Page 48 of 174 FirstFirst ... 3846474849505898148 ... LastLast

Thread: Limerick Division 1B 2008/09

Quote Originally Posted by messi View Post
    Lads I find the level of abuse being thrown at mr finnan a disgrace to be honest,the man is a giant of junior soccer in this town!seems to me that park want someone like benny hill managing them!i mean in fairness its just one big soap opera out there! I dunno how or why dermot left the club but imo he is an outstandin manager, u dont have to be roaring and shoutin from the sideline to become a good manager,or more importantly the manager doesnt have to be liked in the dressing room,but he must be respected.. And ye girls out in park need to learn some respect.. Just ask the likes of jimmy sheehan,sean lipper,kevin heffernan, jason purcel,and more recently chuca and tommy barret what they think of him,all who won fai's under him and you'l find out how highly regarded he is.
    We all know he is the best manager in the history of junior football and we all respect what he has done. No doubt what he achieved will never be achieved again.

But he lost the dressing room. No one said he should be shouting or roaring. But a few words from a man of his stature would have lifted any of the players. But he didn't do it.

He is sound bloke I got on well enough with him but I felt his heart wasn't in it. If I'm not mistaken he had applied for other jobs,which he has a right to do, but when it gets back to the players that when the S^^T hits the proverbial fan.

Oh and on the girls thing I think you need to think back and remember how many of those girls represented your club during those great years that Fairview enjoyed.
    "Joe Jordan is off to watch Young Boys tomorrow" Ian Darke

Quote Originally Posted by messi View Post
    Lads I find the level of abuse being thrown at mr finnan a disgrace to be honest,the man is a giant of junior soccer in this town!seems to me that park want someone like benny hill managing them!i mean in fairness its just one big soap opera out there! I dunno how or why dermot left the club but imo he is an outstandin manager, u dont have to be roaring and shoutin from the sideline to become a good manager,or more importantly the manager doesnt have to be liked in the dressing room,but he must be respected.. And ye girls out in park need to learn some respect.. Just ask the likes of jimmy sheehan,sean lipper,kevin heffernan, jason purcel,and more recently chuca and tommy barret what they think of him,all who won fai's under him and you'l find out how highly regarded he is.
    not knocking his achivements with fairview unbeliveable what he achieved it also helps when you have a great bunch of players and also unfortunatly that was in the past and people tend to forget and concentrate on the present time .. what has he done after he left fairview !! respect also goes both ways he must be respected and he must respect players .. yes it does seem park are a bit of a soap opera at the moment .. but i saw a lot of there games last season and they struggled big time and missed out on promotion from 1b.. correct me if i am wrong but manager must take some of the blame ..

" football is a simple game "

Quote Originally Posted by old git View Post
    not knocking his achivements with fairview unbeliveable what he achieved it also helps when you have a great bunch of players and also unfortunatly that was in the past and people tend to forget and concentrate on the present time .. what has he done after he left fairview !! respect also goes both ways he must be respected and he must respect players .. yes it does seem park are a bit of a soap opera at the moment .. but i saw a lot of there games last season and they struggled big time and missed out on promotion from 1b.. correct me if i am wrong but manager must take some of the blame ..
    Fair point aswell.

respect also goes both ways he must be respected and he must respect players .. yes it does seem park are a bit of a soap opera at the moment .. but i saw a lot of there games last season and they struggled big time and missed out on promotion from 1b.. correct me if i am wrong but manager must take some of the blame ..
    You seem to have respect from some Park Players , i think you should apply for Managers Job at Park

Quote Originally Posted by Jock MIB View Post
    You seem to have respect from some Park Players , i think you should apply for Managers Job at Park
    He can't, he's too old. He's older than Bobby Robson!!
    Look:

Quote Originally Posted by Pike B View Post
    Look:
    Jesus he looks like Neil Warnock on Viagra

That's our Old Git!!!

got the angry picture spot on :

no thanks .. i also think some of them don't like me

seriously i never wanted to get involved at management level have great respect for anybody who is involved at management level but i still believe they have a big say in how a team performs & underperforms and give them credit when they achieve success but also let them know if things are going wrong

no thanks .. i also think some of them don't like me

seriously i never wanted to get involved at management level have great respect for anybody who is involved at management level but i still believe they have a big say in how a team performs & underperforms and give them credit when they achieve success but also let them know if things are going wrong
    I agree with that. At the end of the day though, they are just blokes trying to do a job not many people want. So credit where it's due. Hopefully Spudd will let us know who takes over. Training tonight will tell a story.

Look:

pike b in my new managerial role spotted a player the other night
    would be ideal for ye as you seem to be leaking a lot of goals recently.. excellent centre half and already plays in green & white

Attachment 1200
    Last edited by old git; 05/11/2008 at 11:56 AM.

Exclamation

Quote Originally Posted by KevB76 View Post
    Reminder for anybody who's interested,
    Limerick U20's season kicks off this evening 8pm at Hogan Park v Cork City
    Sorry, kick off at 7:45 not 8pm
    LTID

He was great in Bad Santa!!!

I agree with that. At the end of the day though, they are just blokes trying to do a job not many people want. So credit where it's due. Hopefully Spudd will let us know who takes over. Training tonight will tell a story.
    Lads just reading all this stuff on dermot finnan,no 1 should be knocking him on this site,dermots record speaks for itself,unfortunetely things didnt work out for him out in shannon and i wish him all the best for the future,davey wall has taken over as manager and hopefullly we can get things right,all this stuff about park is getting a bit out of hand,lets just get back to talking about 1B clubs and football on the pitch,not off it,end of gents.
    Sure it was a grand ole team to play for....Sure it was a grand ole team to know..

Hail Hail!!

250 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Spudd View Post
    Lads just reading all this stuff on dermot finnan,no 1 should be knocking him on this site,dermots record speaks for itself,unfortunetely things didnt work out for him out in shannon and i wish him all the best for the future,davey wall has taken over as manager and hopefullly we can get things right,all this stuff about park is getting a bit out of hand,lets just get back to talking about 1B clubs and football on the pitch,not off it,end of gents.

Well said.

Games Sunday 1B League

Predictions
    Shels 2-3 Bruff
    Caherdavin 2-1 Park
    Boro B 3-2 Coonagh
    Shels 2-4Bruff
    Caherdavin 1-1 Park
    Boro B 1-2 Coonagh

Ps Finnan was the best manager in town...but he had good players..maybe the Park lads arent as good as they think the are !!!

Quote Originally Posted by Over The Hedge View Post
    Janesboro B game V's Coonagh will be off, Janesboro are playing in FAI Sunday & B players will be involved in the panel
    thats right,game was called off today

Quote Originally Posted by Spudd View Post
    Davy Wall then. What was he like for the first training session? He's not the most vocal of lads I must say. He won't scream and shout, but he has great playing experience and I think he'll be good for Park. On and off the pitch.

he didnt show up.
    "Bath Avenue or Shelbourne" 1895

Quote Originally Posted by manalishi View Post
    he didnt show up.
    he did a dave o leary left the training to the coaches