Thread: eircom League in Europe - 2008

International Prospect bennocelt's Avatar
    335 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by gufcfan View Post
    Congrats to Drogs.

I would hope that the next round will be televised but ye never know with the RTE crowd.

yeah hope so. wasn't even mentioned on the news last night, all about the ga again

Quote Originally Posted by gufcfan View Post
    Congrats to Drogs.

I would hope that the next round will be televised but ye never know with the RTE crowd.
    Quote Originally Posted by bennocelt View Post
    yeah hope so. wasn't even mentioned on the news last night, all about the ga again
    To be fair the Paul Galvin story is fairly big even if it's hilarious, it shows the ineptness of the GAA again(another story for another day).
    It dosn't have to be RTE to show the Kiev match, why not TG4 or Setanta, they have rights to Eircom league also.
    But I agree someone should show it.
    Esse Quam Videri

100 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Denis The Red View Post
    To be fair the Paul Galvin story is fairly big even if it's hilarious, it shows the ineptness of the GAA again(another story for another day).
    It dosn't have to be RTE to show the Kiev match, why not TG4 or Setanta, they have rights to Eircom league also.
    But I agree someone should show it.
    I remember the news last night talking about some GAA guy being suspended or something.. Is that him? And how is that bigger news than our league champions progressing in the Champions League?
    www.dundalkfc.com

Colin Scanlon - hero!

they have rights to Eircom league also.
    This isn't an Eircom League game though.
    Foot.ie's entire existence is predicated on the average idiot's inability to ignore other idiots

33 Posts
    Whats the story with tickets for next week ? They on sale at Dalymount ?

3,488 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Louth4sam View Post
    Yes it does, the saying rising tides lift all ships springs to mind. If an Irish side where to make it into the champions league it would raise people impressions of the league, could increase sponsorship, TV deals plus willingness of players to move to the league.
    That's a large enough "if" to make your point completely irrelevant.

On topic, well done to Drogheda. A bigger win than people are giving it credit.
    Last edited by pineapple stu; 24/07/2008 at 12:42 PM.

49 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by holidaysong View Post
    I remember the news last night talking about some GAA guy being suspended or something.. Is that him? And how is that bigger news than our league champions progressing in the Champions League?
    lads come on GAA is huge, look at the media it gets and crowds it pulls. dub v wex (80,000 plus). now while i agree there was hardly any proper coverage its never goin to compete with GAA. at least tv3 had an interview with doolin. surely one of them could have shown the goal ? the kiev match will be on tv id say.

Quote Originally Posted by bigmac View Post
    This isn't an Eircom League game though.
    No, but it involves an Eircom League team and surely one of the three stations with rights to Eircom League coverage could show a Champions League qualifier.

Yep, that's him.
    I don't think it's more important than Drogheda but I can understand it taking preference in the news. As Duggie said, weather we like it or not GAA is huge in this country.
    Esse Quam Videri

No, but it involves an Eircom League team and surely one of the three stations with rights to Eircom League coverage could show a Champions League qualifier.
    Only a channel with rights to the Champions League can show it. Just because other channels have rights to the LOI doesn't matter.

1,550 Posts
    So the Harps Drogheda game on Saturday night has been called off by the FAI. Fair enough, I don't agree with cancelling league games for this but can live with it- but why the hell was this only decided today? Why couldn't the FAI have said to both clubs that if Drogheda get through that this game is off. As it is Harps have a programme at the printers, ads in local papers for the game etc. I really do believe the FAI has improved but this is a joke of a decision. We can only hope the FAI compensate Harps for the money wasted on this.

(It also means we now have 5 weeks without a home game and suspensions due for Saturday carry over until the vital Galway game.)

Quote Originally Posted by Dazzy View Post
    Only a channel with rights to the Champions League can show it.
    I think that Champions' League rights are only for the group stages and anyone can show qualifying round games.

100 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Mr A View Post
    So the Harps Drogheda game on Saturday night has been called off by the FAI.... hope the FAI compensate Harps for the money wasted on this.

(It also means we now have 5 weeks without a home game and suspensions due for Saturday carry over until the vital Galway game.)
    That's not right at all. Could Harps not refuse to postpone the game?
    www.dundalkfc.com

Colin Scanlon - hero!

Quote Originally Posted by Schumi View Post
    I think that Champions' League rights are only for the group stages and anyone can show qualifying round games.
    Spot on. Qualifiers are free to negotiate their own deals

Quote Originally Posted by Dodge View Post
    Spot on. Qualifiers are free to negotiate their own deals
    Either way, both RTE and Setanta Ireland have CL rights. No reason either of them can't show the game.
    Last edited by sullanefc; 24/07/2008 at 3:07 PM. Reason: typo

well done to Drogheda. A bigger win than people are giving it credit.
    Doolin's a genius

RTE said before the Levadia game at home that they were televising the Kiev game if we got through. Not sure if its home, away or both - or RTE just trying to appease us for not showing the Levadia game.
    Hunky Dorys Park - could be worse, we could be going to Old Trafford every other week

Well Done Drogheda!

1,550 Posts
    That's not right at all. Could Harps not refuse to postpone the game?
    Nope, the FAI postponed it and there's damn all we can do.

I thought I read RTE wanted to show the lEvadia game but Drogheda wanted more money. (Like last year?)

Quote Originally Posted by Dodge View Post
    I thought I read RTE wanted to show the lEvadia game but Drogheda wanted more money. (Like last year?)
    I think the problem last year was RTE offering no money.

Hope RTE cop on and give Drogheda a fair price to show the game(s) live, would be a shame if the game isn't shown.

Page 21 of 56 FirstFirst ... 11192021222331 ... LastLast