Page 2 of 11 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast

Thread: Pro Cycling (inc Tour de France) 2008

Quote Originally Posted by Pauro 76 View Post
    First of all, how come the Tour isnt starting in another country as in previous years.
    It doesn't always, in in my memory I'd say more prologues have been in France than outside.

Quote Originally Posted by Pauro 76 View Post
    And also on the Contador issue, why would he sign for a team (Astana) that's on dodgy ground after last year?
    In a word Bryneel. It's practically a Discovery takeover of Astana rather than the other way round.

It alternates - every other year it starts in France, the next year it starts outside of France. Though I heard on the radio (cant remember what programme, so mightn't be 100% reliable) that it is hard to get countries to host the start now because of all the bad publicity, so that might have changed.

ps I think it's worth a stand alone TdF thread separate to the Pro Cycling one, but that's the mods' call.

I've merged them and retitled it. Not much for the thread outside of the Tour but might as well keep any Irish or other cycling news together

Its not a straigh 50/50 of starts inside France and outside. In fact its rarely outside France. They'll normally have at least 2 stage endings outside of France though (Spain, Italy, Belgiume etc) and AFAIK there are none this year

On the contador issue, as Macy pinted out this Astana team is totally different to last years with only the spnosor remaining. Lance Armstrong said that they were kept out because of the French "distrust" of him and Bruyneel

60 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by monutdfc View Post
    It alternates - every other year it starts in France, the next year it starts outside of France.
    Quote Originally Posted by Dodge View Post
    Its not a straigh 50/50 of starts inside France and outside. In fact its rarely outside France. They'll normally have at least 2 stage endings outside of France though (Spain, Italy, Belgiume etc) and AFAIK there are none this year
    It starts next year in Monaco, which is or isn't in France depending on your view. More often than not it is in France, and visits another country on the way (normally Spain, Italy or Belgium). I think when Roche won it in 1987 it started in Berlin, then was flown to France or Belgium. The ones starting outside France tend to get much media coverage, owing to the novelty. Apparently, there are moves in Japan to try and bring the Tour there, so much so that Preudhomme went out there. That would be a small degree of madness though, in my opinion, and will be unlikely prior to teleportation being widely available...

This year, one of the Alpine Stages ends at Prato Nevoso, and the next begins in Cuneo (after a rest day), both in Italy.
    That question was less stupid, though you asked it in a profoundly stupid way.

Help me, Arthur Murphy, you're my only hope!

Quote Originally Posted by Dodge
    I bow to no one. bar Bluebeard and Mr A

I think someone here said before that Newstalk only interview Paul Kimmage to talk about drugs. They had an interview with him last night & I was prepared to time how long it would take to get to the subject but they beat me to it by raising in opening question.

Quote Originally Posted by pete View Post
    I think someone here said before that Newstalk only interview Paul Kimmage to talk about drugs. They had an interview with him last night & I was prepared to time how long it would take to get to the subject but they beat me to it by raising in opening question.
    They're a joke when it comes to cycling. Plenty of unbitter, but releastic, guys they could interview but the rely on Kimmage and Walsh for the cycling...

60 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Macy View Post
    They're a joke when it comes to cycling. Plenty of unbitter, but releastic, guys they could interview but the rely on Kimmage and Walsh for the cycling...
    You never hear that kind of questioning about football, rugby or swimming, despite cases in all of them. I think that, particularly with regards to football and rugby, a veil is drawn that may not be lifted. Cycling has at least attempted to tackle these things lately

It never gets raised as regards show jumping or horse racing either...

Quote Originally Posted by Bluebeard View Post
    You never hear that kind of questioning about football, rugby or swimming, despite cases in all of them. I think that, particularly with regards to football and rugby, a veil is drawn that may not be lifted. Cycling has at least attempted to tackle these things lately

It never gets raised as regards show jumping or horse racing either...
    Off the ball basically get correspondents that confirm their own prejudices - there is no balance.

20 Posts
    what does anyone make of Cavendish? Ive seen a couple of interviews with him since the start of the tour bordering on the surreal. fair play to him on stage win anyways...real business starts tomorrow.

60 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Billsthoughts View Post
    what does anyone make of Cavendish? Ive seen a couple of interviews with him since the start of the tour bordering on the surreal. fair play to him on stage win anyways...real business starts tomorrow.
    He's a good cyclist, and one of the better sprinters going, especially at the age of 23. However, I do not agree with the British Media that he is already the best in the world, though he potentially could become one. He clearly still has a good bit to learn, talented though he is, and he'd have to give up the track to become the best seeing as how racing has become so focussed these days - British Cycling won't allow that until they have a better track cyclist in the discipline (Madison) he can win golds in at the Olympics and Worlds, to be able to keep up with Wiggins (still the finest current British male cyclist in any discipline in my opinion).

Unfortunately, a combination of adulation from the British Media, and perhaps a little too much success too young has led to the development of an ego in the boy that would need to be eliminated. That silliness with Cipolini in the Tour of California was the action of a young pup. The likes of Kelly and Zabel, for all their misdemeanors, did not have this ego problem, and Freire strikes me as similarly level headed. The World and Olympic Champion Bettini, for all the silliness with the cycling shoes he designed, is similarly a very respectful type. It should be noted though that both Bettini and Zabel have regarded Cavendish with respect.

Anyway, we'll have a break from the Sprinters, as the real Tour kicks off today!

Seán Kelly certainly praised him very highly on Eurosport yesterday

Quote Originally Posted by Billsthoughts View Post
    I thought he comes across as alright. Everyone seems to agree he's the fastest, including himself, but the interview I saw he was very realistic. He was saying all the right things about it being about more than the last 200 metres, that it's too soon for him to think about the green jersey as he hasn't the stamina, that it's the team as much as him. Confident in his own ability is what I would call it.

Kelly was always my favourite, but he was never really just an out and out sprinter. I don't think there is such a thing as the best cyclist in the world, as too many different skills within the peleton. (Although having said all that, Kelly wasn't far off it in his day, time in PDM or not).

60 Posts
    I thought he comes across as alright. Everyone seems to agree he's the fastest, including himself, but the interview I saw he was very realistic. He was saying all the right things about it being about more than the last 200 metres, that it's too soon for him to think about the green jersey as he hasn't the stamina, that it's the team as much as him. Confident in his own ability is what I would call it.

Kelly was always my favourite, but he was never really just an out and out sprinter. I don't think there is such a thing as the best cyclist in the world, as too many different skills within the peleton. (Although having said all that, Kelly wasn't far off it in his day, time in PDM or not).
    Still haven't seen the interview - what was it on? Eurosport?

Quote Originally Posted by Bluebeard View Post
    Still haven't seen the interview - what was it on? Eurosport?
    Haven't seen the Eurosport one, the one I saw was on ITV in their preview show.

Dunno if newstalk release all their stuff on podcast but Kellyw as interviewed the other night on off the ball. Obviously went down the drugs angle but Kelly answered every question as he's heard them all 1,000 times.

Anyway one of the points Kelly made was that cycling had changed since his days. Kelly could sprint, climb, do the big tours, do the classics and "time trial when I had to". He made the point now that its all very specialised. He didn't mention him by name but obviously Armstrong's complete focus on the Tour is the most obvious example. Even Bettini mentioned above is basically a classics rider (and a sensational one at that) rather than a sprinter.

On Cavendish, he looks the real deal to me. Of the likely green jersey winners this year, none are really, really quick in the finish. Obviously he needs to learn the tactics of sprinting a bit more but that will come.

Shaping up to be a cracking tour. Really wide open and, funnily enough, it could be one by a decent all rounder rather than the archetypal "grand tour" type. It'd be great to see someone like Kim Kirchen win yellow and green. Still, loads of big hills to come

20 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Dodge View Post
    Shaping up to be a cracking tour. Really wide open and, funnily enough, it could be one by a decent all rounder rather than the archetypal "grand tour" type. It'd be great to see someone like Kim Kirchen win yellow and green. Still, loads of big hills to come
    Yeah its looking like a great one.
    All the big names involved yesterday but we've seen before people haveing good days followed by a shocker in the mountains.

lol at www.cyclingnews.com...

On the whole, though, the atmosphere in the press room has been worlds away from the cynical, rabid, Robespierrian fervor of last year. Soon we'll be logging on to Youtube, wistfully reliving those press conferences where Michael Rasmussen looked one nasty question away from bursting into tears. We'll be pining for Alex Vinokourov and his blood transfusions. But for now we're just fine. Even Paul Kimmage seems to be enjoying himself

Looks like I, and cyclingnews, spoke too soon. Beltran the first positive of the tour, for epo after the first stage. The other positive about the case, is that at 37, he's definitely old school.

Page 2 of 11 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast