Page 23 of 65 FirstFirst ... 13212223242533 ... LastLast

Thread: Cork AUL 2008/09

Quote Originally Posted by olachico View Post
    So thats three clubs now that have fallen by the wayside since August. Villa, Alberts and Lee Rangers - these things always go in cycles dont they though . Plenty of clubs that were successful in the past are now gone but they get replaced by new clubs. I feel a common theme though is that once one or two of the real committed people in a club finally have enough the whole club folds. Ex players dont seem to have the interest in giving back to the clubs who gave them so much

Rockville come to mind as I read this, A breakaway from Rockmount to be one of the strongest teams ever in the AUL only to fall apart once the players got to old to play.

To add to the conversation between littleman and Olachio, i think both of you are correct and the reality lies somewhere in the middle of both your arguments.

There are definitely too may teams in the city, especially on the northside, and it is just too easy to move from one club to another or as littleman says start a new team altogether.

Its also definitely true that clubs are not getting the commitment to the club from players past and present. I would say comittee sizes for most clubs have dropped in size across the board over the last couple of years. You have a new generation coming through, of people who are just too busy for anything outside of training/playing (even training is suffering).
    Fact is as the older generation of club men move out there arent the numbers coming through.
    I dont think the whole nite owls and 7 a side stuff is helping either as people are not as willing to give up their weekends as easily anymore and its harder and harder to get commitment from people just to play let alone take an active role in a club.

SO I do think the league is in trouble, i think the AUL are their own worst enemies. I know players who have quit just because of refs and a refusal to pay fines because of refereiing decisions.

On a lighter note - we had a player booked for smiling on Saturday - couldnt find that one in the rules anywhere. And thats all he did as I was standing about 5 feet away from him -NUTS

That is a new one, I've never seen that before.

Top two ive ever seen were as follows.....

1. When an opposing player dived, the Glenthorn player protested ( a bit sarcastically) that this 'simulation' was not acceptable. The ref booked him for using the word 'simulation'

2. Attacking player nutmegs the defender and proceeds to do a Homer Simpson style Woohoo, which the ref then books him for.

Quote Originally Posted by pacman View Post
    That is a new one, I've never seen that before.

Top two ive ever seen were as follows.....

1. When an opposing player dived, the Glenthorn player protested ( a bit sarcastically) that this 'simulation' was not acceptable. The ref booked him for using the word 'simulation'

2. Attacking player nutmegs the defender and proceeds to do a Homer Simpson style Woohoo, which the ref then books him for.
    My personal favourite was a guy who got out of a booking but saying

"Sorry ref I'm from Kerry first ever game of soccer and I haven't a clue of the rules"... Same guy was playing for us with about 18 months!!!
    ”That should be NO problem for the defence – OH NOOOO!!”
    George Hamilton...
    http://www.innishvilla.com

41 Posts

Allthe weekends fun an games

Sorry Pass but I thought I'd get mine in early because I'm off for a few days,here we go.

Saturday 8th November Kick Off 2-30 pm

FAI Umbro Cup 2nd Round:
    Carrigaline Utd v Grattan Utd........Grattan win.

FAI Umbro Cup 3rd Round:
    Everton Utd v Kinsale Everton Pk (MSL)....Kinsale
    Park Utd v Greenwood Brigowen Pk (T. Callanan).....Park

Coachford v Glenthorn Cel The Glebe (J. Linehan)...... Coachford
    Blarney St Ath v Blackstone Rvrs Fairfield ..........Blarney street now heres a

Sunday 9th November kick off 10-45(unless stated)
    FAI Umbro Cup 3rd Round:
    Leeside v Midleton Leeside Pk (J. Linehan)......Leeside
    Wilton Utd v Knockavilla/Drinagh Rngrs The Farm (T. Thompson).......Wilton Postal Cel v Innishvilla 11 am O’Sullivan Pk (A. Mylod)..........Innishvilla
    League 1A:
    Glanworth Utd v Park Utd Glanworth Pk (S. Barry).........ParkLeague 3A :
    Grattan Utd v Los Zarcos O’Neill Pk (A. O’Connell)...the Killer B's

if I'v left anyone out sorry
    Their's only one Dinny Pop's.

Quote Originally Posted by littleman View Post
    Sorry Pass but I thought I'd get mine in early because I'm off for a few days,here we go.

FAI Umbro Cup 2nd Round:
    Carrigaline Utd v Grattan Utd....... Gratts

FAI Umbro Cup 3rd Round:
    Everton Utd v Kinsale Everton Pk (MSL).... Kinsale
    Park Utd v Greenwood Brigowen Pk (T. Callanan).....Park Utd

Coachford v Glenthorn Cel The Glebe (J. Linehan)......Glenthorn
    Blarney St Ath v Blackstone Rvrs Fairfield ..........The Streets...

FAI Umbro Cup 3rd Round:
    Leeside v Midleton Leeside Pk (J. Linehan)...... Leeside
    Wilton Utd v Knockavilla The Farm (T. Thompson).......Two teams flying... I'll go for a slight upset Knockavilla
    League 1
    Postal Cel v Innishvilla 11 am O’Sullivan Pk (A. Mylod)..........Come on the Villa
    League 1A:
    Glanworth Utd v Park Utd Glanworth Pk (S. Barry)......... Glanworth... Park's B's aren't exactly flying
    League 3A :
    Grattan Utd v Los Zarcos O’Neill Pk (A. O’Connell)......Sorry wee man I'm going with Zarcos... Work with one of them and they're a handy enough side...

if I'v left anyone out sorry
    My two cents
    ”That should be NO problem for the defence – OH NOOOO!!”
    George Hamilton...
    http://www.innishvilla.com

Cant see too many shocks dis w end
    Wish this was an accumalator
    Fancy the AUL teams to come through against the MJL TEAMS

FAI Umbro Cup 2nd Round:
    Carrigaline Utd v Grattan Utd..Grattan

FAI Umbro Cup 3rd Round:
    Everton Utd v Kinsale Everton Pk (MSL)..Kinsale
    Park Utd v Greenwood Brigowen Pk (T. Callanan)..Park

Coachford v Glenthorn Cel The Glebe (J. Linehan).. Coachford
    Blarney St Ath v Blackstone Rvrs Fairfield.. Blarney Street

FAI Umbro Cup 3rd Round:
    Leeside v Midleton Leeside Pk (J. Linehan)..Leeside
    Wilton Utd v Knockavilla Wilton Postal Cel v Innishvilla 11 am O’Sullivan Pk (A. Mylod)..Innishvilla
    League 1A:
    Glanworth Utd v Park Utd Glanworth Pk (S. Barry).. Glanworth
    Grattan Utd v Los Zarcos O’Neill Pk (A. O’Connell).. Grattan B

Hi to all

Alright lads long time reader first time poster love the banter between ye all and the way its all taking in good nature.
    would have to agree with littleman on the aul situation too many teams just allowed join the league, prove you have a ground and in you come with open arms very sad to hear of the demise of villa, some really dedicated fellas there but too many unreliables. bad sign for the league when a premier club folds but i say there is 1 or 2 more close by.

predictions

FAI Umbro Cup 2nd Round:
    Carrigaline Utd v Grattan Utd........Grattan.

FAI Umbro Cup 3rd Round:

Coachford v Glenthorn Cel The Glebe (J. Linehan)...... Glenthorn
    Blarney St Ath v Blackstone Rvrs Fairfield ..........Tight one but Blarney street to win

FAI Umbro Cup 3rd Round:
    Wilton Utd v Knockavilla/Drinagh Rngrs The Farm (T. Thompson).......Wilton Postal Cel v Innishvilla 11 am O’Sullivan Pk (A. Mylod)..........postal
    League 1A:
    Glanworth Utd v Park Utd Glanworth Pk (S. Barry).........glanworth
    Grattan Utd v Los Zarcos O’Neill Pk (A. O’Connell)...grattan

Who what where when?

Casilles - declare your allegiances man

Sorry lads haven't been on for a while up the walls in work, so much for a recession. also been a bit down in the dumps after recent results but hope to get everything back on track this week

FAI Umbro Cup 2nd Round:
    Carrigaline Utd v Grattan Utd........Grattan win.

FAI Umbro Cup 3rd Round:

Coachford v Glenthorn Cel The Glebe (J. Linehan)...... Coachford ( could be some fireworks judging back to the last game and the ref has a tendency for brandishing cards )
    Blarney St Ath v Blackstone Rvrs Fairfield ..........Blarney street

FAI Umbro Cup 3rd Round:
    Wilton Utd v Knockavilla/Drinagh Rngrs The Farm (T. Thompson).......Wilton
    Postal Cel v Innishvilla 11 am O’Sullivan Pk (A. Mylod)..........Innishvilla
    League 1A:
    Glanworth Utd v Park Utd Glanworth Pk (S. Barry).........Park
    League 3A :
    Grattan Utd v Los Zarcos O’Neill Pk (A. O’Connell)...Grattan

Foot.ie! I am

Casilles - declare your allegiances man
    Northside mainly but if put on the spot Blarney St. watched Glenthorn a few times nice mix there-football Greaney Mickie and Shorty Physical Sully and Goulding. Nice trip this weekend for ye down to Coachford should be an intersting 1
    "Build it and they will come"

Coachford and Glenthorn??

Wont be at this game - I'm involved with the B team! And Arsenal v Utd on the telly so i'm heading to the pub

So thats three clubs now that have fallen by the wayside since August. Villa, Alberts and Lee Rangers - these things always go in cycles dont they though . Plenty of clubs that were successful in the past are now gone but they get replaced by new clubs. I feel a common theme though is that once one or two of the real committed people in a club finally have enough the whole club folds. Ex players dont seem to have the interest in giving back to the clubs who gave them so much
    committed=olachio

17 years with Hibs Casilles before i had it thrown in my face - was that committed enough for you?? Running the B team in Glenthorn now - so having a little me time this weekend

Apoligies olochio. lookin at the weather cant see to mant games been played. ant news on games off?

Quote Originally Posted by casilles View Post
    Apoligies olochio. lookin at the weather cant see to mant games been played. ant news on games off?
    Coachford - Glenthorn off

UMBRO F.A.I. JUNIOR CUP 4TH Round Draw. .
    CORK AREA. .
    1 Blarney Utd or Mayfield Utd v Kanturk Or Rathcoole .
    2 Clonakilty or Kilumney Utd. v Blarney St.Ath. Or Blackstone Rvs. .
    3 Ringmahon Rgs or Ballyphehane v Ballincollig .
    4 Coachford or Glenthorne Clt. v Kinsale or Everton Utd. .
    5 Park Utd. Or Greenwood "A" v Wilton Utd. Or Knockavilla .
    6 Dillons Cross Ath or Dunbar Clt. v Carrigaline Utd/Grattan Utd./Ballyvolane .
    7 Leeside or Midleton v Everton or Douglas Hall .

Games to be played on or before weekending 22nd/23rd November 2008. ..

games off

Blarney St Ath vs Blackstone Rvs
    Coachford Vs Glenthorn
    Was talking to Pat Murphy the ref and he told me 18 games so far off and that was at 1.30 sat.

Also any1 know if the AUl will refix the Fai cup games for next week because according to Billy a few weeks ago the 3rd round was to be played by the 2/3 of Nov.

EVerything Wrong the AUL all in a few hours!!

Right time for Bella for a rant, or MacAttack as we like to call it!!

We were meant ot be playing Castle Celtic today, an hour and twenty minute spin for us, (an hour and forty if yor driving in my car, we like the scenic route)
    Because of the weather we rang them just before we left cobh, they siad the pitch was grand so we made or journey, we knew travelling the hole way down this game was never going to go ahead, we rang them again after around forty minutes of travewlling no problem game going ahead so we carried on down.

We arrived down there then to find their manager at the gates come in for a look i say it will be called off the last twenty minutes rain is after destroying the pitch, what a load of bull****!! We wwnt down the pitch was in a bad way, especially one corner, but if they swept it in ht e corner it could have gone ahead, your man said we wait for the referee if he plays it ill play it no problem, we said we'd sweep out the pitch he said they'll do it but never did, he did evedrything he could to get the game called off but plamássed us with "we're doing our best to play it especially as ye travelled so far", was sickening for us as we knew at 12 this morinng when we were leaving it was going to be called but they made us travel all that distance and called it off as we arrived. Also the manager told us they changed the kick off to 3 to suit the ref, but never bothered tellin us.

Load of bull**** and were all furious over the **** we had to do today, cost us bout 15 euros petrol too, its all worng IMO.
    COBH RAMBLERS FIRST DIV CHAMPS 2007

http://irish-abroad.appspot.com/GameDayDetails fantastic website by tetsujin1979

Page 23 of 65 FirstFirst ... 13212223242533 ... LastLast