Thread: Limerick Division 1B 2008/09

1B League Sunday 14th.
    Pike B 4-0 Holycross

A very good result in the end, although we did take a long time to break down a very spirited Holycross 11. We failed to put away several first half chances and went in at the break scoreless and pretty frustrated. In the second half we lost Alan McNamara to injury which was a blow as he was filling in at centre half where we were short. We reshuffled and brought Kieran Stewart on in goals, shoved our keeper Sean upfront and brought myself back into the middle. This worked out well as we scored 4 in the last half hour to get a much needed win. Best for us were Darren Hanrahan, Shane Considine and Seany, our Keeper come Centre Forward!!

Quote Originally Posted by messi View Post
    its very frustrating not playin games, it'l be four weeks since our last game cos we've (fairview) no game again this weekend, this is hardly fair, are all the teams in 1b playin again this weekend?pike picked up a good win d weekend, cant wait to play ye bud, the old firm of 1b!
    Old firm is right. We got a win against ye last year, when we had the bare 11. Ye had just won 4 or 5 on the trot and came up to us with 18 players and all flying fit. We had 9 players five minutes before kick-off and togged out my father in goals and Anthony Dalglish Sheedy up front. (Both of whom had barely kicked a ball in years.) We knicked it 2-1 in a hurricane. It was one of the most memorable games in years. I'd take the same again!!!

Quote Originally Posted by Pike B View Post
    Old firm is right. We got a win against ye last year, when we had the bare 11. Ye had just won 4 or 5 on the trot and came up to us with 18 players and all flying fit. We had 9 players five minutes before kick-off and togged out my father in goals and Anthony Dalglish Sheedy up front. (Both of whom had barely kicked a ball in years.) We knicked it 2-1 in a hurricane. It was one of the most memorable games in years. I'd take the same again!!!
    Now i know where he perfected his diving i know i keep bringing it up mate but it stills gives me nightmares " it was never a penalty "

Quote Originally Posted by messi View Post
    its very frustrating not playin games, it'l be four weeks since our last game cos we've (fairview) no game again this weekend, this is hardly fair, are all the teams in 1b playin again this weekend?pike picked up a good win d weekend, cant wait to play ye bud, the old firm of 1b!
    How come ye are not in the munster this year ye were last year ?

Quote Originally Posted by Jock MIB View Post
    Now i know where he perfected his diving i know i keep bringing it up mate but it stills gives me nightmares " it was never a penalty "
    Ha ha. And if you ask anyone about me old Da, they'll tell you. He never took a dive or pulled out of a challenge in his life!! But he saw you coming that day and used all his years of experience!!

We play Carew Park this weekend in the Munster Junior. 2 o' clock at Pike field. All 1b lads welcome to cheer us on!! They are missing a few big names and have apparently lost a few aswell. So who knows, the headline 'Pike B dump Carew Park out of Munster Junior', has a nice ring to it no??

International Prospect abbeyvale's Avatar
    32 Posts

Angry

We play Carew Park this weekend in the Munster Junior. 2 o' clock at Pike field. All 1b lads welcome to cheer us on!! They are missing a few big names and have apparently lost a few aswell. So who knows, the headline 'Pike B dump Carew Park out of Munster Junior', has a nice ring to it no??
    Not if your involved with Carew Park.

They pulled a fast one on us at the weekend, by saying that most of their squad was on a stag (yet they didnt tell us till Saturday), surely they would have known earlier in the week that they were going to be missing players due to the "stag" and could have told the LDMC then.

Quote Originally Posted by abbeyvale View Post
    Not if your involved with Carew Park.

They pulled a fast one on us at the weekend, by saying that most of their squad was on a stag (yet they didnt tell us till Saturday), surely they would have known earlier in the week that they were going to be missing players due to the "stag" and could have told the LDMC then.
    I've heard Dennis Whelan and Albert Slattery are injured. They will probably be fit by time ye play them don't you know..

32 Posts
    I've heard Dennis Whelan and Albert Slattery are injured. They will probably be fit by time ye play them don't you know..
    I heard theres more than just those 2 injured, and one or two have re-signed with Hill Celtic, so if ye are to beat them at all, then this weekend up in the Pike Club is yer chance.

Only downfall is, you would have been better off playing them at 10.30 instead of 2pm.....for the obvious reason. (But I know yer "A" team play Sunday at 10.30 at home, so its a pity).

Will Jaffa be back fit for that game?

Will it be the 2 Stewart brothers in goals against each other??

I heard theres more than just those 2 injured, and one or two have re-signed with Hill Celtic, so if ye are to beat them at all, then this weekend up in the Pike Club is yer chance.

Only downfall is, you would have been better off playing them at 10.30 instead of 2pm.....for the obvious reason. (But I know yer "A" team play Sunday at 10.30 at home, so its a pity).

Will Jaffa be back fit for that game?

Will it be the 2 Stewart brothers in goals against each other??
    Jaffa touch and go I'd say. Bad calf injury. Not sure if Stewie(ours) will start. Possibly, if Dober wants to keep Seany outfield.

32 Posts
    Jaffa touch and go I'd say. Bad calf injury. Not sure if Stewie(ours) will start. Possibly, if Dober wants to keep Seany outfield.
    Prediction
    Pike "B" 1-3 Carew Park (Sorry bud)

Ha ha. And if you ask anyone about me old Da, they'll tell you. He never took a dive or pulled out of a challenge in his life!! But he saw you coming that day and used all his years of experience!!
    whos your dad?

Pike B's Dad !

Quote Originally Posted by the hoops View Post
    whos your dad?
    Gianluca Vialli And if your supporter for Pike then you'll know who this is !!

oh right ya whos son shud be number 9 for the premier team

blackie is back

Blackies back enough said pike to win on sunday

we shud have a good craic training tonight so

I cant wait for it roll on 7 o clock

What kind of ridiculous statement is that?? Who ever said anything like that to you?

relax phil certain people taught you shud be on the a team

Prediction
    Pike "B" 1-3 Carew Park (Sorry bud)
    A man's entitled to his opinion. Even if he's wrong!! .
    In fairness we'll be underdogs in this one alright, but it won't be easy for them. We'll get into them and a shock is possible.