Thread: unlucky

unlucky

Cant believe we let that lot off with a point. We dominated the game from start to finish and should have been two up in the opening 20 mins or so. Due to a lack of players we had to line out with only one striker so Mick went with a 4-5-1 system with Heffernan and Cosgrave on the wings. Harps were shockingly bad. We destroyed them down the wings and even played true them down the center. Paddy kept McHugh silent for the entire game. Heffernan went close in the first min but McCarthys miss on the 20 was miss of the season. One on one with the keeper he chipped the ball wide.
    A crap crowd of some 300 only saw this game and i spoke to John Gill (Dublin city manager) in the second half. He was telling me we have a great chance to get the forth place as we are the best footballing side in the league and Kildare are going to fall to pieces. He raved long about Paddy and if they get promoted.....but forget that we are gonna get promoted. He thought Mick Kerley was doing a great job if only he could sign a few players. There goal in the 87th min was a killer blow. Keating lost posetion in midfield (for about the tenth time) and we conceaded a corner. A short one taken and long ball to the back post which Bonner headed home. (1st shot all game for harps) We went back down the field where our sub goalkeeper (i **** you not) Graham Loughman set up Sugru who was felled. The pitch helped but Heffernans free was well taken and we got an undeserving draw (u see we should have stuffed um)
    The players attitude is supurb. to see them embrace each other after the game was great and to see them come over and thank the fans for supporting them was almost "family" in appearence.

Now who have i left out? oh yea the ref!!! if he isnt the worst ref in the league i dont know who is. Before the game he told Brendan Sweeney that he had heard about him and was watching him....guess what Brendan got booked and is out of the Galway game. I dont know his name but when he booked Paddy for being kicked in the wall by a harps player it was laughable. Contact was not allowed as the reputation of some of the Harps players had gone straight to his head. another thing that annoyed me though was Johnathon Speak telling Declan Boyle to dive when Harps were defending a limerick attack. He did dive but he forgot that there had to be a player close to him to warrent a "push" claim but it didnt matter our ref mate gave him a free out anyway (much to the delight of the harps bench who broke into fitts of laughter)
    The Limerick fans are super, just great. The cheer when Heffo goaled was so loud and to see us all jumping round it felt like european nights beconed.
    Brendan Hughes could be rejoing us next week.
    TEAM: Healy, O'Mahoney, Purcell, Finucane, Moylem, Cosgrave, Sugru, Sweeney, Keating, Heffernan, McCarthy. MaCauley for McCarthy 60mins approx and Loughman (gk
    ) for Cosgrave 89 mins. Well done blues!

Results like these are what it's all about...Under no circumstances should we be drawing with Finn Harps, showing great team spirit and battling on until the 94th minute to snatch an equaliser. We should be a mirror image of our committee as most clubs are, in which case we'd be lazy, inadequate cheaters with yellow streaks on our backs. But we're not....fair play to ye lads for doing us proud in the face of adversity, and fair play to the fans who were there last night to cheer them on!!

I agree I have never seen celebrating like. Damien ran up and down the pitch and a lot of us nearly joined him.

The Players are a great bunch of lads and there is a great spirit amongst the supporters and players. In Adversity etc etc ..

The Ref was the worst of all time and that is saying something, even I lost my temper with him and used a few well chosen Anglo Saxon phrases to describe his sexual activities!!.

Ah well!! We should have won the match but like all season so far wasted too many first half oppurtunities. We need a Big holding player who can win headers in the midfield area as Paddy is trying to win everything at the moment. He is great but sometimes gets caught out of position because of this. When we get wide we can beat any team in this league. But we have to stop playing in high balls to our strikers!!

Roll on Galway and Kildare's apparantly (acc Gael 353) imminent downfall

The goal was incredibly sweet. The teamwork and re-action from the team really re-affirmed my belief in Limerick FC after the last couple of weeks where we have seen the committee screw up the club.

The team have shown that they care about each other and Limerick FC despite the challenges they face behind the scenes.
    "Anyone who's Soapy should be flushed and anyone who's a Deserter should be shot."
    - John Purcell (Limerick FC Commercial Manager), February 2004

Re: unlucky

Originally posted by gael353

A crap crowd of some 300 only saw this game and i spoke to John Gill (Dublin city manager) in the second half. He was telling me we have a great chance to get the forth place as we are the best footballing side in the league and Kildare are going to fall to pieces.

sorry lads...news of our imminent demise has been greatly exaggeratted. Poor old Giller is still sore after being sent off (again) in Station road and would like nothing better than for our club to collapse so he can get his greedy mits on our players.

by the sounds of things it looks like Harps are the ones in trouble.