Page 6 of 7 FirstFirst ... 4567 LastLast

Thread: Dolan Out!

Quote Originally Posted by Colm
    People need to give Dolan time and by that I mean more than one or two seasons...
    Lads, if you take the Intertoto Cup run out of the equation and look at us on the domestic front, we've made no progress.
    If anything we've taken a step backwards.
    This season, Bohs have been shocking, Pats have been worse, Rovers are going out of business, Waterford are running out of puff as the novelty of top flight football wears off, Longford can't score for love nor money, Dublin City are a Sunday League team, Derry can't compete down south anymore, but we're not giving any of them cause for concern! Paul Doolin is showing the way forward at Drogheda. Well drilled and diciplined, his side are the only title challengers this season. He has shown what can be done, even with limited resources, by someone who knows the game and has the respect of his players.
    I think Colm asked on another post, who would replace Dolan?
    Well for starters, Rico would be a much better choice.
    I'm sure Pete Mahon could be prised away from UCD and I've no doubt that if the job was advertised many other good options would materialise.
    If we put too much faith in Dolan and stick with him for too long we may well find ourselves far behind other clubs in terms of our ability to compete. So many people were on here slagging off Shels when the truth of the matter is we're light years behind them with little chance of catching up in the current set up.
    It's tough love, I know, but for the love of my club I want Dolan removed as first team coach/manager.

For what its worth.......here is my opinion.......Dolan has done a great job raising the profile of the club, lennox is doing a great job running the club..but...managers are judged by what the achieve on the pitch.......his record on the pitch has been average so far....great european run but the league results have been average to say the least.....some of his magerial decisions have left a lot to be desired as well.......playing CT at right full with Lordan on teh bench is baffling not to mention playing him against rovers at CB when an established CB was down the road at Dublin airport, also his failure to make substitutions at critical times this year has to be questioned.......is it time for him to go?.......certainly not, but then again, he will be judged by his success onthe pitch........lets wait and see what signings are made during the close season and judge him next year

Quote Originally Posted by Political Rebel
    not to mention playing him against rovers at CB when an established CB was down the road at Dublin airport
    He works in Cork airport.
    As far as I know he's only back training a few weeks now.

You're right about failing to make changes at key times though.
    This is down to the absence of a Plan B.
    This has been highlighted by our inability to turn games.

my, my arent city fans a fickle bunch!

Start of the season "were the greatest". Now its "were the worst".

As i have been saying since the start of the season we are neither.

Dolans doing quite a good job imo. All managers need space and time - let him have his and get off his back and some of the players. The transformation in outlook on Dan Murray found here is actually funny - from hero to zero in the space of about two weeks.

Cork may not be the capital of Ireland but we certainly are the Knee-Jerk capital of Ireland.

Agreed Dan has not had the greatest of seasons and I think opinions here do usually reflect how the team is playing apart from a few personal gripes.
    I don't think Dan is playing half as well as he can and the whole thing reminds me of the criticism Derek got last year - that HE was making Dan play badly.

think we better keep this thread somewhere near the top

Quote Originally Posted by Peadar
    He works in Cork airport.
    As far as I know he's only back training a few weeks now.

You're right about failing to make changes at key times though.
    This is down to the absence of a Plan B.
    This has been highlighted by our inability to turn games.
    very rarely has dolan been able to change his tactics, he got it right in europe, but like you said there was no plan b. there was no plan b against bohs. im not sure if there was even a plan A.

its very worrying to see this coming from a supposedly expert manager.

I take no pleasure from our demise in the domestic league under the current management but how bad do things have to get before we see some action being taken? Liam Murphy was hounded out because he didn't smile on the touchline. I get the impression that even if Pat Dolan ate the match day mascot whole people would still think he's wonderful. The Intertoto Cup run counts for nothing now.

.................................................. .

if Pat Dolan ate the match day mascot whole

Hey, leave them out of all this .... they haven't done a thing to anyone !!

lads, for the last time : The intertoto cup is NOT doin well in europe - its well below the standard of even the unfashionable UEFA cup - teams simply do not take this competition seriously

I think this is at the root of all your "crisis", Cork fans overrated the achievement of winning a couple of rounds in a nothing competition while their squad, manager and chairman lost sight of the bread and butter.

As an outsider it was obvious to all that there was no earthly way yis would be challenging shels this season (or next IMO) but a dacent cup run might have been a realistic goal if your manager hadnt have taken his eye off the ball v UCD

Its not all his fault and ocallaghan seems a moany fcuk with an ego problem (he really overrates himself) but when a team and a manager fall out - the cheapest solution for any chairman is to ditch the manager - thats football

Quote Originally Posted by wws
    lads, for the last time : The intertoto cup is NOT doin well in europe - its well below the standard of even the unfashionable UEFA cup - teams simply do not take this competition seriously

I think this is at the root of all your "crisis", Cork fans overrated the achievement of winning a couple of rounds in a nothing competition while their squad, manager and chairman lost sight of the bread and butter.

As an outsider it was obvious to all that there was no earthly way yis would be challenging shels this season (or next IMO) but a dacent cup run might have been a realistic goal if your manager hadnt have taken his eye off the ball v UCD

Its not all his fault and ocallaghan seems a moany fcuk with an ego problem (he really overrates himself) but when a team and a manager fall out - the cheapest solution for any chairman is to ditch the manager - thats football
    we are certainly short 3 quality players if we wish to challenge-no doubt. Centre half, mid field and centre forward. i have always said the inter toto was a nice distraction, but it was just that-a distraction.

I hope we can pull through this cause i honestly belive we could achieve something big here

If you put it in the bin I'll start another one.
    He's getting away with murder!
    I've given him every chance to prove me wrong but he's failed.
    Think Brian may have had enough of him too.
    We need a man with a football brain if we want to be more than just a third placed team.
    Just wondering Peadar, did you enjoy the taste of your hat when you ate it?
    Injustice anywhere threatens justice everywhere - Martin Luther King Jnr.

Whats the point in dragging that up... on the eve of a historic title win an all...
    Where 'ere you be let your wind go free...

Quote Originally Posted by Fair_play_boy
    Just wondering Peadar, did you enjoy the taste of your hat when you ate it?
    Yeah ... did you get any pics of this culinary masterpiece ?? I'd pay to see it !!

All you Dolan doubters .... i hope to god you have all closed the lids on those boxes now ..... dont make Dolan have to do it if we win tomorrow night !!

.................................................. ...

Anti Dolan heads are STILL very quite .... ahh ... hello !!

Where are you all ??

You have your chance ... speak now !!

Quote Originally Posted by A face
    Where are you all ??
    You have your chance ... speak now !!
    I'm here but I don't have a go at the manager just for the sake of it.
    Today is all about enjoying the season climax, not digging up gripes.
    I'm not a fan of Mr D and could point out that our position is partly due to the relative weakness of so many other clubs this season.
    Now isn't the time for such debates.
    We'll have a nice Christmas break and then get stuck in for the pre-season.

peadar u around the republic or overseas
    if so u gona miss one hell of a party tonight

5 hours 17 mins to kick off

REBEL ARMY

Quote Originally Posted by James
    if so u gona miss one hell of a party tonight
    James, I kid you not when I tell you that almost brings a tear to my eye.
    Was hoping to get something sorted when I thought the game was on Saturday but when it was switched back to Friday (and rightly so) it became impossible for me to get home.
    I look forward to seeing all your photos but will understand if you're too nervous or too busy partying to take many.
    As I said before, it's been a long time since we've had something to play for on the last day of the season. Make sure you all enjoy it.

ah **** peadar sry to hear that man
    i will of course be camera'ing in conjucntion with a face in the crowd
    also camcording the night too as much as possible for those exiled overseases.

REBEL ARMY

.................................................. .....

I look forward to seeing all your photos
    No worries .... Cant for it to start !!

Come on City !!

Page 6 of 7 FirstFirst ... 4567 LastLast