Smile Knockainey Tournament Semi-finals

Tonight's semi-finals:
    Dromore 0 Hospital 2
    Knockainey 2 Caherconlish 1

Dromore, albeit missing a few, were extremely poor on the night. Hospital were missing 4 or 5 first choice players but a least tried to play a passing game, and were deserving of their win.
    Knockainey (minus ace marksman Nigel Finch aka 'Crouchy') continue to impress and even though not a great game created more than their opponents. Caherconlish looked good in the first half but hoofed too many balls in the second. Knock advance on merit, and their price for the 08/09 1B title continues to tumble on the exchanges!

The Ref

Footers will be interested to know that 'Jock MIB' reffed last nights semis, and hats off to him for a very fine performance. No over-whistling, no over-sensitivity (lads will let off steam in the heat of the moment!), but took a firm hand when required - sent a team manager out of the field, who went immediately without defending his actions - although in hindsight this could have been as a result of not understanding a single word Jock was saying, but managed to understand Jocks finger pointing at the gate gesture. Seems like we may all have to take a crash course in Glasgoweese for the season ahead!

Knockainey Tournament Final

Knockainey 2 Hospital 2 - Hospital win on penalty shoot-out.

Knock were 2 to the good at half time, well deserved on the balance on play. Hospital came out in the 2nd half all guns blazing and with 5 mins to go Stephen Lyons hit a cracker from 25 yards. Last play of the game saw an inswinging corner converted at the far post. Cometh the hour cometh the man - Hospital keeper Flynn pulled off 2 super saves and the trophy was Hospital bound.

See no reason to change my prediction of few days ago - Knock to win 1B and Hospital to win 2A (or promotion at least).

Ciao.

Friendly.
    Pike B 5-3 Caherconlish
    An excellent second half saw us come back from 3-1 down at half time to win well. A good game played on the A pitch we finished very strong and this despite a few absentees. Fair play to Caherconlish for giving us such an excellent game.
    Last edited by Pike B; 28/07/2008 at 8:48 AM.

Quote Originally Posted by Pike B View Post
    Friendly.
    Pike B 5-3 Caherconlish
    Whens the season starting pike b?
    Sure it was a grand ole team to play for....Sure it was a grand ole team to know..

Hail Hail!!

Quote Originally Posted by Spudd View Post
    Whens the season starting pike b?
    Rumour has it Sunday 3 weeks sweetie.

Quicker the better,sick of these saturday night ****-ups
    Is there hope for promotion for pike with your new recruits?
    Sure it was a grand ole team to play for....Sure it was a grand ole team to know..

Hail Hail!!

Quote Originally Posted by Spudd View Post
    Quicker the better,sick of these saturday night ****-ups
    Is there hope for promotion for pike with your new recruits?
    To be completly honest, I don't think so. But we certainly shouldn't struggle. I'd say mid table this season, but with a bit of luck and perseverance, we might be up there. How's the Park ship looking?

Ya looking well,i havent been training yet but been told theres a few new lads down training and a few have signed already,few these players are just out of youths and very quick young lads,time will tell,but really should be pushing for promotion again.

Hail Hail!!

Any friendlies being played by anyone in this division lads? The Coonagh boys are gone very quiet!!

They are at a training camp in Portugal. Flew out of Coonagh yesterday

Were just back from Glasgow from captains stag. Im back training tommorrow so i should manage only one lap with the shakes i have. Our manager tells me that we should have a friendly or 2 lined up before the start of the season. We have lost only one player from last season, Pa Hall gone back to sign for Caherdavin. We all wish him well and look forward to being kicked by him next season. Highlight of the stag was Bradford City staying in our hotel and stopping Stuart McCall from killing some random guy back at the hotel bar. Also beat David Wetherall in an aerial challenge at 5 in the morning to show Larry White how good i am. The fun is over now so the serious stuff starts tommorrow night. Looking forward to it......maybe!

Quote Originally Posted by kingofkillteely View Post
    Were just back from Glasgow from captains stag. Im back training tommorrow so i should manage only one lap with the shakes i have. Our manager tells me that we should have a friendly or 2 lined up before the start of the season. We have lost only one player from last season, Pa Hall gone back to sign for Caherdavin. We all wish him well and look forward to being kicked by him next season. Highlight of the stag was Bradford City staying in our hotel and stopping Stuart McCall from killing some random guy back at the hotel bar. Also beat David Wetherall in an aerial challenge at 5 in the morning to show Larry White how good i am. The fun is over now so the serious stuff starts tommorrow night. Looking forward to it......maybe!
    Stuart McCall at his finest

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sWfp0hIhH_Q

I dont even have to look to know what that vid is. I bet a car and a can are involved.

No way for a coach to behave.
    18 times, and that's a fact.

Good to see Larry has ye on strict pre-season diet plan then!!
    Let us know how the friendlies go, and if ye sign any top transfer targets..

Good to see Larry has ye on strict pre-season diet plan then!!
    Let us know how the friendlies go, and if ye sign any top transfer targets..
    We have no money left and you turned us down so it will be the same again

We have played 3 so far. 2 wins & 1 draw. Another friendly tomorrow night.. We have lost 4-5 players this year. Signed 3 new players so far.....
    “Some people think football is a matter of life and death. I assure you, it's much more serious than that.” Bill Shankly

Quote Originally Posted by Shels-07 View Post
    We have played 3 so far. 2 wins & 1 draw. Another friendly tomorrow night.. We have lost 4-5 players this year. Signed 3 new players so far.....
    who's gone and who did ye sign?

We have no money left and you turned us down so it will be the same again
    Hey, how bad. As I said towards the end of last season, Coonagh were probabaly the best side in the league on their day. If ye have the same squad, then promotion is a strong possibility.
    And as for me, well Larry knows I'm a one club man, but I'm flattered to be mentioned in the same breath as Yogi and the boys!!
    Last edited by Pike B; 29/07/2008 at 8:30 AM.

Quote Originally Posted by Shels-07 View Post
    Who did ye play?

Page 8 of 174 FirstFirst ... 6789101858108 ... LastLast