Page 38 of 174 FirstFirst ... 2836373839404888138 ... LastLast

Thread: Limerick Division 1B 2008/09

Quote Originally Posted by Pike B View Post
    No I didn't take the pen. I was up front, number 10. Had a quiet game unfortunatley, just feeding off scraps but managed to get our goal. We were very poor in the first half, again shipping two soft goals. This is becoming an unhappy knack with us. Giving opposition a head start, but take nothing away from Knockainey, they started stronger and deserved their lead. In the second half we were twice the team that started. We dominated the whole second half, scoring one and missing a penalty aswell. We're not playing badly, but we really have to start taking our chances or it could be a struggle again this season, but after only 4 games nobody is panicking yet...
    i hope you didn't dive to get that penalty.... i know its in the family we will know soon which teams are panicking when you hear the famous words " its a six pointer game this weekend. "

Quote Originally Posted by Jock MIB View Post
    i hope you didn't dive to get that penalty.... i know its in the family we will know soon which teams are panicking when you hear the famous words " its a six pointer game this weekend. "
    No no, Dober Junior won the pen, and he didn't dive!!

With 18 games to go it's pure folly to be panicking, at both ends of the table. I see a few people writing Park off and even suggesting relegation!! Madness. I'm certain they will still be in the push for promotion come season's end.

I see a few people writing Park off and even suggesting relegation!! Madness. I'm certain they will still be in the push for promotion come season's end.
    It is madness people writing off park already,the season has only begun,for people to think janesboro are running away with it is crazy,last season park won there first 7 games of the season,we still didnt get promoted so long way to go and at the end of the day that table will be looking different every single week,in are first four games,fairview have been the best team we have played,we played janesboro and murroe off the park,but just lacking in the final 3rd,we got lucky against pike with a free kick late on.time will tell gents.
    Sure it was a grand ole team to play for....Sure it was a grand ole team to know..

Hail Hail!!

Spudd is Finnan definitely gone and Dave Wall taken over?
    18 times, and that's a fact.

Quote Originally Posted by larrywhite View Post
    Spudd is Finnan definitely gone and Dave Wall taken over?
    I cant confirm this larry,i can confirm that davey has signed as a player,but to be player manager its just rumours at the moment,finnan text us all lastnight to say that we will be training tonight so i presume dermot is still in charge.
    Sure it was a grand ole team to play for....Sure it was a grand ole team to know..

Hail Hail!!

Yeah I think ye are better off. Would have been a lot for a player to take on management duties also.

Quote Originally Posted by larrywhite View Post
    Yeah I think ye are better off. Would have been a lot for a player to take on management duties also.
    Totally agree,he will be an excellent addition to our team,alot of experience and can help us get back on track,if he was player /manager i dont think he would have always played himself,with a player like that we need him as much as we can on the pitch.

Hail Hail!!

Quote Originally Posted by Spudd View Post
    Totally agree,he will be an excellent addition to our team,alot of experience and can help us get back on track,if he was player /manager i dont think he would have always played himself,with a player like that we need him as much as we can on the pitch.
    He'll really stands out in this division. I am very surprised at this move for him at his age. He could play Premier for at least another 3-5 seasons. After a fairly average season last year by his standards maybe his confidence is down. Anyway, he'll get Park right back into the shake up, no doubt.

Totally agree. Great signing for Park.

Pike b

Any news PIke B when blackie is back it looks like ye are really missing him ?

Quote Originally Posted by da General View Post
    Any news PIke B when blackie is back it looks like ye are really missing him ?

Yes James is on the road to recovery and will be back with us within the next month or so. He's a very valuble squad member, and I know for a fact that a few of our lads miss his prescence in the dressing room!! He'll be pushing hard for a start in midfield, so Jaffa, Arthur and Co. would want to be on their toes...

Yes i heard jaffa and co were back from hill celtic and rob sheehy, is jaffa still the golden child, i know tommy lynch rates him highly......

You heard right, Jaf, Darren and Stuie back, aswell as Rob. Still though, Blackie would be rated as high with Dober as Jaffa would with Tommy. Higher maybe. A fit Blackie will probably start for us, in my opinion of course, but I'm not the manager!!

Do you play ball yourself?

Ya i play a bit in the nightowls league for freddys, Blackie played with us a few games last year with darren, Blackie was very good for us he run all day for us and good on the ball. We tried to get him to play this year but he said he got injured badly... Do you think ye will stay up this year ?

Quote Originally Posted by messi View Post
    Im sure the money he's getting out there will compensate for not playing premier soccer,after all the money he got from limerick and pike and now park,fair play to him anyway,nice money if u can get it! Its some thing they need anyway cos wot i saw of them was that they were very soft,davy will add seriously to their team without doubt,the best header of a ball iv ever seen.
    Thomas Daly heads the ball further then some people kick it

Ya i play a bit in the nightowls league for freddys, Blackie played with us a few games last year with darren, Blackie was very good for us he run all day for us and good on the ball. We tried to get him to play this year but he said he got injured badly... Do you think ye will stay up this year ?
    Yes. I'm sure we will.

Quote Originally Posted by On The Ball View Post
    Thomas Daly heads the ball further then some people kick it
    I think he meant quality of header, rather than distance ..

Best header of a ball I've seen was Tommy Shan(legend) followed closley by Colm Enright.

Davey for player manager

Quote Originally Posted by Spudd View Post
    there is no reason Davy would not play himself. I don't think he went to park to retire. i think you would be better off having him as player manager with another on the sidelines to assist than keeping mr finnan (if the stories i am hearing are true).
    If you get Dukes also it would do you the world of god. but maybe too later to mount a promotion challenge.
    'You should never have a bad game, off the ball.......'

Quote Originally Posted by Goals4fun View Post
    there is no reason Davy would not play himself. I don't think he went to park to retire. i think you would be better off having him as player manager with another on the sidelines to assist than keeping mr finnan (if the stories i am hearing are true).
    If you get Dukes also it would do you the world of god. but maybe too later to mount a promotion challenge.
    18 games left. I think they could draw 5 and win the rest. That would see them up..
    Last edited by Pike B; 08/09/2008 at 1:30 PM.