Thread: Scrap the negativity...

Thumbs up Scrap the negativity...

[FONT=arial][COLOR=darkred]well done de Town, what a show of heart. You gave us loads to hope for this season and at the end of the day nothing large was sacraficed, we played the game in the spirit it was meant to be played and it gives us the springboard to launch the remainder of the season and finish possiably higher than the last. We are still in the FAI cup and presently fourth in the League, with the loss last night and in the manner of the loss we can take confort that we will be a better side....[/COLOR][/FONT]
    Reporter: "Gordan, can we have a quick word?"
    Strachan:"Velocity"

I really enjoyed the match and cheered for both teams. Thought the Pat's fans were a friendly bunch, thought the flare was cool after the goal been scored. Longford have a lot to be proud of in defeat. Were much the better team for long periods. Pats Freeman took his one and only chance (a tap in), that was the difference.
    Any condescension detected in this post is fully unintentional and is solely the perception of the reader. If I think you're an idiot, I'll tell you that. You won't need to intuit it.

Blessing in Disguise...

Possibly I may be clutching at straws, but does anyone else think the defeat could be a blessing in disguise? If we'd won, then the players would have achieved a first major trophy for the club, and I would reckon that most of fans would consider it a successful year..... Foot off the gas we slip down the league and the hunger isn't there for the FAI Cup.... We'll now be battling for the rest of the season, with the potential to do well in the proper cup and the league and hopefully European football in some guise.....

On the match: I thought we played very well for most of the second half, but the failure to get at least a goal out of that 10-15 minute of total domination cost us. However, I'm getting extremely concerned about Erics form, inparticular in front of goals - he's looking for the option to pass, instead of going for goal himself - he's basically bottling it. I would've liked to see Barret and Francis start at the weekend, but no Barret's out for at least 6 weeks with a broken bone in his foot (according to what I heard post match).

On the Support: Best vocal support for the town for long time - perhaps since the FAI Cup win over Pats in Richer during the run to the final? However, how many have been, or will go to Flancare in future???? Too many "let it long" merchants up for the day out without a clue about proper football me thinks, but hopefully some will stay, and those that have lost their way in terms of town support will be back....

On Pats: Really are the soundest opposition fans, and tbh if it's not to be us then I'd want it to be them. In McDowells till the early hours and no problems at all, plenty of swigs out of the cup, even a "stand up for the Longford Town"!!!! Cheers wws, Dodge, tallaghtsaint, Danny, Billy etc etc etc for a good night despite the result.

http://homepage.ntlworld.com/l.magui...inalflares.JPG

What this flare?

If you missed the presentation flares you can view this clip (about2.6 MB) with thanks to John Barrington of Soccer Central

Originally posted by Dodge
    the presentation flares
    They were great. I was just heading out when I saw those and stayed on for the presentation.

Re: Blessing in Disguise...

Originally posted by Macy
    On Pats: Really are the soundest opposition fans, and tbh if it's not to be us then I'd want it to be them. In McDowells till the early hours and no problems at all, plenty of swigs out of the cup, even a "stand up for the Longford Town"!!!! Cheers wws, Dodge, tallaghtsaint, Danny, Billy etc etc etc for a good night despite the result.
    Cheers, and you're welcome...

We ended up leaving shortly after, headed up to wws' and then home by 4.30. Was planning on pulling a sicky. Woke up and felt perfect, decided to ruin it and come into work. Absolutely top night

Re: Blessing in Disguise...

[FONT=arial][COLOR=darkred]it's a blessing in disguise alright, as long as the players retain the desire to make amends they'll reap the benefit of that game. I also think that should we get over Waterford in the Cup a Pat's - Longford semi-final would be a dream draw. There's never much in it and we feel as much at home in Richmond as in Flancare...[/COLOR][/FONT]

have to agree with macy, i made that point already this morning on another thread, i really feel it will make barry a better player and he really impressed me last night, with his leadership, something which i have faulted him for in the past.

i also agree that francis is a better player with barrett beside him, he lays on ball that sean works well off, i too enjoyed mcdowells after and before the game, the pats fans are a nice bunch and i couldn't say a bad word about any of them.

the support was good and they couldn't shut the stand up fpr the national anthem.

their was nothing negative about last night, still got the jersey on today and can't wait for sunday for the lads so get back into the swing of things in the league, they need support on sunday to show them that we are still very much behind them,
    Ignore Max Power, he is no more, the future is Ron Burgundy. I'd love to be Ron Burgundy but they won't let me........

Originally posted by max power
    their was nothing negative about last night, still got the jersey on today
    Not winning is a very big negative (despite what I said), but never mind all that..... You smelly b@stard....

[FONT=arial][COLOR=darkred]yeah, I should state that in no way was defeat a good thing and that it was particularly crushing in the manner in which it evolved but its the performances on the back of this which should benefit...

BTW seeing as Max and Macy were in McDowells after the game, did youse meet for a good ol' cuddle? A pair of sweaty gits perhaps?[/COLOR][/FONT]
    Last edited by Xlex; 26/08/2003 at 2:39 PM.

Wasn't really talking to any town fan bar the usual..... I was sulking down the very back.....

Yeah right! He was caught up in the euphoria of the celebrations. Nothing sulky at all…

Oh and then Stephen Kenny came on the TV…

Originally posted by Dodge
    Yeah right! He was caught up in the euphoria of the celebrations...
    Sure we all know he'd be a Pat's fan if he could legally swing it...

So shouting justice all the way through Eamon Collins speach is getting caught up the euphoria!?!?!

Yeah but that was part of the Kenny thing...

i was sitting in the front bar, it felt like someone had died, every pats fan that went past said, sorry, hard luck etc, but i didn't want sympathy, we didn't deserve it, we had the chances we didn't take them, so we take what good we can from the game , move on and become a better team for it.

by the wat the auld drunk fella telling everyone to get inside with their drinks was a great laugh, thats my new local as of next week.

by the way macy i knew you'd disagree with something i said, and the only smell off me is stale guinness which i feel would sell well as a deodourant in certain towns in louth.
    Ignore Max Power, he is no more, the future is Ron Burgundy. I'd love to be Ron Burgundy but they won't let me........

thats my new local as of next week
    Don't worry its not like that most weeks. Usually you wouldn't even be noticed....

excuse me dodge but i'm always noticed !!!!

btw is anyone traveling on sunday ???

Originally posted by max power
    excuse me dodge but i'm always noticed !!!!

its the flashing neon sign over i head that helps me be noticed