Page 63 of 174 FirstFirst ... 1353616263646573113163 ... LastLast
Results 1,241 to 1,260 of 3463

Thread: Limerick Division 1B 2008/09

Quote Originally Posted by studsup View Post
    Only saying its a different story because shelbourne was talking about higher standards in limerick.

but since you asked i will...so you think that the Shannon teams belong in Limerick even though they're from County Clare? Its a bit stupid having the shannon teams playing in Limerick. Even stupider than galway playing in the Leinster Championship because its not as if Park and Shannon Town have no-one to compete with in Clare like Galway dont in Connaught. and its not like they needed a new challenge because it wasnt like they were dominating Clare soccer when they were there. That's my opinion but as i say i don't know their reasons for going to Limerick
    what about newport. Do u think they should be playing in the tipp league
    "It's not about winning, it's taking people apart that counts"

Also isn't Corbally Afc in county clare

Corbally's grounds are in Clare,they used play in Limerick until they purchased their grounds off Shannon RFC a number of years ago

Quote Originally Posted by Knockmad View Post
    Anye see the cals murroe game today? what did you think
    according to limericksoccer.com the Murroe V Cals game was off
    but it says Murroe beat Holycross 6-0
    anyone know if this is correct

Charleville?
    "Joe Jordan is off to watch Young Boys tomorrow" Ian Darke

well i was half right oscar also studsup Charleville is in Co.Cork like what axeman says... i understand you views but it all depends on the team which league they would like to play in, like Knocklong last year they were Elton Celtic, they moved from tipp league to Limerick League.
    Would like my team the great Green and whites from glasgow move to the preimership but here we can always dream

Probably have a mod getting on to me for going off topic
    Last edited by Jock MIB; 19/10/2008 at 10:07 PM.

ya those mods can be a right pain in the......

Only saying its a different story because shelbourne was talking about higher standards in limerick.

but since you asked i will...so you think that the Shannon teams belong in Limerick even though they're from County Clare?
    It's not about where they belong it's about where they can compete with and the quality pitches and a better standard all round. Fairview Pike Boro Ballananty Wembley Regional I'd take them anyday over Moher, Bridge Celtic/United.

Its a bit stupid having the shannon teams playing in Limerick. Even stupider than galway playing in the Leinster Championship because its not as if Park and Shannon Town have no-one to compete with in Clare like Galway dont in Connaught.
    Once again the whole GAA thing raises it's head with the Clare League.

Shannon Town have always competed in Limerick so I don't know why your brining them into it? Park Rangers AFC were once a Clare league side.

and its not like they needed a new challenge because it wasnt like they were dominating Clare soccer when they were there. That's my opinion but as i say i don't know their reasons for going to Limerick
    The main reason the whole thing was done was for the schoolboys. I don't think many of them were staying around once they finished schoolboys. At least in Limerick they wont have to playe the same teams three/four times a year in the league because of a lack of numbers in the schoolboy leagues.
    Last edited by gaiscíoch; 19/10/2008 at 10:15 PM.
    "Joe Jordan is off to watch Young Boys tomorrow" Ian Darke

Some teams in limerick would be further away then park or shannon town.How come bridge united dont play in limerick.Always played friendlies against limerick teams and as far as i know they have good grounds.Is it not up to the club themselves?

[QUOTE=On The Ball;1043560]Some teams in limerick would be further away then park or shannon town.

true,Kilfinan on a sunday morning is an awful spin

26th October

Coonagh V Murroe 10.30
    Cals V Bruff 10.30

only 2 fixtures down for next week,bit of a pain,very hard to keep a run going as we found out against Coonagh a couple of weeks back

Quote Originally Posted by oscar View Post
    26th October

Coonagh V Murroe 10.30
    Cals V Bruff 10.30

only 2 fixtures down for next week,bit of a pain,very hard to keep a run going as we found out against Coonagh a couple of weeks back
    This division is very stop start no doubt. You just have to try keep the lads intrested and get as many training as possible. It isn't easy, but it's essential to any team wanting to win promotion.

Quote Originally Posted by Pike B View Post
    This division is very stop start no doubt. You just have to try keep the lads intrested and get as many training as possible. It isn't easy, but it's essential to any team wanting to win promotion.
    Did the Murroe vs Cals game go ahead yesterday lads

According to Limerick soccer it was Murroe V Holycross. 6-0. The table is updated on there to include this result.

Cheers pike B i thought it was Cals they were playing....good result for them they are on a roll this division is wide open and i hope it will be until the last day of the season....FAI games this weekend....are you coming to see us upset the tart in your home pitch on Sat evening?

Oh dear, how should I put this without hurting your feelings?????

Pike A Versus Knockainey.......

As good as it gets for ye bud!!
    Last edited by Pike B; 20/10/2008 at 12:31 PM.

Red face

Oh dear, how should I put this without hurting your feelings?????

Pike A Versus Knockainey.......

As good as it gets for ye bud!!
    Your big boned Pike B but your not that big boned ......good one bud..we are looking forward to the game as its always nice to play a great club at great facilities.

All joking aside it's a huge task for ye. I've seen ye this season and while ye are a good 1b side and won't be a pushover, they are superb at their best and if they score early it could be very tough for ye. But all ye can do is have a go. I'd wish ye luck but I'd never do that against my own club!!

Cheers lad we will enjoy the day and w will give it a lash...i look frward to seeing yer a team in action.....

Quote Originally Posted by the special 1 View Post
    hey spudd any truth in the rumour that park/newtown won't be able to change their name next year..

i heard that the rules state if park/newtown want to change their name they will have to apply to play in nearest league which is clare league..
    would be a shame considering all the hard work gone in the getting the teams merged in the first place...
    I couldnt tell you,havent heard anything about this but i really doubt they will make there way back to that league,personally i think theres always ways around these situations.
    Sure it was a grand ole team to play for....Sure it was a grand ole team to know..

Hail Hail!!