Page 14 of 17 FirstFirst ... 41213141516 ... LastLast

Thread: North Tipp & District League 2008/09

Lads do you think its fair that some teams are allowed to play there games in hand at the end of the season?
    I presume most wont.

Any ideas how to get around this? Doesnt seem fair to be playing against weaker teams at the end of the season, it rewards teams that have pitches that are unplayable during the season.
    Newtown Celtic FC RIP (1992-2007)

Quote Originally Posted by celticlads View Post
    Nenagh Celtic 3-0 Blackcastle to be fair they were missing a few but we could have scored a couple more and a win is a win.Tough away game against clough but a big reward if we win ,play off wit Town for the league.What more could we ask for.
    Tough Game against clough ??? Dont know about that !! We are missing way too many players to be competitive .. I mean we lost to clodiagh in the cup last week.. Think our season is finished allready..
    I know we are missing our hurlers (3) plus 2 others plus 1 to injury so should be a handy one for celtic .. Sorry Town..

Quote Originally Posted by mr. man View Post
    Tough Game against clough ??? Dont know about that !! We are missing way too many players to be competitive .. I mean we lost to clodiagh in the cup last week.. Think our season is finished allready..
    I know we are missing our hurlers (3) plus 2 others plus 1 to injury so should be a handy one for celtic .. Sorry Town..
    we hope so , but not taking anything for granted no matter who ye missing cos we have to win no matter what type of team ye put out. are your hurlers playing hurling match sunday? Town should have it handy against thurles.

Birdhill gone altogether from what i hear, sorry to see that happen if true.

Well done town on winning the league today,well done Celtic on making a show of ourselves. Performance today was rubbish and we should be ashamed of ourselves handing the league to our biggest rivals in that way.To work so hard all year and then throw it all away like that was sickening .

Think you are being a bit hard on yourselves there. Nenagh AFC have now gone 2 consecutive seasons unbeaten in league football, an outstanding achievement, and Celtic have been the only local club to put it up to us this season, if we didn't beat you 3 weeks ago, then it could be a different story!! I would worry for you in the seasons ahead though, your schoolboy set up seems to be crumbling, someone needs to help out Stevie and Robbie ASAP. And our schoolboys now really beginning to click, very high representation in North Tipp Emerging Talent squads who are beginning to get good results against other leagues.
    But for the moment, It's a Blue Monday............................ Wahhhhhhhaaaaaaaaayyyyyyyy

Surely ye have to give some credit to clough in this game.. We had 2 goals disallowed for no reason whatsoever ( disgracful decisions by the ref ).. And also we were missing players ..
    Anyway hard luck to celtic.. actually felt bad for ye at the final whistle..

Surely ye have to give some credit to clough in this game.. We had 2 goals disallowed for no reason whatsoever ( disgracful decisions by the ref ).. And also we were missing players ..
    Anyway hard luck to celtic.. actually felt bad for ye at the final whistle..
    Sorry about that mr.man was just so dissappointed about things yesterday that i couldnt be bother writing a long message.Well done Clough ye should have won the game(ref robbed ye).But as for feeling bad for us dont bother because the effort and energy levels in our performance were unexceptable.Any Celtic player that was involved yesterday should be ashamed of themselves.Anyway well done town fair play to ye.

Quote Originally Posted by skunk View Post
    Think you are being a bit hard on yourselves there. Nenagh AFC have now gone 2 consecutive seasons unbeaten in league football, an outstanding achievement, and Celtic have been the only local club to put it up to us this season, if we didn't beat you 3 weeks ago, then it could be a different story!! I would worry for you in the seasons ahead though, your schoolboy set up seems to be crumbling, someone needs to help out Stevie and Robbie ASAP. And our schoolboys now really beginning to click, very high representation in North Tipp Emerging Talent squads who are beginning to get good results against other leagues.
    But for the moment, It's a Blue Monday............................ Wahhhhhhhaaaaaaaaayyyyyyyy
    Yes our underage situation is worring alright,first time in years we didnt have an U-14 team,also losing numbers every year is worring hpoefully we can address it next year.Great to see the effort being put into underage football in northtipp at last long overdue.

Hi Lads, just new to the thread. From Sallypark, we just lost out on the first division yesterday, a couple of bad mistakes at the back, and we hit the post twice and the crossbar once so it could have been a very different result had they gone in.

Just wondering how ye think sally will go in the premier?

Personally i think we stand a much better chance of staying up than borrisoleigh, our team is as good, we dont depend on hurlers and we have a second team who could perhaps plug a gap if needed.

Congrats to nenagh on winning the championship again, ye are setting a high standard both on the pitch and off. Trying to build a club from the ground up is extremely difficult and fair play to ye for having so much success.

Quote Originally Posted by SallyMan View Post
    Hi Lads, just new to the thread. From Sallypark, we just lost out on the first division yesterday, a couple of bad mistakes at the back, and we hit the post twice and the crossbar once so it could have been a very different result had they gone in.

Personally i think we stand a much better chance of staying up than borrisoleigh, our team is as good, we dont depend on hurlers and we have a second team who could perhaps plug a gap if needed.

Congrats to nenagh on winning the championship again, ye are setting a high standard both on the pitch and off. Trying to build a club from the ground up is extremely difficult and fair play to ye for having so much success.
    Nice to see someone new to the thread.

You would think there isnt much of a difference in the standard and there probably isnt but the hardest thing is trying to sustain the level of interest when you find yourself only in mid table or fighting relegation.
    Its easy to get lads to turn up when your chasing a title, not so easy after receiving a good hammering.
    Hope ye do well because ye have put in a lot of hard work. I often drive by on Fridays during the winter and see the floodlights at yer pitch.
    Newtown Celtic FC RIP (1992-2007)

Quote Originally Posted by SallyMan View Post

Welcome Sally man.. Good to have ya !!
    Glad ye got promoted ... I presume that this is your first year in the premier.. Congrats !! Think ye will hold your own in the premier , but it is very hard to know on your first season.. Just take a look at Birdhill.. They had a good team and had a good start and then completely fell apart and could not even field a team in the end.. I am sure that this will not happen to ye , which why i think ye will be grand..

[quote=SallyMan;1146989]Hi Lads, just new to the thread. From Sallypark, we just lost out on the first division yesterday, a couple of bad mistakes at the back, and we hit the post twice and the crossbar once so it could have been a very different result had they gone in.

Best of luck next year sallyman ye have a good chance of staying up.Apart from 4 maybe 5 clubs ye should hold your own against the others.

Quote Originally Posted by bawn79 View Post
    Nice to see someone new to the thread.

You would think there isnt much of a difference in the standard and there probably isnt but the hardest thing is trying to sustain the level of interest when you find yourself only in mid table or fighting relegation.
    Its easy to get lads to turn up when your chasing a title, not so easy after receiving a good hammering.
    Hope ye do well because ye have put in a lot of hard work. I often drive by on Fridays during the winter and see the floodlights at yer pitch.
    Well we know we have to up the standard a bit aswell, we have one excellent player coming back for next season (jimmy shanahan) who will be a serious addition and we have a fairly commited 20 or 21 lads. We havent really had a problem with lads turning up for matches and with a second team and hopefully a youths team next year we should have more players coming through. I honestly dont think we will recieve a lot of hammerings, we lost to Nenagh A 4-0 this year, but hit the crossbar and had some chances so if we can improve on that performance we should be ok! The winter months are tough going alright...were trying to get facilities together but when you dont own the land its like throwing money down a black hole!!

Welcome Sally man.. Good to have ya !!
    Glad ye got promoted ... I presume that this is your first year in the premier.. Congrats !! Think ye will hold your own in the premier , but it is very hard to know on your first season.. Just take a look at Birdhill.. They had a good team and had a good start and then completely fell apart and could not even field a team in the end.. I am sure that this will not happen to ye , which why i think ye will be grand..
    Thanks mr man...didnt realise this was here until i searched for the north tipp website! Yeah this will be our first year in the premier!! Yeah birdhill was a bit weird, but there seems to be a lot of clubs out there at the moment that really arent well organised. Borrisoleigh are another example, they had a good youths team, thats gone, they got promoted to the premier and couldnt field teams...i dont understand why they put in all that effort to get to the top league and then dont bother fielding a team!

Also i see ye were chatting about the state of the pitches in north tipp, some are a complete disgrace and they dont encourage good football, not trying to moan but clonmores pitch was shocking last sunday, the grass was about ten inches, there was cut grass all over the field. Any time you tried to pass the ball along the ground it was liable to either stop before it got to the player or hit a bump and bounce the other way!! Cant wait to play in the premier on proper pitches with proper setups!

Absolutely chuffed with that, amazing to have gone two seasons unbeaten winning back to back league titles. Not time to rest on your laurels with cups still to be won though.

Fairplay to Celtic, they pushed us this year even though they had a very young team, and despite what Skunk said about the future for Celtic in the immediate future they do have the young players to be a force for a while, it's a little further down the road that there will be problems.

However one thing to point out though, if you look at all the young players Celtic have pretty much all of them started with town other than Danny Ryan and Markie Walsh, and you'll often find that the amount of players moving from town to Celtic from U14 on is higher than the other way around.

So if trends like that continue(which as a town man I hope they don't) then Celtic may not suffer from the lack of underage structure as would first appear.

Anyone know when the last of the two cup finals(Ricky Fogarty and Tipperary Cup) is ?

Anyone know when the last of the two cup finals(Ricky Fogarty and Tipperary Cup) is ?[/quote]

Not sure but it will be at least a month away.. We still have to play 1/4 final of Ricky Fogarty against Celtic and thats not till sun week i think..
    Think Town are playing Blackcastle in semi of this this weekend..

71 Posts

Yellow & Red Cards

Lads,

In the Cork Aul we are fined for every yellow. Is this similar in other leagues? What are the fines?

[quote=Big Ears;1147646]Absolutely chuffed with that, amazing to have gone two seasons unbeaten winning back to back league titles. Not time to rest on your laurels with cups still to be won though.

Fairplay to Celtic, they pushed us this year even though they had a very young team, and despite what Skunk said about the future for Celtic in the immediate future they do have the young players to be a force for a while, it's a little further down the road that there will be problems.
    Yes possible that there will be 2 Celtic v Town cup finals yet all going well so alot to play for.I think we will be ok for next 5/6 years but after that its a bit worring.

[quote=celticlads;1148291]
    Quote Originally Posted by Big Ears View Post
    Absolutely chuffed with that, amazing to have gone two seasons unbeaten winning back to back league titles. Not time to rest on your laurels with cups still to be won though.

Yes possible that there will be 2 Celtic v Town cup finals yet all going well so alot to play for.I think we will be ok for next 5/6 years but after that its a bit worring.
    That's what I meant, your 10s/11s very uncompetitive this season, and no 12/13/14s at all. We're seeing too many 8/9/10 yr olds now arriving down to Brickfields from a Celtic background looking for coaching and competitive football, which we'll give them in spades. Great for us, the better players will probably stay with us up to youths level, especially if they're on winning teams (this season runners up in 10s/11s/12s and winners in 13/14s. But a solid schoolboy set up from 7/8 years upwards is essential for a successful club in the longer term.

[quote=skunk;1148427]
    That's what I meant, your 10s/11s very uncompetitive this season, and no 12/13/14s at all. We're seeing too many 8/9/10 yr olds now arriving down to Brickfields from a Celtic background looking for coaching and competitive football, which we'll give them in spades. Great for us, the better players will probably stay with us up to youths level, especially if they're on winning teams (this season runners up in 10s/11s/12s and winners in 13/14s. But a solid schoolboy set up from 7/8 years upwards is essential for a successful club in the longer term.
    Agree 100% and untill we get proper facilities and more people involved with the schoolboys we dont stand a chance of attracting new players or more to the point keeping our own young talent.On the brigth side we did have an U-8s team this year,we need to keep that going and bridge the gap between U-15s and U-11s with at least 1 team and we might be ok.Withy such a great setup at Town these who could blame any young lad wanting to play down there.Lack of interest coaching wise is where we really struggle.

Page 14 of 17 FirstFirst ... 41213141516 ... LastLast