Eamon Collins
    ah i see the first step to losing your club has started

hayser
    Told yous something like this would happen

nothing got to with dolan lads
    its lennox that is proposing they change the crest

Save Our Crest
    Last edited by thecorner; 30/08/2003 at 7:19 PM.

500 Posts
    I'll ask again: What's he want to change it to? How can you run a campaign when you won't even explain what it's about?

Originally posted by Vetinari
    I'll ask again: What's he want to change it to? How can you run a campaign when you won't even explain what it's about?

dont know. he wants people to send in ideas to info@corkcity.ie

they should put a speed boat there instead of that old wooden ship on the cork emblem

seriously though, i wouldnt be against it till i saw some ideas
    Followin Our Own Teams In Eire

theres no cure for the League of Ireland bug. spread it :)

http://www.burgerking.co.uk/main.htm

The main logo will do if the lord of the manner has anything to do with it!

Dolan must stay, Dolan must Stay!
    Irish by birth, dub by the grace of god

500 Posts
    Originally posted by thecorner
    dont know. he wants people to send in ideas to info@corkcity.ie
    So why don't you send in your idea, that you'd prefer it to stay the way it is? Mind you don't hurt someone with that knee of yours.

Last edited by dahamsta; 30/08/2003 at 9:10 PM.

that crest is rubbish to plain ye must change it
    CRFC On Tour 2004
    Shealy for supporter of the year 2004

Exclamation ...........................................

No way ... leave it the way it is. You cant go changing the crest willy nilly. I for one would be totally against this and i will let it be known aswell. There is no good reason to change it so it shouldn't happen.
    Last edited by A face; 02/09/2003 at 10:26 PM.

144 Posts
    Spare a thought for the City fan who went in town on Friday afternoon and got a tatoo of the crest on his chest.

Only to go to the game and read that in the programme.

He got some slagging

Arsenal Crest Change

Could the crest change be for similar reasons to that of Arsenal FC?

From Arsenal.com
    Following extensive research and consultation, Arsenal Football Club is delighted to announce the unveiling of its new Club crest.
    The decision to create the new crest was two-fold. Principally, as the current crest incorporates many separate elements, which have been introduced over a number of years, there is uncertainty surrounding its exact origination. As a consequence, the Club is unable to copyright this crest.

500 Posts
    There's definitely uncertainty about the copyright of the City crest.

In fairness a lot of clubs change their crests...maybe he wants something more unique for Cork City rather than a crest for what could be any soccer club in Cork.

500 Posts
    Perhaps he wants to cut ties with the shady and incompetent past of Cork City FC. Let's be honest, the club's been run by a bunch of cowboys and hobbyists up until now. I know I'd want to draw a line in the sand saying: "I've got nothing to do with those plonkers and highwaymen!"

[size=1]I'm aware of the irony thanks.[/size]

Its probably a mix of copyright and wanted something a little simpler for merchandising etc. As has been stated a lot of clubs do it

Originally posted by Dodge
    As has been stated a lot of clubs do it
    Yeah, clubs like Bohs and St Pats who can't seem to decide on a crest.

I'm not really too concerned so long as they do a professional job and have big launch with merchandise available to buy at the time.
    Last edited by Peadar; 04/09/2003 at 8:36 AM.

The crest should be left as it is.

Everyone should E-mail in that message.

A few years back, when Noelle was running the supporters club, they

brought out a "new" badge which was just the Cork crest with "Cork City

F.C.S.C." written under it. It was a real crappy, GAA type yoke.

The fear I have is that they will resurrect something like that, if there is not

a serious amount of people objecting to it.

I like the crest we have, its part of our history, however short that is.

I bet Brian would be horrified if someone suggested Lennox's Takeaway

change their distinctive sign, with its old world writing.
    ...indeed Mr. Chairman makes exceptionally good cheese and onion pies.....

Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast