Results 1,201 to 1,220 of 1294

Thread: Cork AUL 2008/09

71 Posts

Monday Echo & other things

What is the opinion on the Castleview winner against Douglas Hall? Should football just chalk it down as an oddball or is it the third similar story i have heard in local football this season?

Was does it say when 18 year olds do it?

Do we all forget its an amateur game? - Guilty as charged for me sometimes.

Surely we dont need to get to a situation where a guy who has work on Monday is squirming around the ground as the game goes on around him?

Im not sure the extra pressure of making the call of whether the guy is faking it or not should be put on the ref, who has enough to worry about.

So, anyone got a solution?

If I was a member of Salthill Devon, im not sure I would be hapy playing two National finals against Cork teams in Cork.

Congrats to all the winners so far this year, I hope your parties are as good as ours were!!!!

The Greenwood U16 keeper kicked the ball from his hands and the other keeper touched it into the net - would it have been a goal if the other keeper had not touched it?

Littleman - congrats on the ground breaking. That will go up fairly quickly will it?

71 Posts

Part 2

I had so much to remember I forgot something.

Someone mentioned that they lost players due to fighting for nothing. Would more up/down keep more teams interested and therefore more players?

But are fellas not interested in relegation battles?

What about 1 up and 4 in play-offs? Is it fair on the 2nd place team if they dont win the playoffs? The play-off in English division one are the 5th and 6th, with 4th and 3rd gone. 3rd finished 20 points or something higher than the other 2.

Quote Originally Posted by Horse24 View Post
    What is the opinion on the Castleview winner against Douglas Hall? Should football just chalk it down as an oddball or is it the third similar story i have heard in local football this season?
    Was does it say when 18 year olds do it?
    Do we all forget its an amateur game? - Guilty as charged for me sometimes.
    Surely we dont need to get to a situation where a guy who has work on Monday is squirming around the ground as the game goes on around him?
    Im not sure the extra pressure of making the call of whether the guy is faking it or not should be put on the ref, who has enough to worry about.
    So, anyone got a solution?

The Greenwood U16 keeper kicked the ball from his hands and the other keeper touched it into the net - would it have been a goal if the other keeper had not touched it?
    What happened in the Castleview game? I missed yesterdays Echo???

No if the keeper was kicking the ball from his hands there is no problem with it going in as it is open play. The main time it can't go straight in is indirect free kicks. (As far as I know...)
    ”That should be NO problem for the defence – OH NOOOO!!”
    George Hamilton...
    http://www.innishvilla.com

Hall player injured. Game stopped, Castleview striker was supposed to knock it back to the keeper... he ran it into the goal!! It earned them a playoff against ucc! I was just thinking what if one of our players did it tonight against wilton to win the game... i dunno could it be tolerated. I wouldnt be happy about it and that's my personal opinion. Cheating really. I wonder what the consensus was in the castleview camp after? Happy not to be relegated, but do they want to be known as cheaters? Hopefully the right result happens in the playoff now.

Anyway to more important matters!! Wilton v Kinsale tonight in what has to be one of the most eagerly awaited games in years!! We've had our longest break between games in 2 months! A weeks rest, shock horror! Wilton have been in ominously good form of late, but we've been coming like a train also!! I just dont know what to expect, there'll be alot of sizing up done early on.

Hopefully a big crowd out tonight to see the two best teams in the Cork AUL at the moment.

Kinsale to win it!!!

41 Posts

Norrie news

the echo said it was a castleview player was injured,the hall kicked it out an when the view went to throw it back to the keeper the view striker intercepted it an put it in the back of the net,,,,either way the ref should have had enough cop on to dissalow it for ungentlemenly conduct
    Their's only one Dinny Pop's.

Quote Originally Posted by littleman View Post
    Sorry to hear the news about the Greenmount game,lousy way to finish up especially with them goin so well.Been a bad few years for them an its nice to see them turn things around.

Berba,hindsight is a great thing.Lookin back at what I did well maybe I did handle things wrong but at the time I thought it was the best thing for the club.We all make mistakes, we all just aint honest enough to admit too them.I no doubt played my part in a dissapointin season but I'l try to make amends next season an I hope I wont be the only one bein honest

Lads I've been waiting a long long time to say this but the ground works for our new dressin rooms started this morning an I couldnt be more delighted.I'd like to say a big thank you to the commitee of the club for stickin to the task for so long especially when it got awkward.Worth all the hassle though in the end.
    thats great news littleman, well done to all involved!
    are ye going to try and level the pitch aswell?

41 Posts

norrie news

We do intend on leveling the pitch but everything has to be done according to the overall plan.We got our own pitch,got it fenced,put in temporary dressing rooms an built an all weather training facility.Next was the permanient dressing rooms which we have just started.Next is the extending of the all weather training surface.I'd say it would be at least another season before we would make a move to attack the issue of the pitch.

Look at it this way you may have to put up with the slope for another little while but at least ya can have a shower at the end of the game.

apologies for the no show over the last 2-3 weeks lads been extremely busy recently..firstly congrats to bella on winning the 3rd div.. played them earli in the season and theylooked a decent side so well done,innish i feel for you man heartbreaking end to the season.. and fair play to littleman and the rest of grattan on the dressing rooms front..ye have taken a bit of stick over that at times but stuck to yer guns and it must be so pleasing now..believe me lads when you are not lucky enough to have these things already you do appreciate what it means when some body else gets them..
    anyway what a game in store tonight in the farm between as bog correctly put it the two best teams in the aul this year..wilton have been very consistent all year but credit to kinsale they have put a great run together to take it to the wire and with some very exciting attacking players on show for both sides there should be goals..best of luck to both sides and may the best team win it
    as you can imagine there is a great buzz around our fellas at the moment and i must say i have been delighted with the preparation up to now.. we have kept our heads down and trained hard and gave a good account of ourselves against leeside last sunday.hard to believe that was our first win in the league away from home this season... i am going to hold off on our end of season review for another week if thats ok!!!!!
    also lads what about greenwoods under 16s winning the fai cup last week,,absolutely great achievment ans well done to ger mcgreevy and all the lads involved... great to see

21 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by streetscene View Post
    also lads what about greenwoods under 16s winning the fai cup last week,,absolutely great achievment ans well done to ger mcgreevy and all the lads involved... great to see
    Big Congrats to Ger McGreevey - A great Cork Soccer Head - Legend!

41 Posts

Norrie news

best of luck to the wilton an kinsale lads tonight.wilton have been in the lead all season but kinsale have proved theres plenty of life in the ol'dog an i'm sittin on the fence cause I know lads on both sides..who ever wins will be worthy champs.

Best of luck to both Wilton anh Kinsale but even a kinsale win doesnt give them the title, put them a point behind with 1 game to play vs park think people are forgetting that,
    "Build it and they will come"

Going up to the game in a minute should be good, hopefully a good advertisment for the aul.
    COBH RAMBLERS FIRST DIV CHAMPS 2007

http://irish-abroad.appspot.com/GameDayDetails fantastic website by tetsujin1979

3-3, great game wilton win league, kinsale had a fella stupidly sent off in first half, real cracker of a game why wasnt derek varian playing??

http://irish-abroad.appspot.com/GameDayDetails fantastic website by tetsujin1979

Quote Originally Posted by bellavistaman View Post
    3-3, great game wilton win league, kinsale had a fella stupidly sent off in first half, real cracker of a game why wasnt derek varian playing??
    I was at it too, that one guy could have cost Kinsale the title...
    Varian was injured. I was near the Kinsale sideline, even after he came on he came over to put cream/deep heat on the hamstring area at least twice...

Have to say it was a cracking game. Wilton looked very good for the 1st 20 and deservedly took the lead, passed the ball well and their left winger looked very dangerous. Then Kinsale worked a good goal from a corner. An excellent delivery but how could Wilton leave the best striker on the pitch have a free header with no-one within 3-4 yards of Derek McCarthy??? Kinsale then I thought looked the better side. Wilton's second was a great header, he did very well to place it right by the post. Love to know what was said by central midfielder to get a straight red before Kinsale had tipped off.

2nd half was interesting, Kinsale leveled with Mr McCarthy again. Wilton went back in front 2 minutes later from the penalty spot, I'll be honest I didn't see what the penalty was for. Again Kinsale brought it back, possibly an og. Kinsale finished with 9 for a second booking, Wilton had plenty of chances on the break to wrap it up, but Kinsale went close once or twice to winning it...

I think the guy that got the straight red will need to take a long look at himself, talk about letting your teammates down...
    Last edited by Innishvilla; 20/05/2009 at 7:37 AM.
    ”That should be NO problem for the defence – OH NOOOO!!”
    George Hamilton...
    http://www.innishvilla.com

21 Posts
    Congratulations to Wilton United - good bunch of lads, and if we couldn't win it I'd have liked to see them do it.

That's over now - roll on Sunday night (AOH Final) where we lock horns with the only Cork team that has beaten us this season. Could be another cracker.

Aw stop the most stupid red card ive seen in a long time, and to continue with the threats fter, foolish boy. Kinsale seemed to be an awful moaning team their no.7 was even wrecking my head, and no.5 was cribbing mad too, but tbf to him he bullied the young right winger out of the game at times. Shane O'Neill was fairly good again with buckley calling the shots as usual, but i was most impressed with their striker no.10 very good player. Pity bout varian, disaster for kinsale, was looking forward to watching him and all.

Division 1

Decision should be tonight i think on winner of league

71 Posts

Congrats

Congrats to Wilton - unlucky Kinsale. We had battles with both this year and enjoyed them both.

Because we beat Wilton at Monard, does that make us the real best team in Cork. We think so......thats the main thing!!

Its human nature to lose the cool once in a while, but, if you look back on a season, and could take out the amount of "silly" discipline related things, ie stupid card, stupid tackle in a bad spot, that every team does - it would be amazing how results could have been different.

Heres a big question:

The perfect player turns up at every training, puts in the effort, turns up at a game with no pints from the night before, and puts in 100%.

Is it possible to find 16 of them for a season?

Congrats to wilton on winning the league last night.Didn't get up to see it but from all acounts was a cracking match.Does anyone know the goal scorers were?.

What will happen to the two players sent off for kinsale?.Will they miss the cup final sunday?.

Quote Originally Posted by Horse24 View Post
    Heres a big question:

The perfect player turns up at every training, puts in the effort, turns up at a game with no pints from the night before, and puts in 100%.

Is it possible to find 16 of them for a season?
    I know a few lads playing in the MSL with top premier teams and they swear that no one from their team are out the night before a match.

Wilton are the new Premier champs!! If they were in the MSL where would they be do ya think??

Also congrats to Wilton's 3rd division team while we're at it. A handy double and runners up in the city cup

Page 61 of 65 FirstFirst ... 11515960616263 ... LastLast