Thread: :( lONGFORD

:( lONGFORD

Well we were totally outplayed for most of the game and to be fair John Healy made some great saves in the first half which kept us in it. We had no attempts on goal in the first half, in fact not till the 73rd min or so. Always in trouble as we are all season, from corners it came as no surprise when we conceaded from one on the 50. Corner to the back post headed back across the goal to an unmarked Barrett who had time to chest and volley to the roof of the net. Two mins later and Limerick who hadn't touched the ball in the second half yet, went further behind when Purcell, Keating got in each others way and gave the ball to Barrett again who curled the ball around Healy. Longfords premier status was evident throughout the game as they passed the ball well and glided bast our midfield at will. 73rd min and Foley hits a weak shot straight at Digger O'Brien. 80th min and a corner to the back post was kneed in by Finucane. McCarthy came within inches of giving us an undeserving draw.
    Overall Limerick played ok but the fact that we play hoof ball teams week in week out in the first was the main reason as we showed in the last 15 that we could play with premier teams. If we were playing at this level every week we too would be well able for it. Remember Wterford getting hammered at the start of the season? same for us if we were up there.
    Team: Healy, O'Mahoney, Purcell, Finucane, Molem, Sugru, Sweeney, Keating, Heffernan, McCauley, McCarthy. subs Foley and White for Sugru and McCauley 65 approx. Not used, Cosgrave and Loughman. Attendance 1000 aprox. 10 euro in for all which was a joke.

Foley?

What is it - he's available for matches that are played near Sligo?
    "It's impossible to make a man understand something when his livelihood depends on him not understanding" Upton Sinclair

re

Strange one with Kieran foley alright,but with the lack of strikers on the books he's a welcome return.Longford were by far the better team and could have been four or five up at halftime such was there dominance.Limerick are capable of playing for 90 as they did for the last 15mins and really caused longford alot of problems,could have snatched a draw but it really would'nt as much as i hate to say it have been deserved.They really have an impressive setup in longford fine ground and a good side you could see why there doing so well in the premier.At the moment we envy them bigtime.

Originally posted by LFC in Exile
    Foley?

What is it - he's available for matches that are played near Sligo?
    Looks like it... Isn't he great!

And to be fair, Gael's damning indictment of the Longford goals is a bit harsh, making no mention of the fact that the second goal was brilliantly placed from outside the box.

And one other point, if we hadn't touched the ball when Longford scored their second how did the first goal come from a corner???

Originally posted by sadloserkid
    And one other point, if we hadn't touched the ball when Longford scored their second how did the first goal come from a corner???
    Jaysus, Darragh. You'd swear you'd never even seen an eL referee.
    "It's impossible to make a man understand something when his livelihood depends on him not understanding" Upton Sinclair

While I have no arguements that you came back, I still think that we took the gas right off the pedal the last 20 to let you back into it, rather than you stepping it up..... Having said that you were more impressive than Kildare - who we played in the league cup earlier in the season...

Yee surprised me. I thought yee were going to be crap but you weren't as bad as I thought you would be. It just shows the difference between the 2 leagues. We weren't great, but we did have a lot of chances, but as usual, we couldn't do things the easy way. Fair play to yee though, you put up a good fight.

P.S. Gael 353, EUR10 in was set by the FAI not us and there was more than a 1000 at it. At least 1400.

jasus slk

true it was a fine goal but that isnt taking away from the fact that it was a fu*k up by the lads! and you quoted me about not touching the ball in the second half so how did a corner come about so??? petty or what? do you know who you sound like who made you moderator? and by the way i want a full supporters club enquiry on how the two lads Deise and SLK got the only two white jerseys available??? surely as the person who broght both (well i take full credit for slk and no responsablity for deise) of them along to Limerick matches in the first place one of them should hand it over to me well worth going though if only to see there fine little stadium.

longford nighltife

Lovely stadium all right. A model for a lot of eL clubs.

Did any Limerick folk sample Longford nightlife and make it the legendary Blazers nightclub?

DE Town:

Hate to say this so bluntly but you are wrong in regards your pricing.
    FAI rules are:
    10 for Adults
    8 for Students/OAPs
    5 for children.

Your pricing was:
    10 for Adults
    10 for Students/OAPs
    5 for children.

IE - Ye overcharged students.
    "Anyone who's Soapy should be flushed and anyone who's a Deserter should be shot."
    - John Purcell (Limerick FC Commercial Manager), February 2004

Originally posted by deise deserter
    Ye overcharged students.
    How could you?!?

Ba$tards!

Agree with you - my tax euros are helping feed these scrougers and I'm not happy about it!!!!!
    "Anyone who's Soapy should be flushed and anyone who's a Deserter should be shot."

Originally posted by deise deserter
    DE Town:

Hate to say this so bluntly but you are wrong in regards your pricing.
    FAI rules are:
    10 for Adults
    8 for Students/OAPs
    5 for children.

Your pricing was:
    10 for Adults
    10 for Students/OAPs
    5 for children.

IE - Ye overcharged students.
    what are youse complaining about, limerick get half the gate....
    Reporter: "Gordan, can we have a quick word?"
    Strachan:"Velocity"

Re: jasus slk

Originally posted by gael353
    and you quoted me about not touching the ball in the second half so how did a corner come about so??? petty or what?
    Basically gael, you were doing your best John O'Waffle impression, giving everybody the idea that Longford managed to score twice without us even touching the ball, making us sound bloody useless. This was obviously ******** so I just wanted to clear it up for anybody who wasn't there. Simple really.

Originally posted by Xlex
    what are youse complaining about, limerick get half the gate....
    The cent drops......

Fine - that's okay for us. But students don't have a lot of money, and if you try to rip them off they just won't be ble to afford to come to games.