Page 6 of 70 FirstFirst ... 456781656 ... LastLast

Thread: Clare League Season 2008/09

lifford lost that game two years ago because they played terrible football, whatever about newmarket, Lifford should have won that game and relegated newmarket but hey they didn't. I know lifford people will say that The referee cost them the match but we all know lifford should of had that league wrapped well up before that game against newmarket

yes lifford should have had the game wrapped up ,, that still does not condone pushing the referee ,, especially since it was one of the most respected players in the clare game who did it

which one is it manhandling or pushing but I for one do not condone either but that was 2 years ago why bring it back up again.

[quote=celts1888;1019475]
    Quote Originally Posted by First View Post

lifford lost 2-1 on the last day of the season 2 years ago.. missed a penalty, a certain newmarket lad was manhandling the referee we all know who iam talking about..its a joke would have been relegated only for intimidating the referee.. correct me if iam wrong???????
    celts1888 sounds like u have alot of sour grapes, lifford lost to a newmarket side that had 5 b team players in the first 11 that day. so lets get it straight if they couldn't beat newmarket that day they didnt deserve to be crowned champions. as to the certain player manhandling the referee i would love to know who your talking about???

Quote Originally Posted by the special 1 View Post
    [/B]

alot of ex newtown lads gone to bunratty..
    Cheeky and derek byrne.......who else??
    Sure it was a grand ole team to play for....Sure it was a grand ole team to know..

Hail Hail!!

Rineanna have suspended jimmy for 10 days to futher slow up his transfer to nmkt. So it has left us with no option but to bring them to the munster council as they are in breach of the following rule:
    Rule 79: A club, in membership of the LEAGUE, which withholds a players transfer without having valid claim against such player, when the transfer has been applied for by the player or on his behalf, by a club, the club withholding the transfer will be reported to the Executive Committee who, after investigating the matter, may make an order for the transfer of the player. The order must be complied with within three (3) days of being notified to the withholding club. A club found guilty of unreasonably withholding a player's transfer will be dealt with as the Executive Committee may deem fit.
    for the record the way rovers have handled this matter has been nothing sort of shambolic.

Quote Originally Posted by out red View Post
    Rineanna have suspended jimmy for 10 days to futher slow up his transfer to nmkt. So it has left us with no option but to bring them to the munster council as they are in breach of the following rule:
    Rule 79: A club, in membership of the LEAGUE, which withholds a players transfer without having valid claim against such player, when the transfer has been applied for by the player or on his behalf, by a club, the club withholding the transfer will be reported to the Executive Committee who, after investigating the matter, may make an order for the transfer of the player. The order must be complied with within three (3) days of being notified to the withholding club. A club found guilty of unreasonably withholding a player's transfer will be dealt with as the Executive Committee may deem fit.
    for the record the way rovers have handled this matter has been nothing sort of shambolic.
    The only way they can hold up his transfer is if he owes money, Only the clare league can suspend and stop his transfer.A club suspension doesn't effect a transfer going through. Don't know what's the story there.

For all those complaining about some pitch's here are a couple of things you should be thankful for. Not having to play in Our lady's with Paddy,Carl and Noel as officials, oh the good olde days

Quote Originally Posted by Avenue1990 View Post
    Yeah your right Rineanna are going very well....Another few points now and that should see them safe for another season in the premier!!

i hear theres some hothead playing for them, fancies himself
    as a bit of a hard man, apparently he has christened himself
    the "Rineanna Vinny Jones" and has even shaved his head
    to be more like him ??

You think you can catch Keyser Soze? You think a guy like that comes this close to getting caught, and sticks his head out?

43 Posts
    ive seen enough to know who will be fighting for honours at the end of season and who wont
    yes but what games have you seen this year???
    The above is all opinion and based on personal experience. Unless stated otherwise it is not a dig at anybody, well probably none of you lot.

43 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by celts1888 View Post
    its obvious that avenue will be on most of our list for favourites. 100% record and they are scoring goals for fun, watched there games against corofin and lifford, they look very impressive, but they always fade away in the concluding stages even though i heard the have been doing some serious pre season training so i will not doubt them to take the honours this season,, their main rivals will be bunratty who have been showing some decent form and were unlucky against newmarket who will go no where this season infact they shouldnt have even been in the premier last season,, lifford will be up there fighting come the end if the get the results they deserve (rineanna robbed them of rthe points) .. bridge united for the drop
    avenue had a better start last year winning the first 4 and drawing 1 all with newmarket, who were at least five points behind. any team under shires and pudding will fight till the bitter end. nwkt down through the years have shown they have the bottle. lifford and bunratty will have their say as well. no cups given out in september. it will boil down to the usual 5 or 6 games left five will be in contention for title others will be for relegation. squeaky bum time-beware the ides of march
    The above is all opinion and based on personal experience. Unless stated otherwise it is not a dig at anybody, well probably none of you lot.

lads is daryl eade playing with avenue this year?

Quote Originally Posted by Clifford View Post
    yes but what games have you seen this year???

A few of Avenues A and B team Games
    2 Lifford Games
    A couple of Premer league games on Setanta
    Kilkenny Vs Waterford (waste of time)
    I hope to watch Kerry vs Tyrone (should be a good one)
    I watched a few NFL games last weekend cos I wasnt out.
    Oh yeah and I watched the Olympic GAMES! Does that count?

Hope that satisfies you Cliff.Do you want to know what iv eaten for my dinner also for the last week too!

[QUOTE=celts1888;1019475]
    Quote Originally Posted by First View Post

lifford lost 2-1 on the last day of the season 2 years ago.. missed a penalty, a certain newmarket lad was manhandling the referee we all know who iam talking about..its a joke would have been relegated onkly for intimidating the referee.. correct me if iam wrong???????

first i have ever heard of a team getting relegated for a player manhandling a referee... if true player should have been suspended for a long while by clare league .. he gets punished ( supposed to ) and not club ... newmarket won game 2-1 lifford missed penalty end of story history now

" football is a simple game "

Quote Originally Posted by the special 1 View Post
    them were the days

good days indeed many of fond memories ,,, not of the refs you mentioned above though

" football is a simple game "

Quote Originally Posted by the hoops View Post
    lads is daryl eade playing with avenue this year?
    No I don't he has signed for anyone. Heard he is coaching badminton instead this year, but might be signing for Rock as his bother plays for them.

Quote Originally Posted by celts1888 View Post
    its obvious that avenue will be on most of our list for favourites. 100% record and they are scoring goals for fun, watched there games against corofin and lifford, they look very impressive, but they always fade away in the concluding stages even though i heard the have been doing some serious pre season training so i will not doubt them to take the honours this season,, their main rivals will be bunratty who have been showing some decent form and were unlucky against newmarket who will go no where this season infact they shouldnt have even been in the premier last season,, lifford will be up there fighting come the end if the get the results they deserve (rineanna robbed them of rthe points) .. bridge united for the drop
    [COLOR=black][FONT=Verdana]I wouldn't really count the Corofin game as been impressive as that was a really poor Corofin team they played. Good result against Lifford alright but I still won't say they where impressive, solid maybe and definitely the fitter team as the game went on. Lifford play some good football but seem to lacking a bit when the game get physical, a bit like bunratty who have some good footballers but seem a little soft as a team which will probably cost team some points as the weather gets even worse. [/FONT][/COLOR]

Quote Originally Posted by Halo View Post
    [COLOR=black][FONT=Verdana] Good result against Lifford alright but I still won't say they where impressive, solid maybe and definitely the fitter team as the game went on. . [/FONT][/COLOR]
    would agree with that. Avenue are a very physically strong side. Solid defence and wont concede too many goals. The midfield is workmanlike with grafters rather than really skillful players and the 2 lads up front play on the break. They are very dangerous from set pieces as Lifford found out.

They look like the team to beat this year - have proved they can score easily against the weaker teams and grind out a result against the better teams like Lifford. It will take a team who can match them physically and then move the ball quickly in midfield to beat them.
    you are only a loser when you stop trying. Playing sport does not build character, it reveals it.

43 Posts
    A few of Avenues A and B team Games
    2 Lifford Games
    A couple of Premer league games on Setanta
    Kilkenny Vs Waterford (waste of time)
    I hope to watch Kerry vs Tyrone (should be a good one)
    I watched a few NFL games last weekend cos I wasnt out.
    Oh yeah and I watched the Olympic GAMES! Does that count?

Hope that satisfies you Cliff.Do you want to know what iv eaten for my dinner also for the last week too!
    not really just the avenue a and lifford games please

43 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by papa-j View Post
    would agree with that. Avenue are a very physically strong side. Solid defence and wont concede too many goals. The midfield is workmanlike with grafters rather than really skillful players and the 2 lads up front play on the break. They are very dangerous from set pieces as Lifford found out.

They look like the team to beat this year - have proved they can score easily against the weaker teams and grind out a result against the better teams like Lifford. It will take a team who can match them physically and then move the ball quickly in midfield to beat them.
    easy lads. their midfield has been combo of herlo, gary flynn, anthony whyte, aidan keane ritchie neylon and david smyth. all six footers plus (not) and shoot balls of fire from their arses. there are a lot bigger fitter physical teams in bunratty, moher, burren, newmarket wont be short either in that stakes. as for bridge and corofin teams, they were weakened and i'd even say most clubs b teams would have taken points off them on those particular days. everyone thought they were the team to beat last year as well and avenue won nothing. the avenue lifford game could have swung either way. those derby games are always very close and form usually goes out the window in them. clubs will start to get full strength in the next month so then will be the test for every team. dark horses moher

Page 6 of 70 FirstFirst ... 456781656 ... LastLast