Page 114 of 174 FirstFirst ... 1464104112113114115116124164 ... LastLast
Results 2,261 to 2,280 of 3463

Thread: Limerick Division 1B 2008/09

Janesboro 3-2 Fairview

Boro opened the scoring through Tony Curtis with a screamer into the roof of the net,Fairview equalised straight away after a defensive error left the Fairview striker with a simple tap in,soon after Alan Sheehan beat 4 men,yes 4 and his accurate shot nestled into the bottom corner,Shane Madden should of seen red for an awful challenge on the Boro centre forward,2-1 at HT.Boro went 3-1 up when Thomas McInerney got in behind the Fairview defense and left FAI winner Martin Neary(aka Nero) for dead,his shot was saved by the View keeper but it fell to the feet of Jan Canda who put the ball in the net,Fairview scored their second when sloppy defending let the View player with a free header,View launched long ball after long ball but the Boro rearguard stood firm and dealt with everything that was thrown at them,View had numerous free kicks but not one was on target,with time running out Mark Purcell made a great point blank save to ensure Boro took the points

thats an accurate account of the game,and as everyone on this site knows i'm not one bit biased

Quote Originally Posted by oscar View Post
    Janesboro 3-2 Fairview

Boro opened the scoring through Tony Curtis with a screamer into the roof of the net,Fairview equalised straight away after a defensive error left the Fairview striker with a simple tap in,soon after Alan Sheehan beat 4 men,yes 4 and his accurate shot nestled into the bottom corner,Shane Madden should of seen red for an awful challenge on the Boro centre forward,2-1 at HT.Boro went 3-1 up when Thomas McInerney got in behind the Fairview defense and left FAI winner Martin Neary(aka Nero) for dead,his shot was saved by the View keeper but it fell to the feet of Jan Canda who put the ball in the net,Fairview scored their second when sloppy defending let the View player with a free header,View launched long ball after long ball but the Boro rearguard stood firm and dealt with everything that was thrown at them,View had numerous free kicks but not one was on target,with time running out Mark Purcell made a great point blank save to ensure Boro took the points

thats an accurate account of the game,and as everyone on this site knows i'm not one bit biased
    An accurate account on the goals alright but not the game. Ye won cause ye took your chances and fair play to ye.

Quote Originally Posted by van der wheil View Post
    Rubbish talk about the pitch-pitch was in grand nick given the time of year.The story of the game was boro took 3 of there 4 chances and fairview took 2 of there maybe 9 maybe more.Personally i thought the best team lost but well done to the boro on a great win and best of luck for the rest of the season.Also it was great to see such a big crowd from both clubs at the game.
    Are you for REAL pitch was brutal sand all over it and very soft in places the weather has been great for past couple of weeks so nothing to do with time of year . Have to agree with rest of your comments though.

Smile

Quote Originally Posted by Pike B View Post
    We always make use of away facilities. It's a common courtesy to show the home team respect and use their showers and changing rooms.
    Boro have done a good job and we'll be togging out there and changing after our game.

I think it's a Fairview thing myself leather

And very well done on your win yesterday.
    Ah well you would'nt expect anything else from you stirring it as usual .

Quote Originally Posted by footymad View Post
    Are you for REAL pitch was brutal sand all over it and very soft in places the weather has been great for past couple of weeks so nothing to do with time of year . Have to agree with rest of your comments though.
    The pitch was fine in my opinion!!

Great goal by Mona Curtis and Alan Sheehan rolled back the years with a superb goal and performance.Must compliment Seanie Lipper aswell as he seems to have lost none of his enthusiasm for the game.

Said i would not get involved but here goes. There were 2 patches of sand on the pitch.one approx 2yrds x 4 yrds and another of 2yrds x 3 yrds.this was necessary because of ongoing problems with the corporation storm drainage sytem that runs directly under the pitch and seems to be leaking through broken pipes. when there is any rain of a heavy nature the water backs up from hyde rd and all of janesboro, up through these areas. this caused the 2 VERY SOFT AREA's as above.Janesboro are awaiting info from corpo, who by the way wanted to come in last october and start digging for the drains. the rest of the pitch was fine and like any soil based pitch that has a lot of traffic on it divots alot. Footymad dont be so arrogant or ignorant to be so churlish when you are unaware of the circumstances.

good to see that the majority of view supporters has gotten past the arrogant and condesending attitude of previous "supporters". Still think that view could well win this division, Good football team with some guys who could do a job for premier team.
    sick of narcissists.....

Quote Originally Posted by messi View Post
    if iv learnt anythin from playing with this club its to give credit to the opposition, despite what this fella says,and as iv said earlier well done to d boro, id never and i wouldn't expect anyone to ever blame the condition of a pitch to blame for a loss,we can just hope to move on and give it a right push from here on in, every game for the top teams are going to be cup finals from now on, WAY THE BEST TEAM WIN!!
    Exactly how it should be Messi, well said.

Ah well you would'nt expect anything else from you stirring it as usual .

if iv learnt anythin from playing with this club its to give credit to the opposition, despite what this fella says,and as iv said earlier well done to d boro, id never and i wouldn't expect anyone to ever blame the condition of a pitch to blame for a loss,we can just hope to move on and give it a right push from here on in, every game for the top teams are going to be cup finals from now on, WAY THE BEST TEAM WIN!!
    Well said - i was always thought to both lose and win with dignity with Fairview by the likes of Martin Cowhey etc etc.

If they stay unbeaten for remainder of season they'll go up.
    I think Sunday was the first loss of many for the View.
    We will see - personally think you have under estimated Fairview this season.

Well said - i was always thought to both lose and win with dignity with Fairview by the likes of Martin Cowhey etc etc.
    You are representing your club 24/7, at work, at home and everywhere you go. You don't stop being a Pike,Fairview or even Geraldines player when the game ends.
    Losing happens(a lot with us) and you should never, ever whinge or make excuses.
    Lose with the same respect you win with
    Well said Messi and even you Dutch boy!!

We will see - personally think you have under estimated Fairview this season.
    Doesn't sound like something I'd do now does it??

If you had been reading the forum properly you would have seen that i had said well done to boro on a previous quote on Sunday" see below "and that i never used the pitch as an excuse. I just simply mentioned in my opinion the state that the pitch was in ,the pitch was same for both teams. Can a guy not have an opinion on a pitch the boro had said the same about the bruff pitch the previous week.
    So in future take a look before you write your ignorance on this forum.

"Well done to boro who took there chances on the day scored 3 from about 4. The view deserved at least a draw failed to take their chances must have had about 6 or 7 one on ones but finished very strong and looked the much fitter team. Have to say the pitch was an absolute disgrace for a pitch that used to be always in good nick. "

Smile

You are representing your club 24/7, at work, at home and everywhere you go. You don't stop being a Pike,Fairview or even Geraldines player when the game ends.
    Losing happens(a lot with us) and you should never, ever whinge or make excuses.
    Lose with the same respect you win with
    Well said Messi and even you Dutch boy!!
    You should read the thread properly aswell before you agree with these guys.

Talking

He He.........

ok handbags away and back to business

Caherdavin V Knockainey 10.30
    Coonagh V Holycross 10.30

Can a guy not have an opinion on a pitch the boro had said the same about the bruff pitch the previous week.
    "
    don't you ever,ever,ever compare our pitch to that abandoned mine field again

that is a very good point to make........if it was two years ago when the boro pitch was actually good

Who's comparing. You must be the groundsman very touchy ........
    Last edited by footymad; 24/02/2009 at 9:13 PM. Reason: look before you leap always helps.....

ok handbags away and back to business

Caherdavin V Knockainey 10.30
    Coonagh V Holycross 10.30
    Would think the caherdavin match wil be off, knockainey are down for a lawson cup game sunday morning against corbally