Thread: Clare League Season 2008/09

43 Posts
    [QUOTE=plasticpitch;1107931]
    Quote Originally Posted by Prem Rep! View Post
    PP, ye have nobody but yourselves to blame for losing that title. Newmarket were down to the bare bones against ye and ye couldn't find a winner.
    If i remember rightly Avenue were not mathematically out of it either that day so why would they lie down.

Prem Rep, where did you pull that post from?? all i can remember is that a win for us and we would win.... however newmarket needed a point to insure that they were not in the relegation playoff... so they had everything to play for,
    and i can assure you they fought that day like their lives depended on it... i'm sure you heard all about it when they joined ye down in the bridge that afternoon
    as for avenue laying down i think the lack of avenue responses says it all. i think they had a lot of injuries and suspensions at the time and realistically knew they had no chance going to the bridge and getting a win
    are you mad??????????????????????????? avenue lie down and let bridge win??
    down in their home patch we had a chance to win league please don't insult avenue or true soccer heads on this forum. having to watch them lift the cup was hard enough but having to take the abuse as well no thanks. lifford had it in their own hands and shouldn't have been looking for favours from avenue. last year was how true ethics of soccer in clare should be. nwkt got league in lees rd v avenue. both teams showed great respect for each on day and a lot of avenue lads went out with them in celebration as well. and as for lack of avenue response i suppos its hard to get a true avenue response when their is so few real avenue on this forum.
    The above is all opinion and based on personal experience. Unless stated otherwise it is not a dig at anybody, well probably none of you lot.

Formerly: vidic-class
    Quote Originally Posted by butcher View Post
    What Clare Cup fixtures are on this weekend? And predictions??
    Bridge Utd B V Bridge Utd A Bridge Utd A
    Moher Celtic A V Lifford A Lifford A
    Turnpike V Corofin Harps A Corofin Harps A
    Rock Rovers V Manus Celtic A Rock Rovers
    Tulla Utd B V Moher B Tulla B
    Ennistymon V Kildysart Celtic Kildysart

43 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Buzzer View Post
    I think it's very unfair what is being said about Martin O'Brien on this recently. He's one of the best referee's we have in the Clare league, if not the best. I've always found him to be a fair ref. Of course he does make mistakes like anyone but he has always tried (in my opinion) to treat each team the same.

By the way, Best of luck to both Bridge United teams on Sunday. It should be one hell of a game. Too close to call I think.
    i'l second these comments on martin and best luck to rineanna
    i think the quicker league bring in zero tolerance for refs the better it will be. should take a leaf out of rugby refs moving frees forward for backtalk etc it wouldn't take long to get better respect for refs (me included) the schoolboys should be targeted now so they grow up with it and easier to bring forward.
    The above is all opinion and based on personal experience. Unless stated otherwise it is not a dig at anybody, well probably none of you lot.

Avenue's Guts????

Quote Originally Posted by Avenue1990 View Post
    bunratty were trying to play football yesterday but like lifford they lack a certain amount of guts to win tough matches. Rats are stil favourites for league and deservedly so as there early season form was superb but I think if Avenue get a win on sunday we are in pole position.
    Hi lads, just wondering can anyone tell me what happened to Avenue's great guts when the Rats beat them 3-1 in the league earlier in the season? should be very interesting game on sunday

AvenuC: you picked me up wrong Nwm won the league losing only one game,as they had it won before they played Avenue.Yes for the records they lost 2 in their league campaign.
    I'll third these comments on martin and best luck to rineanna also.
    I think players attitudes in Clare stink when it comes to referees. They have no respect for them no matter how right or wrong the refs are.(yes there are refs who should not be allowed near a pitch,but if they were not we would have no games)
    The worst thing of all is the verbal abuse they give the refs & we all wonder why it happens in schoolboy soccer.The players are the teachers.
    Referees make mistakes week in week out,but if some one picked one player for 90 mins & counted the mistakes he made, the refs would have the last laugh.

43 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by rainman View Post
    Hi lads, just wondering can anyone tell me what happened to Avenue's great guts when the Rats beat them 3-1 in the league earlier in the season? should be very interesting game on sunday
    lads can we cut the crap...................................... .............................. again someone thinks the people on this forum are idiots.you don't win or lose games just because of guts. must let the players do the talking on the field. both teams and management would hold their hands up and say both teams are good. you win some you lose some.
    cop on with the mind games lads or i might just have to log in as bunrattyc or lifford1688.

Quote Originally Posted by Clifford View Post
    lads can we cut the crap...................................... .............................. again someone thinks the people on this forum are idiots.you don't win or lose games just because of guts. must let the players do the talking on the field. both teams and management would hold their hands up and say both teams are good. you win some you lose some.
    cop on with the mind games lads or i might just have to log in as bunrattyc or lifford1688.
    My apologies Cliff, was just making a point, good to see someone talking sense. Games between Bunratty and Avenue are always tough, fair and tight games and im sure sunday will be no different. Unfortunatley the ref's(and guts) can have a big say in the outcome of these games. I do think that Martin got the penalty decision wrong last sunday(the dragging was 50/50 and started well outside the box) but I dont believe it was because he's from ennis. I also agree that M o'Brien and P. Sutton are by far the best and fairest refs in Clare. Best of luck to Rineanna on sunday aswell.

Any word on how Rineanna got on today?
    I eats the beef......

Quote Originally Posted by hacker View Post
    we lost 1 nil..played well and missed 3 or 4 good chances..but in fairness the best team won..they had alot of possesion but couldn't break us down..they scored about 20 mins into 2nd half..and had a couple flash past our posts.
    hacker what's the story you posted this on munster junior thread " how should it have been ten you fool..ya ye had chances but ye didn't take them..we had the 2 best chances and we didn't take them..story of football..give credit where its due we gave ye a good game and while ye did deserve to win it wasn't as easy as some on here predicted..to the genuine fairview lads on here we wish ye the best of luck in the competition... "

were you at the same match

" football is a simple game "

Formerly: vidic-class
    we lost 1 nil..played well and missed 3 or 4 good chances..but in fairness the best team won..they had alot of possesion but couldn't break us down..they scored about 20 mins into 2nd half..and had a couple flash past our posts.
    hacker, ye frustrated them for a while and the final score was a bit surprising to say the least, just a pity ye thought ye were inside in Thomond Park kickin for touch for a good bit of the game
    Last edited by MikeBassett; 22/02/2009 at 9:14 PM.

.typical newmarket keep knocking rineanna your getting a bit boring at it now
    Ah Hacker , we couldn't possibly have you bored. You'll eventually get the Newmarket - Rineanna thing given enough time.
    I'll update this next year.

o i get it first its just the same muppets
    So why use the term typical Newmarket.

your right i'll rephrase it and edit my last post..just for you
    Good man ,

Any other results , haven't heard any.

were you there old git??? and if you were do you think we deserved to lose by 10 goals...
    wasn't there just having a little stir ... but would find it extremly hard to believe ye should have been beaten 10-0.. any of the teams in clare would have been delighted to play fairview in limerick and only lose 1-0

Quote Originally Posted by old git View Post
    wasn't there just having a little stir ... but would find it extremly hard to believe ye should have been beaten 10-0.. any of the teams in clare would have been delighted to play fairview in limerick and only lose 1-0
    How in the name of God can any one "have been delighted to play Fairview in Limerick and only lose 1-0". If any team is delighted to lose any match. Strange way of thinking there Old Git.

.typical vidic-class...there's 1 in every club..you keep knocking rineanna,your getting a bit boring at it now
    No need to be getting wound up there hacker, I'm sure vidic-class was only joking with you. After all you were the man that said it was great to see the banter back on this forum last week when it was Bunratty and Avenue on here. Ye gave them good rattle but ye really could/should have been beaten by a few more. The Clare Cup 3rd Round Draw should be interesting on Friday

Quote Originally Posted by First View Post
    How in the name of God can any one "have been delighted to play Fairview in Limerick and only lose 1-0". If any team is delighted to lose any match. Strange way of thinking there Old Git.
    what i meant was .. would not be a total disaster to get beaten 1-0 away to fairview any team should not go into play them thinking 1-o lose would be a good result before game but i'm sure alot of teams would not be to disapointed to only lose 1-0

Avenue 3-2 Rats

Good win for Avenue yesterday against Bunratty. Rats seem to be in a bit of a rut at the moment. Lg is in Avenues hand now but still a long way to go. I'm sure there will be more twists and turns.

Bunratty dominated possesion yesterday but did not create enough chances. Avenue were more clinical and took their 2 goals well. Bunratty scored and og for the Avenue 2nd goal and it was a killer blow.

Avenue and Rats...

Avenue United A 5-1 Corofin Harps A
    Avenue United A 6-0 Bridge United A
    Lifford A 1-2 Avenue United
    Bunratty A 3-1 Avenue United A
    Rineanna Rovers 1-2 Avenue United A
    Bridge Celtic A 4-2 Avenue United A
    Burren United 0-3 Avenue United A
    Avenue United A 3-0 Bridge Celtic A
    Avenue United A 3-2 Bunratty A

Remaining...
    Moher H
    Moher A
    Newmarket H
    Newmarket A
    Bridge Utd A
    Corofin A
    Lifford H
    Rineanna H
    Burren H

Bunratty A 3-1 Moher Celtic A
    Bunratty A 1-1 Bridge Celtic A
    Burren United 0-5 Bunratty A
    Bunratty A 1-2 Newmarket Celtic A
    Bunratty A 3-1 Avenue United A
    Corofin Harps A 1-2 Bunratty A
    Bunratty A 2-1 Lifford A
    Rineanna Rovers 2-4 Bunratty A
    Moher Celtic A 0-1 Bunratty A
    Bridge United A 0-1 Bunratty
    Bunratty A 1-1 Burren United
    Avenue United A 3-2 Bunratty A

Remaining

Bridge Cel A
    Newmarket A
    Corofin H
    Lifford A
    Rineanna H
    Bridge Utd H

For fear that the forum will slip off the front page I'll introduce a topic.

Approaching the half way mark in the season have the title destinations already been settled or at most remain a two horse race?

Prem: Avenue or Bunratty
    1st: Rock or Olympic
    2nd: Rhine
    3rd: Newmarket B

Page 32 of 70 FirstFirst ... 22303132333442 ... LastLast