Thread: Limerick Division 1B 2008/09

Quote Originally Posted by the snake View Post
    Anyone play cales yet what ye make of them
    Cals are a good side. Very big, bigger than most Premier sides even. They are not the best footballing side around, and they're prone to soft goals, but on their day, capable of upsetting anyone.

Quote Originally Posted by the snake View Post
    Anyone play cales yet what ye make of them
    its Cals nigel and you should how to spell it,it was on your transfer form,you won't get on there either bud,i heard you cant even get on the ladders at work your so useless,what do you call a roofer who stands on the sideline......... Nigel Casey

Quote Originally Posted by Pike B View Post
    Mr and Mrs Old Git..

Send me a private message if you want to come to the Coonagh swingers party later

Id say you like your wrinkles alright King. Hope you check for VHI at the door.
    18 times, and that's a fact.

Bad weekend for the 1B clubs lads. Pity really, hoped we might cause an upset or two. Very hard luck to Cals for going down to Boro again by the odd goal.

Games Sunday 1B League

Predictions
    Shels 2-3 Bruff
    Caherdavin 2-1 Park
    Boro B 3-2 Coonagh

Games Sunday 1B League

Predictions
    Caherdavin 2-1 Park
    anybody know any potential candidates for the park A job???

hopefully dermots succesor will give the park lads a kick up the arse and get them playing to their potential because so far they have been playing nowhere near as good as they can,

1 good man gone from park(dermot) 1 good 1 in ( dukesy), he is a top quality signing but he wont save parks season unless the whole team get their s**t together

Quote Originally Posted by quasi View Post

hopefully dermots succesor will give the park lads a kick up the arse and get them playing to their potential because so far they have been playing nowhere near as good as they can,

1 good man gone from park(dermot) 1 good 1 in ( dukesy), he is a top quality signing but he wont save parks season unless the whole team get their s**t together
    Rumour has been flying round for weeks that Davy Wall was taking over as player manager. Did he even sign for them at all?

yeah he has been training for the last while and hes signed up but i dont think hes played as yet,

dermot only packed it in last night and davys been there for a few weeks so no i dont think he joined as player manager but every chance he might take the position, whoever does take it on will have a talented squad to work with, heard damian o rourke joined so the team is going to be very strong, too strong for 1b imo, and there is lots of time left to make amends to the abysmal start they've had so i personally would put my money on park for promotion to 1a this year, taking into account the players, the facilities and the lads behind the scenes working as hard as they do, id imagine park will be a premier team sooner rather than later

Quote Originally Posted by quasi View Post

Ah ya a good man alright. Bottom of 1B out of the munster. Failure to get promotion last year. Masterminded one of the worst defeats I've ever been part of.

The players don't need a kick up the arse they need confidence. I know for a fact Dermot doesn't exactly instill it in you. I could repeat a conversation I had with him but it wouldn't do anyone any favours. He is gone now and lets hope the team can push on.
    "Joe Jordan is off to watch Young Boys tomorrow" Ian Darke

[quote=Axe Man;1025734]Ah ya a good man alright. Bottom of 1B out of the munster. Failure to get promotion last year. Masterminded one of the worst defeats I've ever been part of.

try reading my post next time axeman, i said good man, not good manager,, hes a sound auld bloke and i wish him luck with whatever he does.

and it doesnt say much about your footballing skills if you took part in one of the worst defeats he ever masterminded.

[quote=quasi;1025739]
    Quote Originally Posted by Axe Man View Post
    Ah ya a good man alright. Bottom of 1B out of the munster. Failure to get promotion last year. Masterminded one of the worst defeats I've ever been part of.

try reading my post next time axeman, i said good man, not good manager,, hes a sound auld bloke and i wish him luck with whatever he does.

and it doesnt say much about your footballing skills if you took part in one of the worst defeats he ever masterminded.
    im not here to argue with you axeman just give my two cents
    imo the players do need a solid a kick up the arse, they seem leaderless on the pitch and imo seem too afraid to get in hard in the middle of midfield. the team is undeniably young and talented but most of them just need to grow a pair and get stuck in instead of tippy toeing around all the time, i think davy and dukes will be leaders and hopefully the younger lads learn from them

[QUOTE=quasi;1025739]
    Quote Originally Posted by Axe Man View Post

quasi, sound man dermot must have thought a lot about axe mans footballing skills as he picked him as part of his starting 11
    don't know dermot personally and cant knock his previous managerail success with .. but seen him on the line at a few games and nothing from him when games going against park totally quiet just stands there with hands folded ..

" football is a simple game "

Quote Originally Posted by Spudd View Post
    Davey Wont just be playing lads...

He'll be managing aswell!!

BYE BYE FINNAN!!!
    I love being right!!!
    Sure it was a grand ole team to play for....Sure it was a grand ole team to know..

Hail Hail!!

Quote Originally Posted by Spudd View Post
    I love being right!!!
    hopefully it will be bye bye park at the end of the season

Finnan For Coonagh in a Director of Football role

A lot of talk about Dermot Finnan here lads. I have met him a few times and he's a sound bloke, and not forgetting the most successful manager this town's ever seen. I'm sure he'll be in demand and back in management very soon.

As for Quasi's comments about Park being too good for this division, I'd take in a few games before I'd make that call mate.There are several teams every bit as good, and so far better than Park. Yes the new players will add to their strength, but 1B is no handy league. And while I'd not rule them out this early, it'll take a massive effort for them to go up.
    Last edited by Pike B; 23/09/2008 at 7:58 AM.

Reminder for anybody who's interested,
    Limerick U20's season kicks off this evening 8pm at Hogan Park v Cork City
    LTID

Foot.ie!

Games Sunday 1B League

Predictions
    Shels 2-3 Bruff
    Caherdavin 2-1 Park
    Boro B 3-2 Coonagh

Janesboro B game V's Coonagh will be off, Janesboro are playing in FAI Sunday & B players will be involved in the panel

Quote Originally Posted by messi View Post
    Lads I find the level of abuse being thrown at mr finnan a disgrace to be honest,the man is a giant of junior soccer in this town!seems to me that park want someone like benny hill managing them!i mean in fairness its just one big soap opera out there! I dunno how or why dermot left the club but imo he is an outstandin manager, u dont have to be roaring and shoutin from the sideline to become a good manager,or more importantly the manager doesnt have to be liked in the dressing room,but he must be respected.. And ye girls out in park need to learn some respect.. Just ask the likes of jimmy sheehan,sean lipper,kevin heffernan, jason purcel,and more recently chuca and tommy barret what they think of him,all who won fai's under him and you'l find out how highly regarded he is.

There is where your wrong, players in bold would tell you total opposite to what you seem to think. Maybe you are talking about Barry or Colm Heffernan but don't think Kevin was ever involved.

Thats not to say the other players don't think Highly of Dermot Finnan.
    "Bath Avenue or Shelbourne" 1895