Page 36 of 70 FirstFirst ... 26343536373846 ... LastLast

Thread: Limerick Premier Division 2008/09

Quote Originally Posted by superhero View Post
    On a sidenote, Colm Enright really laid claim the centre half position,dominated in the Air last night,looks like himself and Mullins could be a savage pairing for the defense.
    Where do you see Pa McGarry fitting in? my understanding was he signed to play centre half and not left full? Connie could have a problem on his hands[/QUOTE]

Not forgetting Philip Purcell, Player of the year last year for Pike,now suddenly dropped for god only knows what. Pike had 7 subs last night, the majority of them would challenge for a place in most teams in the premier..(Boyle/Purcell/O'Neill/Mitchell/J.Enright/Smackers/O'Shea)

kilmallock 0 aisling 4

we were shocking hopefully a wake up call or it will be a long season

Quote Originally Posted by Mister Ed View Post
    pa moloney loked rusty and nabbs didnt look too good when he came on, even before they got the penalty they resorted to diving to try and get a peno, the player should have got booked but the ref bottled it. granville could have got a draw only for bennis to pull off a great save from billy tynan
    it was a comfortable save from mcgarrys header not billys,and pike could have ran up double figures,granville are one of worst sides i have seen and will struggle,they do,nt even try to play football

Quote Originally Posted by Balbec77 View Post
    And Aisling didn't even have to get out of 2nd gear...looking at the match, i think fitness is a big problem for ye..ye have a great set up and a decent team and the likes of Carthy and the 2 Heff's should stear ye out of trouble...In fairness , Aisling had too much football for ye on the night and if their strikers wern't given the night off, the scoreline would have read 7 or 8 nil.....IMO the Aisling centre backs were outstanding on the night. A level above the rest !
    "The theory of football is not just a study of how to win.Equally as important is how not to lose."

Quote Originally Posted by Green_Hoop View Post
    Boyle/Purcell/O'Neill/Mitchell/J.Enright/Smackers/O'Shea)
    That's a very strong bench. with the new transfer window system this year it'll be interesting to see who stays and goes from alot of clubs in the first few weeks of the season
    Mama Mia!!

honest

Quote Originally Posted by Balbec77 View Post
    Its refreshing to read an honest appraisal of a performance. Makes a change from some of the usual tripe on here....

usual tripe

Quote Originally Posted by hoops12 View Post
    it was a comfortable save from mcgarrys header not billys,and pike could have ran up double figures,granville are one of worst sides i have seen and will struggle,they do,nt even try to play football

A very good example of the usual tripe, funny how most of it eminates from Crossagalla. Have a bit of respect man, clubs like Granville, Corbally, Fairview have built schoolboy set ups and grounds through sheer hard work and determination that are a credit to them and bring through their schoolboys unlike ye lot who are like the bloody united nations up there. Don't forget without a certain Dick Penny who bankrolled Pike, ye would have nothing up there. It wasn't built by fundraising like other clubs have to do. Fairview with all their FAI's were envied the length and breadth of Limerick. Pike with their couple of Leagues are the most hated club in town. Are ye learning anything from all this?

Where do you see Pa McGarry fitting in? my understanding was he signed to play centre half and not left full? Connie could have a problem on his hands
    Not forgetting Philip Purcell, Player of the year last year for Pike,now suddenly dropped for god only knows what. Pike had 7 subs last night, the majority of them would challenge for a place in most teams in the premier..(Boyle/Purcell/O'Neill/Mitchell/J.Enright/Smackers/O'Shea)[/QUOTE]
    ahh come on now will u our back line last nite was strong and comfortable with pace and strenght in abundance pike will take beating this season thought hartnett ran the show in midfield in a small and ugly pitch but in saying that granville played to there strenghts and billy tynan had poor maloney in his pocket all nite young brazier show him up phill purcell will have a fight on his hand to get back in to the squad but he should know at this stage its a panel game not 11
    A winner listens, a loser just waits untill it is their turn to talk.

Quote Originally Posted by Bonovox View Post
    A very good example of the usual tripe, funny how most of it eminates from Crossagalla.
    Ha,I'd reread your post there chum,an uncalled for outburst for no apparent reason...
    Have a bit of respect man, clubs like Granville, Corbally, Fairview have built schoolboy set ups and grounds through sheer hard work and determination that are a credit to them and bring through their schoolboys unlike ye lot who are like the bloody united nations up there
    I'd assume your Fairview,in fairness you can't really talk much youself,not exactly all "homegrown talents" up there now are there...And its an extremely low blow considering Pike haven't had schoolboys until 2 years ago before that an 11 year gap,Still,Pa McGarry/Dermot Phelan/Frankie Stewart/Dave Morris/Noel Noonan etc.. are floating about from the last Pike school boy setup.
    Don't forget without a certain Dick Penny who bankrolled Pike, ye would have nothing up there. It wasn't built by fundraising like other clubs have to do.
    So Mr.Penny(god bless him) invested well over a million euro's on his own into the club from his secret Swiss bank accounts did he? For everything the great man did for the club he doesn't deserve to be slated on here by the likes of you pedaling this rubbish ...
    Fairview with all their FAI's were envied the length and breadth of Limerick. Pike with their couple of Leagues are the most hated club in town. Are ye learning anything from all this?
    Still living in the past are we? Seriously man you can't keep going back to the same argument every time you feel threatened, Ya fair play on winning the FAI's etc but constantly going on about it gets a tad tiresome.. Teams are disliked because they win(Case in point Chelsea/Man Utd/Real Madrid/PSV depending),its just the bitter(i.e. yourself and plenty others..) and twisted that keep on about it..

Hadn't been a bad word mentioned on here in a few days either, good job on dragging us down to your level...

Where do you see Pa McGarry fitting in? my understanding was he signed to play centre half and not left full? Connie could have a problem on his hands
    Not forgetting Philip Purcell, Player of the year last year for Pike,now suddenly dropped for god only knows what. Pike had 7 subs last night, the majority of them would challenge for a place in most teams in the premier..(Boyle/Purcell/O'Neill/Mitchell/J.Enright/Smackers/O'Shea)[/QUOTE]

i thought the rule was 5 subs? if they had 7 subs togged and only 5 on the card which two togged out for nothing?

I think bennis was at full stretch to push it for a corner, you have some idea of comfortable save !!!!

Granville are much improbed on last season. They looked organised. They did not create much against a good pike back 4. They kept pike out till half time and only for they were trying to get back into it and had a man sent off that is why pike created a load of chances. Still some nervy pike moments til they scored fromthe spot with a few mins to go.
    'You should never have a bad game, off the ball.......'

that will surely be connies problem trying to hang on to these players. as you said most would challenge any team in town for a place and i expect they would get a game elsewhere if they moved. Nobody wants to stand on the side line.

i thought the rule was 5 subs? if they had 7 subs togged and only 5 on the card which two togged out for nothing?[/QUOTE]

only 2 brought on so the other 5 will never know, and togged out for nothing.

Quote Originally Posted by Philbert View Post
    Brians still kicking around up there? WHat happened to all the new super signings?

anyone have the fairview team?
    That's a bit harsh! We did well last year in defence so why do we need to change that. I think we have a very strong squad and will be there or thereabouts in all competitions this season.

and there's more....

Ha,I'd reread your post there chum,an uncalled for outburst for no apparent reason... I'd assume your Fairview,in fairness you can't really talk much youself,not exactly all "homegrown talents" up there now are there...And its an extremely low blow considering Pike haven't had schoolboys until 2 years ago before that an 11 year gap,Still,Pa McGarry/Dermot Phelan/Frankie Stewart/Dave Morris/Noel Noonan etc.. are floating about from the last Pike school boy setup. So Mr.Penny(god bless him) invested well over a million euro's on his own into the club from his secret Swiss bank accounts did he? For everything the great man did for the club he doesn't deserve to be slated on here by the likes of you pedaling this rubbish ... Still living in the past are we? Seriously man you can't keep going back to the same argument every time you feel threatened, Ya fair play on winning the FAI's etc but constantly going on about it gets a tad tiresome.. Teams are disliked because they win(Case in point Chelsea/Man Utd/Real Madrid/PSV depending),its just the bitter(i.e. yourself and plenty others..) and twisted that keep on about it..

Hadn't been a bad word mentioned on here in a few days either, good job on dragging us down to your level...

.....more tripe that is.

A very good example of the usual tripe, funny how most of it eminates from Crossagalla. Have a bit of respect man, clubs like Granville, Corbally, Fairview have built schoolboy set ups and grounds through sheer hard work and determination that are a credit to them and bring through their schoolboys unlike ye lot who are like the bloody united nations up there. Don't forget without a certain Dick Penny who bankrolled Pike, ye would have nothing up there. It wasn't built by fundraising like other clubs have to do. Fairview with all their FAI's were envied the length and breadth of Limerick. Pike with their couple of Leagues are the most hated club in town. Are ye learning anything from all this?
    there isnt a club in ireland that has as hard working committe as pike have ,for a number of years now the same 5/6 people have been breaking their backs trying to FUNDRAISE and are still working their socks off with the schoolboy set up,you are just one of the many on here obsessed with pike and on another note it was through fundraising that we have the facilities that we have .we have had no handouts or gifts from anyone .oh ya and fairview are envied and rightly so because of their success but tell me how many of their so called schoolboys came through the ranks for those fai,a s cos id say the majority came from the schoolboy set ups of geraldines and granville.then again most of the view support were with granville untill the fai made its way to the fairgreen

Quote Originally Posted by superhero View Post
    On a sidenote, Colm Enright really laid claim the centre half position,dominated in the Air last night,looks like himself and Mullins could be a savage pairing for the defense.
    Where do you see Pa McGarry fitting in? my understanding was he signed to play centre half and not left full? Connie could have a problem on his hands[/QUOTE]

colm was outstanding and brought much needed leadership to the field aswell,mcgarry was also excellent at left full where incidently he received his junior caps

a pikey dream

there isnt a club in ireland that has as hard working committe as pike have ,for a number of years now the same 5/6 people have been breaking their backs trying to FUNDRAISE and are still working their socks off with the schoolboy set up,you are just one of the many on here obsessed with pike and on another note it was through fundraising that we have the facilities that we have .we have had no handouts or gifts from anyone .oh ya and fairview are envied and rightly so because of their success but tell me how many of their so called schoolboys came through the ranks for those fai,a s cos id say the majority came from the schoolboy set ups of geraldines and granville.then again most of the view support were with granville untill the fai made its way to the fairgreen
    "There isn't a club in Ireland that has as hard working committe as pike have" (his dire garmmar, not mine)
    What utter tosh. You know the committee's of every club in Ireland now do you?
    You are so far up your own crevice you actually think that people obsess about your club. Is it not sinking in????? Do you want another hint???

"There isn't a club in Ireland that has as hard working committe as pike have" (his dire garmmar, not mine)
    You are so far up your own crevice you actually think that people obsess about your club. Is it not sinking in????? Do you want another hint???
    And how would you know that they are or aren't? Seems to me you've a rather tragic grudge against the club for whatever reason, lets see you've attacked the club time and again after reading back over your posts and continue to do so. Do you need a "hint"?? Leave up will you,your only dragging the forum down and making yourself into a bit of a show to be quite honest..

you spelt grammar wrong

Page 36 of 70 FirstFirst ... 26343536373846 ... LastLast