the go on futher

On the subject of Aul teams thanking Blarney and Mayfield, I would like to say a major thank you to Mayfield Utd for the facilities provided. I would encourage all clubs in the FAI or MJC to Provisionally book theses in case of bad weather
    "Build it and they will come"

Quote Originally Posted by Yoda01 View Post
    so any chance of the score then?
    !

I was sure everyone would check " corkaul.com " first before looking up this site Yoda

Quote Originally Posted by junglegym View Post
    I was sure everyone would check " corkaul.com " first before looking up this site Yoda
    i was sure someone would answer streetscenes question when asked

thanks for response lads.. cant log on to aul site for some reason here and phone coverage not great.. apparently better side won so no cribs from us..appreciate the response

Quote Originally Posted by streetscene View Post
    thanks for response lads.. cant log on to aul site for some reason here and phone coverage not great.. apparently better side won so no cribs from us..appreciate the response
    i'd put up with the old dodgy phone coverage for 33 degree heat anytime.
    go back to the sun and enjoy the rest of your holiday/honeymoon, which ever one your on.

41 Posts

The weekends fun and games,an the not so funny

I saw 2 games over the weekend purely down to the fact that that they were both played an 100 yards from where I live.Blarney St did very well in all fairness against a decent Regional outfit.The made Regional work hard for there win an you could see by the way regional celebrated the winnin goal that they knew that this was a difficult game for them.The had the better chances through out an Blarney St were on the back foot for the majority of the game but when the St did get at Regional they tested them.

Regional took a deserved lead but the St got an excellent equaliser.The St goal keeper was outstandin an I mean that.I thought he was superb an though the St did well to get to extra time with Regional if those watchin were honest enough to admit it it could have been 4 or 5 an over an out if it wasnt for his display between the posts.It was a good footballin game to watch,no hoofin in fairness just ball on the ground by both sides.The difference was that Regional made changes to up there game against the changes that were forced upon Blarney st who were doin well to put it up to Regional with the 11 they started with.

I didnt see Graham Forde or Steve Walsh on there bench an they would have made a huge difference if the St had them to bring them on.Its a pity the St didnt get to penos because the way the goalie was play'n he would have saved the lot,but them the joys.

The 2nd game I saw was on Sunday.Ballyvolane had knocked us out of the Fai an deservedly so.Their prize for that was to play Dillons Cross up in Silverheights on Sunday mornin.Ballyvolane beat us by takin there 2 chances an defendin as if there very lives depended on it.We played well on the day but took the wrong option too many times so I was convinced they would take care of Dillon easy.How wrong could I have been.Dillons may not be blessed with the most talented bunch but some how it all comes together in one weird package to get a result.Ballyvolane were awful.Its the worst pitch in the Aul by a mile but Ballyvolane couldnt string 2 passes together an the heart an ability which showed against us was gone gone gone.

If Dillons have one thing in abundence that helps there cause its a fantastic work ethic.Everyone of them gives 110%,even the ones that the gear is just too small for.They got a much deserved winner an Ballyvolane never even looked like gettin a equaliser.Dillons are the kind of team that play the same way wether they are 10 nil up or 10 nil down.It aint pretty to watch far from it but they deserved there win an the chance to play none other than Westport in the open round.The only minus point for them on the day was that the only player who actually stood out in all the dire displays around him was the center of midfield for Dillons .Great left leg an even on the terrible surface he looked a class apart.He got himself sent off with about 2 mins left.Why you may well ask, a reckless challange followed by a reckless comment to the ref.Now he misses the biggest game in his clubs history.Tough lesson to learn.I'v watch them a half dozen times mostly just me an my son just to pass the hours an get a bit of fresh air.For the most part they look out of there depth in Prem A,against a team like Westport an playin as I will presume on a rented or donated pitch(ie Mayfields) I would dread to think what the score would be.

I am presuming they wont be allowed use there own place even though to see the look on the faces of the Westport team if they arrived at Silver heights would be worth even my weight in goldI'm done knockin um an I hope they get to use there own place against Westport an me an me smallfella will watch the game too cheerin them on..Well done to Dillons Cross an best of luck against Westport.To dream a little dream,,,,,,,,,,,,,,
    Their's only one Dinny Pop's.

41 Posts

Thumbs up Irish junior squad

Congrats to Derek Varian of Kinsale for his call up to the Irish junior panel.

Got the full list littleman?

41 Posts

Sorry bud but no

It was on the front of the Star pull out today.There were only 4 of the last squad named an the rest are all first timers.I spoke to the bloke who takes care of the selecting of the southern section of lads an he said that they hoped to arrange 2 more games at least after this so they can have a look at another 2 groups of players before they select the final squad for the big tournement next year.We will have to wait an see if any more are lucky enough to get a call.Varian was the only Cork lad selected.It was a fairly widespread selection in fairness.
    Last edited by littleman; 17/12/2008 at 12:39 AM.

Quote Originally Posted by littleman View Post
    Congrats to Derek Varian of Kinsale for his call up to the Irish junior panel.
    Ya, congrats. Marked him a few times and seems a genuinely nice lad.
    Probably the fastest player in the AUL i'd say.

Congrads to Derek Varian on hic call up to the Irish Jnr panel. On liitlemans Post above i hope its true that they are gonna search high and low for some new players to get a chance so that the Irish can go on and have a real go at the Euros.

Any other players worth a trial from the Cork Aul or the Munster Senior League? or even the Business league!!!

Was thinking of travelling to Jackman Park at the weekend to watch the Cork AUL vs Limerick District League, any 1 else heading up? Heard that afew players have pulled out?

Heard again this week that Ballypheahne Celtic are going, players have been told find new clubs? any shed alight on this?

Quote Originally Posted by littleman View Post
    I saw 2 games over the weekend purely down to the fact that that they were both played an 100 yards from where I live.Blarney St did very well in all fairness against a decent Regional outfit.The made Regional work hard for there win an you could see by the way regional celebrated the winnin goal that they knew that this was a difficult game for them.The had the better chances through out an Blarney St were on the back foot for the majority of the game but when the St did get at Regional they tested them.

Regional took a deserved lead but the St got an excellent equaliser.The St goal keeper was outstandin an I mean that.I thought he was superb an though the St did well to get to extra time with Regional if those watchin were honest enough to admit it it could have been 4 or 5 an over an out if it wasnt for his display between the posts.It was a good footballin game to watch,no hoofin in fairness just ball on the ground by both sides.The difference was that Regional made changes to up there game against the changes that were forced upon Blarney st who were doin well to put it up to Regional with the 11 they started with.

I didnt see Graham Forde or Steve Walsh on there bench an they would have made a huge difference if the St had them to bring them on.Its a pity the St didnt get to penos because the way the goalie was play'n he would have saved the lot,but them the joys.

The 2nd game I saw was on Sunday.Ballyvolane had knocked us out of the Fai an deservedly so.Their prize for that was to play Dillons Cross up in Silverheights on Sunday mornin.Ballyvolane beat us by takin there 2 chances an defendin as if there very lives depended on it.We played well on the day but took the wrong option too many times so I was convinced they would take care of Dillon easy.How wrong could I have been.Dillons may not be blessed with the most talented bunch but some how it all comes together in one weird package to get a result.Ballyvolane were awful.Its the worst pitch in the Aul by a mile but Ballyvolane couldnt string 2 passes together an the heart an ability which showed against us was gone gone gone.

If Dillons have one thing in abundence that helps there cause its a fantastic work ethic.Everyone of them gives 110%,even the ones that the gear is just too small for.They got a much deserved winner an Ballyvolane never even looked like gettin a equaliser.Dillons are the kind of team that play the same way wether they are 10 nil up or 10 nil down.It aint pretty to watch far from it but they deserved there win an the chance to play none other than Westport in the open round.The only minus point for them on the day was that the only player who actually stood out in all the dire displays around him was the center of midfield for Dillons .Great left leg an even on the terrible surface he looked a class apart.He got himself sent off with about 2 mins left.Why you may well ask, a reckless challange followed by a reckless comment to the ref.Now he misses the biggest game in his clubs history.Tough lesson to learn.I'v watch them a half dozen times mostly just me an my son just to pass the hours an get a bit of fresh air.For the most part they look out of there depth in Prem A,against a team like Westport an playin as I will presume on a rented or donated pitch(ie Mayfields) I would dread to think what the score would be.

I am presuming they wont be allowed use there own place even though to see the look on the faces of the Westport team if they arrived at Silver heights would be worth even my weight in goldI'm done knockin um an I hope they get to use there own place against Westport an me an me smallfella will watch the game too cheerin them on..Well done to Dillons Cross an best of luck against Westport.To dream a little dream,,,,,,,,,,,,,,
    Be prepared for a major influx of visitors to Cork that weekend.........from Westport!!
    Never play leapfrog with a unicorn!!

41 Posts

Oscar traynor game

Havnt heard anything about players pullin out up in Norrie land.All the Gratts that were asked for will show up an if he needs a few more he can have them.I'm headin up Sunday to an lookin forward to the game.Pointless goin up for the draw we might as well try to win it an make a go of it.If we cant get a result against Limerick then we dont really deserve to go any further.If we dont get a I'd rather not hear any excuses like we heard last year.

The Ballypheane thing if it happens will be a disaster for the league.Just think of it,no relegation this year an the teams with nothin to play for will just complete there fixtures an not give a phuc.Not on at all an with regards to the Bally players for the most part I found out most of um are goin to either Casement or Everton MSL sides.Just think of it if you havent of played Villa or Bally this season you will be awarded the points for the 4 games,thats 12 points,we'll be the laughin stock of junior football.Theres every possibility that a team might win the league based totally on the points awarded from the teams that have folded.

On the Irish junior panel we just have to be realistic.We may have been doin well over the last few years as a league but seein as we dont make the last 16 of the Fai junior or the semis or better of the Oscar on a yearly basis we still will have to live in the shadow of the stronger leagues such as Dublin,Limerick an Waterford.

Jp an Pa Connors got selected due to there displays in the Fai an Oscar games for the past 2 seasons, but ones playin with Marys now an the others jacked it in so for me theres only one or 2 others good enough for that standard.I cant speak about the MSL juniors an the MSL seniors can only play for the Irish Amature side, an the Buisness league,your havin a laugh
    Last edited by littleman; 18/12/2008 at 12:59 AM.

41 Posts

Somethin for the weekend

Well lads I'm just finishin the last of me 3 nights an I'm gettin my predictions in first.

Saturday 20th December Kick Off 2 pm.
    Munster Lucozade Sport Junior Cup 3rd Round:

Castleview v Glenthorn Cel.......Glenthorn
    Murphy’s Irish Stout AOH Cup 2nd Round:
    Churchvilla v Park Utd ....Park

Leeside “B’ v Coachford “B”..............Leeside B
    St. Michael’s Cup 2nd Round:
    Park Utd “B” v Springfield “A” .......Springfield A
    President’s Cup 2nd Round
    Grattan Utd “B” v CFC Banteer ...........the Killer B's

Sunday 21st December Kick Off 10-45(unless stated)
    FAI Umbro Oscar Traynor Cup:
    Limerick District League v Cork AUL ..........Cork Aul

Wilton Utd “B’ v Kanturk “A”...........kANTURK A
    Knockavilla Cel v Glenthorn Cel “B” ...........Sorry Oli but they are havin a good season ,home win.
    Saxone Cup 2nd Round:
    Richmond “B” v Springfield “B” .......Bella's boys

Simply fantastic news for Derek Varian! Delighted for him and Kinsale. Of course some of us think we should have had members on the panel before but what littleman said is absolutely spot on. When we're not in the latter stages of the big competitions it's hard to complain about not having players on the panel. Just goes to show you though that with a good run you will get rewarded like Grattan did with their two caps. Great news! Hopefully a few more can catch the eye over the coming months... any suggestions?

Derek Mc Carthy from Kinsale is one that sticks out like a sore thumb for me...

I'll make a few queries but ......

Glenthorn A were due to play Ballyphehane in the Munster Junior Cup second round - this game never took place as far as I can remember yet the A -side are now away to Castleview in the 3rd. Surely that is a sign that Ballyphehane are gone!!

So by my reckoning thats
    Villa Utd
    Albert Rovers
    Casement B
    Lee Rangers
    and possibly Ballyphehane - this is a terrible situation
    And more will go as well - as more and more players leave the country to try and find work
    Last edited by olachico; 18/12/2008 at 11:13 AM.

71 Posts

Ballyphehane/Oscar Traynor

A good source says Ballyphehane players have begun signing for other teams.

On the Oscar Traynor team, why do ye think some players dont care about it? To me, a player of lesser talents!, it is a version of a county cap.

My brother(you know him dont ya streetscene!!) recently became the first from our club to be called up, so off went 4 or 5 of us to Blarney to watch the Kerry game. As he was going out onto the pitch as a sub before the game, he came over and was just delighted to be there and have the gear on. He got on for the final 4 minutes, and his ego is super inflated now!! Seriously, he is walking on air after 4 minutes.

Is it just the same change in society that means teams cant find 15 people who turn up two nights a week and dont drink the night before a game?

Saturday 20th December Kick Off 2 pm.
    Munster Lucozade Sport Junior Cup 3rd Round:

Castleview v Glenthorn Cel.......Castleview. glenthorn havent played in awhile
    Churchvilla v Park Utd ....Park

Leeside “B’ v Coachford “B”..............Leeside B
    St. Michael’s Cup 2nd Round:
    Park Utd “B” v Springfield “A” .......Springfield A
    President’s Cup 2nd Round
    Grattan Utd “B” v CFC Banteer ....do these killers b's ever play?...gratts B

Sunday 21st December Kick Off 10-45(unless stated)
    FAI Umbro Oscar Traynor Cup:
    Limerick District League v Cork AUL ...Limerick

Wilton Utd “B’ v Kanturk “A”...........Shoch here Wilton B
    Knockavilla Cel v Glenthorn Cel “B” ........Knockavilla
    Saxone Cup 2nd Round:
    Richmond “B” v Springfield “B” ......Played Springers twice this season so them to win

On the comment of not wanting to play for the Aul- talking to players they just think its a closed shop and bit of a Raggy Rvs team. met up a few days before hand and play a game, not good enough at all.
    The Cork Aul panel should train together at least once a week, there players get to know 1 another, where you make runs to, what you do with the ball ect ect

If I were giving the chance to be the Cork Aul boss, I would be at at least 2 games a week {Didnt see Minty at 1 game this year let alone a weekend} Spend the first month of the season getting around to see every team in the Premier and Premier "A", also would send some backroom staff to to lower division games, a few gems to be found down there. aint that right Horse!!! Id then organise training nights for an extended panel of maybe 35/40 depending on quality available over a month after which the Cork Aul 22 man panel could be selected. Train maybe every Wed, nothing to tough {i would expect the clubs to be doing tough training still in September?} developing pattern of play and systems and working on technique. maybe a game against CBSL ,MSL Jnrs or Msl Snrs. The week of the game i would look to have the players both Tues and Thurs{ if you have a player on the squad the club will have no fixture}

People have to remember we as the Cork Aul are at a minus to the rest of Muster before the Oscar Trynor ever starts because usually our best players are playing Senior League where as there is none in the rest of Munster. Dublin is the only area this happens too as well, but seen as there is over 1 million in Dublin I think they have enough players up threr to cope with it.

Iknow its a RANT but would love to hear others comments on this set up

Streetwise
    its great to see derek varian get a call up for the irish squad and hopefully we might as a league get a bit of pride in this.did nt hear anything about ballypheane but if its true things like this has to have a big reflection on the players involved.today players are been well looked after compared to yesteryears but they still dont grasp what it takes to run clubs on a weekly basis.commitees dont fold clubs players do.horse its great to have players from other divisions in the aul squad and as you said delighted to be there while others find it a hinderence.

Page 32 of 65 FirstFirst ... 22303132333442 ... LastLast