Page 29 of 174 FirstFirst ... 1927282930313979129 ... LastLast

Thread: Limerick Division 1B 2008/09

Quote Originally Posted by Obe1Kenobi0 View Post
    Well Larry...good win for ye at the weekend...fair play Nice to get the first win under the belt. Going on whats being said in this forum there could be 6 or 7 teams realistically looking to get promoted. Tough season ahead!
    Yeah good win. Will be interesting to hear Pike Bs views when he comes on. Must be off today or on evenings this week.

I dont know about 7 being in the race but definitely 4 or 5. Very early yet and once matches go to Sundays and sqauds/teams settle down for the winter you will get a better idea of who is going to be in the shake up.
    18 times, and that's a fact.

Must be one of the new recruits maybe, had ye full team out on tuesday against the boro spud.
    HSE all the way: Joe Mckweon Cup winners 2009

Quote Originally Posted by The Kaiser View Post
    Must be one of the new recruits maybe, had ye full team out on tuesday against the boro spud.
    We played the boro saturday,we had a strong team out yes but still missing 4 very good players,we were bit weak up front butler was on his own with the formation we started off with,if we had 1 of the lads who were missing.. up front with butts would of helped us alot.
    Sure it was a grand ole team to play for....Sure it was a grand ole team to know..

Hail Hail!!

Coonagh 3-1 Pike B

No complaints, or excuses here lads, we were well beaten. 2 down before we even got started and had to take drastic step of taking off a player and bringing in Declan Considine to steady the midfield, ten minutes before half time, which he did well.
    At 2-1 down we rallied a little, even hitting the bar, but in truth Coonagh always looked like they could up a gear and so they did killing off the game with twenty to go.
    Without a doubt our worst performance so far and I myself was very poor on the night. But we'll pick ourselves up and get ready for Holycross Tuesday.
    In fairness to the lads we've played three very good teams and hopefully our next few games might see us get that first win.
    Well done Coonagh. Looking strong again and no doubt you'll get a run going after this result.
    And thanks for the compliment on our new gear Larry. Fair play to the Club for supplying us with a top class gear for the season and now we just need to do it justice!!
    Last edited by Pike B; 01/09/2008 at 3:38 PM.

Quote Originally Posted by Spudd View Post
    We played the boro saturday,we had a strong team out yes but still missing 4 very good players,we were bit weak up front butler was on his own with the formation we started off with,if we had 1 of the lads who were missing.. up front with butts would of helped us alot.
    yeah saturday i meant to say, interesting yer boss went for 5 in midfield with butts up front on his own. Did it work at all or did ye change it during the match. long shift up front by yourself no matter how good a player is.
    HSE all the way: Joe Mckweon Cup winners 2009

25 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Spudd View Post
    if we had 1 of the lads who were missing.. up front with butts would of helped us alot.
    You can't expect to get goals with Butts plugging away up front on his own.

What were Boro like lads? What would you think are their strong points? Or just strong all over the pitch?

Quote Originally Posted by larrywhite View Post
    What were Boro like lads? What would you think are their strong points? Or just strong all over the pitch?
    Their strong pints are in the bar!!

Quote Originally Posted by Pike B View Post
    Their strong pints are in the bar!!
    Boom boom.

Boom boom.
    Ya, they have a jukebox too..

Quote Originally Posted by abbeyvale View Post
    Boro Pl 3 / Pts 9
    Knockainey Pl 3 / Pts 6
    Murroe Pl 3 / Pts 6
    Fairview Pl 3 / Pts 5
    Bruff Pl 2 / Pts 4
    Coonagh Pl 3 / Pts 4
    Cals Pl 2 / Pts 4
    Holycross Pl 3 / Pts 3
    Shels Pl 3 / Pts 3
    Caherdavin Pl 3 / Pts 1
    Park Pl 3 / Pts 1
    Pike Pl 3 / Pts 1

Results
    Saturday August 30th
    Shelbourne 3-2 Knockainey
    Murroe 2-1 Caherdavin
    Janesboro B 1-0 Park AFC,
    Coonagh United 3-1 Pike Rovers B,
    Fairview B 2-2 Caledonians

Sunday August 31st
    Holycross 0-3 Bruff United,

Fixtures
    Tuesday Sept 2nd (Kick –Off 6.30)
    Caherdavin V Shelbourne,
    Bruff United V Knockainey,
    Park Afc V Murroe,
    Pike Rovers B V Holycross,
    Caledonians V Janesboro B,
    Fairview B V Coonagh United
    Excuse me sir, but on Goal Differance Caherdavin are bottom. A Statto like you surely knows that!!

Goal difference isnt used in Limerick, its done in alphabetical order.
    EVERYTHING is black and white

Thats just textbook................

Quote Originally Posted by pearse4t3 View Post
    Goal difference isnt used in Limerick, its done in alphabetical order.
    Humour me bud will you?? I'm after a silver lining here!!!

Haha, theres along way to go, this looks to be the most interesting league in town, well so far anyway.
    EVERYTHING is black and white

Thats just textbook................

Quote Originally Posted by pearse4t3 View Post
    Haha, theres along way to go, this looks to be the most interesting league in town, well so far anyway.
    It is by far. There are no bad teams, and I mean that none. There will be five teams scrappin for the title I reckon, with another 3 possibly there aswell. Picking a winner in this division is near impossible. But ya, long way to go.

Lovely weather again for tonights games.
    Sure it was a grand ole team to play for....Sure it was a grand ole team to know..

Hail Hail!!

Cant see that happening. They are very young and dont keep the ball enough. Middle of the table more like.
    Dont underestimate them. They still have 8 players who were in the squad promoted to 1A in 05/06 and finished 3rd in 1A 06/07.

Agree they dont keep the ball enough, that would defintely be their main downfall on their off days.
    That, and not being able to field their main starting 11 for a lot of matches (right full v Holycross was well into his forties).
    LTID

Larry, Boro were good up front, Thomas Mc ( I think is his name) is a fine player. They are also strong at the back, quite physical and good in the air. The right winger is quick.

Predictions
    Tuesday Sept 2nd (Kick –Off 6.30)
    Caherdavin 3V2 Shelbourne,
    Bruff United 1V1 Knockainey,
    Park Afc 4V1 Murroe,
    Pike Rovers B 3V2 Holycross,
    Caledonians 2V1 Janesboro B,
    Fairview B 2V3 Coonagh
    Last edited by Pike B; 02/09/2008 at 3:13 PM.

Quote Originally Posted by KevB76 View Post
    Dont underestimate them. They still have 8 players who were in the squad promoted to 1A in 05/06 and finished 3rd in 1A 06/07.

Agree they dont keep the ball enough, that would defintely be their main downfall on their off days.
    That, and not being able to field their main starting 11 for a lot of matches (right full v Holycross was well into his forties).
    From reading the 1A thread last season though they were doing fine until Xmas and then went into freefall after a few players left and they havent come back from what I read on here. All in takes is 2 or 3 vital players to leave to make a huge difference to a team.