Page 15 of 65 FirstFirst ... 5131415161725 ... LastLast

Thread: Cork AUL 2008/09

Question Casement

Hi all is it just me or is there something after happening to Casement Celtic?
    Guy I work with plays 3rd division they were due to play them last week but game was off with a good few days notice (game was not on in Casement Park so couldn't be pitch related).
    And I've just noticed both Killumney and Blackstone are through to the next round of the FAI junior, both sides were due to play Casement teams???
    ”That should be NO problem for the defence – OH NOOOO!!”
    George Hamilton...
    http://www.innishvilla.com

Brian O’Sullivan, John Kelleher, Eric Shinkwin, Darren Galvin, Mark O’Sullivan and Harry Goulding (all Grattan), Derek Delea, Steven Duncliffe, Alec Nodwell, Jason Keegan and Ricky Gettings (Leeside), Derek McCarthy, Derek Varian, Brendan Hurley, Ritchie Holland and Mick Bradfield (Kinsale), John Betts, Lawrence Betts, Antony Peelo, Paul Hogan and John Paul Thompson (Blarney Street), Antony Buckley, Shane O'Neill, Paul O’Mahony and Pakie O’Connor (Wilton), Colin Bevan (Blackstone), Gary Aherne (Grangevale), Trevor Dunlea, Craig O’Leary and Danny Long (Ballyphehane), Shane O'Donoghue (Greenmount) and Alan Healy (Castleview).

I find this a strange selection to be honest. 5 from Blarney Street, 5 from Leeside??? Yet not a singler player from Park, Coachford, Glenthorn, Villa.

What I will say though is that there area lot of good forwards in this list.

[QUOTE=littleman;1032376]The Killer B's have a rescheduled game on Sunday mornin against Watergrasshill an they will fancy addin to the good start they have had.

If I had to pick a shock exit it would be one from either Kinsale.Leeside,Glenthorn or Villa.Very tricky games for those sides in fairness as the teams they play are will fancy there chances..[/to QUOTE]

And blarney

Who have the "killer b's" played so far i was at the loss to boscos alright, strange one that one.
    We beat leeview and macroom, leeview had a bit about them, macroom were total cack.
    COBH RAMBLERS FIRST DIV CHAMPS 2007

http://irish-abroad.appspot.com/GameDayDetails fantastic website by tetsujin1979

Harry Goulding is not up to this standard and the only reason why we picked him is cos we know that he's in the States and that means our pitches will be safe from his terrible touch!Hopefully picking him will shut some of his complaing fans up!!
    Last edited by minty; 03/10/2008 at 3:51 PM.

CORK AREA . FAI JUNIOR 3RD RD.
    1 Carrigaline Utd. M.S.L or Grattan Utd v Ballyvolane or Carrigaline Utd A.U.L. .
    2 Everton or Leeds "A" v Waterloo or Douglas Hall .
    3 Clonakilty or Cobh Wanderers v Kilumney Utd. .
    4 Park Utd. Or Richmond "B" v Greenwood "A" or Hibernians .
    5 Crofton Clt. Or Kinsale v Casement Clt. "A" or Everton Utd. .
    6 Glen Clt. Or Leeside F.C. v Midleton or Greenmount Rangers .
    7 Wilton Utd. Or Glenvale v Knockavilla or Drinagh Rangers.
    8 Innishvilla or Kanturk v Donoughmore or Rathcoole Rovers .
    9 Marlboro Trust or Ballincollig v St.Mary's or Ringmahon Rangers .
    10 Castleview or Blarney Utd. v Mayfield Utd A.U.L. or Villa Utd .
    11 Dillons cross Ath.or Tramore Ath v Droumree or Dunbar Clt. .
    12 Coachford or Brooklodge Utd. v Glenthorne Clt or Richmond "A" .
    13 Springfield "B" or Blarney St.Ath. v Blackstone Rovers .
    14 Ringmahon Rgs "B" or UCC Utd.C.B.&S.L v Buttevant or Ballyphehane Clt. .
    Games to be played on or before weekending 1st/2nd November 2008.
    Last edited by junglegym; 03/10/2008 at 7:52 PM.

Well littleman i can see your point about the senior cup being a bit of an annoyance but we in Kinsale have always enjoyed our excursions against the senior teams. Cast your mind back 4 years ago we got to the semi final and played a competitive game against Cobh ramblers down in theirs. It was one of the most memorable games of my career and we gave a good account of ourselves. To play a competitive game against a team like that was phenomenal and there were several hundred people there which people like us i dare say rarely get to experience...go out and enjoy it i say and pray that if you win u get a big gun like rockmount or avondale in the next round. Test urself against the best and all that.

Big game tomorro for us against bally. Strange to be saying it in october but this is a big game in regard to our title aspirations. Could be another cracker. Weather is supposed to be terrible tho but sure we'll play it by ear.

Aul squad is a little bit suspect in my opinion. I do think park are deserving of at least 2 players on it. Their winger and centre back from last season from what i recall. I dont blame minty for picking mostly premier division players. You're going to get the odd player in the lower divisions who is capable of playing at this standard but not many. You have to question why they are down there in the first place..

Good luck to all involved anyway and good luck to grattan tomorro in the munster senior.

41 Posts

Cheers Bog

Its not that we dont value playin senior sides Bog its just havin not many games played in either league or cup we would have prefered a few more games under our belt.Our new signings wont be able to play due to the 14 day rule an we still have a few bodies away with work an a wedding so though we will field as strong a side as possible Im not going to be overly confident an say we have a home banker.

Next week we have a free weekend so it will be the week after we play Carrigaline Msl in the Fai,an with the way the draw is we could if things go well its possible we could meet there Aul side in the next round,Whats the chances of that eh,,,,,,

I do agree with ya about your game against Ballypheane,could have an awful big say on how your season goes,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,but my money is on ye

With regards to the Aul selection,I think the previous comment posted by minty explains a lot about some of his selections.He reGards a player who has been a major factor in our rise over the last 3 seaons to be substandard.In 3 seasons we have lost only 3 league games,reached the last 8 an 16 of the Fai,the last 8 of the Mjc,a Mossie an 2 Aoh semis,,,yet the management of the AUL thinks one of the main reasons we have achived that is sub standard,so much for the people in charge.................

.Leeside have 5,Blarney Street an Ballypheane have 9 between them yet for me only Peelo from the St,Long from Bally an to be perfectly honest theres knowone from Leeside for me that I would consider startin 11.If I was Park or Glenthorn I'd be stunned.Glenthorn an Park may not be Mintys cup of tea but they win games an are effective.Coachford have had a great start The latter 2 top 4 sides last season,Park top 4 the season before.Blarney Street are strugglin for a win an Ballypheane are a disaster waitin to happen yet they have multiple players deemed good enough.Coachford had a bald center half last year who was excellent,Micky Forde is every bit as good as Gettings or Delea if not better.Some of the team picks itself in fairness but what worries me is what they fill it in with around them.

The worst thing for me personally is I think it is a bad sign when a manager has to be told how good a player is,he should be able to spot it himself.Take Grattan for example,Figo an Danny Dunne an our flair players get all the plaudits but those same players need players with them to get the ball an allow them to do strut their stuff.Its the sum of the parts as I have said before that makes us a good side,,,,,,from lookin at the sum of his parts he must be terrible at sums...........

For my 2 cents worth if I wanted to pick the best side you couldnt go far wrong by chosin the best players from the most consistant sides from last year.Yes there may be excelltent players in the lower leagues or inconsistant Prem sides but what you want is winners an winners want to play for the best sides an arent afriad to move to those best sides.That squad for me is full of far to many players who are on it by name or past deeds rather than form,only time will tell.....................
    Their's only one Dinny Pop's.

41 Posts

why stop now

Seein as im on a roll I might as well give it a go,heres my 2 cents

Hurley

Bradfield / Brain O'Sullivan / Shinkwin / Peelo

Cans / Goulding / Betts / Galvin

Figo /Vairan

Subs fro Long/Dunlea/Holland/Bevan/Mcarthy,,,

an no doubt someone will disagree with this.

Gary Aherne is a 2nd division goalkeeper- was playing 3rd division last year but is a very good keeper and should really be playing at a higher level - he played a lot of his football with Douglas Hall

I am shocked that Micky Forde has not made the squad

Even before I got involved with Glenthorn I used to watch their games in St Aidans (before they went to Killowen) and he really impressed me, now having seen him at close quarters I definitely think he merits a place in at least the 32 man squad!! Strange that a team that came third last year and is unbeaten so far doesnt have a single player in the panel

What are the chances of Patsy Freyne making the panel?? He has signed for Glenthorn apparently!

As someone who has spent a lot of time knocking around the lower divisions I can safely say there are some very good players playing at a lower level than they should be simply due to the fact that they want to play on the same teams as their buddies.
    Last edited by olachico; 03/10/2008 at 11:12 PM.

What about the Italian keeper playing for Wilton- Dont know his name, he has always impressed me

41 Posts

seein eye to eye,or maybe not

Slight problem there,Mr Italy(I call him that because I dont know his name) was actually supposed to be first choice last year.He trained,played well in the training matchs by all accounts.But,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,when they went to play WCB down in Skibb an he went to tog off he was dropped there an then for Brendan Hurley who had only just been called up.Where upon he went ape an called the manager everyname under the sun an questioned his frame of mind,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,dont belive me you can ask the Rise if its true

Considering the age of some of the players he has called up I really wouldnt joke about Patsy Fryne gettin a call,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,
    Last edited by littleman; 04/10/2008 at 12:00 AM.

Who was joking about Patsy Freyne?? Got a shock when I saw him on the sideline at the Glenthorn V Villa game

I wouldnt blame Mr Italy for going nuts so if thats the way he was treated!!!

Lightbulb

Quote Originally Posted by olachico View Post
    Who was joking about Patsy Freyne?? Got a shock when I saw him on the sideline at the Glenthorn V Villa game
    Patsy even to old for the over 35s Floodlit League
    Last edited by pass&move; 04/10/2008 at 9:14 AM.

Patsy played for 60 minutes today against Richmond - he did well

City scum!!!!!

http://irish-abroad.appspot.com/GameDayDetails fantastic website by tetsujin1979

Well we lost 1 nil. Honestly they could have beaten us 4-5 nil ,but on the flipside we could have been up 3 nil at one stage, a stonewall peno not given(in which their CB said to the ref it was a peno, id no choice but tp bing him down) an offside which was never offside and two great saves by the keeper. But the destroyed us possesion wise and football wise. The ref came in after and gave us fierce credit said in all his years he never seen a 3rd division side give a prem side such a game, and that was good enough for me. Alot of positives to be taken from it for us.

Any other results

Quote Originally Posted by olachico View Post
    Patsy played for 60 minutes today against Richmond - he did well
    Glenthorn Celtic 1 - 0 Richmond

2 minutes to go in extra time......the *******s

He did...was playing up front for richmond myself and had an enjoyable game......felt we probably should have won it.....had what I thought were the better of the chances to score, and with a little more composure in front of goal we'd have had 2/3 goals handy enough.......live and learn I suppose!

Quote Originally Posted by littleman View Post
    Seein as im on a roll I might as well give it a go,heres my 2 cents

Hurley

Bradfield / Brain O'Sullivan / Shinkwin / Peelo

Cans / Goulding / Betts / Galvin

Figo /Vairan

Subs fro Long/Dunlea/Holland/Bevan/Mcarthy,,,

an no doubt someone will disagree with this.
    I know you'll obviously have a bias littleman but I would say no way should Cans be on the team or Figo to be honest.
    And Long on the bench?? unless his fitness has hugely improved this year i would say no hope

oscar mayhem

i think the oscar team is a difficult scenario for the coaching staff, whoever takes it over will have definate ties to a club and that somewhat blinkers the players that he will pick, the aul throw a bit of cash at the setup but we seems to be behind when it comes to performances, if littleman had his way then the entire grattan team would play but i dont think he'd admit any wrong doing if they didnt get any results, out of the 6 players selected for the team from grattan you have them all in the starting 11 weeman, i think you'll have to accept that everyone else may not quite agree with you, the defense has 3 out of 4 (i'm not convinced ye have the best defense in the world, and i'm certainly not saying that kinsale do either based on the past few years) and the midfield 2 from 4 with figo up front,

i'm not trying to pick holes in you weeman but how many goals did figo get last year, or cans/harry for that matter ? just on that, derek macarthy has consistently gotten the golden boot or close for the past few years, as a player i'd pick him every time before any of the grattan players but thats just my opinion for what its worth, i'm sure the leesiders would have delea starting every week too

bringing a squad together from north & southsides and getting them to play seems to be the hard bit and not entirely the team of players that are picked, i agree with some comments that certain players are there from past glories....... i've said it all before,

besta luck to all involved in any case, be great to get a run going and regain some respect for the cork footballers

i caught the last 30 mins of our game vs ballyphehane, it was one way traffic and 2 great goals by derek mc topped a solid performance (one was a pen but good break to win the pen), we had a few players out so its all coming along grand at the seaside, no mistakes this week in the fai away to crofton and we'll be just dandy on our new pitch with the coming rainy seasons !

on another note, if patsy is starting and starring for glenthorn then i'm not sure if they'll be the threat they think this year, i've huge respect for the man and played against him a number of times but unless he's inherited a new pair of pins i'm not convinced he'll terrorise defenses for the whole season, good luck to him though- a great servant for cork football over the years and defenders look out, he knows how to use his body to protect himself and the ball, a good man to watch for any young fella trying to improve

same as it were so running into cup season, is there any sign of the mossie gettin off the ground ??
    no giant killings to date in the FAI- tie of the round prob coachford v glenthorn, what are the chances of a red card in that kick fest

tizz out

Well gents, its been a long sabbatocal, hello to all again. I havent been in Cork the last few months but I should be back playing with the leeside by Christmas all going well. The one game I managed to catch thus far was our home loss to Wilton and we were very poor to be honest. I believe things have picked up considerably since then though and it looks like there's a bit of depth in the league this year also with all teams capable of beating eachother on their day. Seems like the gratts will be the team to beat again in the prem too.

As for the Oscar Traynor debate, here's my tuppence worth. But bearing in mind im basing my opinion on last year's form players. I must admit the only players from Leeside I would have in the first 16 are J Keegan (on the team) + Dulea (defo in squad) + possibly Ricky. No others currently merit selection based on their form. Obviously Joe Lyons would be there if he was around.

I havent seen Gratts this year so I cant comment and I would certainly include a number of their midfielders and attackers. not so sure about their defenders though.

Either way, lets hope the 16 most deserving players make the squad.

Page 15 of 65 FirstFirst ... 5131415161725 ... LastLast