Thread: Racism.....

Racism.....

Just a quick question, as I know virtually nothing about football in the Republic of Ireland:

Is racism a problem in the Irish game? Is there a sectarian problem?

Cheers,

Jeff

not on any organised basis no

There's always a moron or two per club who will throw our racist chants to 'impress' their mates, i can only talk about cork city games, but they are almost always told to shut up and stop being idiots.

Derry city get 'what's it like to have a queen' chants, which i guess could be deemed sectarian, but this is pretty rare and usually again the morons who don't know what derry went through up north before joining (and improving) our league.

TheRealRovers
    Never see any racism their is a bit sectarian chanting with ex Linfield players not to big of a problem.

Originally posted by tiktok
    Derry city get 'what's it like to have a queen' chants, which i guess could be deemed sectarian, but this is pretty rare and usually again the morons who don't know what derry went through up north before joining (and improving) our league.
    I don't think there's anything sectarian or malicious whatsoever about that Tiktok, it merely something which winds the opposition up, same as calling Rovers homeless (altough undoubtably there's more malicious intent in that).
    Champions!

Re: Racism.....

Originally posted by Jeff Jefty Jeff
    Is racism a problem in the Irish game? Is there a sectarian problem?

Jeff
    I have lived in London for a number of years, where Raism is more or less accepted. Racism as far as Kildare County is concerned does not exist, you do get the ref is a ****er etc, which comes from 12/13 year olds from watching sky. Kildare County is more or less a family club, you can see babies at matches.
    Any condescension detected in this post is fully unintentional and is solely the perception of the reader. If I think you're an idiot, I'll tell you that. You won't need to intuit it.

yeah colm, i think you're right, i was just stretching for an example to be honest and it was all i could come up with. thankfully sectarianism and racism isn't a problem in the EL, long may that continue.

Exclamation ...........................................

yeah colm, i think you're right, i was just stretching for an example to be honest and it was all i could come up with. thankfully sectarianism and racism isn't a problem in the EL, long may that continue.
    Hear hear !!

This chant really annoys the feck out of me, I mean do ye not know what we went through?...Cross dressing was the only way to survive the war, although some did come to enjoy it. Plus Shirley Temple Bar is on RTE not BBC....

Thanks for the information. So, here's another quick question, out of interest. What does the Eircom League lack that Premier League football provides (apart from matches throughout the winter)? Also, out of all you supporters out there who have read this or have already replied, do you support a team in another country, like a Premier League or Scottish Premier League club?

as someone who cant afford to go to england every week the english premier league has nothing to offer me as I need to be part of a live football crowd for my footballing fix, preferably a pats crowd for a bit of a laugh

sky sports et al is just a sit down sport, some like that sorta thing, not my cup of tea

I support United, but I was brought up in Manchester and had a season ticket in the stretty and was home and away before I came over..... Try and get back 2 or 3 times a season, but that'll probably go up now with the winter close season here......

I have Sky in my house so when there's a match on I'll watch it, I like to follow the English game to follow the Irish national teams players, I don't think that interferes with following Shels, different days and now different times of the year.

As for what the premiership lacks that the EL has, atmosphere would be the main thing, espically for the clubs with Tiffo groups. That's the kind of thing that's unique to here when compared to the English league., and obviously just going to matches rather then watching them on TV is a unique experience in itself.

Excuse my ignorance, but what does Tiffo mean?

The Tiffo groups do the huge fans display you'll see at some groups, normally they get get huge Serie A style flags and banners and the like to put a fans display on before the matches and to try and get as much colour as possible, I'm sure someone could explain it better then me mind but that's pretty much it.

Originally posted by Slash/ED
    As for what the premiership lacks that the EL has, atmosphere would be the main thing, espically for the clubs with Tiffo groups. That's the kind of thing that's unique to here when compared to the English league., and obviously just going to matches rather then watching them on TV is a unique experience in itself.
    While I'd agree with the going to a live match, the whole atmosphere is a bit of misnomer.....

All ticket, all seaters are the main problem in england, and the pricing out of the game of the hard core. Having said that United now have a singing section, and up there (as the plc put it in the second tier) the atmosphere is better than anything I've seen here (sorry to those that offends)... Although still not as good as the Stretty/ United Road of old...

On the whole tifo thing - I knew of a lad who brought a flare to a United game - the dibble did charged him for firearm offences (SEI be warned)!!!!

btw Tifo is an italian crowd who supply flares, smoke bombs etc etc... I think tifo.it is their website...

500 Posts
    Inane Fact of the Day: The word 'tifo' comes from 'tifosi', the insane Italian Ferrari GP fans.

No, tifosi is the generic word used to describe all "insane" italian fans, there are Juventus tifosi, just like there are Ferrari tifosi... its just that the British media know it best from the Ferrari example

Originally posted by Macy
    While I'd agree with the going to a live match, the whole atmosphere is a bit of misnomer.....

All ticket, all seaters are the main problem in england, and the pricing out of the game of the hard core. Having said that United now have a singing section, and up there (as the plc put it in the second tier) the atmosphere is better than anything I've seen here (sorry to those that offends)... Although still not as good as the Stretty/ United Road of old...

On the whole tifo thing - I knew of a lad who brought a flare to a United game - the dibble did charged him for firearm offences (SEI be warned)!!!!

btw Tifo is an italian crowd who supply flares, smoke bombs etc etc... I think tifo.it is their website...

i personally wouldnt say the atmosphere is better its just that the atmosphere for most irish based fans of the english league is just the pub atmosphere of watchin it on sky, everytime I'll pass on this thanks

also the craic wouldnt be as good in any case in england as

a)its not local for me
    b) i wouldnt get the in-jokes/banter
    c)the game is too big and corporate over there for any real craic and many of their real fans complain that it has been poncified by big business and family nonsense

thats all I feel - could be way off havent been to agame over there in years

TheRealRovers
    Also, out of all you supporters out there who have read this or have already replied, do you support a team in another country, like a Premier League or Scottish Premier League club?
    No. I'm Rovers till I die. No one else but Rovers I hate the english Premier League