Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Thread: v Sligo

v Sligo

So getting back to on field matters.We REALLY need a home win,and i have a feeling we might just nick this one,we HAVE to.There has to be an urgency about our play now and fair play to Jeff i think he knows it too.Its anyone's guess what team we will field though.

75 Posts
    Rogers
    McCulloch
    Lester
    Fitzgerald
    Keane
    Molloy
    Russeller
    J. Keane
    O'Shea
    Murphs
    Glynny

I hope he starts Russell in the centre and Jonny Keane before Fenn who I dont rate and would have got rid of before Deego. We lack a bit of bite so Jeff will have to have them wound up bigtime.Geezer you will see there is only 4 maroon blooded lads on that team.
    We are the Galway Boys Stand up and make some noise"

55 Posts

i

thought lester,fitz and mccullough were gone gufct. Murphy and Glynn are from neighbouring mayo which is sound in my book (as good as galwegians).
    we need a balance but i hope the next time we sign players from Dublin or afar that they have experience, and preferably through the spine of the team. e.g Goalie, centre back, midfield and a striker with the stats to prove it.
    Pay the going rate for quality and give the young local lads a chance to learn from them.
    aka blackmore,bonner, gardner,lambert,mcdonnell,mcgee

75 Posts
    thank the lord god there not gone id say Jeff knew the players he wanted to keep and worked with Nick which we could afford to keep. Hopefully we will get a bit of luck on the injury side now because the squad is very tight especially at centre half and central midfield where we lack a tough tackling player with Deego gone and foley a long way off full fitness.

Glad to see Murphs back. I asked on here, at the start of the season, if I was alone in thinking that we might live to regret seeing him go and there was a resounding 'yes'. I agree he didn't play very well under Spoofer but I reckon he will do well under Jeff. He also brings a bit of experience that we need right now. Hope he gets a great welcome. Welcome 'home' Murphs.
    If YOU are not part of the solution,
    YOU ARE part of the problem

if we played they way we did against derry well be taking all 3 points home.2-0 rovers.boco,almeida
    Last edited by forza rovers; 10/07/2008 at 9:36 PM.

I'd like to see Murphs play up front, we all know he prefers to play in midfield but his strike rate when playing up front was phenomenal. I hope Jeff can get the best out of him. Good luck Murphs.
    Galway United - Connacht Champions 2008

FAO gufct.

T:are you saying Lester and Fitz arent going or they are just not gone yet??I didnt think they would still even be in Galway by tomorrow night nevermind playing,its great that they are though.I dont want this thread to get off topic,i only asked because we need them for games like tomorrow night.

46 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by eamo1 View Post
    T:are you saying Lester and Fitz arent going or they are just not gone yet??I didnt think they would still even be in Galway by tomorrow night nevermind playing,its great that they are though.I dont want this thread to get off topic,i only asked because we need them for games like tomorrow night.
    As per press statement it looks they are staying till end of season as only players club are in talks about leaving are Stephen O'Flynn, Reggie Nooitmeer and Daryl Robson.

Quote Originally Posted by Trainee View Post
    As per press statement it looks they are staying till end of season as only players club are in talks about leaving are Stephen O'Flynn, Reggie Nooitmeer and Daryl Robson.
    The statement does say
    Other adjustments to the squad may take place in the coming weeks but it has been necessary to reduce the playing budget.
    So there may well be a few more players leaving. Thankfully it appears we are already under the wage cap level so it might be possible to bring in player on lower wages. AFAIK players still at the club will be available for selection tomorrow.

75 Posts
    TBH I thought that yesterdays statement was the end of Players Going bar Reggi,Flynny & Daryll which would bring the total to eight since the 1st july. If there is anymore I feel it would remove a lot of the trust that was restored by yesterdays actions.

I would guess now that we are under the 65% any future departures would be up to Jeff.

37 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by forza rovers View Post
    if we played they way we did against derry well be taking all 3 points home.2-0 rovers.boco,almada
    Indeed. Acording to today's Sligo Champion (which claims to be biggest selling paper in Sligo city *sniggers*), Cook says that Sligo will get 3 points in Terryland.
    Last edited by Paddyfield; 10/07/2008 at 6:46 PM.
    Nobody knows us, we don't care

64 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by forza rovers View Post
    if we played they way we did against derry well be taking all 3 points home.2-0 rovers.boco,almada
    Is he a new signing? Has he taken Mauro Almeida's place in the team?

147 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by geezer View Post
    thought lester,fitz and mccullough were gone gufct.
    No, it was just rumours posted on this forum, something people with such an affiliation to the club should have known better about.
    Obviously no comment has been made by the poster about his cockup, one which had a lot of people worried. Really irresponsible, but sure he has the good of the club at his heart, so that's okay.
    "Billy Corgan, Smashing Pumpkins."
    "Homer Simpson, smiling politely."

75 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by WoodquayBoy View Post
    No, it was just rumours posted on this forum, something people with such an affiliation to the club should have known better about.
    Obviously no comment has been made by the poster about his cockup, one which had a lot of people worried. Really irresponsible, but sure he has the good of the club at his heart, so that's okay.

If I kept my mouth shut and said nothing I couldnt live with my conscience.There was a hell of a lot more people worried about our future than post on here because of the veil of silence that descended around the club for the last couple of months. I see you havent pmed myself or Pa to offer to sell any tickets for the draw. The club have held up their hands said they were wrong and I have moved on obviously you havent.

There is still no solid guarentee that the player exodus has stopped but for our season to turn we need a settled team to have any chance of staying up.
    Last edited by gufct; 10/07/2008 at 8:50 PM.

Easy now....I haven't sent a pm to anyone about selling tickets, I just got a book in Terryland. Let's all focus on tomorrow night, the future and what we can do individually to help. Not all actions of help need to be shouted from the rooftops. Now..................bring on the Slygo
    If YOU are not part of the solution,
    YOU ARE part of the problem

off topic.

I said when i asked the qs about those players that i didnt want this thread to go off topic too much but "shockingly" it did-give it a rest lads.
    Jeff should post Cook's comments up on the dressing room door and tell the players to go shove them back at him.Actually the players have many other more important motivations for winning tomorrow night so im sticking with my 1-0 or 2-1 prediction for us.

Quote Originally Posted by Paddyfield View Post
    Indeed. Acording to today's Sligo Champion (which claims to be biggest selling paper in Sligo city *sniggers*), Cook says that Sligo will get 3 points in Terryland.
    Sligo Champion's out on Wednesday's, not Thursday's.

And what Cook said was that if we play like we did against Derry and take our chances then we'll win, can't argue with that really. He also said Galway are a match for any side, as ye proved against Cork. Don't think there's anything disrespectful about that but yeah eamo, stick it up on the dressing room wall, that'll get ye the 3 points alright.

Look's like Gylnn is staying on then?

Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast