Talk about foolish optimism

Quote Originally Posted by skitz3 View Post
    Its not optimism, its so when when pats are beat some fans of other clubs can say "That was abad result, they should've done better"

Anyone who thinks a LOI side is anywhere near a Bundesliga team needs their head examined. Upsets can happen, and I won't stop dreaming about it, but lazy bold predictions help nobody

Quote Originally Posted by Dodge View Post
    Its not optimism, its so when when pats are beat some fans of other clubs can say "That was abad result, they should've done better"

Anyone who thinks a LOI side is anywhere near a Bundesliga team needs their head examined. Upsets can happen, and I won't stop dreaming about it, but lazy bold predictions help nobody
    Fair point Dodge, i pretty much with you.

I was just watching Football Focus there and they were looking at the UEFA Cup draw. Mark Lawrenson made sure to get a special mention in for St. Pats. He was really talking them up and said they did brilliantly to get that far.

So their efforts are getting some notice abroad which is good to see.
    Extratime.ie

Yo te quiero, mi querida. Sin tus besos, yo soy nada.

Abri o portão de ouro, da maquina do tempo.

Mi mamá me hizo guapo, listo y antimadridista.

If Pats do go through to the group stages how would that effect their seedings for next years UEFA qualifiers and first round?

There's 2 points for a win now that we're into the 1st Round proper. So catching Lithuania is not impossible.

However, even a draw in one of the games would be more than Pats can hope for at this stage I think.
    John Delaney!! GET OUT!!!
    www.ssdg.ie

21 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by skitz3 View Post
    Why???
    5+ years ago were we foolish to hope any eL team could progress past their 1st round? - now we get that each year (& regularly get past their second round too)

Dodge - I wont be slagging off Pat's result whatever way it goes - they have been brilliant so far & I'm still hoarse from cheering them Thursday. (but you are right - there are begrudgers who would find some reason to slag off our domestic teams even if they were to win the CL!)

All i'm saying is that this is all part of an upward curve for the league & someday SOON we WILL have a team in the group stages

21 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by boovidge View Post
    If Pats do go through to the group stages how would that effect their seedings for next years UEFA qualifiers and first round?
    Its not worked on how far you get, but on the wins & draws you get - so progressing with 2 wins gets more points than progressing with 2 draws & away goals.
    But, from this round the ranking points available are higher than in the preliminary rounds - so a draw for Pats against Hertha would be worth as much as the win against Elfsborg. Also, these (higher) points are added to the country coefficiant but ALSO added to the Team's individual ranking (not easy to explain but the details are all here: http://www.xs4all.nl/~kassiesa/bert/uefa/calc.html )
    This means that ANY draw or win from here on for Pats will almost guarantee them being seeded for their first game next year.

230 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by amaccann View Post
    Congrats Pats - a well deserved success after a number of less-than-proud moments in Europe. I'm happy for you and my Dad's old club he followed in college

The only sad moment is that it wasn't on RTE, so that maybe a few more people could have been converted to the cause. RTE always choose the glorious losses
    Was thinking exactly that after the game. Would have loved the public at large to see that performance. This was no smash and grab result. Pats comprehensively outplayed them for the majority of the game and the result was fully merited. I'd love to have seen Roddy Collins trying to downgrade that display. Now RTE will probably show the Hertha Berlin game and we'll probably get beaten(Don't get me wrong, I think we'll give a good account of ourselves, but I'm not expecting to go through) and they'll wheel Roddy out again to tell us all that Irish teams haven't progressed, he did it all with Bohs years ago, etc,etc, etc.
    Out for a spell, got neglected, lay on the bench unselected.

22 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by CuanaD View Post
    someday SOON we WILL have a team in the group stages
    2nd of October 2008 at 21:35

kdjac
    5-0

230 Posts
    Oh yeah.
    Out for a spell, got neglected, lay on the bench unselected.

I reckon Hertha will win by 2/3 goals on aggregate but hopefully Pats can get at least a draw in one of the ties. I'd love to be proved wrong and see them go through.

Quote Originally Posted by Big Ears View Post
    I'd love to be proved wrong and see them go through.
    I would too but the difference in the Bundesliga and our Premier division is huge. There are english championship sides that would struggle against a team like Hertha. Pats need to have the game of their lives out there and hope lady luck is on their side. I'm all for optimism and positive thinking but don't get carried away lads.

International Prospect bennocelt's Avatar
    335 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by johnny b View Post
    If we manage to get a score draw or lose by the odd goal in 3 over there I'd be happy and hopeful of going through. Did anyone take Paddy Power up on his 10-1 odds of any LOI team getting to group stages in the next 5 years?
    Jeez thats not a bad bet

290 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by superfrank View Post
    Mark Lawrenson made sure to get a special mention in for St. Pats. He was really talking them up and said they did brilliantly to get that far.
    Mark Lawrenson's a legend. He made sure to mention us all the time during our run. Top man.

Talking

Quote Originally Posted by superfrank View Post
    I was just watching Football Focus there and they were looking at the UEFA Cup draw. Mark Lawrenson made sure to get a special mention in for St. Pats. He was really talking them up and said they did brilliantly to get that far.

So their efforts are getting some notice abroad which is good to see.
    he said something along the lines of - the best result there was from st patricks. they were out. then two goals in 86 and 90min. hertha berlin now.
    Saint Patricks Athletic Fans Team. Eircom League Supporters Cup Champions 2006. P3 W2 D1 L0 F3 A0. Thats why we're champions, Thats why we're champions, Thats why.............

all i hope is that we somehow keep the tie alive for the 2nd leg.
    Saint Patricks Athletic Fans Team. Eircom League Supporters Cup Champions 2006. P3 W2 D1 L0 F3 A0. Thats why we're champions, Thats why we're champions, Thats why.............

175 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Dodge
    Nobody's saying a LOI team is near a Bundesliga team, but we remember when Cork, (and indeed Rovers) had tight games with Bayern Munich over the years in Europe, and Hertha are not Bayern Munich quality. They're still favourites, but I wouldn't rule out a shock.

Quote Originally Posted by mypost View Post
    Nobody's saying a LOI team is near a Bundesliga team, but we remember when Cork, (and indeed Rovers) had tight games with Bayern Munich over the years in Europe, and Hertha are not Bayern Munich quality. They're still favourites, but I wouldn't rule out a shock.
    I know your age, and you certainly don't remember Rovers playing bayern...

As I've said, shocks can happen, but a poster here put the game at 50/50.

Thats just plain rubbish..

Great night in Richmond Park. One of the best atmospheres I've experienced. Fair play to Pats, they never gave up and dug deep. Pity the Hertha game is not in Inchicore. Hopefully the RDS will be full. Nice lift for the league at during such a tumultuous period.
    'And Crouch must score'

Page 51 of 56 FirstFirst ... 414950515253 ... LastLast