Only 15 turned up to the training session I heard - did anyone else hear anything?
"
on another note, if patsy is starting and starring for glenthorn then i'm not sure if they'll be the threat they think this year, i've huge respect for the man and played against him a number of times but unless he's inherited a new pair of pins i'm not convinced he'll terrorise defenses for the whole season, good luck to him though- a great servant for cork football over the years and defenders look out, he knows how to use his body to protect himself and the ball, a good man to watch for any young fella trying to improve"
Just to clarify Patsy played as a sweeper on the day in a side that had five/six changes from the side that played against Villa United the previous game - as to whether he will be a permanent fixture in the side I cant tell as I dont know. Hopefully his experience will benefit the other players
Only 15 turned up to the training session I heard - did anyone else hear anything?
just a newbie lads
ya i heard 16 turned up out of 30 suppose dats wat happens when u train on a fri!!
tink its prob the best AUL team picked in years deres a class 11 in dere somewhere!! from grattan,bally,kinsale,leeside and maybe blarney st dont see a chance for the rest!!
seen as im new ill give my predictions for season!
AUL- Leeside
AOH- Grattan
MOSSIE -Grattan
DONT WORRY BOUT THE NATIONAL COMPS LADS NOT A HOPE!!!!!!!!!!!!!
have i hit a nerve, well im a northsider with no real allegiance to any team.(well not really)
big fan of cork soccer , drink in the bar that the grattan and lesser lites villa lads call their local so i hear all haha.
sorry 12th man whos ur team?? not one of the big five then![]()
Coachford 0 - 0 Glenthorn. (abandoned after 20mins)
In what was looking to be a great game , an isolated incident for a Coachford corner set up the fireworks, A Player each from both sides got sent to the line and what followed was dissapointing, Apparently the ref said he was threatened twice and therefore blew for full time.
Again being the furthest away player on the field, I cant comment too much on what happened. Perhaps Olachico or one of yer gang might enlighten us. Will be interesting to hear ref's report.
Although sometimes im highly critical of the refs in our league,In my opinion this one is probably up there in the top 10 so I dont really know the outcome.
Just like the two mentioned managers above I cannot comment as I was not at this game so "I didnt see the incident" - working weekends at the moment so only talking time off for the B team games at the moment. All I heard is that the game was abandoned after 15 minutes and I only found this out after seeing the result wasnt on Billy Lyons website. So I'm sitting firmly on the fence on this one![]()
Disapointing to hear. Well we 5-2 yesterday. Flying thats 3 out 3 in the league now, kanturk 4 out 4 though
COBH RAMBLERS FIRST DIV CHAMPS 2007
http://irish-abroad.appspot.com/GameDayDetails fantastic website by tetsujin1979
On a more positive not - Rylane 0-3 Glenthorn B. Bad pitch on an absolute slope - much like Pophams field!
Well lads I must apoligise for my absence but a few days away with the wife an kids turned out to last for the week so I hope ye understand.
I'll do a bit of backtrackin before we deal with the up to date stuff.My comments about my Aul team selection are my own thoughts based on what I have seen over the last 2 or 3 seasons in the Prem/Prem A .When Kinsale won the Prem 4 times in a row I would not have had a grumble if the then Aul manager just picked the entire Aul squad from Kinsale as they were with out doubt the best side in the Aul,with the best players,ability an attitude wise.I by the same token could have done the same with my Grattan side but ,an I would have had a point because the same logic could be applied to ourselves.I choose not to because I belive there are excellent players other than Gratts available to the manager .Players playing for form sides with players hittin form are the ones you want,winners who are used to winning,but he has not choosen them.His decision and as I have said only time will tell.
I watched the Villa /Leeside game on Saturday.The pitch was'nt in great nick true but if either side was to say it affected how the game was played they are lyin.Both sides were poor,Villa had all the physcial edge but Leeside had a bit of pace over them other than that nothin special.The ref was barracked by both sides to the point that I thoght he was goin to walk an both sides insistance in kickin lumps out of each other didnt help,the Aul should make a handy few bob from that game with the yellows that were banded out.Only sour thing for me was the continual diving by Mr Gettings an a absaloutely disgraceful peice of overactin by Mr Delea(whom I was very surprised to be pullin a stunt like he did) spoiled the game for me.Villa deserved a point in fairness because they never gave up but Leesdie have to be delighted to have got another 3 points on the board.
While I was watchin the Villa /Leeside game I got a call from a friend who was at the Coachford/Glenthorn game.His uptake was the Coachford player was sent off for strikin the Glenthorn player,fair enough gone.A Glenthorn player recived a second yellow for mouthin,fair enough again hes gone.Fairly straight forward until the Glenthorn player who was sent off continued his little rant to the point of tellin the ref he wasnt goin to do very nice things to him if he got the chance shall we say.Ref abandons the game,proper order.I have played this game for far too long for anyone to say threatening a ref was deserved.No matter how bad the decision was against them.Its one thing loosin the head an havin a rant or even retaliating after a tackle,quite another threatening him.
I just got the fixtures for nest week an Glenthorn will be our next game,interestin.We should have a full crew as we had expected to play Carrigaline Msl in the Fai but they now play Castleview in the Mjc.How bad I'm lookin forward to seeing the return posts with regards to my comments an I'll keep my ear to the groung with regards any developments.
Bella,Kanturk 2 Grattan B 2.
Thats Kanturks first points droped an the Killer B's have 3 wins an a drwa in there last 4 games so div 3 A loks like bein a lively affair.
Tizz /Bog any game.
Well done agin to the Rise,great turnaround.
Last edited by littleman; 12/10/2008 at 8:23 PM.
Their's only one Dinny Pop's.
A little drama in Pfizer Park yesterday when the ref wouldn't play the game because the pitch wasn't lined. In my opinion Crofton should have been thrown out there and then but out of the goodness of their heartsKinsale offered to play it in Kinsale. All charity ended there and after a trek down to Kinsale and a late start, Kinsale wrapped the game up early. 4nil half time. 5-1 full time. The game was close to being abandoned near the end due to fog. This would have capped an eventful morning
Not having the pitch lined for an FAI Junior Cup game is unacceptable. So much for the superior MSL organisation.
The week before, also in Pfizer Park, Ballyphehane Celtic had no change kit and lined out in blue and white hoops, blue shorts and socks versus Kinsale's all blue. Worse than a GAA match it was.
Good job that neither game was close or controversial.
Am I being picky? I don't think so. We all need to be a little bit more proffessional than this bull****!!!
Hhmmmm
If the reverse happened there would be screaming from the MSL at the disgraceful state of the AUL...
Fair play to Kinsale for offering to play the game at home but it really should have been a straight walkover, in my humble opinion. If a pitch isn't lined/............./missing goalposts etc... well I would say that is the same as failing to field a team ==> walkover....
The "away" jerseys has hit a few times, but no excuse from Bally, I would expect they should know Kinsale's colours at this stage...
Happened us against away to UCC a few years ago we were orange with black hoop they were their usual red with black hoop. I'll be honest the colours didn't really clash except in the ref's mind, but then they had the cheek of asking us to turn our jersey's inside out, we "politely" pointed out that it is the home team's job to have a change kit...
Last edited by Innishvilla; 14/10/2008 at 8:21 AM. Reason: nets!!!
”That should be NO problem for the defence – OH NOOOO!!”
George Hamilton...
http://www.innishvilla.com
COBH RAMBLERS FIRST DIV CHAMPS 2007
http://irish-abroad.appspot.com/GameDayDetails fantastic website by tetsujin1979
I think (littleman may be able to back me up here) that at an AUL meeting before it was mentioned that a club played a game without nets- I'll leave myself open to
correction but I dont think it says nets are required as part of the laws of the game! So the next time a ref is complaining about Nets just take them down. Its worth a read of the Laws of the Game to be honest and can be found as a link on www.isrscork.com . Lines and corner flags are necessary though! But not nets - RIDICULOUS
This came directly from the Referees website from the Laws of the Game as approved by FIFA:
A goal must be placed on the centre of each goal line.A goal consists of two upright posts equidistant from the corner flagposts and joined at the top by a horizontal crossbar. The goalposts[and crossbar must be made of wood, metal or other approved material. They may be square, rectangular, round or elliptical in shapeand must not be dangerous to players The distance between the posts is 7.32 m (8 yds) and the distance from the lower edge of the crossbar to the ground is 2.44 m (8 ft).
Both goalposts and the crossbar have the same width and depth,
which do not exceed 12 cm (5 ins). The goal lines must be of the same width as the goalposts and the crossbar. Nets may be attached to the goals and the ground behind the goal, provided that they are properly
supported and do not interfere with the goalkeeper.
The goalposts and crossbars must be white.
Last edited by olachico; 13/10/2008 at 4:13 PM.
George Hamilton...
On another note. The new Innishvilla pitches enjoyed their 1st ever competitive game the weekend before last...
The Schoolgirls U12 team had the honour of the 1st game (they won too!!!)
Pitches look excellent but the experts had the club put tonnes of sand out and then get it spiked so it is still not fully up and running, but from what I've heard it is better to take this year slow to get the best in long term quality of the pitches...
George Hamilton...
my prediction came true but in the league game preceeding the fai cup tie - its one thing sitting on the fence if you werent there but i think you could prob give a fair assessment without offending anyone jungle, if you were even at the game theres a fair chance you would have seen something that made the ref do what he done, and fair play to him, i think we should all be behind the days of threats and intimidation, it does still go on but surely grown men can act a bit better
i've been on the bad end of plenty of ref decisions (i think we can all say this with ease) but theres no circumstances where violence to anyone on or off the pitch should be tolerated, lets all be men but try to play within the rules and not behave like schoolyard bullies !
a decent result for us keeps us in the fai, home game vs coachford this w/e is a big 3 league points for both teams, fingers crossed we perform, if we do then i'd be confident we've too much for coachford on our day, new pitch is mint ! roll on the rains![]()
sometimes we can be too nice lads,both incidients with Kinsale are just teams tryin it on,simple as that,Bally are well aware of Kinsales colours a from what I hear on the day they were struglin for numbers so i'm not surprised that happened,they have a red an black set an thats a fact becuse casment celtic b team wore it against our b side in a 2a league game last season
??????????????with regards to the pitch not bein lined in pfizers,the only way that would happen is if they werent aware the game was due to be played there in the fist place,very dubious.
it will be interestin to see wht happens with egards to the cochford/glenthorn game which was abandonded,and indeed the Fai game to come,some one please correct me but the last time a game was abandonded because a player made a threat towards a ref in a prem game was Kinsale(no offence) against Villa a few years back an im fairly sure the lad was band for over 12 months.
On the league fron Kinsale an Wilton seem to be gettin up a nice head of steam an dependin on how the Aul deal with Glenthorn they may be u therecome the restart after xmas,an us we will deal with saturday first,then talk more
Their's only one Dinny Pop's.
While i totally agree with it being out of order to threaten a ref I do recall in my schoolboy/youth days seeing a manager being threatened by a ref after the game. He took off his top and said he was no longer a referee - bad idea with a bus load of rowdy 16/17 year olds waiting on the bus - said ref is still going as far as i know!!
Come on Littleman, the above match report contains a number of inaccuracies. I was there too, and I would agree with you that we were lucky to pick up the 3 points because Villa had a couple of shots near the end which they could have scored from.
I won't stand for you badmouthing two of our better players though. We've heard you make numerous references to team kicking Grattan and the same happened to leeside in this game. Ricky is an intelligent player and he, like any other player, is going to hurdle a challenge rather than hurt himself instead. That's simply what he wasdoing in respone to some dangerous tackling. The majority of strikers in this league dive every once in a while but Ricky is no worse than any other. Why you felt the need to wag the finger at him, I honestly dont know.
As for the Dulea incident, here's what actually happened. Dulea got a smack, which I could hear over on the other side of the field. The Villa line went beserk because they thought Dulea was trying to get their player sent off. He wasnt, the smack he got was totally accidental as it turned out but he was hurt all the same. Again, we see incidents like this every week in this league, because the Cork Aul is a physical league. Just because Dulea might not be as good at going to ground as other players when he is hurt - does that mean it was a disgraceful piece of overreacting?! Absolutely not. And I wont put up with you writing such rubbish.
Thank god your not managing the aul team, otherwise it would be a grattan XI. with a bit of luck varian would make your bench!