Page 15 of 174 FirstFirst ... 513141516172565115 ... LastLast

Thread: Limerick Division 1B 2008/09

Quote Originally Posted by larrywhite View Post
    Hopefully we will be going back to our green and white hoops also this season. Waiting for a new kit to be confirmed. We have also the green shirts or white shirts for when Pike come out to Coonagh.
    It's been awhile since Coonagh donned the hoops. Will be nice to see them back again. We also will wear either white or yellow if you wear hoops away to us.

Quote Originally Posted by messi View Post
    jesus lads.. its going to be an extremely strong league!!!id say caherdavin will be strong along with cals.im picking these two teams because i can see th b teams in the division starting well but fading away over the season!
    Intresting point. Fairview B were very strong to begin with last term, but had a dip and it cost them in the end. Boro B are supposed to be strong or over the hill depending on who you ask, and Pike B are a bit of an unknown, with so many new faces. From what I saw last season and what I'm hearing rumour wise, I think it'll be between Coonagh, Park, Caherdavin and Cals. With Fairview, Pike, Boro, and Knockainey maybe outsiders. That's just my opinion. It will be a very close league I think. No chance of any team going unbeaten for season.

Are ye not wearing the black and red gear belonging to knocklong ye wore in tipp leather

B-team have not played in tipp

Quote Originally Posted by Pike B View Post
    Intresting point. Fairview B were very strong to begin with last term, but had a dip and it cost them in the end. Boro B are supposed to be strong or over the hill depending on who you ask, and Pike B are a bit of an unknown, with so many new faces. From what I saw last season and what I'm hearing rumour wise, I think it'll be between Coonagh, Park, Caherdavin and Cals. With Fairview, Pike, Boro, and Knockainey maybe outsiders. That's just my opinion. It will be a very close league I think. No chance of any team going unbeaten for season.
    we have a mixture of youth and experience this year,signed a few young lads as some of the more experienced(old) lads have packed it in,don't know what all the hype is about Cals TBH,they're handy but won't win this league,Park and Caherdavin would be favourites i think but as has already been said it will be a very tight league
    Last edited by oscar; 08/08/2008 at 8:19 AM. Reason: spelling

How come people are tipping caherdavin to get promotion this year? they only managed 3 points in the whole of last season and have more or less the same team. i think it'll be between park (if they don't go to 1a) and coonagh this year but agree it'll be a very tight leauge again this year.

Quote Originally Posted by hespax View Post
    How come people are tipping caherdavin to get promotion this year? they only managed 3 points in the whole of last season and have more or less the same team. i think it'll be between park (if they don't go to 1a) and coonagh this year but agree it'll be a very tight leauge again this year.
    I would honestly say park will be in 1b this season,the season is kicking off sunday week,surely hill celtic would have pulled out by now and we havent been told anytrhing in training about the situation,only people talking about it, is the lads on this thread.
    Sure it was a grand ole team to play for....Sure it was a grand ole team to know..

Hail Hail!!

International Prospect abbeyvale's Avatar
    32 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Spudd View Post
    I would honestly say park will be in 1b this season,the season is kicking off sunday week,surely hill celtic would have pulled out by now and we havent been told anytrhing in training about the situation,only people talking about it, is the lads on this thread.
    didnt it happen a few years back with ye? and both your own season and Herbertstown's season was delayed due to same.

Quote Originally Posted by abbeyvale View Post
    didnt it happen a few years back with ye? and both your own season and Herbertstown's season was delayed due to same.

Yes it did Abbey both Herbertstown and ourselves seasons were delayed until it was finalised that we were to be self demoted to 1A. Park should have stayed in the premier that year went through the year and started the next year in 1A instead of being stuck ,in my opinion, one of the most competitive leagues in Limerick....
    "Joe Jordan is off to watch Young Boys tomorrow" Ian Darke

Question

Quote Originally Posted by hespax View Post
    Caherdavin may only have got 3 points last year but a lot of players let them down then, only 3 or four of them will be there this season with a lot of new faces,they have played two friendlys against gerldines(b) and shannon(A) and won both, a young side and looked ok,not sure about winning the league though.

We were supposed to play Shannon tonight and they had already told us they were fielding a mixture of A and B players as they had lads missing and thats who Caherdavin beat on Wednesday also.

I wouldnt be predicting anything going on pre-season friendlies.

We have Balla A on Monday and Aisling next Friday and no matter the results I wont be getting worked up about it as I know I wont have a full team until the league season starts. All you want from friendlies is a good work out and trying to get the rustiness out of the system.

Pike B...How did ye get on last night?
    18 times, and that's a fact.

We were supposed to play Shannon tonight and they had already told us they were fielding a mixture of A and B players as they had lads missing and thats who Caherdavin beat on Wednesday also.

We have Balla A on Monday and Aisling next Friday and no matter the results I wont be getting worked up about it as I know I wont have a full team until the league season starts. All you want from friendlies is a good work out and trying to get the rustiness out of the system.

Match called off Wednesday due to weather. The commitee saw the rainfall and forecast, and so decided it would damage the pitch. Pity really, as we trained instead and the weather and pitches were both perfect. In fairness though, I could see their point. No point taking the risk for a friendly.

We play Pallaskenry Saturday night, and the Carew B game is next Sunday week. The A team managers are doing a fantastic job with us at the moment, pushing us hard alongside the A squad. The training is amongst the best I've ever been involved in. So thanks to the two Declan's for that.
    We are moving along nicely, and as someone who is almost ten years with the B squad, I reckon this is as fit as I've seen the team at this stage of any pre-season. We'll hopefully be quick out of the blocks.

Shannon were poor ok, now i know why!

Quote Originally Posted by Jofspring View Post
    Caherdavin may only have got 3 points last year but a lot of players let them down then, only 3 or four of them will be there this season with a lot of new faces,they have played two friendlys against gerldines(b) and shannon(A) and won both, a young side and looked ok,not sure about winning the league though.
    who have caherdavin signed?

Quote Originally Posted by see's it View Post
    who have caherdavin signed?
    Martin,judge,purthill and bennis from last year,cillian collins(?),keith o donnell,pa hall,karl meehan and another from coonagh not sure of his name but play's center of midfield. Not sure of the other names. Think they are playing Summerville tonight in Portland

friendly result

Boro B 3-0 Carew Pk B

good team performance by the Boro,Carew although full of experience struggled for fitness,Boro played good football all over the park,new lads seem to be settling in nicely,scorers for Boro...Tom McInerney 2 and Paul O'Donoghue

Quote Originally Posted by oscar View Post
    Boro B 3-0 Carew Pk B

good team performance by the Boro,Carew although full of experience struggled for fitness,Boro played good football all over the park,new lads seem to be settling in nicely,scorers for Boro...Tom McInerney 2 and Paul O'Donoghue
    Sounds like a very comfortable win. Were Kieran Grimes and Dinty playing?

ya,along with james naughton,daithi noonan,bob,ger tully,barry pearse to name a few,i'd be more pleased with the performance than the result

Quote Originally Posted by oscar View Post
    ya,along with james naughton,daithi noonan,bob,ger tully,barry pearse to name a few,i'd be more pleased with the performance than the result
    We play them next week. Any tips?

wear shin guards