Page 21 of 174 FirstFirst ... 1119202122233171121 ... LastLast

Thread: Limerick Division 1B 2008/09

Quote Originally Posted by larrywhite View Post
    And here was I thinking the sparks would be flying on Saturday night at the Pike field.
    The sparks will be flying Saturday night,hopefully we can get a good result,but like lastnight who knows....anything can happen in this crazy division.
    Sure it was a grand ole team to play for....Sure it was a grand ole team to know..

Hail Hail!!

Yeah true anything can happen. It will be interesting to see how ye both look this season with the new signings.
    18 times, and that's a fact.

250 Posts
    Keep this thread on topic,I've removed the posts about the so called incident as there's no way of knowing at this stage whether it happened or not.

There's surely enough positive stuff in your division without dragging out this?

Janesboro 3 - 1 Murroe (tom mc hatrick)

good team performance from Boro,went behind in the first half but worked hard in the second,5-6 missing from the squad tonite,16 togged out,alot of competition for places

Pike b 2-2 Park
    HSE all the way: Joe Mckweon Cup winners 2009

Smile result from tonight

Shelbourne 1 Holycross 4

shels were obviously understrength (a byrnes family wedding we believe) but still managed to dominate the first 15 mins. a goal for the Cross mid way through 1st half turned game around, and shels never recovered, 0-2 at half time, 4-0 with 15 to go before a late consolation score with 5 to play.
    suspect shels will be well up the table by season's end, but for the cross morale is high. bring on local derby at knockainey tuesday night

International Prospect abbeyvale's Avatar
    32 Posts

Table, results & Fixtures

Boro Pl 1 / Pts 3
    Holycross Pl 1 / Pts 3
    Knockainey Pl 1 / Pts 3
    Caherdavin Pl 1 / Pts 1
    Fairview Pl 1 / Pts 1
    Park Pl 1 / Pts 1
    Pike Pl 1 / Pts 1
    Bruff Pl 0 / Pts 0
    Cals Pl 0 / Pts 0
    Murroe Pl 1 / Pts 0
    Shels Pl 1 / Pts 0
    Coonagh Pl 1 / Pts 0

Results
    Coonagh 0-1 Knockainey
    Fairview 2-2 Caherdavin

Sat 23/08/08
    Shelbourne 1-4 Holycross,
    Janesboro B 3-1 Murroe,
    Caledonians OFF Bruff United
    Pike Rovers B 2-2 Park AFC,

Fixtures
    Tue 26/08/08 (6.30)
    Murroe v Shelbourne, Murroe,
    Knockainey v Holycross, Knockainey,
    Caherdavin v Janesboro B, Greenhills,
    Bruff United v Coonagh United, Bruff,
    Park AFC v Fairview B, Riverside,
    Pike Rovers B v Caledonians, Pike Club
    Last edited by abbeyvale; 24/08/2008 at 7:32 PM.

International Prospect abbeyvale's Avatar
    32 Posts

Website

2 Days since the first games have been played in this league and the "new" Limerick Soccer website still hasn't been updated..................new season, same old story!!!!

Anyone got the missing result above to complete the league table after round one of the league games!????

Quote Originally Posted by abbeyvale View Post
    2 Days since the first games have been played in this league and the "new" Limerick Soccer website still hasn't been updated..................new season, same old story!!!!

Anyone got the missing result above to complete the league table after round one of the league games!????

You will probably have to wait for the radio tomorrow to get that...At least youll get a lie in anyways

Thought that was to be on today
    LTID

Quote Originally Posted by The Kaiser View Post
    Pike b 2-2 Park
    Early goal for Park, decent strike from 20 yards by Alan Casey. Pike awarded a penalty in either half both for handball, both taken by Darren Duffy. Park equalised with a well taken free kick, again scored by Alan Casey. Not a great game overall, dont know if was down to the conditions and being first game back, or is this the typical 1b standard
    LTID

Quote Originally Posted by KevB76 View Post
    Early goal for Park, decent strike from 20 yards by Alan Casey. Pike awarded a penalty in either half both for handball, both taken by Darren Duffy. Park equalised with a well taken free kick, again scored by Alan Casey. Not a great game overall, dont know if was down to the conditions and being first game back, or is this the typical 1b standard
    I was up at the second half and the conditions were pretty bad but at least both teams tried to keep playing football. And of course when the final whistle went the sun came out.
    18 times, and that's a fact.

Boro Pl 1 / Pts 3
    Holycross Pl 1 / Pts 3
    Knockainey Pl 1 / Pts 3
    Caherdavin Pl 1 / Pts 1
    Fairview Pl 1 / Pts 1
    Park Pl 1 / Pts 1
    Pike Pl 1 / Pts 1
    Bruff Pl 0 / Pts 0
    Cals Pl 0 / Pts 0
    Murroe Pl 1 / Pts 0
    Shels Pl 1 / Pts 0
    Coonagh Pl 1 / Pts 0

Results
    Coonagh 0-1 Knockainey
    Fairview 2-2 Caherdavin

Sat 23/08/08
    Shelbourne 1-4 Holycross,
    Janesboro B 3-1 Murroe,
    Caledonians v Bruff United....................NO RESULT YET
    Pike Rovers B 2-2 Park AFC,

Fixtures
    Tue 26/08/08 (6.30)
    Murroe v Shelbourne, Murroe,
    Knockainey v Holycross, Knockainey,
    Caherdavin v Janesboro B, Greenhills,
    Bruff United v Coonagh United, Bruff,
    Park AFC v Fairview B, Riverside,
    Pike Rovers B v Caledonians, Pike Club
    Caledonians v Bruff United was called off after an injury to the referee
    Last edited by The Kaiser; 24/08/2008 at 4:47 PM.
    HSE all the way: Joe Mckweon Cup winners 2009

Quote Originally Posted by KevB76 View Post
    Aww ref. That's a bit of an underhand comment now. The standard of 1B isn't a bad one at all. Thought you had a bit more class than that

Pike B 2-2 Park
    On the game itself, I have to say that our lads were up for this big time, and although it was difficult to play much football in a downpour, our hard work and effort saw us earn a point from a very strong Park outfit (or even they earned it as we were winning!!.) They are a pretty small team size wise, but have plenty of lively good footballers. I was most impressed with the lad in the centre mid with red hair. Paul Scholes lookalike. He got both goals and hit the bar. A fine player. On our side hard to single anyone out as all 11 plus subs busted a gut for the team, but special mention for Darren Duffy, our top scoring full back!!!
    Good signing yesterday for us with the return of Gerry O' Connell to the club. He'll make a great addition to our side.

As for my old mate Spudd, I've still no idea who he is, but I did manage to shall we say get stuck into as many players as I could. All hard but fair, of course!!
    Last edited by Pike B; 25/08/2008 at 8:11 AM.

Quote Originally Posted by Jock MIB View Post
    Where and what time you playing holycross Knockmad? free night might pop out to the Old Firm Derby
    Tuesday in Knockainey 6.30 you are welcome we will even make u a cup of tea........but you are not allowed stand at the Holycross side we have a seat on the crossbar in the middle for you Jock........

Quote Originally Posted by Pike B View Post

Pike B 2-2 Park
    On the game itself, I have to say that our lads were up for this big time, and although it was difficult to play much football in a downpour, our hard work and effort saw us earn a point from a very strong Park outfit (or even they earned it as we were winning!!.) They are a pretty small team size wise, but have plenty of lively good footballers. I was most impressed with the lad in the centre mid with red hair. Paul Scholes lookalike. He got both goals and hit the bar. A fine player. On our side hard to single anyone out as all 11 plus subs busted a gut for the team, but special mention for Darren Duffy, our top scoring full back!!!
    Good signing yesterday for us with the return of Gerry O' Connell to the club. He'll make a great addition to our side.

As for my old mate Spudd, I've still no idea who he is, but I did manage to shall we say get stuck into as many players as I could. All hard but fair, of course!!
    I dont think we got going the way we would have liked,but alot of it down to the pitch been cut up in the first 20 mins of the game,non stop rain for all of the game,very hard to play ball,pitch was in good shape for kick-off but just turned into a mud bath then,ye did get stuck into great attitude on your behalf,seen the ref after the game wearing a celtic or a pike jersey under his referee gear,maybe had something to do with yer second penalty,if that was handball,id advise no players to chest a ball down in the box with this ref.
    Sure it was a grand ole team to play for....Sure it was a grand ole team to know..

Hail Hail!!

Quote Originally Posted by Pike B View Post
    Aww ref. That's a bit of an underhand comment now. The standard of 1B isn't a bad one at all. Thought you had a bit more class than that

Pike B 2-2 Park

thats his brother not the ref

Quote Originally Posted by Spudd View Post
    I dont think we got going the way we would have liked,but alot of it down to the pitch been cut up in the first 20 mins of the game,non stop rain for all of the game,very hard to play ball,pitch was in good shape for kick-off but just turned into a mud bath then,ye did get stuck into great attitude on your behalf,seen the ref after the game wearing a celtic or a pike jersey under his referee gear,maybe had something to do with yer second penalty,if that was handball,id advise no players to chest a ball down in the box with this ref.
    I thought we were robbed for a third pen actually. Our winger was hacked down with ten to go and ref waved it away. Would be taking the mick if he gave a third one!!

Quote Originally Posted by Jock MIB View Post
    thats his brother not the ref
    You sure?