Page 26 of 65 FirstFirst ... 16242526272836 ... LastLast

Thread: Cork AUL 2008/09

41 Posts

nope thank god

Na that rule wasnt put into place at the AGM,blown out of the water because most clubs thought it wasnt practical,thank God
    Their's only one Dinny Pop's.

Streetwise
    on that rule of teams signing 23 players most teams would struggle to find 23 players.there seems to be a lot of interest in the transfere window u would have to ask how many players would have moved already.we seem to have a solid squad at the moment and have built it slowly over the last few years.if the right player came available you would always have a look.what about dusting down the boots littleman.

41 Posts

dont tempt me,Im that bored

Retirement hasnt been as I'd expected to be honest.I'm torn between 2 loves at the minute as I enjoy bein envolved with our club but I still want a game to look forward to on the weekends.I'v played with Grattan since I was 18 an played 10 or 11 seasons with the first team before I droped to the B squad for another 6 season which I must say may not have had the footballin skills of the A side but the craic was mighty an we even got to play out in the Cross a couple of seasons ago.

All in all I'v had a good run but it would be great if the Aul had an over 35 league or even better the Msl left a few Aul sides put an over 35 side in there floodlit league.But thems the joys,an it aint all bad I came up to watch the B team against Watergrass Hill this season an even though they had planty of bodies(nearly all forwards I may add)the manager asked me if I would slot in as sweeper for the 2nd half just to shore things up a little an I enjoyed it big time,if only for 45 mins.Before you start OLLI I put me name on the B registration form just encase they were ever left high an dry some weekend.

As for me havin an Indian Summer in the Prem,aaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaah no.Cheers but no thanks.I was from another time an I'd like to live with me memories as the football was just as good as it is now just with different players

over-35s

what a great idea littleman.. now that would be some craic if we had some kind of league like that for aul sides.. i know some people would say we cant field teams at junior level but surely there would be enough teams to make up one league... i know that you can play 1-2 under 35 in msl league so something like that would help.. seeing as im not quite 35 yet then thats where i would come in. would be something to look forward to tho at end of the week.. you never know if a guy was to start playing in an over 35 league it might encourage them to get back involved with their club.. wonder has that ever been put to the aul..over to you littleman

That over 35's is a great idea lads. It would be great if it took off.

Just a quick word on the game last weekend. The game was a battle in every sense of the word and we're obviously disappointed that we didn't come away with anything. We cant go on conceding goals like we do though. That second was a disaster from our point of view, the first wasnt much better. Got to cut out these mistakes. Third was a peach of a free. Great strike.

Definately felt a draw would have been fair considering the last half hour was spent in the Blarney street half but sure thems the breaks. Street like to try and get the ball down and play ball so i'm sure that they'll take points off other teams along the way...

Everton on saturday at home in the FAI junior. The FAI is our last chance for a road trip so we'll be focused on this one.

41 Posts

if your goin to do it do it right.

You would have to have a good think about how to go ahead with an over 35 league in the Aul.What clubs would ask to start off with say in a ten team league.Would each team have to have at least 20 signed players.How would insureance for players work.Would it be an open offer to clubs to put in a side an then the Aul would decide who the best possible 10 clubs would be.It would be a great help to clubs who would wish to get exclubmen envolved again wouldn't it though.I'll drop a little line to my contacts to see what the responce would be like an you never know they may even give it a spin in next years league.

Cheers for the other side of the story Bog,its handy havin the Steet lads on board but theres always the other side of the story.I bumped into Martin Conlon after the game in the Anglers an he said the difference between the 2 sides was that the Street took there chances an Kinsale didnt.The Street lads said they may have rode there luck on occasion but they deserved it on effort so from both sides the same points run through.All things considered though it was buy any stretch an excellent 3 points to get.I for one will be quite happy if both Kinsale an Blarney Street use the result to push on an improve in the league because Wilton seem to be takin a handy lead into xmas.The only worry from there point of view is that they could end up bein finished an waitin for the teams with games in hand to catch up,a nervous wait.

When you think of it we play Ballyvolane in the Fai this week with a 2nd round game in the Aoh an the Mossie due before the weekend the Oscar is due to be played on the 21 December that wont leave much space for a league game.It could well be Febuary before we get any meaningful run of league games again an thats only a maybe.

Kinsale do have a big weekend this weekend,but buy there own standards.If they loose they will concentrate 110% on the league an Aoh/Mossie an you may see a different side to the side thats a bit inconsistant this year.I'd place ourselves in the same boat to be honest.Glenthorn AN Wilton have had a great start an Park are going very well too.So far we seem to look as we have been off form but with regards to the league we have had the same exact start as last year.The surprise for most was our showing in the Muster Senior an Junior.It was a surprise to us too,trust me.

Still lots to play for lads an the bookies will only add fuel to the flames by writin some off an installin favs left right an center,as they always do..
    Last edited by littleman; 20/11/2008 at 1:07 PM.

i reckon if the over 35s was to happen then it would have to be openned up to all clubs within the aul to be fair.. in some cases you might get a lot of older players from two different clubs joining to make one.. obviosly it would have to be on an all weather pitch so i think public liability insurance would cover it.. as for each club having to have 20 players signed then thats where i see a problem.my only question is would guys give it the right commitment and if not would it be left to the die hards to keep it going then as well as everything else in the club.. littleman is right some serious thought would have to go into it..it definetley could be a runner tho..each club should be wrote to to get some feed back on the issue..
    bog man your account of last weekis game suprises me i must say.. for me i thought the result was fair and right.. obviously enough when we went 3-1 up one would only expect a team of kinsales calibre to come back strong but i thought we were comfortable with what came our way..if anything i thought we could have nicked one or two more on the break. like i said earlier the first day the better team lost but that was not the case on sat last..
    anyway its still only 3 points and means nothing to us unless we build on it..from what i have seen that league is wide open and wont really start to take shape till feb-march..ok wilton and glenthorn are the teams to beat but neither have hit a blip yet..experience tells me thats inevitable..thats not knocking either team credit them for their starts but this league is far too tight for anyone to run away with it.
    do you yhink the lads down kinsale would bi interested in travelling up every week for an over 35 game if it were to happen

I wasnt for once suggesting that you were illegal littleman!!

41 Posts

I know

I know Olli but you probably would have been one of the first to twig the possibility that if I hadnt I would have just admitted that we played an illeagal player.

An considerin who the player was it would have drawn some attention dont you think.

rant

Great idea about the over-35 league but the aul have shown in the past that they can barely run wat they have at the moment. they cut there noses so suit here faces all the time. 1 rule for 1 club another for a different 1. As littleman and strretscene/wise have said alot of thought would have to be put in to this and it would be a great way to bring back some old faces. Hey with this reccesion hittin and jobs going everywhere fellas would only lookin to get out of the house from the old dolls naging

On the caping of signing X number of players i would totally be against it. you only have to look at Rockmount to see wat has happened, sign every tom dick or harry play him in the Keane cup, 1/2 league games transfer window closes and you dont see young tom playin anymore. They even put Snr players on there Jnr form to get a few more in

Really kookin forward to the weekend 2 games i plan to attend, Blarney St vs Blackstone Sat 2pm and Rockmount vs St Marys Sun 7pm.
    Pass & Move/littleman any sign of ur predictions ?
    been a new signin would not like to steal yer thunder on it
    "Build it and they will come"

41 Posts

predictions eh,,,more like pot luck

You asked,you get

Heres my lot for the weekend lads,some are easy but some are just my gut feelin.

Saturday 22nd November Kick Off 2 pm.
    FAI Umbro Cup 3rd Round:

Grattan Utd v Ballyvolane,,,,,,,,,the Gratts
    Kinsale v Everton Utd ,,,,,,,,,Kinsale, I would expect them to bounce back after last week

Glenthorn Cel v Coachford ,,,,,,,,,,,Coachford,head says Glenthorn,gut says Coachford

Blackstone Rovers v Blarney St,,,,,,,,,,,,last week ye were the underdogs,this week yer the fancied team,pressuer is on. Blarney Street to win

Ringmahon Rangers v Ballyphehane ,,,,,,,,,,,Ringmahon,all the news says Ballypheane are strugglin

Midleton v Leeside ,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,Leeside,they seem to be goin ok

Murphy’s Irish Stout AOH Cup 1st Round:

Knockraha v Glenthorn Cel B,,,,,,,,,,Sorry Olli but Knockraha is a hard place to get a result.

Sunday 23rd November kick off 10-45(unless stated)
    FAI Umbro Cup 3rd Round:

Greenwood v Park Utd ,,,,,,,,,,,Park

Knockavilla Cel v Wilton Utd,,,,,,,,,,,,,,should be a cracker,Knockavilla

Ballinhassig v Springfield “B” ,,,,,,,,,,Bella

De Courcy Albion v Innishvilla ,,,,,,,,Innish

Ard-na-Laoi v Park Utd B,,,,,,,,,Ard na Laoi

Last but by no means least

Rockmount V St Marys..........Rockmount.I would love to see Jp score an win his first trophy in the Msl but Rockmount just seem to be like a machine at the minute just producing win after win.They have some of the best players in the country playin on a pitch thats like there 2nd home.For all me hopin Marys can win I just cant see it happenin.

Ballyvolane to beat Grattan seeing that Littleman is picking on me every week!!! Missing quite a few players for the weekend so you might jusy be right!!!

Quote Originally Posted by littleman View Post
    Ringmahon Rangers v Ballyphehane ,,,,,,,,,,,Ringmahon,all the news says Ballypheane are strugglin
    Its Ringmahon junior B team. Struggling a the bottom of the Ist division MJL. Awful side. Easy win for Ballypheane

Quote Originally Posted by littleman View Post
    You asked,you get

FAI Umbro Cup 3rd Round:

Grattan Utd v Ballyvolane,,,,,,,,,Gratts
    Kinsale v Everton Utd ,,,,,,,,,Kinsale
    Glenthorn Cel v Coachford ,,,,,,,,,,, Glenthorn
    Blackstone Rovers v Blarney St,,,,,,,,,,,,. Blarney Street
    Ringmahon Rangers v Ballyphehane ,,,,,,,,,,,Bally
    Midleton v Leeside ,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,Leeside

Knockraha v Glenthorn Cel B,,,,,,,,,,Knockraha

FAI Umbro Cup 3rd Round:

Knockavilla Cel v Wilton Utd,,,,,,,,,,,,,,I agree with the wee guy this is game of the weekend (potentially) I'll go with the local guys Knockavilla

Ballinhassig v Springfield “B” ,,,,,,,,,,Springers
    De Courcy Albion v Innishvilla ,,,,,,,,Innishvilla
    Ard-na-Laoi v Park Utd B,,,,,,,,,Ard na Laoi I work with their keeper so 4:3 to them...

Rockmount V St Marys..........Haven't a clue so I'll go Rockmount.
    My tuppence
    ”That should be NO problem for the defence – OH NOOOO!!”
    George Hamilton...
    http://www.innishvilla.com

41 Posts

call'n it how i see it

look Olli ye have to go an play Knockraha up in there place which is a very hard place to go for a win for any side.Its a big pitch apposed to what ye are used to playin on an to cap it off yer A team are playin Coachford at home in the Fai so ye mite not have either the full compliment of players or support ye are use to.Im not sayin ye are goin to lose for the sake of it,Im lookin at the factors an then makin a call.Simple as that.

With regards to Ballypheane,common knowledge is that they are strugglin for a team.It dosent matter who you are playin when your are strugglin becasuse everyone is aware of the fact you aint at full throttle.

I think for the most part based on form an common knowledge at the moment my predictions are ok.Any one whos A teams are playin the same day as there B teams,then the B teams have to be at a disadvantage.

For instance,we only enter a club side into the Fai an Mjc.Not an A or B a club side that way our club side is made up of mostly A players with some B players.Also it means we are entitled to a free weekend for our B side each time the is a Fai or Mjc weekend which we are envolved in.Makes sure we hav a strong side as much as possible an our B side dont have to play a game with a weakened side due to the A team havein fai /Mjc game either on the same day or the day before.

anybody know anything about the ballinhassig side were playing the weekend, i didnt even check to see what league their in too busy at work
    COBH RAMBLERS FIRST DIV CHAMPS 2007

http://irish-abroad.appspot.com/GameDayDetails fantastic website by tetsujin1979

FAI Umbro Cup 3rd Round:

Grattan Utd v Ballyvolane.......Grattan to win a tight game.
    Kinsale v Everton Utd.......Kinsale
    Glenthorn Cel v Coachford........Draw
    Blackstone Rovers v Blarney St........Blarney Street to just shade it.
    Ringmahon Rangers v Ballyphehane........Ballyphehane
    Midleton v Leeside.......Tough local derby. Midleton are a much better side than what we've been scraping past in the last few weeks.If we play like we have been then we're out,hopefully we'll lift it for this game though.

Knockraha v Glenthorn Cel B........Knockraha

FAI Umbro Cup 3rd Round:

Greenwood v Park Utd........Park in extra time
    Knockavilla Cel v Wilton Utd........Can't see anything other than a Wilton win here

Ballinhassig v Springfield “B”.........Draw
    De Courcy Albion v Innishvilla.........Innishvilla
    Ard-na-Laoi v Park Utd B........Park,played against them and they're a decent side.

Rockmount V St Marys........Tempted by the draw but I think i'll go Rockmount, should be a cracker.
    Is there odds in Cashmans for this weekends games does anyone know?

Go raibh maith agut Buachaillbeag!!!

FAI Umbro Cup 3rd Round:

Grattan Utd v Ballyvolane,,,,,,,Grattan by 2 wonder are cashmans doing bets, grattan -1 evens?

Kinsale v Everton Utd ,,,,,,,,,Kinsale

Glenthorn Cel v Coachford ,,,,,,,,,,,draw, glenthorn to nick it x-time

Blackstone Rovers v Blarney St,,,,,,tough1 but the Street to pull it out

Ringmahon Rangers v Ballyphehane ,,,,,,as littleman said above Ballyphehane struggling but the might just scrap it.

Midleton v Leeside ,,,,,,Derby game but Leeside to win

Knockraha v Glenthorn Cel B,,,,,,,,,,Knockraha

FAI Umbro Cup 3rd Round:

Knockavilla Cel v Wilton Utd,,,,,,,,,,,,,,Shock here Knockavilla pitch is narrow with a hill on it wont suit Wiltons footballers

Ballinhassig v Springfield “B” ,,,,,,,,,,Ballinhassig

De Courcy Albion v Innishvilla ,,,,,,,The villa

Ard-na-Laoi v Park Utd B,,,,,,,,,High flyin Ard vs bottom Park form says home win

Rockmount V St Marys.........The big 1, 2 draws between them {Keane cup & league} Rockmount 2-1 on expierence.

Any1 know if our friend Mr Cashman is taking bets?
    "Build it and they will come"

Knockraha v Glenthorn B Have to go with Glenthorn B here - just to prove EVERY one of ye wrong LOL

Not saying either way whether we'll win or not but if Knockraha was such a hard place to go to get a win they wouldnt be back in the second division - I feel a big slice of humble pie coming my way if we do lose!!
    Last edited by olachico; 21/11/2008 at 1:39 PM.

[quote=casilles;1063145]Saturday 22nd November Kick Off 2 pm.
    FAI Umbro Cup 3rd Round:

Grattan Utd v Ballyvolane,,,,,,,Gratten but not as comfortable as last season

Kinsale v Everton Utd ,,,,,,,,,have to be kinsale

Glenthorn Cel v Coachford ,,,,,,,,,,,Glenthorn-

Blackstone Rovers v Blarney St,,,,,,the street

Ringmahon Rangers v Ballyphehane ,,,,,, have feeling for ballyphehane

Midleton v Leeside ,,,,,,leeside..extra time

Knockraha v Glenthorn Cel B,,,,,,,,,,Glenthorn b

FAI Umbro Cup 3rd Round:

Knockavilla Cel v Wilton Utd,,,,,,,,,,,,,,Wilton at a canter

Ballinhassig v Springfield “B” ,,,,,,,,,,have to say ballinhassig

De Courcy Albion v Innishvilla ,,,,,,,The villa

Ard-na-Laoi v Park Utd B,,,,,,,,,park b

Rockmount V St Marys.........marys on pens

dont let me down olachio!

Page 26 of 65 FirstFirst ... 16242526272836 ... LastLast