Thread: Clare League Season 2008/09

hello

good to be back, reading all the interesting predictions
    good start by the avenue,few footballers to join em in a few weeks as well but long way to go yet.
    n/market / lifford 2 games lost thats gonna hurt by seasons end
    rineanna will take points off the top teams but never raise it for the mediocre games an that will be their down fall
    corofin / bridge to go straight down
    seems clare league tryin to get the season over by xmas again, 3 games in 7 days , prob be a period of time where a team wont get to play for a month due to weather
    any news on oscar traynor? any interest?

Quote Originally Posted by Clifford View Post
    easy lads. their midfield has been combo of herlo, gary flynn, anthony whyte, aidan keane ritchie neylon and david smyth. all six footers plus (not) and shoot balls of fire from their arses. there are a lot bigger fitter physical teams in bunratty, moher, burren, newmarket wont be short either in that stakes. as for bridge and corofin teams, they were weakened and i'd even say most clubs b teams would have taken points off them on those particular days. everyone thought they were the team to beat last year as well and avenue won nothing. the avenue lifford game could have swung either way. those derby games are always very close and form usually goes out the window in them. clubs will start to get full strength in the next month so then will be the test for every team. dark horses moher

True enough Moher could be the dark horses especially now as the football season draws to a close their team is going to get a lot stronger.

I think if you combine the Avenue midfield and their defence together they have a fairly physical team. They will have David Russell back as soon as Eire og are out of the championship which will add even more bite to their midfield, along with Aidan Keane who hasn't kicked a ball for the last 18 months I think they will be more than a match physically for any team in the middle of the park.
    Its one thing having a physically big team but the players have to be able to use it, and I don't thing Bunratty can, I would even think newmarkets midfield isn't that powerful. Centre midfield Niggles I don't see him winning many 50/50 balls on a cold wet sunday morning.

nmkt 3 corofin 1, lucky enough didnt play all that well and corofin hit the bar a couple of times when the game was nil nil. they will feel unlucky not to have picked up anything from the game. any reports on the other games??

Clare Soccer Website

Bunratty 3-1 Avenue

Good performance by Bunratty who led 3-0 early in the 2nd half. From what I hear it was a close game and Bunratty 'keeper did well to keep Avenue out.

[QUOTE=old git;1019970]
    Quote Originally Posted by celts1888 View Post

first i have ever heard of a team getting relegated for a player manhandling a referee... if true player should have been suspended for a long while by clare league .. he gets punished ( supposed to ) and not club ... newmarket won game 2-1 lifford missed penalty end of story history now
    Old Git this quote is from Celts1888 and not from me .
    I'll update this next year.

Burren 0-0 Bridge Utd..Real scrappy contest in very soft ground and long grass..burren down to 10 men just before half time, bridge dominated the game and funny it was burren had the better clear cut chances.. Bridge scored a perfect goal from a corner keeper dropped the ball behind his back while on the line and defender cleared from a foot or two behind, terrible decision when the ref was 5 yards from it and in clear view..bridge need a striker but on the positive side its a clean sheet after conceeding 10 goals in 2 games.bridge will get better but need to score goals as i said need a striker:
    Last edited by bigguy; 15/09/2008 at 1:08 PM.

Quote Originally Posted by the special 1 View Post
    david russell is useless are you telling me he can use the ball..only if its in the air..how many times did he get sent off last year???answer that

aiden keane is a great player good to hear he is back..

as for bunratty are you telling me the likes of evan glynn,noel and con
    collins cant play ball...
    [COLOR=black][FONT=Verdana][/FONT][/COLOR]
    [COLOR=black][FONT=Verdana]You're having a laugh mate. "David Russell is useless" because a player has a discipline issue doesn't making him useless. Go around and watch any game on a sunday morning and count how many times the ball is in the air? We don't play good flowing football like the limerick or dublin leagues so teams in clare can do quite well where they have a physical presents in midfield.[/FONT][/COLOR]
    [COLOR=black][FONT=Verdana]I never said anything about Bunratty not been able to play ball, I actually think thay have some fine ball players and going on yesterdays result they could well a have a great season. [/FONT][/COLOR]
    [COLOR=black][FONT=Verdana]What I did question was could they match teams physically? (Last year in the Cup Final they where found wanting in that department) If they can this could be their season. [/FONT][/COLOR]

Hacker, what is the field like for sunday? I suppose the grass is lovely and long and the livestock will be in on friday to trim it?
    Last edited by Avenue1990; 16/09/2008 at 2:49 PM.

Quote Originally Posted by Avenue1990 View Post
    Hacker, what is the field like for sunday? I suppose the grass is lovely and long and the livestock will be on friday to trim it?
    excuses already avenue 1990 pitch is the same as it always was

" football is a simple game "

43 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by old git View Post
    excuses already avenue 1990 pitch is the same as it always was
    avenue 1990 what lifford games have u seen this year??? or is it a trade secret. what have you made of em? strenghts weakness????

sure ye must know by now lads as well if its not the pitch that screwed avenue then its the ref and when that fails we´l blame lydon the fixture secretary because its all a conspiracy.
    The above is all opinion and based on personal experience. Unless stated otherwise it is not a dig at anybody, well probably none of you lot.

43 Posts
    david russell is useless are you telling me he can use the ball..only if its in the air..how many times did he get sent off last year???answer that

aiden keane is a great player good to hear he is back..

as for bunratty are you telling me the likes of evan glynn,noel and con
    collins cant play ball...
    this is a first special one agreeing with you because its usually horse manure you talk, but two out of three aint bad. aidans quality and bun boys are no mugs and would grace most prem teams. they will be in the running for all cups in clare this year and play some super football. but david russell been useless??????
    i know one thing and thats i´d prefer to be playing with (soccer lads soccer) russell than against him. if lifford had him they´d probably have won the holy grail by now as they have been missing one ingredient from their dream team and thats balls which russ has in abudance. so as it stands russ has more league medals than the whole lifford team together oh pa wilson and aussie have medals cause they played with russ and the avenue. not a cheap shot(i´l leave that to you) at lifford cause i´ve great respect for them but special one you make me want to hate them (bit like avenue1990, whose not from or played with avenue i might add)
    The above is all opinion and based on personal experience. Unless stated otherwise it is not a dig at anybody, well probably none of you lot.

Quote Originally Posted by Avenue1990 View Post
    Hacker, what is the field like for sunday? I suppose the grass is lovely and long and the livestock will be in on friday to trim it?
    Quote Originally Posted by hacker View Post
    its like a mud bath after the lifford game last week..any rain could put it in doubt but weather promised good..
    Avenue1990 just to clear things up, Rineanna's 'pitch' is never in a good state. When there's grass on it its normally too long and the rest of the time its mainly mud with a few clumps of grass sticking up here and there. It'd be a close call between that field and Corofin's for the worst in the Premier this year. I think if Rovers had a nice pitch like Lifford or Newmarket etc they'd do worse, its so bad that the sides who like to play football and get the ball down rarely enough get points there or if they do not many. You cannot play soccer there so I reckon Rovers will maintain a solid start to the season and get at least a point from Sunday.

The Premier League looks like it's going to be a close four-horse race this season between Bunratty, Avenue, Newmarket and Lifford. The Ennis derby 2 weeks ago was tight but Avenue's greater determination won it for them, they've been training like dogs for the last couple of months.

Munster Junior Predictions:
    Corofin A
    Burren
    Bunratty
    Newmarket and Bridge Celtic to be decided in extra-time or pens

as it stands if i was picking avenue team if russell had to play it would be centre half as he dives into tackles in midfield..
    Better off he dives into tackles in the box is it?

Clare Soccer Website

Quote Originally Posted by hacker View Post
    rineanna 1 avenue 2
    good game rovers missing a few bodies but avenue deserved to be ahead at half time.(half time 2-0).maybe not by 2 though.rovers much better in second half could have got a point battled hard til the end..fair play to avenue very organised team..well able to play it around..opens up the league again wit every team exept bridge celtic having lost a game..
    Yea i think we deserved it alright,,ye may have snuck somethin in the end.what did u make of the sendings off?

any one like to predict, its gone very quiet..
    Corofin Harps A V Bunratty A
    Newmarket Celtic A V Bridge Celtic A
    Burren United V Moher Celtic A

Predictions - Rats / NOF / and Moher wins -
    I think it quiet because nobody wants their head chewed off for giving an opinion !
    By the way how is skinny and skinner getting on with the reds ?

Quote Originally Posted by Planners View Post
    Predictions - Rats / NOF / and Moher wins -
    I think it quiet because nobody wants their head chewed off for giving an opinion !
    By the way how is skinny and skinner getting on with the reds ?
    training well, two good additions. only eligible to play this weekend so thats why they have'nt figured so far.

Page 7 of 70 FirstFirst ... 567891757 ... LastLast