Page 17 of 70 FirstFirst ... 715161718192767 ... LastLast

Thread: Clare League Season 2008/09

Quote Originally Posted by mr miyagi View Post
    Newmarket B overlooked for team of the month perhaps?
    Won 3 out of 3. Scored 15 conceded 2...
    Was thinking the same myself but as far as I know only 2 of those games were played in Oct. Open to correction though...

I know in 2003 we went to the 3rd round of the MSC where we were beaten in penalties away to Rockmount.
    I'm not sure how the TOTM is selected and I'm sure they have more than one candidate each month. After a terrible start we have now won 4 in a row in all comps plus we had our 40th anniversary celebrations in October which may be taken into account (unlikely).

Avenue got to the 3rd round in 2005, we lost to crosshaven 2-0, if we'd won we would of had limerick, i suppose it was limerick city at the time, at home.

Quote Originally Posted by guvnor View Post
    Newmarket won the league last year losing only 2 games and 1 of them was after they won the league and not once did they win the team of the month. They have now got to the third round of the munster senior cup and that still does not ring any bells with the folk that selects this accolade. Dont get me wrong, Well done to Bridge Utd and congrats to every team that has won this award but does advancing in a competition that includes all of munsters league champions and senior league sides not mean anything to the clare league? Afterall Newmarket Celtic are representing their league. Anyways im tipping Tulla B for the next one
    Well done to all concerned with the Bridge, deserving winners. But like most people on here, I can't figure out how Newmarket have not won this accolade yet. There performances last season were second to none and after a few hiccups at the start of this season seem to be back on track, especially in the Senior Cup. Does anyone know the formula for selecting the winners of this award???

Newmarket won the league last year losing only 2 games and 1 of them was after they won the league and not once did they win the team of the month. They have now got to the third round of the munster senior cup and that still does not ring any bells with the folk that selects this accolade. Dont get me wrong, Well done to Bridge Utd and congrats to every team that has won this award but does advancing in a competition that includes all of munsters league champions and senior league sides not mean anything to the clare league? Afterall Newmarket Celtic are representing their league. Anyways im tipping Tulla B for the next one
    Guvnor, you must be fair stuck for a t-shirt and top your always on about TOTM
    On a good note..ye are doing great but they were not all in oct' but dont worry ye will get it yet...well done in the MSC, and good luck in the clare comps.

at the end of the day it is only a team of the month award
    i'd rather win league / cup at end of season.. forget about it and move on keep winning games and ye might be considered for team of the month sometime and good luck in senior cup

" football is a simple game "

Clare Soccer Website

Quote Originally Posted by Bossman View Post
    is it just me or has anybody else noticed the shortage of avenue posts on a monday after they lose a match usually there are plenty of them after they win a game

Quote Originally Posted by the special 1 View Post
    ya a bit like newmarket...whats happening in there..they win big games against big cork teams.then lose to moher..anyone got a match report..
    ya the avenue and newmarket lads are a bit quiet alright but so are we. nobody likes talking about losing games i suppose. we lost in munster junior but to be honest im not too upset. we weren't goin to win that and now without fai and munster junior cups we can concentrate 100% on winning the premier league and the B's dont look like a bad bet to win the third division at the moment after another good win yesterday. happy to hear newmarket lost as i was fearing them in the league and now looks like you can safely say they're out of the running for sure.

to answer you on the match report i heard that newmarket were unlucky not get at least a point from the game as they played all the soccer and threw everything at moher but just couldn't score until late on and went down to 10 men. 2-0 nil down inside 10 or 15 minutes. heard skinny made a bags of a punch for a goal?? who was sent off for them? but credit to moher for a huge win for them since they were bottom going into the game but with the football over avenue wont fancy going back to liscannor this sunday now

Quote Originally Posted by old git View Post
    is it just me or has anybody else noticed the shortage of avenue posts on a monday after they lose a match usually there are plenty of them after they win a game
    lost 4-1 on penalties after a 1-1 draw was a fair result althouth avenue keeper scored the equaliser in injury time, very good game, missing 1 or 2 and so were killarney no complaints nice to see a ref willing to let the game flow, good win for moher in the league and lifford in the munster junior ..

Quote Originally Posted by hacker View Post
    ya ye should win the league now.in the best position...but why enter these cups if not interested in winning these games..
    well said hacker ,, it's amazing after teams get beaten in fai / munster how suddenly these competitions dont really matter

ya ye should win the league now.in the best position..

I think you and I know that the lg is not decided after 6 games.

tell talisman that

i'm only taking the pressure off us
    hacker what pressure is on rineanna? look i know that the league is miles from over. we're looking forward to another battle with lifford sunday and then hopefully we'll have ye in the derby and put yeer title dreams to bed

Anyone remember Brian Cowen playin with Newtown?

"1 day i will start hand.ie"
    Newtown F.C. 1977-2008 R.I.P.
    Hibs goin up!

Excellent. Which picture is the more recent?

celts1888 """lost 4-1 on penalties after a 1-1 draw was a fair result althouth avenue keeper scored the equaliser in injury time, very good game,
    missing 1 or 2 and so were killarney no complaints nice to see a ref willing to let the game flow, good win for moher in the league and lifford in the munster junior .. """

missing 1 or 2? ur understating that and fair play for not using it as an excuse
    i heard ye were missing
    brenden rochford , david russell, ciaran mcmanus , barry nugent, foreign dude bob, david smith ,dean ryan, mikey mahony suspended..

hardly 1 or 2..

Quote Originally Posted by avenueC View Post
    brenden rochford , david russell, ciaran mcmanus , barry nugent, foreign dude bob, david smith ,dean ryan, mikey mahony suspended..

hardly 1 or 2..
    I'm a bit suspicious here. You say Mickey O'Mahony was suspended...

Then why was there a picture of him playing the game in the Star on Tues under the name Mickey Burns .

Anyone from Avenue like to comment on this????

[QUOTE=CousinSylDolan;1053289]I'm a bit suspicious here. You say Mickey O'Mahony was suspended...

Then why was there a picture of him playing the game in the Star on Tues under the name Mickey Burns .

Anyone from Avenue like to comment on this????[/QUOTE

whooops have avenue been playing illegal players !!

Illegal players being played in the Clare League.Well im in shock nwayPar for the course i'm afraid.Every team has done it at some point.

Quote Originally Posted by CousinSylDolan View Post
    I'm a bit suspicious here. You say Mickey O'Mahony was suspended...

Anyone from Avenue like to comment on this????
    Attachment 1224

jesus is the real micky burns still playing these days ...
    Last edited by old git; 06/11/2008 at 11:46 AM.

Page 17 of 70 FirstFirst ... 715161718192767 ... LastLast