Page 1 of 11 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Pro Cycling (inc Tour de France) 2008

Pro Cycling (inc Tour de France) 2008

After 20 years we could have another superstar on our hands.

21 year old Daniel martin has raced to the top of the GC in the Route de Sud ahead of world class performers.

He's Stephen Roche's nephew.

Phil Deignan is currently riding the Tour de Suisse and has been active with a few good stage placings. Himself and Nicholas Roche have been selected for the Olympic road race

BTW none of our cyclists will bbe in this years Tour de France. Roche wa bing prepared for it but had a slightinjury before the Tour de Suisse, so got replaced. Deignan rode the Giro d'Italia and Slipstream are giving Martin a rest.

60 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Dodge View Post
    After 20 years we could have another superstar on our hands.

21 year old Daniel martin has raced to the top of the GC in the Route de Sud ahead of world class performers.

He's Stephen Roche's nephew.

Phil Deignan is currently riding the Tour de Suisse and has been active with a few good stage placings. Himself and Nicholas Roche have been selected for the Olympic road race
    Only just heard about Dan Martin winning the Route de Sud, as I was back in Ireland for the week, and heard nothing on the Irish media

Some geezer from British Cycling was rhapsodising about him and was saying how he is a potential tour winner that they fear they let slip through their fingers because their focus at the time was so fixed on Track. Pity he isn't going to the Olympics, though he'll possibly be better served going to the worlds with Deignan instead - have they picked the team to go to the worlds yet?
    That question was less stupid, though you asked it in a profoundly stupid way.

Help me, Arthur Murphy, you're my only hope!

Quote Originally Posted by Dodge
    I bow to no one. bar Bluebeard and Mr A

Not yet. Not until end of season so it;ll be based on rankings.

Martin would the Irish road race championship this morning so iwll wear the natioal jersey for the rest of the season (and until this time next year)

Will he wear it though - previous continental pro's haven't bothered....

See Rasmussen was banned for 2 years (from July last year), but won compensation from Rabobank over his dismissal.

20 Posts
    Anyone know who to look out for in the tour?

Cadel Evans is the favourite (arguably beaten by others not willing to help him chase last year).

Valverde is coming off a win in the Dauphine, and Spanish national championship.

Menchov is always mentioned (but then always cracks one day). Sastre (and maybe one of the Schlek bros) from CSC and they're still talking about Cunego being a possible too.

Could be very open, as no team really looks capable of controlling the race. Could be a big mig style borefest win for Evans.

20 Posts
    When does it start?

EDIT: Ah I see it starts in Brest on Saturday.
    Check out my new sports blog http://www.action81.com

20 Posts
    basque lad in work says Valverde is a great cyclist but never does it in tour. and he said two dutch lads on rabobank team are brilliant. altho one of them was dekker and I think he isnt in team. he said the two swiss brothers are supposed to be great the younger one being the better rider.
    looking forward to my first sky plus tour.

Quote Originally Posted by Billsthoughts View Post
    ITV4, highlights 7pm-8pm every night, live coverage on the Saturday and Sundays. The Gary Imlach - Phil Liggett - Paul Sherwen dream team...

Preview show this Friday actually I think

772 Posts
    Fancy Juan Mauricio Soler myself e/w at a big price - 11th last year in his first tour and won the KOM. 40/1 with PP's i think.

Quote Originally Posted by Macy View Post
    The Gary Imlach - Phil Liggett - Paul Sherwen dream team...
    Probably the only presenting team wehre I wouldn't have aproblem with anyone, and actually like all 3.

Excelennt preview on Cycling News

According to his team website, Dan Martin will be wearing the jersey macy. This team is a good step up form the usual continental teams Irish cyclists have been on. In fairness the likes of Roche and Scanlon have worn it in the pro tour the last couple of years. (Roche in time trials)

2,688 Posts
    Great news about Martin. First I had even heard of him was in a recent cycling mag (ProCycling?) where they did a feature along the lines of "a week in the life of the Slipstream team" and they had a photo of Millar and Martin having a coffee after a long training ride.

I see Garmin has been added as a sponsor to the team so Martin is in a financially very strong team. I like them because I ride the same brand bike they use - Felt - though mine isn't a patch on the full carbon and top specced team bikes.

I've no idea who to back. I read that Valverde is now to be taken seriously as a time triallist as evidenced by his Dauphine win, suggesting he'll be far more competitive than in previous years. I can't take Evans seriously - I always see him as a nearly man - but is there anyone capable of punishing him this year? Which is the classic with the tough hill finish, Flesch Wallone? Evans was beaten by Andy Schleck I think.

Maybe this is Schleck's chance to prove his talent?

Can't wait. I love the ITV coverage and it's the only sport that Mrs. Stuttgart watches regularly on TV with me so there's no trading 60 mins football for Grey's Anatomy or whatever!

A mate in work is riding La Marmotte tomorrow. Respect.

60 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Billsthoughts View Post
    basque lad in work says Valverde is a great cyclist but never does it in tour. and he said two dutch lads on rabobank team are brilliant. altho one of them was dekker and I think he isnt in team. he said the two swiss brothers are supposed to be great the younger one being the better rider.
    Gesink and Dekker are the quality Rabobank youth, but neither are in it, which is probably a good thing as there are no decent climbs for about 8 days, and the pace of the tour could kill them before they have a chance to shine.

Valverde looks like a good bet this year - the other big names are not in it, and he will certainly fancy his chances without them. Cunego has based his training for the year around the tour, so he's not to be discounted yet, especially if he goes well in the Pyrenees. Looks like Evans will be in the top five at least, hopefully not at the top, though he has actually won races for a change this year. I somehow think that internal battling in CSC could scupper Sastre's chances, but I'd love to see him do well.

In the mountains, keep an eye out for young Roman Kreutziger, the Czech, who has had a good season so far, and with some luck, the polka dots will be between himself and Soler.

20 Posts
    for some reason ya cant sky plus itv 4. damn. tg4 coverage is woeful. sounds like they are commentating from a cardboard box in a field on skellig island. eurosport ok but again commentry a bit dull.

111 Posts

Tour de France thread

Not sure if there was a thread for this year's race so feck it may as well start it. Only tend to follow Le Tour and it involves for me a bit of a catch up from last year. First of all, how come the Tour isnt starting in another country as in previous years. And also on the Contador issue, why would he sign for a team (Astana) that's on dodgy ground after last year?
    'Fascists dress in black and go round telling people what to do, where as priests.....'

111 Posts
    Sorry can someone move this into the Pro Cycling thread? Just found discussion on le Tour there... ta!
    'Fascists dress in black and go round telling people what to do, where as priests.....'

Obviously not at home to test it, but last night I'm sure they said that ITV will have live coverage everyday via the red button.

60 Posts
    Damnit - was back in Ireland the weekend, and didn't realise that it was on TG4.

Page 1 of 11 123 ... LastLast