Thread: B.O.R.S.T Fundraiser - 1

Quote Originally Posted by Rovers Maniac View Post
    I agree with som eof the posters up there, the idea is so simple it is genius but i don't think we should take money away from the club either i.e. if they can get a shirt sponsor be it whatever or whoever then there would be no need to give money towards it should be there to cover expenses such as travel etc
    I think that's a pretty fair point - this initiative would probably serve the club best if it is used to cover the kind of costs that are hard to cover through run-of-the-mill sponsorship.
    "Even if the wind stops to blow
    Even if the sea ceases to flow
    Even if the sun ceases to rise
    The name of Sligo Rovers will shine and shine forever like the morning star glittering in the sky."

lads thanks for the ideas and keep them coming. all of these have already been thought about the supporter who has no internet access, getting teh supporters at games etc.. also we do hope to have an incentive for supporters to take part, sort of a something for nothing.Not being secretive but just want to finalise everything and have it 100% right before we begin.

The idea is very good and I hope it takes off. But just for the sake of a debate, can I bring this into the equation.
    Instead of starting off something completely new, and having to explain the idea to 1000 people or more, and then convincing them to sign up. Could the €2 be not be directed to the lotto in some way. That is widely known throughout the county and beyond.
    Then the people have a chance of winning a €200 voucher and an average of €5,000 in prize money EVERY WEEK.
    There is already a system in place for online membership. Just a thought.
    I have scattered my dreams underneath your feet, tread carefully, cos it's my dreams you walk on.

This too has been discussed.What this new initiative will be is exactly that a "new initiative".Whats happening is supporters have been supporting the lotto and all other fundraisers but still the club is struggling.
    Supporters as we have seen here are questioning the transparency of funds raised.One fan I spoke with, him and his wife arei season ticket holders,400 club members,yearly Lotto subscribers and back every fundraiser going.After the revelations of last week they have had enough, they donate thousands over time and cannot see where their monye is going.
    This initative will allow fans control over what the funds are donated to in assisting the club and I believe this is what many fans want.
    Everyone knows it take a huge financial income to run the club but a lot fans are getting ****ed off with as one fan said "throwing money into a black hole"

This new initative will hopefully give fans a new avenue to assist the club.
    No more excuses.

As I said before when all details are finalised we will call a public meeting and allow fans know what will happen next, we will need to set up locations for fans to sign up accross the county and in locations in town as well.

Also we will introduce electronic money transfers when we get our websiet up and running.

I think it's a grand idea and pretty straight forward too. Once ye get the elec transfer going I'll def throw in a few £ a week - and who knows, if the euro exchange rate goes to pot it'll be worth even more!
    Keep on keepin' on.

Even by just giving account details for the trust, a standing order could be setup very easily. You could use the persons name or trust membership number as a reference.

The half time kick the ball through the hole contest for 2 free bmi baby return tickets should be beter advertised,its another attraction to get people to games
    RIP JOHNNY

Also we will introduce electronic money transfers when we get our websiet up and running.
    Good stuff. One thing Rovers are definitely behind the times with is all aspects of the web.
    Take Leinster Rugby for example - any amount of ways you can buy your season ticket online, your jerseys/merch and regular newsletters once you're signed up. A few too many newsletters btw, but all very professional because, for one thing, they have paid professionals in charge of it.
    The club needs to get its act together in this regard as well and do away with the 'cash in an envelope' policy of getting money.