Page 25 of 35 FirstFirst ... 152324252627 ... LastLast

Thread: Tipp South & District League 2008/09

Quote Originally Posted by ronburgundy View Post
    if scully has a bad injury i would regard it as season over for town myself. how bad is it?
    Heard last night that he won't be back for janesboro match. He has torn his hamstring

anyone at the peake game yesterday? how was it? could they have beaten regional? went to cooke park on saturday evening, dire isnt the word

Was at Cooke Park myself.The Rock seemed to be missing 3 or 4 key players(maybe resting them for big game v Carrick).Saints very poor,rock could have snatched all three points especially after Paul Breen had been red carded.Looks like its between Peake and Town for the league.

Quote Originally Posted by useless View Post
    Was at Cooke Park myself.The Rock seemed to be missing 3 or 4 key players(maybe resting them for big game v Carrick).Saints very poor,rock could have snatched all three points especially after Paul Breen had been red carded.Looks like its between Peake and Town for the league.
    Its down to Peake and Town now. I would favour Peake as Town have to play Michaels. Heard Ronan Quirke on Tipp Fm saying that he would like Peake to win it, fair point I suppose but as a Town fan I would hope not.
    Big win for the Wilderness in the cup.
    Wonder what will the reaction be to carrick losing? Must listen to Tipp FM tonight to see what M Walsh will say.

Quote Originally Posted by Town Fan View Post
    Its down to Peake and Town now. I would favour Peake as Town have to play Michaels. Heard Ronan Quirke on Tipp Fm saying that he would like Peake to win it, fair point I suppose but as a Town fan I would hope not.
    Wonder what will the reaction be to carrick losing? Must listen to Tipp FM tonight to see what M Walsh will say.
    What is your problem with Muiris. He is very good on that programme, he is always very honest and fair and whilst I don't always agree with him, he has always given carrick great credit.
    As he has said the FAI junior cup is the hardest cup to win in irish sport, might be a bit extreme but there is truth in it.

What's Muiris Walshs backround in sport and why has he such a huge say in local sporting politics?? I don't know the guy but he can slate clubs and officials on radio and get away with it. So who is he??

Quote Originally Posted by Quietman View Post
    What's Muiris Walshs backround in sport and why has he such a huge say in local sporting politics?? I don't know the guy but he can slate clubs and officials on radio and get away with it. So who is he??
    He is PRO of Clonmel Town and a freelance journalist. What club and officials did he slate? I never heard him "slate" anyone

Muiris Walsh is an honest observer of sport in Tipperary and himself and Quirke work well together on that show on Monday nights.

Unhappy

Quote Originally Posted by complexman View Post
    He is PRO of Clonmel Town and a freelance journalist. What club and officials did he slate? I never heard him "slate" anyone
    OK reading back over it "slate" is probably a poor choice of word. However on his show, and I believe he writes the article that Town put in the local paper, he often speaks about player, team and referee performances. I don't know the man so I'm only asking, What gives him the right? What level did he play at? Has he coached? Has he refereed?? I take it he goes to all Towns games so when does he see all the other teams he reports on, when they play Town?? A little one sided if so.....but I'm only asking!!

He is just as qualified as any local radio journalist.

i.e not very. BUT!! how qualifed are George Hamilton, Bill O'Herlihy and Gabriel Egan?

Can he get his point across well? Yes.

If so does that make him qualified for local radio. Yes.

Cool

Don't get me started on those muppets!! So he has no sports or journalist qualifications!! It all makes sense now!!!!

OK reading back over it "slate" is probably a poor choice of word. However on his show, and I believe he writes the article that Town put in the local paper, he often speaks about player, team and referee performances. I don't know the man so I'm only asking, What gives him the right? What level did he play at? Has he coached? Has he refereed?? I take it he goes to all Towns games so when does he see all the other teams he reports on, when they play Town?? A little one sided if so.....but I'm only asking!!
    I wouldn't be a friend of this man but I read the Town notes every week and you are completely wrong. He never gives out about any player or the referee. I listen to the show and he is great on it. He doesn't slag off other teams. You are being very unfair. However he is honest. Look, personally I don't like the man but what you are saying is very unfair to him.

[SIZE=2]Can we stop talking about Muiris, I don't think it is fair to be talking about him like this here. However, Quietman, you are wrong. Give us examples of when he has slagged off other players, teams or refs. The only time he had a go at a ref was when both he and somebody from Michaels gave out about the referee who done the town vs Michaels game last season. He is very polished on that programme. He is very honest and informed. As somebody else said both himself and Ronan Quirke work very well together. In fact the two of them make that show
    I know that he covers GAA for some of the papers and is always out and about at matches. His match reports are again always honest. You don't have to agree with him all the time but I do admire him for that and for the great work he has done at Clonmel Town
    He is qualified to give an opinion. Can we please now lay off this man. He is a good bloke and it sounds to me that people are just having a go at him just for the sake of it.
    [/SIZE]

personally i would like to see peake win it too. it could only be good for the league. if they do win it, they seem pretty young so could challenge the top 2 for a few years to come

Wink

[SIZE=2]Can we stop talking about Muiris, I don't think it is fair to be talking about him like this here. However, Quietman, you are wrong. Give us examples of when he has slagged off other players, teams or refs. The only time he had a go at a ref was when both he and somebody from Michaels gave out about the referee who done the town vs Michaels game last season. He is very polished on that programme. He is very honest and informed. As somebody else said both himself and Ronan Quirke work very well together. In fact the two of them make that show
    I know that he covers GAA for some of the papers and is always out and about at matches. His match reports are again always honest. You don't have to agree with him all the time but I do admire him for that and for the great work he has done at Clonmel Town
    He is qualified to give an opinion. Can we please now lay off this man. He is a good bloke and it sounds to me that people are just having a go at him just for the sake of it.
    [/SIZE]
    Read my post, I never mentioned slagging, I said commenting on performances. This can be both positive or negative. I haven't a notion who he is so I have no personal gripe. So I asked the questions? It's just his name comes up here alot. Obviously you think the sun shines out his *#$. But then he's prob your buddy!!

no you used the word "slate". No I am not a buddy, only know him to see. But I still think you should not be saying things that aren't true.
    Anyway, enough said

Angry

no you used the word "slate". No I am not a buddy, only know him to see. But I still think you should not be saying things that aren't true.
    Anyway, enough said
    Do you always only part read?? I actually said that my original use of "slate" was wrong. So what did I say that wasn't true. Read things properly lad!

lads what a ridiculous arguement....we have the most exciting title race in years......a huge fai cup tie for town the weekend and ye are arguing about a journalist.....this site is like any radio show or club notes....its about opinions.....and muiris is entitled to his as much as anyone else....is this not the reason we all love the game???

Quote Originally Posted by hooper74 View Post
    lads what a ridiculous arguement....we have the most exciting title race in years......a huge fai cup tie for town the weekend and ye are arguing about a journalist.....this site is like any radio show or club notes....its about opinions.....and muiris is entitled to his as much as anyone else....is this not the reason we all love the game???
    Very true. How do people think Town will do,it is a big ask but as Muiris said on Tipp FM, they do have a great record in Limerick. Any news on paul scully?

I think Quirke said on Tipp FM that Scully was out of the game on Sunday.

Page 25 of 35 FirstFirst ... 152324252627 ... LastLast