Page 49 of 95 FirstFirst ... 39474849505159 ... LastLast

Thread: Limerick Division 1A 2008/09

Quote Originally Posted by the quiet 1 View Post
    Star Rovers & Balla "B" played out a 2 all draw... I heard that balla were fairly lucky this morning.. 2 goals for Balla that looked offside
    lucky to get the equalizer so late in the game,but imo we should have had them buried by half time,bad finishing let us down again,thought we shaded the second half too but gave way 2 soft goals during the game,i have to be honest and say i expected star to be a lot better than they were,
    As for the offside goal that they complained about i don't know ,Jason devlin could have been but the ball had come off there defender anyways and also the ref gave them the benefit of the doubt enought imes during the game,although I'm sure abbeyvale won't agree with a word of this

Quote Originally Posted by shannonman View Post
    we travelled out to herbertstown not nice when the roads are like ice rinks....
    we were in the same boat last year shannonman ,when we were doin well people were saying we were deliberately getting games called off,anything to try unsettle a team going well

International Prospect abbeyvale's Avatar
    32 Posts

Foot.ie!

Quote Originally Posted by mulla View Post
    lucky to get the equalizer so late in the game,but imo we should have had them buried by half time,bad finishing let us down again,thought we shaded the second half too but gave way 2 soft goals during the game,i have to be honest and say i expected star to be a lot better than they were,
    As for the offside goal that they complained about i don't know ,Jason devlin could have been but the ball had come off there defender anyways and also the ref gave them the benefit of the doubt enought imes during the game,although I'm sure abbeyvale won't agree with a word of this

Mulla for yer first goal the chap that crossed the ball was at least 10yards offside.

The second goal was from a ball over the top which our left full completely missed (no touch at all) and the player that set it up was offside (although marginally),

In fairness ye did have chances to score a few in the first half, but we also had our chances and also had 2 peno's not given.........but thats life.

We were far from our best yesterday.

Quote Originally Posted by abbeyvale View Post
    Mulla for yer first goal the chap that crossed the ball was at least 10yards offside.

The second goal was from a ball over the top which our left full completely missed (no touch at all) and the player that set it up was offside (although marginally),

In fairness ye did have chances to score a few in the first half, but we also had our chances and also had 2 peno's not given.........but thats life.

We were far from our best yesterday.
    have to say abbeyvale,can remember 1 peno appeal that may have been given ,can't remember the other,we gifted ye 2 goals and ye got more than yer fair share of decisions about offsides .Even you have to admit ye were second best on the day and had we taken our chances and had ye taken ye'res we would have came out on top.
    As you said though thats life,story of the season for us so far,creating lots of chances and not taking them and also conceding bad goals

FORMERLY: shannonman Lev Yashin's Avatar
    59 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by mulla View Post
    we were in the same boat last year shannonman ,when we were doin well people were saying we were deliberately getting games called off,anything to try unsettle a team going well
    i know and i remember it....think there was the arguement about why ye were bothering as ye couldn't get promoted.....sure look, the fact that people are trying to stir things up must mean we are doing something right.
    My Goal Is To Deny Yours...

Any fixtures for the weekend? No doubt Shannon will get the game called off if its against any of the top teams!

haha..or if its a bit nippy

FORMERLY: shannonman Lev Yashin's Avatar
    59 Posts
    any fixtures for the weekend?
    My Goal Is To Deny Yours...

Quote Originally Posted by shannonman View Post
    any fixtures for the weekend?
    Mungret are away to croom,

tough fixture and we need to show that we can win away from home.
    Last wkend summerville put it up to us and we dropped our first points of the season but some of the talk on here is ridiculous about that game. ask any of the summerville lads and they will tell you that the game wasn't about playing football or the better team,the game was ruined by the pitch, it was in a terrible state one of the worst i've ever seen, but a draw was a fair result.

Quote Originally Posted by Carrot head View Post
    Mungret are away to croom,

tough fixture and we need to show that we can win away from home.
    Last wkend summerville put it up to us and we dropped our first points of the season but some of the talk on here is ridiculous about that game. ask any of the summerville lads and they will tell you that the game wasn't about playing football or the better team,the game was ruined by the pitch, it was in a terrible state one of the worst i've ever seen, but a draw was a fair result.
    watched the mungret sville game - mungret were absolutely terrible... pitch was very bad, fair enough, but mungret had absolutely nothing going for them - no passing, awful defending, no fight in them at all.. if they are to go premier, which it looks like they will, they will need to replace that whole team to survive..
    1a standard is not great
    Last edited by Jock MIB; 04/12/2008 at 12:13 PM.

Quote Originally Posted by lionelhutz View Post
    watched the mungret sville game - mungret were absolutely terrible... pitch was very bad, fair enough, but mungret had absolutely nothing going for them - no passing, awful defending, no fight in them at all.. if they are to go premier, which it looks like they will, they will need to replace that whole team to survive..
    1a standard is not great
    i was down watching that as well. I wouldnt say they would have to get rid of the whole team, but a few of the players on both teams aren't even up to 1a standard, let alone premier. Its true the pitch was bad but summerville were able to play ball on it so theres no reason that mungret shouldnt have been able to. summerville definitely put it up them and they didnt seem to like it, but saying that in the first half mungrets midfield ran the show. only for summervilles defence the game could have been over by half time.
    it will be interesting to see how mungret do when they are on their travels, because places like shannon or herbertstown are the last places teams want to go on a cold sunday morning.

Thumbs up Division 1A League Champions 08-09

[quote=lionelhutz;1069661]watched the mungret sville game - mungret were absolutely terrible... pitch was very bad, fair enough, but mungret had absolutely nothing going for them - no passing, awful defending, no fight in them at all.. if they are to go premier, which it looks like they will, they will need to replace that whole team to survive..
    1a standard is not great[/quo

How could u expect them to play football in that swamp??
    Shame on Sville and the ref for letting the game go ahead,bad call imo
    WHEN Mungret go premier they will have no problems surviving
    There have some lovely footballers with a great management team in place this year and they have by far and away the best striker in the league in Keith McNicholos,this guy cant stop scoring goals and is a joy to watch and so is Ger Bourke,a goalscoring midfield dynamo who would grace any midfield in town

Red face

Quote Originally Posted by Gerry the ferry View Post
    1a standard is not great
    You obviously haven't a clue what your talking about. we came back from behind twice in the game so there was clearly some fight in the performance. Deserved to be a few goals up at half time and then svillle battled hard for a draw.

Any predictions for this wkend? the forecast isn't looking too bad so games should be going ahead.
    There have some lovely footballers with a great management team in place this year and they have by far and away the best striker in the league in Keith McNicholos,this guy cant stop scoring goals and is a joy to watch and so is Ger Bourke,a goalscoring midfield dynamo who would grace any midfield in town[/quote]

McNicholas and Burke would need to be replaced though according to lionelhutz!!
    Last edited by Carrot head; 05/12/2008 at 9:26 PM. Reason: came out wrong

Hill Celtic Vs Charleville on tonight at Hogan Park under the lights. 19:30, I dont know who is reffing it.

International Prospect abbeyvale's Avatar
    32 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Dark Horse View Post
    Hill Celtic Vs Charleville on tonight at Hogan Park under the lights. 19:30, I dont know who is reffing it.
    did this game go ahead?

think charleville won 1 0.
    any games on today?

summerville prospect was called off, pitch looked frozen solid and couldnt even see the lines looking down at it from the main road

[QUOTE=Gerry the ferry;1070707]
    1a standard is not great[/quo

There have some lovely footballers with a great management team in place this year and they have by far and away the best striker in the league in Keith McNicholos,this guy cant stop scoring goals and is a joy to watch and so is Ger Bourke,a goalscoring midfield dynamo who would grace any midfield in town
    You're a gas man Gerry. You hadn't a good word to say about Mungret the last 2 seasons. Slagging off your own club Summerville is out of order aswell. You might be able to fool most guys on this site but not me. You're talking up Mungret in the hope of making enemies for them and if you're honest you'd like nothing more than to see them loose every week. You're only sh!t stirring!
    Last edited by Mercurial Vapor; 08/12/2008 at 12:16 PM.

[quote=Mercurial Vapor;1071661]

You're a gas man Gerry. You hadn't a good word about to say about Mungret the last 2 seasons. Slagging off your own club Summerville is out of order aswell. You might be able to fool most guys on this site but not me. You're talking up Mungret in the hope of making enemies for them and if you're honest you'd like nothing more than to see them loose every week. You're only sh!t stirring!
    If you have gripe with someone on here PM me or the person to voice your gripes not on the forum its for football talk not personal talk.

Jock Mib

[QUOTE=Mercurial Vapor;1071661]

You're a gas man Gerry. You hadn't a good word to say about Mungret the last 2 seasons. Slagging off your own club Summerville is out of order aswell. You might be able to fool most guys on this site but not me. You're talking up Mungret in the hope of making enemies for them and if you're honest you'd like nothing more than to see them loose every week. You're only sh!t stirring!
    Better off just ignoring comments like those...not long ago posts were saying geraldines were useless and only making up the numbers in 1a...if u look back at peoples posts since the beginning of the forum you can see who the real geniune people interested in the league are and you can see who's on here to cause aggro...plenty of people contradicting themselves. We've often been predicted to win 5 and 6 nil by people who have posted comments saying we are useless

Daz sullivan summerville center forward is gerry the ferry, gas man

Page 49 of 95 FirstFirst ... 39474849505159 ... LastLast