Page 10 of 70 FirstFirst ... 891011122060 ... LastLast

Thread: Clare League Season 2008/09

Any transfer activity before the window closes tonight lads????

Quote Originally Posted by littleman View Post
    How come the Clare league dosent play Saturday
    Because they play Sunday.

Clare league have played Sunday for as long as i can remember, I say its for many reasons. The School Boy/Girls play Saturday so i'm sure a shortage of Ref's would be a problem too.
    If you're in the penalty area and don't know what to do with the ball, put it in the net and we'll discuss the options later

FORM IS TEMPORARY, CLASS IS PERMANENT

Quote Originally Posted by Clifford View Post
    not trying to hide the fact that its a terrible result. the b team are also in the munster cup. do you sacrifice their season and all their training and cup tie their players. apart from barry cusack some of the best players on the b team are the youths. its barrys bravery that has held him back with injuries sustained. i've no doubt he would be in the oscar team if he had a bit of luck, as his a top lad with great attitude. dont forget barry came through the underage as well and he would have been given a chance just like we have to give these. we had players for dog fight russ and keane. again individual errors cost us. we had a squad of players that should have been able to do the job. anyways winners play lifford and winners of that play bunratty/mewmarket so we could easily have lost to either of these teams. would like to have had the chance but to say last 4 is a bit premature (would like to think we could have won it but now i'l have to dream of winning fai) and if we play like we did sunday burren will put and end to that.
    we should have got skinny, mannix, bombs mccarthy, mikey twomey, brendan nelligan, mallers. no prisoners.
    clifford
    surely priority should be with A Team in the munster junior .. no disrepect to B team but they aint going to get near winning it ..
    i would have thought b team players would have been brought up and underage players would then go to b team .. if ye had got a result in kilrush sunday it would have been a great result... but it did not happen and by avenues own high standards it must be a big disapointment to be out of a major cup competition already.
    yes future is looking good with underage players coming through but must add with such a young team already when are all the underage players going to get games ...plus a major problem with squad if you have to call up 4-5 underage players to cover for missing players .. just in case i am totally biased against ye .. it may be a result that brings team/ club together and get them to push on for rest of season to prove us all wrong

" football is a simple game "

Quote Originally Posted by old git View Post
    clifford
    surely priority should be with A Team in the munster junior .. no disrepect to B team but they aint going to get near winning it ..
    i would have thought b team players would have been brought up and underage players would then go to b team .. if ye had got a result in kilrush sunday it would have been a great result... but it did not happen and by avenues own high standards it must be a big disapointment to be out of a major cup competition already.
    yes future is looking good with underage players coming through but must add with such a young team already when are all the underage players going to get games ...plus a major problem with squad if you have to call up 4-5 underage players to cover for missing players .. just in case i am totally biased against ye .. it may be a result that brings team/ club together and get them to push on for rest of season to prove us all wrong
    yes Old Git i agree with everything you said here you hit the nail on the head!! The A team should be the most important team on these cup competitions and that is all that matters. Like you said bring up the B players to fill in at least they would have the experience of playing junior football and know what to expect.To the school boys its just another game lose and it means nothing to them they just go back to their own teams at least junior players will know how important a game like that can be.. Iam still waiting to here Avenues first 11

43 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by 2on2 View Post
    yes Old Git i agree with everything you said here you hit the nail on the head!! The A team should be the most important team on these cup competitions and that is all that matters. Like you said bring up the B players to fill in at least they would have the experience of playing junior football and know what to expect.To the school boys its just another game lose and it means nothing to them they just go back to their own teams at least junior players will know how important a game like that can be.. Iam still waiting to here Avenues first 11
    colin smyth, simon cuddihy, mattie nugent, david russell, ritchie neylon, david herlihy, gary flynn aidan keane, david smyth, micky mahony, barry nugent. subs dean ryan (played senior gaa eire og clare minor), nicola macura (played junior last year, ian lyons micky dinan (anyone remember their dads?) this team should have been good enough and hard enough for game. all due respect to the younger lads they improved team and helped take it to extra time. should even had the winner. i certainly wouldn't point the finger at them and their commitment maybe even better than some you'd expect more out off. have to take it on the chin and get on with it.
    The above is all opinion and based on personal experience. Unless stated otherwise it is not a dig at anybody, well probably none of you lot.

Quote Originally Posted by Clifford View Post
    colin smyth, simon cuddihy, mattie nugent, david russell, ritchie neylon, david herlihy, gary flynn aidan keane, david smyth, micky mahony, barry nugent. subs dean ryan (played senior gaa eire og clare minor), nicola macura (played junior last year, ian lyons micky dinan (anyone remember their dads?) this team should have been good enough and hard enough for game. all due respect to the younger lads they improved team and helped take it to extra time. should even had the winner. i certainly wouldn't point the finger at them and their commitment maybe even better than some you'd expect more out off. have to take it on the chin and get on with it.
    Yea i would agree with you there this team should have been good enough but the reason i asked for the team was that i heard a very interesting thing and i see from your team that a very prominent player for ye was missing and i was told he choose a junior A/B football match over this major cup game for ye!!!! Is there any truth in this?????

Quote Originally Posted by the special 1 View Post
    your talking about rochie..better he miss munster junior than league...
    the last time i checked 1 player doesn't make a team..
    I believe they drew the football match too and the replay is this Sunday. Which code will be play this weekend?????

Quote Originally Posted by the special 1 View Post
    your talking about rochie..so what if he was playing a junior A semi final...is he not allowed to play gaelic...most teams have gaa players..i'd say lifford are the only team in premier (correct me if wrong)that don't have gaa players..better he miss munster junior than league...
    the last time i checked 1 player doesn't make a team..
    special 1 where did you see in any of my posts that i said i had a problem with fellows playing gaa and soccer????? but what really gets me going is that he is CLUB CAPTAIN and next game he shows up for he will be handed his jersey and in the first team without a word said...certain fellows can come and go not worry about their place regardless how good the player that filled in for them did... and id say fair play to Lifford you go around to the top sides in the country and see how many of their Captains pick gaa over a major cup game.

Do clubs see the Munster Junior Cup as a mayor cup competition.
    Quick question: What do Clubs in Clare see as the priorty in terms of the competitions they play
    ie
    1 League
    2 Cup
    3. FAI
    4 Munster

Just wondering what ye think?

Talking

Quote Originally Posted by Halo View Post
    Do clubs see the Munster Junior Cup as a mayor cup competition.
    Quick question: What do Clubs in Clare see as the priorty in terms of the competitions they play
    ie
    1 League
    2 Cup
    3. FAI
    4 Munster

Just wondering what ye think?
    that would be the order with us anyway. i know some teams treat the clare area finals very highly also (hacker ). but in all seriousness league is always top priority.

Quote Originally Posted by out red View Post
    that would be the order with us anyway. i know some teams treat the clare area finals very highly also (hacker ). but in all seriousness league is always top priority.
    league would be first

cup second choice

fai / munster outright just a dream .. but if had pick munster junior probaly a lot more easier to win outright surely clare teams must realise this and have a major go at winning it someday it would be some achievement for club & county ..

personally i would not entertain him as captain no more he is supposed to be the clubs leader on the pitch and drive on the rest of the players ... let him sit on bench for next game or two also

Personally, I think Clare clubs should be giving the Munster Junior a good shot. Granted it's a very tough competition to win but it's not as if the top teams in the county are a million miles away from the top dogs in Munster like some people seem to think. Hopefully this year a Clare club will do well.

Angry

Its very hard to stop Lads playing GAA.However its easy enuf for the GAA to stop lads playing footy.A few of our players(Kilkishen Celtic)were told by the Junior A team not to play Munster Junior last weekend.Only 1 lad came along and played.Its so maddening

personally i would not entertain him as captain no more he is supposed to be the clubs leader on the pitch and drive on the rest of the players ... let him sit on bench for next game or two also
    Surely this is a case of individual choice. The said player chose to play in a Semi Final (albeit in a differant sport) instead of travelling to Kilrush to play a Munster Junior Cup game that everyone except the Kilrush players thought Avenue would win handy enough.
    I don't think his past commitments to Avenue can be doubted and any decision that has to be made regarding his continued captaincy or place in the team should be left to the clubs management. I am sure that the Avenue contingent that do post sensibly on Foot.ie would not even consider doubting the mans commitment.

Quote Originally Posted by ILuvFootie View Post
    Its very hard to stop Lads playing GAA.However its easy enuf for the GAA to stop lads playing footy.A few of our players(Kilkishen Celtic)were told by the Junior A team not to play Munster Junior last weekend.Only 1 lad came along and played.Its so maddening
    How much do you love footie then?

On a scale of lets say....1--------10.

Probibly be a 10 myself..But then again,i do love my footie,me!
    Sure it was a grand ole team to play for....Sure it was a grand ole team to know..

Hail Hail!!

And what benefit would this be to the club or team?

Rochie

This lads committment not only to Avenue but to Clare soccer is legendary. I understand people will open up the old argument again about GAA and soccer but I think its unfair to highlight this mans committment to avenue when he has probably given more than most. Maybe he is just interested in adding a junior football title to his collection of soccer medals.,,Avenue should still have enough against Kilrush without Rochie but unfortunately they did not and good luck to Kilrush. Maybe winning back the league is the number 1 priority this year?

agreed.. i cant see many teams setting out to win the munster junior cup(st michaels and co excused) i think that the league is the main priority. as for the avenue player in question... he has been present in the avenue team for many years as well as representing clare and travelling all over the country for those games... in fairness lads i think the guys commitment is not in doubt!!

Quote Originally Posted by Avenue1990 View Post
    Maybe winning back the league is the number 1 priority this year?
    That should always be the no.1 priority for a club like Avenue...
    But does that mean they should forget about everything else?

Page 10 of 70 FirstFirst ... 891011122060 ... LastLast