Originally posted by Daviddrog
I have a problem with both clubs agreeing to play all matches between them on a saturday, we accomodate city, take a big drop in attendance money.
And how much would that be, 50 Euro?
im just loving this
for once a club is in a bad mood with us
drogs check out how many times it happened us
sorry it was ye but somebody had to pay for it
Originally posted by Daviddrog
I have a problem with both clubs agreeing to play all matches between them on a saturday, we accomodate city, take a big drop in attendance money.
and Drogheda welched on the Deal Im sure Mr Dolan would have remained Silent and avoided any controversy,But Hey that's just
speculation, the reality is that Cork refused to honour the agreement.![]()
wasnt it a signed football though!!Originally posted by Daviddrog
Also, it was good to see the club donating a jersey for the raffle to raise funds for the big flag fund.
life is random
Very intelligent post.Originally posted by Soko
Harry made a tool of himself on Friday, I'm not arguing with that. Everyone knows Friday traffic is mental, no excuses for any delays.
But Cork City FC are a shower of *****s for reneging on the initial agreement, rule change or no rule change. this league has enough problems without clubs trying to damage each other. I know that the whole travel issue is worse for Cork becuase of their location, but breaking an agreement with another club(s) is just petty. Why not fulfil the return fixture agreement, and then say thats it, our matches from now on are on Fridays. Instead you took advantage of us switching to a Saturday, then shafted us.
Anyway, probably (definitely??!!) wouldn't have affected the result, but this isn't about the result.
While I agree with you on the Shels one, just don't get the problem with the league cup game... Surely it could only have been a Tuesday if not the Monday, so whats the difference? Not having a pop, just wondering what the big deal is, as no one in Longford is at all arsed about the final tonight being a Monday as opposed to a Tuesday....Originally posted by Neil
Like $h€l$ ordering us to travel to Jackland on a Thursday?
Like SPA ordering us to travel to Jackland on a Monday?
We used to have an agreement with Derry to play on a Sunday but they've decided it's more fun to make us travel the length of the country on a Thursday instead.Originally posted by DruggyDrog
But Cork City FC are a shower of *****s for reneging on the initial agreement, rule change or no rule change.
It's teams like Derry and Drogheda who make the league amature! The FAI should make all teams play on a Friday unless TV requires a change. Drogheda knew the game was on Friday and have no excuse for not playing well other than they're not a good team. Until Waterford got promoted this season, our closest rivals were Bray Wanderers so don't come on here spouting about having to travel on a Friday.
Sort yourselves out before you go moaning about other clubs.
Hmmm I thought that was Cork that binned that agreement with the FAI Cup game...... Thursday football is boll0x and games should be on the weekend...Originally posted by Peadar
We used to have an agreement with Derry to play on a Sunday but they've decided it's more fun to make us travel the length of the country on a Thursday instead.
but would drogheda have 'welched' on the deal as you put it if the shoe was on the other foot - that was my questionOriginally posted by boynesider
and Drogheda welched on the Deal Im sure Mr Dolan would have remained Silent and avoided any controversy,But Hey that's just
speculation, the reality is that Cork refused to honour the agreement.![]()
cup game had nothing to do with it. during the close season derry and cork agreed to play thursdays and fridaysOriginally posted by Macy
Hmmm I thought that was Cork that binned that agreement with the FAI Cup game
part of the problem that time was pat's were at least seen to be taking advantage of the fact that they were playing derry the previous thursday whereas we had a match on friday night. also the fact that the fai, or whoever is 'in charge'Originally posted by Macy
While I agree with you on the Shels one, just don't get the problem with the league cup game... Surely it could only have been a Tuesday if not the Monday, so whats the difference? Not having a pop, just wondering what the big deal is, as no one in Longford is at all arsed about the final tonight being a Monday as opposed to a Tuesday...., said originally that mid-week league cup games were to be played on tuesdays or wednesdays
But surely they'd still have an extra day? just wondered....Originally posted by joe
part of the problem that time was pat's were at least seen to be taking advantage of the fact that they were playing derry the previous thursday whereas we had a match on friday night. also the fact that the fai, or whoever is 'in charge', said originally that mid-week league cup games were to be played on tuesdays or wednesdays
true, but i think the issue was that city would have had an extra day off in between the games (friday to tuesday as opposed to friday to monday would negate any advantage pat's might gain)
Haven't seen or heard McCues comments so will leave them alone...
I suppose city could have held onto the Drogheda arrangment for one more game but as Brian Lennox has said many times he will do what is best for Cork City & in order to bring this club forward he needs all the funds he can get.
I think the CCFC thing with the Longford & Drogheda games is that those matches were essentially moved back to friday night i.e. the clubs designated match night.
Moving to the Shel$ v City league match to a thursday IMO has set a very bad precedent in the league where clubs can essentially move games to any night of the week they wish.
IMO clubs should never be allowed to move games from their designated day unless the away team agrees! That would follow that CCFC couldn't to any day but friday unless Drogs agreed.
As somebody on the outside here I'll add my two cent. Cork City FC acted in an unsporting manner. They reneged on a promise. That's bad form and the Cork lads (and ladies) would do well to admit it (though some have) We all know that Brian Lennox did it in the best interest of Cork City. That's the reason it happened, it's not an excuse. But what goes around comes around and you'll find that other clubs will probably be reluctant to accomodate Cork in future. This kinda behaviour will endear Lennox and Dolan to the Cork faithful but in the long run I think it'll bite them on the ass.
There's nothing unsporting about it imo. The only reason the clubs ever agreed to play on saturday is because they had to, Drogs are just unlucky that the rule change had not come into place before their home fixture. Naturally, as we were no longer under any obligation to play on a saturday, we played the game on a friday as we do with ALL our home fixtures. If the roles were reversed Drogs would have done the exact same.Originally posted by sadloserkid
Cork City FC acted in an unsporting manner.
Champions!
That's because you're from Cork. After agreeing to play the game on Saturday you backed off when it suited you to. In short you went back on your word. If I was to do that to you in everyday life you'd be peeved Colm and it holds through in sport as well. You can own up to it lads, it's not being disloyal yo your club if you disagree with them every once in a while! In fact, it's probably a good thing.Originally posted by Colm
There's nothing unsporting about it imo.
Lads i was at the ground at 6.00 o clock and the drogs team was in the ground by then. As for the kick off time i did not here anything about that. Yes we where unsporting but the club comes first and if they make the call will that is it.
Let's get it going for this year the away support.
Agreed Ian. Nice one. slk is done now.
Well SLK, I hope that Lims get promotion this season. Then next year, you will know exactly what it feels like to get pushed about by some clubs who do exactly as they please and f*ck everyone else. Some clubs have always been reluctant to accomodate any other club.Originally posted by sadloserkid
As somebody on the outside here I'll add my two cent. Cork City FC acted in an unsporting manner. They reneged on a promise. That's bad form and the Cork lads (and ladies) would do well to admit it (though some have) We all know that Brian Lennox did it in the best interest of Cork City. That's the reason it happened, it's not an excuse. But what goes around comes around and you'll find that other clubs will probably be reluctant to accomodate Cork in future. This kinda behaviour will endear Lennox and Dolan to the Cork faithful but in the long run I think it'll bite them on the ass.
City could have kept to the agreement for this game, and then played the other two fixtures on Friday nights, but there has been too many occasions when City were f*cked about and Lennox has called a halt and said no more. We get our best crowds on Friday night, so Lennox is only doing that which makes sense for City.
Would there have been no complaints if UCD hadn't moved the game in two weeks to the Sunday to accomodate O'Flynn. Not a word I'm sure, no double standards in Cork.
Me too. The rest of your post seems to be a kinda 'two wrongs make a right' effort to be honest. The only thing that people are getting annoyed about though is this pretence that Cork didn't treat Drogheda shabbily. Nobody is questioning the reasons behind what happened, it's just that the majority of Cork fans here (not you I'll add) seem to be trying to claim a moral high ground that is clearly earmarked for Drogheda this time out. That's all.Originally posted by patsh
Well SLK, I hope that Lims get promotion this season.