Page 36 of 70 FirstFirst ... 26343536373846 ... LastLast

Thread: Clare League Season 2008/09

Quote Originally Posted by vidic-class View Post
    I spose a draw was probably a fair result in the end today but thought we could have nicked the 3 points which would have been great as now we are only going to end up with a point from the 2 games this week.

Yes studsup, we won't be fielding a team on Tuesday morning which to be honest is very frustrating for us. We have close to half our squad working Tuesday as their employers don't go by Irish Bank Holidays and there is nothing we can do about it.

Lifford are refusing to switch the kick-off to the afternoon which is not very much to ask of them in all fairness. 2 years ago (August 27 2006 to be precise) Newmarket were down to play Lifford, Lifford asked the league could the Junior game be switched to the Monday because they were playing Limerick in the Eircom U21 the Saturday, of course Newmarket kindly obliged when Lifford and the Clare League came knocking on the door and did Lifford a favour, the game was played on the Monday. It later emerged that the U21 game didn't actually go ahead at all and that Lifford were just abusing the situation. Now when the shoe is on the other foot Lifford won't return the favour. I hope the 'mighty' Lifford take great pride from taking a walkover on Tuesday in their quest to win a first meaningful trophy in around thirty-something years at junior level
    Sorry to hear that this is the case, why didn´t newmarket request a free day from the league?? Surely they knew that there was going to be games on paddy´s day and if there was going to be a problem fielding a team they should have asked for a free day.
    also it is the same for all clubs that are playing on paddy´s day.. lads having work. maybe lifford players have gotten the morning off to play the match or maybe they are playing with players from the b team... to be honest I don´t know but i do know that the lifford secretary is fair and is a sportsman. there is another side to this story!!

Formerly: vidic-class
    Quote Originally Posted by tulla b View Post
    lads anyone know how avenue u13 got on against cherry orchard. as for above players jobs at the end of the day are way more important than any football game especially in the current climate. whats clare leagues stance on this, have ye told them about lads working?
    Avenue 13s were beaten 2-0 (thankfully). As far as I know the league are fine with switching the kick-off time but since the whole of Clare soccer revolves around Cassidy Park, Lifford won't agree to the change

Quote Originally Posted by plasticpitch View Post
    Sorry to hear that this is the case, why didn´t newmarket request a free day from the league?? Surely they knew that there was going to be games on paddy´s day and if there was going to be a problem fielding a team they should have asked for a free day.
    also it is the same for all clubs that are playing on paddy´s day.. lads having work. maybe lifford players have gotten the morning off to play the match or maybe they are playing with players from the b team... to be honest I don´t know but i do know that the lifford secretary is fair and is a sportsman. there is another side to this story!!
    Ya he is very fair and sportsmanlike alright, begging Newmarket to agree to changing the fixture 2 years ago and now when Newmarket are asking his club for a smaller favour in return he slams the door in their faces. Very fair man alright plasticpitch. Hopefully Moher will beat them Sunday... Anyway on the brightside I spose we can enjoy Paddy's Day now and take a spin out to Rineanna in the morning

Its hard on newmarket esp as ye have been saying that newmarket have done favour in the past for lifford. however since lifford have "bottled it" the last 2-3 years when it comes to winning the league, the chance to get a handy 3 pts off a rival would be too good an opportunity to miss so why would they agree to facilitate a change. This is the Lifford way which spreads from committee, manager(who is a disgrace on the touchline with his comments to opposing players and referees) and players themselves.
    Dont worry newmarket lads ye will still prob finish above them

Quote Originally Posted by Avenue1990 View Post
    Its hard on newmarket esp as ye have been saying that newmarket have done favour in the past for lifford. however since lifford have "bottled it" the last 2-3 years when it comes to winning the league, the chance to get a handy 3 pts off a rival would be too good an opportunity to miss so why would they agree to facilitate a change. This is the Lifford way which spreads from committee, manager(who is a disgrace on the touchline with his comments to opposing players and referees) and players themselves.
    Dont worry newmarket lads ye will still prob finish above them
    I think you forgot to put in your zero's there Avenue1990, they've been bottling it for the last 20-30 years!

Quote Originally Posted by the special 1 View Post
    lads i totally agree with the fact that newmarket should get a favour back from lifford..but lets be honest is it actually work or hurling that is preventing ye from fielding a team..how many hurlers on the team(who won't play as hurling match on at 11.30) i can only pressume if clare league taught ye were stuck because of work that they would do something but not because some players are picking hurling over soccer..

ye must have at least 60 players between youths and both junior teams..missing 8 isn't that big a deal...

ye are taking it abit far by not turning up..as ye will lose 3 pts for giving a walkover which will put ye down near relegation zone
    lets put this to bed lads. from our viewpoint its a real pity Lifford wouldnt offer to play at a later time. as is stated in previous posts we have accomadated them in the last two years. we geniunely have lads working some of which now had to take the day off an lose out on pay. special one we are missing two hurlers but anyboby who knows anything about newmarket celtic will know that there is very little cross over between hurling and soccer in the village. we are a big enough club to cope without two players but not 8. as for your 60 players in the club , our b team is going for its own title so cant use any of them and our youths are mostly 16 or 17 year olds. we will have some sort of a side tomorrow just a pity it wont be as strong as normal. lets hope we can pull off a minor miracle and get something out of the game. as keegan says " i would love it"

Quote Originally Posted by hacker View Post
    i don't often say this but well done 2day to newmarket..i bet lifford are sorry they didn't help ye out now..

any reports on 2day's matches
    full of s**t.. that will be the day newmarket give a walkover...

Lifford bottle it YET AGAIN

Quote Originally Posted by the special 1 View Post
    but lets be honest is it actually work or hurling that is preventing ye from fielding a team..how many hurlers on the team(who won't play as hurling match on at 11.30)
    full of s**t.. that will be the day newmarket give a walkover...
    special one Newmarket Celtic is a soccer club not a GAA one, only two players from the entire squad are involved in hurling and it was actually work that was clashing. A couple of the lads had to lose out on pay today not going into work and the others went in at 7am.

Yes plasticpitch that will be the day. Great win today, Lifford were rattled. Their goalkeeper is the biggest clown I've seen on a pitch, roarin and shoutin abuse at opposing players when taking his kickouts. He got pulled for it, from the resulting free Newmarket got a pen and then his goalkeeping left a lot to be desired for the other two goals. Lifford arguing at half-time, 2 players subbed and stormed off the pitch. Lifford's true colours (heartless, spineless, gutless) came to the fore today, when the going got tough they couldn't hack it. Great day for soccer!

As a neutral reading what has been going on ,it was a great day for newmarket's squad not their team. It has been said off the pitch that they would not stand a chance without their hurlers/soccer players on their team.
    I heard some players went to work a few hours early to get off for the game.
    Amazing the way the wheel turns.
    Lifford left newmarket early in the season hooting their horns as if they won the league.
    Also talk about sore losers, their mentors did not even shake hands with the newmarket managment after the game. SPORTS MEN HA!!! HA!!!!
    Again Well Done Newmarket Celtic never stoop to their level.

difference between nwmkt and lifford is immense.
    nwmkt have history, substance, integrity , success, sportsmanship,unreal team spirit.
    they will play soccer when needed, kick u all over the place if needs be , but the minute the game is over they shake hands and offer to go for a drink
    lifford have none of the above,
    and going on what i have read it doesnt surprise me.

Lads is it fair to say that Newmarket today cost lifford another chance of winning a league title.They have done it twice with makeshift teams good result for there b team too today. Does anyone know if the clare league are looking into the behaviour of the Lifford Management on match days I have heard several reports about them. surely its not good for the clare league's image for this type of behaviour to continue

special one Newmarket Celtic is a soccer club not a GAA one, only two players from the entire squad are involved in hurling and it was actually work that was clashing. A couple of the lads had to lose out on pay today not going into work and the others went in at 7am.

Yes plasticpitch that will be the day. Great win today, Lifford were rattled. Their goalkeeper is the biggest clown I've seen on a pitch, roarin and shoutin abuse at opposing players when taking his kickouts. He got pulled for it, from the resulting free Newmarket got a pen and then his goalkeeping left a lot to be desired for the other two goals. Lifford arguing at half-time, 2 players subbed and stormed off the pitch. Lifford's true colours (heartless, spineless, gutless) came to the fore today, when the going got tough they couldn't hack it. Great day for soccer!
    well congrats today on the 3 points vidic class.. as always the best team won out so fair play.
    so i'm sure all are glad that the lads made the sacrifice to play the game today... i think its clear that all amateur players make sacrifices to play sport. i still think that lifford(as any other team) would be in their right to not change the fixture. the newmarket players are not the only players making sacrifices to play games today. although newmarket never need added incentive as the players are always up for games it looks like ye got it today!
    as for the lifford keeper, i can't comment as i wasn't there.
    so vidic class, u reckon that players should be happy to be subbed at half time, hehe that will be a new one.

well congrats today on the 3 points vidic class.. as always the best team won out so fair play.
    so i'm sure all are glad that the lads made the sacrifice to play the game today... i think its clear that all amateur players make sacrifices to play sport. i still think that lifford(as any other team) would be in their right to not change the fixture. the newmarket players are not the only players making sacrifices to play games today. although newmarket never need added incentive as the players are always up for games it looks like ye got it today!
    as for the lifford keeper, i can't comment as i wasn't there.
    so vidic class, u reckon that players should be happy to be subbed at half time, hehe that will be a new one.
    Not saying that at all, they weren't pulling their weight so they were called ashore plastic. They had no reason to be storming off as if they were world beaters. Those two were part of the shower of apes blowin horns and screamin down in Newmarket in September thinkin that was the league wrapped up and today they're out of the running yet again

That's called Karma, I think Newmarket are one team you don't want to p#SS OFF especially when you have to play them later on in the season, Think the evening games will have a major bearing on wins the league but it looks like a two-horse race but the rest of the teams will have a say in where the title goes.

on a seperate matter I would like some help answering some clare trivia questions.

Who has the most league and Cup medals in clare.
    who has the most league and cup medals still playing.

Thumbs down

Quote Originally Posted by hacker View Post
    [/b]

i remember a certain newmarket manager would not shake my hand after our game in newmarket this year..
    but as you say it should be left on the pitch

but i do agree with you about lifford managment they do too much shouting at the opposition players instead of at there own..

great result for ye 2day..just a prediction.. if ye beat bridge celtic b in cup which ye should..quarter final against lifford..now that would be watched by the whole of clare i'd say

Just a reminder of why he didn't

Rineanna have suspended jimmy for 10 days to futher slow up his transfer to nmkt. So it has left us with no option but to bring them to the munster council as they are in breach of the following rule:
    Rule 79: A club, in membership of the LEAGUE, which withholds a players transfer without having valid claim against such player, when the transfer has been applied for by the player or on his behalf, by a club, the club withholding the transfer will be reported to the Executive Committee who, after investigating the matter, may make an order for the transfer of the player. The order must be complied with within three (3) days of being notified to the withholding club. A club found guilty of unreasonably withholding a player's transfer will be dealt with as the Executive Committee may deem fit.
    for the record the way rovers have handled this matter has been nothing sort of shambolic.

In some ways I think you brought that on yourself it is not his style not to shake hands. Anyway thats history & Jimmy made a good move as did Skinny, who has had an outstanding season.

just saw a result there from third division
    corofin 8 - 1 Kilkishen

The third division is going to go right down to wire. what games do newmarket and bunratty have left to play??

When is the draw for the cup quarter finals does anyone know.
    You would have to fancy Avenue, Mntshn and Newmarket A to go thru at the weekend.

AVENUE UTD V SHANNON OLYMPIC A
    ROCK ROVERS
    HERMITAGE A
    RINEANNA ROVERS
    LIFFORD A
    LIFFORD B V MOUNTSHANNON CELTIC
    RHINE ROVERS
    NEWMARKET CELTIC A V BRIDGE CELTIC B

Quote Originally Posted by aliG2daE View Post
    just saw a result there from third division
    corofin 8 - 1 Kilkishen

The third division is going to go right down to wire. what games do newmarket and bunratty have left to play??

Thought Kilkishen were going well, they gave Rineanna a good game in the cup at the weekend, were they missing a few through the hurling or some thing....

How are all the Divisions shaping up lads....

Premier:
    Winners: Bunratty or Avenue
    Relegation: Corofin and between Moher/Burren/Rineanna and Bridge United

First:
    Winners: Tulla/Shannon olympic/Rock Rovers
    Promotion:Tulla/Shannon olympic/Rock Rovers/Mountshannon
    Relegation:Bridge united B/Kilrush/Connelly/Kildysert(fairly tight between the rest)

Second:
    Winners/Promotion: between Rhine/Avenue and Lifford
    Relegation: Inch/Shannon Olympic B/Cooraclare/Manus

Third:
    Winners/Promotion: Bunratty/Kilkishen/Newmarket/Corofin

Anyone care to call them at this stage
    I eats the beef......

Cup Draw + Third Division

Cup draw will take place on Friday 27th live on ClareFM

Bunratty: Kilkishen Celtic (A), Moher Celtic (H).
    Newmarket Celtic: Kilkishen Celtic (A), Manus Celtic (A), Hermitage (H), Tulla Utd (A).
    Corofin Harps: St Pat's (H), Tulla Utd (H).
    Kilkishen Celtic: Bunratty (H), Newmarket Celtic (H), Manus Celtic (H), St Pats (H), Hermitage (H), Bridge Celtic (A), Tulla Utd (A).

Yeah Kilkishen were going well but there having problems at d moment.Top scorer Paul Murphy could be out for the rest of the season with injury.Talking to the lads about the Corofin game their only complaint was about d ref(Julian).Sent off a Kilkishen player after 20 mins but did nothing when Kilkshen player was punched into the face right in front of him.All 4 top teams seem to be dropping points so anyone could win it.

Page 36 of 70 FirstFirst ... 26343536373846 ... LastLast