Results 1,221 to 1,240 of 3463

Thread: Limerick Division 1B 2008/09

Quote Originally Posted by messi View Post
    seeing as though there'l be no matches apart from the one this weekend,may as well change the topic a bit. anyone got an opinion on the divisions strongest eleven players on what ye have all played against so far?
    I gave my top 5 last week, but here's 11 that caught my eye so far,
    Based on games with Park, Cals, Coonagh, Knockainey, Holycross, and Bruff..

1: Not really seen a great keeper yet, but of what I have I'll say Knockainey's No 1.
    2: Coonagh's no nonsense right back.
    3: Bruff's whippit left full.
    4+5: One lad from Coonagh, Clifton Carey from Cals.
    6: Paul Scholes Park
    7: Knockainey quick lad
    8: Bruffs sitting midfielder, very good footballer
    9: Jef Mc Cals
    10: Coonagh number 9 very fast
    11: Coonagh big central mid..

Parks first 11

Quote Originally Posted by Pike B View Post
    I gave my top 5 last week, but here's 11 that caught my eye so far,
    Based on games with Park, Cals, Coonagh, Knockainey, Holycross, and Bruff..

1: Not really seen a great keeper yet, but of what I have I'll say Knockainey's No 1.
    2: Coonagh's no nonsense right back.
    3: Bruff's whippit left full.
    4+5: One lad from Coonagh, Clifton Carey from Cals.
    6: Paul Scholes Park
    7: Knockainey quick lad
    8: Bruffs sitting midfielder, very good footballer
    9: Jef Mc Cals
    10: Coonagh number 9 very fast
    11: Coonagh big central mid..
    "Whippet" left full is Pappy Kelly. He's actually more of an attacking left mid, which gives you some idea of how the GAA messes things up for Bruff.

Sitting mid-fielder would probably be Andy O'Neill.

Good choices, I approve
    LTID

....by the way PikeB, who is the lad up front for with you's (no.11 I think) with the unusual hairstyle? Anyways I thought he was pretty good 'specially toward the end of the match.
    LTID

Quote Originally Posted by KevB76 View Post
    ....by the way PikeB, who is the lad up front for with you's (no.11 I think) with the unusual hairstyle? Anyways I thought he was pretty good 'specially toward the end of the match.
    Sounds a bit like Barry Lipper. Good lad, clever player. Just needs a bit of work on his finishing!!!!! He was the one who hit the post from 6 yards out....

lads how many bodies do ye get roughly at training
    we have alot of lads who do shift work and alot with young kids so we get 7-8 most nights

Quote Originally Posted by oscar View Post
    lads how many bodies do ye get roughly at training
    we have alot of lads who do shift work and alot with young kids so we get 7-8 most nights
    We're getting between 10 on a bad night, and 13 on a good. Lowest we got around 8 but we train with the Premier team so there's always work to do. On a good night we'll warm up and train with them, then have our own game of ball. It works out well for us. Most of our lads can't get a girlfriend let alone have kids, so we haven't that problem ye have!!!

thats not bad Pike b,hows Blackie doing after the injury

Quote Originally Posted by oscar View Post
    thats not bad Pike b,hows Blackie doing after the injury
    He's training hard in fairness, but only got his first start last Sunday against Bruff, and was one of our best performers on the day. He played centre mid and did a lot of hard graft, although he's not the most silky skilled player!!!
    Jaffa reckons he's a pain in his back from carrying Blackie, but Blackie says the same about him...
    Last edited by Pike B; 16/10/2008 at 9:32 PM.

Centre Half's. Surely martin neary would get in there? He's only got five or six fai's. Would still get on d premier team but cant commit! Fair view are strong at the back, so a few of them would get in, ralph judge from caherdavin is a class player, and cal's front 4 or 5 players are very good indeed,cant really say on other teams cos we've only played five teams i think.
    Well I'm sure that they are good players bud, but as we haven't played ye yet, it's a bit hard for me to say!!

if you ask me its too early to say as most clubs have only 5-6 games played

International Prospect abbeyvale's Avatar
    32 Posts

Wink

We're getting between 10 on a bad night, and 13 on a good. Lowest we got around 8 but we train with the Premier team so there's always work to do. On a good night we'll warm up and train with them, then have our own game of ball. It works out well for us. Most of our lads can't get a girlfriend let alone have kids, so we haven't that problem ye have!!!
    Thats what happens when ye have the likes of "Peter Beardsley look alikes" playing with ye

International Prospect abbeyvale's Avatar
    32 Posts

Wink

He's training hard in fairness, but only got his first start last Sunday against Bruff, and was one of our best performers on the day. He played centre mid and did a lot of hard graft, although he's not the most silky skilled player!!!
    Jaffa reckons he's a pain in his back from carrying Blackie, but Blackie says the same about him...
    They both must have very strong backs

Centre Half's. Surely martin neary would get in there? He's only got five or six fai's. Would still get on d premier team but cant commit! Fair view are strong at the back, so a few of them would get in, ralph judge from caherdavin is a class player, and cal's front 4 or 5 players are very good indeed,cant really say on other teams cos we've only played five teams i think.
    Ralph judge would definitely get a call from you because he scored 3 or 4 goals,i cant remember,against you 2 seasons ago and was being marked by yer superstar left full james o donnell.

May I say in our first year in the Limerick League having been in the Clare League for the last 30 years the standard of football is miles ahead I repeat miles but the admin is miles behind I repeat miles behind!!
    "You'll not see nothing like the Shelbourne team"

Anye see the cals murroe game today? what did you think

Quote Originally Posted by Knockmad View Post
    Anye see the cals murroe game today? what did you think
    what was the score in that game
    "It's not about winning, it's taking people apart that counts"

Quote Originally Posted by shelbourne1904 View Post
    May I say in our first year in the Limerick League having been in the Clare League for the last 30 years the standard of football is miles ahead I repeat miles but the admin is miles behind I repeat miles behind!!
    Shelbourne will you stop. Fair enough Limerick soccer is ahead of Clare soccer but it is definately not miles ahead that's for sure. Just because ye've had a bad start to the 1B season doesn't mean that it's because the standard is miles higher.

Anyway besides all that, in my opinion none of the Shannon teams should even be playing in the Limerick League, Shannon is in Clare not in Limerick but that's a different story

Quote Originally Posted by studsup View Post

Anyway besides all that, in my opinion none of the Shannon teams should even be playing in the Limerick League, Shannon is in Clare not in Limerick but that's a different story
    Why say it so?
    Sure it was a grand ole team to play for....Sure it was a grand ole team to know..

Hail Hail!!

Quote Originally Posted by Spudd View Post
    Why say it so?
    Only saying its a different story because shelbourne was talking about higher standards in limerick.

but since you asked i will...so you think that the Shannon teams belong in Limerick even though they're from County Clare? Its a bit stupid having the shannon teams playing in Limerick. Even stupider than galway playing in the Leinster Championship because its not as if Park and Shannon Town have no-one to compete with in Clare like Galway dont in Connaught. and its not like they needed a new challenge because it wasnt like they were dominating Clare soccer when they were there. That's my opinion but as i say i don't know their reasons for going to Limerick