If it was an exam bogwarrior you would have failed with 33%![]()
FAI UMBRO JUNIOR CUP
Pearse Celtic 0 Ballyphehane Celtic 1, abandoned 8th minute, accidental injury to referee. -> I'd love to know what happened here?!?
Murphy’s Stout Premier: Coachford 1 Grattan Utd 2 - great result - put me right back in my box.
Park Utd 2 Villa Utd 1; My only saving grace!
Wilton Utd 2 Glenthorn Celtic 3... I was far to quick to right off Glenthorn. This league is wide open!
If it was an exam bogwarrior you would have failed with 33%![]()
Great result on Saturday against Coachford, very tough game as usual down there. Went 1 up after 3 mins, great finish by Figo. let Coachford back into it with a soft goal. 2nd goal came midway thru the half from a free kick that coachford couldn't clear and headed in by Derek O'Driscoll.
We weren't troubled much after that, Coachford went mental at the end looking for a peno but I was 15 yards away from it and the player dived. Ref got it right even though he was poor on the day for both sides. So 4 pts away from home isn't a bad start and the Cup games starting next week and hoping for a good run in them and probably get back to lge games in June.........haha
Wilton 2-3 Glenthorn - You just never know what type of Glenthorn are going to turn up in any week. Some weeks they are fantastic and look like they could beat anybody, then next day they're fighting amongst themselves and look all over the place. I'm not surprised by this result
Coachford 1-2 Grattan - Great win for Grattan. Very tough place to get a win. Things always seem to get out of hand down in Coachford so i'm not surprised about the commotion with the penalty. 4 points from two tough games. Was talking to one of the Grattan commitee yesterday and said they deserved their win.
Park 2-1 Villa - Very close game by all accounts with very few chances. Heard Park scored two cracking long range goals and that essentially was the difference.
Were playing glenthorn this sunday.
COBH RAMBLERS FIRST DIV CHAMPS 2007
http://irish-abroad.appspot.com/GameDayDetails fantastic website by tetsujin1979
Is it the Glenthorn A team Bella?? A friendly?? Where is it on???
I think you'll find ye are playing Glen Celtic on Sunday Bella. Totally different team to Glenthhorn Celtic. Not too far apart distance wide. Glen Celtic have a handy side this year with a few players coming back from other clubs and a few of my ex Hibs B players joining. New manager in and they are unbeaten so far. They beat Avondale Juniors 4-3 in the FAI junior Cup so it won't be easy Bella!
Aaahh
COBH RAMBLERS FIRST DIV CHAMPS 2007
http://irish-abroad.appspot.com/GameDayDetails fantastic website by tetsujin1979
Soft goal, I dont think so toepoke. After great pressure on yere defender a first time cross was met on the half volley to give lofty no chance
Failed to mention the last 20 mins of 1st half where we had all the play. Failed to score when we were on top, initially that cost us the points...
Must admit I didnt see the penalty incident but the refs comments upset our lads. he said " our striker lost the ball then dived looking for a peno" Im just wondering if he had lost the ball, How was it that he got the cross in after ??.I'll tell you why - Every player stopped waiting for that whistle to blow and he Bottled it.
Must admit Figo was class ..
Soft goal, I dont think so toepoke. - junglegym
What I meant is from our point of view ist was a soft goal. Shwinkin had possession of the ball on the wing facing the endline and all he had to do is put it out for a throw, ye're forward picked his pocket put in a great cross and scored, no problem with that.
What the ref said after the game is his own business, but it doesn't take from the fact it wasn't a peno. Actually when the player went down the ref shouted at him to get up, brian sull was on the wrong side of the player standing off him so when he got back up he was able to get the cross in.
As to the last 20mins of the 1st half ye might have had all the play but Lofty hadn't a save to make and dealt with the couple of corners ye had without any trouble.
I am not saying we had an easy game far from it but if the game went on chances alone Figo should have got 3 himself , john cotter and Paul lynch had very good chances as well.
Discussing the game at training tonight, we came to conclusion ye shaded it Toepoke, End of story.
Looking to next week anyone out there know where Watergrasshill's pitch is? Played there years ago. Is it left before the church and on a couple of miles![]()
The pitch you are talking about Junglegym is no longer used. The new one is between the old rathcormac road and the new by pass. And i mean right between. You'll know when someone boots the ball onto a four lane dual carriageway!!!!
If approaching from Cork direction (Jack Lynch Tunnel), take the exit for Watergrasshill, go all the way through the village where the road will join up with the old Rathcormac road and the pitch is on your right hand side after < 1 mile.(The GAA pitch is on the left outside the village, when you pass this he soccer pitch is on the right) Also note that the parking situation is poor enough there. Just have to park on a slip road. Solid first division side. Physically strong with a couple of very quick players notably Jacob who plays up front or ont he right wing DO NOT GO THROUGH THE TOLLS.
Just spoke to the groundsman who works with me (coincidentally enough) and he said the pitch is in a bad way after their game against Douglas Hall at the weekend
Last edited by olachico; 17/09/2008 at 12:14 AM.
i heard grattan are supposed to be getting a few back that they lost last year!! is there any truth in this??
For now I can confirm that Canshas resigned from Marys, thats 100% certain coming from myself. The supposed others as such at the minute is only talk.
Their's only one Dinny Pop's.
Massive boost for ye chaps. Fair play. Why the turn around?! Surely JP will follow him now aswell?!![]()
In fairness to Cans he gave it a go.I must point out that its not as if he wasnt good enough.He was superb against the View in Marys recent win an excellent in there other 3 games.He just decided it wasnt for him an we are only too happy to welcome him home.The others as I have said it is just rumor at the minute an I wont comment on anything unless I know its 100% so when I know you will.![]()
Was talking to someone from Marys tonight who said JP O'Sullivan has said he is staying at St Marys when asked. OVer to you Littleman![]()
Again as I have stated I can only comment on what I know is 100% an thats Cans is back.I never opened my mouth about Jp.Thats where the rumor mill comes into play.As far as I am aware Jp is very happy at Marys an I wish him the best of luck.
Right lads sorry I havent been as interested as I normally am but with holidays an wot not I just didnt have the time to focus an just paid a visit when I could,all back to normal now.
A quick look at the opening month or so shall we
.Kinsale opening up with a bang an stutterin a bit (Tizz/Bog whats the story with Varian,hols or Gaa)but they should come back on track shortly.
Leeside, could the Mjc Champs be in trouble if there home form is anything to go by,,,,,,,,,
Blarney Street as expected are up against it but I thought Coachford would struggle from the start too ,how wrong was I.
Park seem to be going about there work nice an quiet apart from the Leeside loss.
Glenthorn an Wilton could be the dark horses an Villa could be in trouble if they dont get a few wins together.
Ballypheane again have been hard to read,the game against us they were handy but I've been told theres unrest already so for me I'd be surprised if they can stay out of the basement battle.
The Gratts,at this stage last year I think we had roughly the same start so all things being equal i cant complain.
All in all its tight enough,still lots to play for but I think whom ever lasts the longest in the Fai/Mjc could be in the strongest position again to win the league.I also think the decision to play the Mossie later on will come back to haunt the Aul because of the back log of fixtures due to the weather,an dont even start me about the Aoh.I really hoped that the Prem/Prem A sides would be kepy out till the 3rd round to help with the fixture pile up but nope,not a chance.Twas a good idea if the weather gave us the break we needed with regards to gettin 4 or 5 league games under the belt before the cups start but as they say the best laid plans an all that.
Only a week or so left in the transfer window an then its do the best with what ever hand your dealt till December.Might there be a few late additations to various squads,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,
Tally ho an dont be shy
Last edited by littleman; 18/09/2008 at 3:14 PM.
Is it possible that the AUL wont play the Mossie Linnane at all this year??
I mean really what purpose does it serve for the clubs or the AUL??