Page 1 of 6 123 ... LastLast

Thread: North Wales police "anti-Irish Racism" Ahead of Bohs Rhyl Clash

North Wales police "anti-Irish Racism" Ahead of Bohs Rhyl Clash

Just reading on several Message boards that North Wales Police have instructed all Pubs in Rhyl to close for an hour before and after the Bohs v Rhyl Intertoto match and Not to Serve any Irish at all in the bars today or tomorrow."To avoid Trouble". this is an absolute disgrace, what do you think!

Copied and pasted from Rhyl's message board incase some of yous arent registered there...

Blackpete:
    After speaking to 3 landlords in pubs down Vale Road today it is apparent that North Wales Police have issued them with letters informing them they must close the pubs between 4.30pm - 6pm on Saturday and also have paid them a visit telling them that no Irish are allowed in!. I think this is disgrace as we were all made to feel extremely welcome in Dublin and gained entry to all pubs all weekend. I have just contacted North Wales Police and they will get back to me later with more information. Any views on this topic anyone?

ioio:
    That would be illegal discrimination..and downright stupid. Everyone would just get their bottles from Spars and Offies and drink on the streets. No way can the police do that.

Hopefully the club are informing the police that no trouble whatsoever is expected and that all policing should be low-profile and friendly.

If we don't manage to win 4-0 (or 6-1), then good luck to the Bohs next round

cymruambyth:
    Typical North Wales Police, Disgrace!

Spoke to my contact at the Dailypost, told him about it.

astonmann:
    Surely they can't tell them to close, with so many pubs closing these days they need the business.Having 5-600 Bohs fans in the town would be good for the local economy.

lilywhite:
    Bad news for the Town this, we were welcomed everywhere we went in Dublin. Don't even think that the Bohs have bad reputation. Very bad PR for Rhyl.
    As for saying no Irish allowed in, as Ffred says that would be illegal.

DaveWalker:
    Totally appauling, Like what has been mentioned above with 5 - 600 fans coming over that can only be good for the pubs etc that benefit from extra people spending money.

As for North Wales Police, WHY ?

I honestly don`t recall seeing any Garda at the game with Bohs and that went without a hitch. I would hope that Bohs fans can come to Rhyl and enjoy the same hospitality that was shown to us in Ireland.

cymruambyth:

Just spoke to 6 pubs so far its true! oh its true!

Hope the spar and morrisons have stocked up!

Blackpete:
    It certainly is true, it only came to light earlier today when my Irish mate who drinks in The Prince phoned me to tell me, he is fuming!, i got straight on the phone to landlords in the area and they confirmed this. I have had a call from the police who are still investigating the situation, i will keep you all posted to what they say as soon as i hear.

KopEnder:
    It looks like OMAN isn't the only one to score an OWN GOAL in this tie!

North Wales Police are on really dodgy ground with this. Hope common sense prevails.

loyalwhite:
    surprise, surprise, guess whos behind it all ...

Spiderman80884:
    As a Bohs supporter who only just got the nod for travelling over for the match I have to say that I am firstly disappointed that the NW Police have taken this stance for no good reason that I can see.

But secondly I am dismayed at the 'No Irish Allowed' comment from the constabulary - I thought that the anti Irish sentiment (racism) of the 60's, 70's and 80's in Britain was well and truly buried. It seems it is well and truly alive and kicking within your police force. Disgrace.

ioio:
    northwalespolice@north-wales.police.uk

is their email address. Get your complaints in now and demand a reversal of this situation. They risk endangering the friendly and welcoming atmosphere which was sure to be in the town. I've sent in my complaint - send yours, and club officials must now make a stand.

If none of this works, bring posters to the ground
    "HEDDLU'R GOGLEDD - DWYN GWARTH ARNOM NI"
    "NORTH WALES POLICE - BRINGING SHAME ON US ALL"

Blackpete:
    Had a phone call back from North Wales Police saying they have only advised pubs to shut betweeen these times to save any trouble!!, this is not the case from the landlords. they informed me that they were told to close. also they informed me that Bohs fans were gonna be escorted to the ground by foot from the train station, it makes them look like bloody crimianls, what a **** take, how many police did we see at their ground?, i think i saw 2 at the end of the game!..... All this is spoiling it for everyone now.....

loyalwhite:
    What action should we take against the instigator?

ioio:
    What a load of idiots. Are the police going to ask the Bohs fans to assemble together first at the railway station so that they can be escorted over ?!!!!!!!
    Bohs fans will be here from Thursday onwards - arriving on 3 or 4 buses, by plane from Manchester and Liverpool not all on the same train from Holyhead !!

Police seem to be backing off...e-mail and phone them and tell all the Community Support Officers (mobile numbers on the police website) and we'll get rid of this nonsense before Saturday

story from the welsh Daily Post here
    Last edited by Block G Raptor; 27/06/2008 at 2:06 PM.

811 Posts
    That seems more than a little over the top. The 'don't serve any Irish' thing couldn't take a legal challenge.
    You can't spell failure without FAI

Yeah the Ryl fans seem to be mortified about no doubt they are a decent lot - never heard of any trouble from the first game so why should there be this time - seems a bit harsh not serving to just a specific 'nationality'.

Question

Is it legal to ban Bohs fans but allow Irish people?

I presume this has to do with last time Bohs fans in the GB & NI?

1,550 Posts
    Fair play to the NWP for doing the travelling fans a favour.

After all, alcohol is bad for the body and the soul.

64 Posts
    That's absolutely scandolous! They can't be let get a way with it. Both sets of supporters should hav some sort of protest in the ground.

I hope there is'nt any trouble now after all of this.

Would be terrible if the decision was reversed and then something kicked off, the old ''I'll told ya so'' would almost certainly be heard!
    There's the right way, the wrong way.... and the Max Power way!! :-D

I have sympathy for the Bohs having to watch their team sober

20 Posts
    Probably doing this on Garda "intelligence"

ACAB
    Misfits

I can just picture it now, 600 of us down on the beach tomorrow afternoon slugging cans...

ah im sure ya will find a offie and a nice lane
    "No one could make a greater mistake than he who did nothing because he could do only a little." - Edmund Burke

Just to prove its just a whiney Bohs fans, there's nothing anti Irish about it. All bars are closed due to Bohs well known hooligan problem. That means all Welsh, English and assorted others can't get a drink either. Nobody to blame for this but certain Bohs fans

See article here
    http://www.dailypost.co.uk/news/nort...5578-21159428/

outrageous behaviour by the local cops
    " I wish to God that someone would be able to block out the voices in my head for five minutes, the voices that scream, over and over again: "Why do they come to me to die?"

Quote Originally Posted by Red Army View Post
    ACAB
    Yeah because of a few cops in Wales they must all be

Quote Originally Posted by Dodge View Post
    Just to prove its just a whiney Bohs fans, there's nothing anti Irish about it. All bars are closed due to Bohs well known hooligan problem. That means all Welsh, English and assorted others can't get a drink either. Nobody to blame for this but certain Bohs fans

See article here
    http://www.dailypost.co.uk/news/nort...5578-21159428/
    You think this is proportionate? Are there no Pats hooligans, or are there just a few?
    I've been told that the club provided the Welsh police with close detail on known trouble-makers. If it is rewarded by this sort of panic blanket response, where the authorities show as little discrimination as you do and tar everyone with one brush, then why should it bother?
    Incidentally, the 'no Irish' line originated on the Rhyl FC board.

Apologies

As a Taff and North Walian to boot, please record my disgust and embarressment at that.
    Totaly lost for words !!
    Rest assured I'm sure the Rhyl boys will make you welcome.
    Apologies but shows what a "male appendage" we have as Chief Constable

2,770 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by BohDiddley View Post
    You think this is proportionate? Are there no Pats hooligans, or are there just a few?
    I've been told that the club provided the Welsh police with close detail on known trouble-makers. If it is rewarded by this sort of panic blanket response, where the authorities show as little discrimination as you do and tar everyone with one brush, then why should it bother?
    dont worry BD, its a typical Dodge response to a Bohs related issue.

YAWWWN
    I like high energy football. A little bit rock and roll. Many finishes instead of waiting for the perfect one.

Bohemians press officer Darragh Ward said the club did not have a problem with hooligans.
    Ha ha ha ha ha!!!!

22 Posts
    Lol please dont associate Bohs fans and irish people, they obviously did some police work and realised what a bohs fan actually is and what to expect.

Maybe they googled "bohs fans pub" ???? 1st results pretty much sum it up.

Thank god for off licences eh?

kdjac
    5-0

Quote Originally Posted by BohDiddley View Post
    So it must be true then. Nobody ever lies on a football message board.

Bohs have a problem, have admitted as much before (now denyinng it apparently) and pubs get shut for an hour

Hardly a human rights violation

Page 1 of 6 123 ... LastLast