Page 41 of 95 FirstFirst ... 3139404142435191 ... LastLast

Thread: Limerick Division 1A 2008/09

Quote Originally Posted by Gerry the ferry View Post
    lads its only my opinion that Geraldines are abysmal and il stand by what i say
    i dont mean to offend anyone involved or playing with geraldines
    but its just my opinion,i thought this forum was all about opinions and im just expressing mine,theres some really nice lads playing with the dines but lets be honest here yer only making up the numbers in 1a and fair play to ye
    I've said it before and i'll say it again...you're entitled to an opinion even if it is offensive.... I think you're very wrong and i'm sure others do, including people not involved wit the dines...people like you on these forums are out for aggro and to get them shut down

but its just my opinion,i thought this forum was all about opinions and im just expressing mine,theres some really nice lads playing with the dines but lets be honest here yer only making up the numbers in 1a and fair play to ye
    in my opinion..your opinion is way off the mark
    Geraldines are far from abysmal,they have some fine players and to say they're only making up the numbers is offensive
    Last edited by Jock MIB; 25/10/2008 at 8:45 AM. Reason: nicer use of words don't you think :-)

Quote Originally Posted by oscar View Post
    in my opinion..your opinion is way off the mark
    Geraldines are far from abysmal,they have some fine players and to say they're only making up the numbers is offensive
    Thanks very much oscar

we have been in 1a for a while now and i think of all the teams in 1a this is the youngest team and they are doing very well they have only droped 5 points in matches and we will be doing our very best to get out of the league and by the the way i can tell you we are not there to make up the numbers we will just ahve to wait untill the end of the season to see who will be promoted

Geraldines for the Title just to shut all the haters up......

And there isnt a bad side in 1A thats what makes it so good and competitive and every team has at least one player that stands out, there are alot of players in 1A that most Premier League teams could do with, if the best Division 1A players joined the same team that team would win the Premier League within 2 seasons.

I am sorry but i have to agree with Gerry here...Geraldines were lucky not to get relegated last year with a good few of the same team(bar one or 2 new faces).The standard of football in 1a isn't what it used to be to be brutally honest and i have seen and played against a few teams already..I am also including my own team in this....If any one of these teams gets promoted next year they will be struggling to stay up there and abbeyvale will back me up here...Any team going up with have to strenthen there team by about 5-6 players to have a chance of stayin up there !!

you don't know wat you're talkin about when u're on bout last year...1 or 2 new faces? Far more than that...and last year we had 2 minors and 6 just out of minor...young inexperienced players who struggled in their first junior year. For the first half of the season we were woeful but when we found our feet we went on a great run, including gettin to the cup final. These are guys who were unlucky not to win a minor fai , they don't become bad players overnight...this is about people callin us abysmal and saying ye're making up the numbers. Thats just disrespectful

How am i or Bigbird putting ye down,yer a poor side
    the only reason yer 2nd imo is because the league is so poor
    ye wont be there for much longer anyway so enjoy it while ye can
    Mungret are a great team imo with great attacking players and will easily beat most teams home and AWAY and im sure time will prove this
    Think that lad bigbird plays with the View,could be wrong
    mungret are a handy team gerry,
    great teams don't play in 1a,and more often than not neither do great players,big bird obviously should stick to the premier thread where he belongs,maybe he was happy when a few ex dines lad left the view at the end of last season to give him his place back

Quote Originally Posted by svillerovers View Post
    I am sorry but i have to agree with Gerry here...Geraldines were lucky not to get relegated last year with a good few of the same team(bar one or 2 new faces).The standard of football in 1a isn't what it used to be to be brutally honest and i have seen and played against a few teams already..I am also including my own team in this....If any one of these teams gets promoted next year they will be struggling to stay up there and abbeyvale will back me up here...Any team going up with have to strenthen there team by about 5-6 players to have a chance of stayin up there !!
    I said it last year and I think the same this year,the standard is poor,there is a big difference between the poor teams in premier and the best in 1a imo,this whole thing about the dines being called abysmal and whatever else is not on,there second in the table because they deserve to be,are they a bad team?imo no,we haven't played them yet this year but i know some of the young lads playing for them and a few of them are quality,what could go against them this year like last year will be more physical teams.i would nearly bet that quiet a few of there team would more than hold there own in the premier division

Quote Originally Posted by dines08 View Post
    you don't know wat you're talkin about when u're on bout last year...1 or 2 new faces? Far more than that...and last year we had 2 minors and 6 just out of minor...young inexperienced players who struggled in their first junior year. For the first half of the season we were woeful but when we found our feet we went on a great run, including gettin to the cup final. These are guys who were unlucky not to win a minor fai , they don't become bad players overnight...this is about people callin us abysmal and saying ye're making up the numbers. Thats just disrespectful
    he doesn't know what he's talking about full stop

International Prospect abbeyvale's Avatar
    32 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by oscar View Post
    he doesn't know what he's talking about full stop

Only league game down for today was Propect v Mungret and it was off this morning,

Ya the ref never showed up.
    Even if he had come the game would probably have been called off as the pitch was very wet

Who do u think you are insulting a club and the whole division? Have you false delusions, do you think you are a special player or something? Grow up man
    Last edited by Jock MIB; 27/10/2008 at 8:16 AM. Reason: Name calling is not on
    "It's not about winning, it's taking people apart that counts"

FORMERLY: shannonman Lev Yashin's Avatar
    59 Posts
    well we were beaten Granville yesterday 2-1 after extra time, we went one up and defended well untill literally the last kick of the game...which sent the game into extra time....we then comceded the most blatently offside goal which the ref totally ignored (summing up his performance, im normally pragmatic in defeat and ill hold my hands up when we deserve to lose but we were the better team and basically screwed by a shocking "referee") anyway we had two sent off...one after the game and i think 9 booked!!! in a game without a bad tackle.....
    My Goal Is To Deny Yours...

Quote Originally Posted by Dark Horse View Post

And there isnt a bad side in 1A thats what makes it so good and competitive and every team has at least one player that stands out, there are alot of players in 1A that most Premier League teams could do with, if the best Division 1A players joined the same team that team would win the Premier League within 2 seasons.
    Can you back this comment up with some names?

Quote Originally Posted by shannonman View Post
    well we were beaten Granville yesterday 2-1 after extra time, we went one up and defended well untill literally the last kick of the game...which sent the game into extra time....we then comceded the most blatently offside goal which the ref totally ignored (summing up his performance, im normally pragmatic in defeat and ill hold my hands up when we deserve to lose but we were the better team and basically screwed by a shocking "referee") anyway we had two sent off...one after the game and i think 9 booked!!! in a game without a bad tackle.....

9 booked? must of being doing something wrong apart from the good tackles
    Your daddy works in porno
    Now that mommy's not around
    She used to love her heroin
    But now she's underground

Quote Originally Posted by Dark Horse View Post

Ya why not try to name the eleven players that would make up your dream team.Seriously I think you should try get to a few more Premier games. There is a large gulf and any player who has played in both will tell you that.

i wouldn't agree that a constructed team of 1a players would win the premier within two years...but wat i do think is there are premier quality players in this league, not many, possibly only 10 or so and a few debatable...for us i think christy o neill, liam lenihan, ian dore...mungret have aled harkin ian dunworth, ger bourke, gary long, keith mac nichlas. Star have a few experienced older heads who are...don't know many others by name but most teams in this division have a stand out player in their team. A lot are debatable, a matter of opinion but thats wat this is all about...any one else got any players they think could step up?

Quote Originally Posted by Futebol View Post
    Ya why not try to name the eleven players that would make up your dream team.Seriously I think you should try get to a few more Premier games. There is a large gulf and any player who has played in both will tell you that.
    a large gulf? it's the limerick premier league not the bloody premiership in england!!! you'd swear the premier league is some sort of elitist group of players that outclass everyone else in the lower divisions?! i don't think so. if you are playing with better players and you have good ability you will be fine playing premier. yes the standard of matches in the premier is better but there are lots of players playing in the lower divisions that could play premier and i'm not going to start naming people because that isn't fair. i've played premier and 1A, not a huge 'gulf' as you call it
    "It's not about winning, it's taking people apart that counts"

Quote Originally Posted by Futebol View Post

Your making out that the players in the premier are all top notch, Professional standard? When in fact that ain't the case. Sure you have the likes of Fairview, Pike, Regional etc etc but after that the league is fairly ordinary to say the least.

There are plenty of good players outside the top tier the major difference is the fact that these players don't get the training and more importantly don't get to play with or against the higher standard player to help them improve.

Shannon Town for example has about 5 players who are good enough for the premier. The only differnce is sharpness. When a team from 1A come up against a premier side you see it's a small bit lob sided because of the sharpness aquired from playing the top teams.
    "Joe Jordan is off to watch Young Boys tomorrow" Ian Darke

International Prospect abbeyvale's Avatar
    32 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by shannonman View Post
    who were sent off?

Page 41 of 95 FirstFirst ... 3139404142435191 ... LastLast