Page 2 of 8 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast

Thread: 21 Years Ago Today - Where Were You?

Quote Originally Posted by Jofspring View Post
    in a nappy rolling around on the floor
    I'm guessing the same for me. I was only two months old.
    Extratime.ie

Yo te quiero, mi querida. Sin tus besos, yo soy nada.

Abri o portão de ouro, da maquina do tempo.

Mi mamá me hizo guapo, listo y antimadridista.

Quote Originally Posted by Drumcondra 69er View Post
    Naughty naughty, the game was on during holy hour if I recall corectly!
    It was a bar in a sports club, were they covered by that?

I remember having to break out of a bar in Drogheda during a holy hour 12 years later to go to a game.

In the lounge in a hotel in spain. full of english people except me & my ma. even at 8 years old I knew to make the most of it.. kids can get away with horrendously gleeful gloating!!!

Quote Originally Posted by superfrank View Post
    I'm guessing the same for me. I was only two months old.
    You parents rolled you around on the floor when you were 2 months? Explains a bit!
    Your Chairperson,
    Gavin
    Membership Advisory Board
    "Ex Bardus , Vicis"

Anyone got a video clip of the goal??

I was ten watching the game at home in my house. I remember sitting in the corner during a break in play praying to God that we would hold out. We just about did. By that stage I had been at a good few Ireland matches and had already caught the bug.
    Last edited by gustavo; 12/06/2008 at 3:50 PM. Reason: embedding
    In Trap we trust

36 Posts
    I was 10, watched it at home, recorded it (kept it for years , no idea what happened to the tape)

then went to a fundraising fete of some sort beyond the bons hospital in tralee, met a pal of mine and we spent ages laughing at kenny samson and peter shilton. glorious day in kerry too.

was also shocked at how few people on the day had watched it. I was banging off the walls.

When Houghton scored I was probably becoming a thought in my parents minds.

My parents were gone to it so I watched it in Daddy no.2's house across the road, I'm told. Just 3 at the time, I can't remember any fundraising fete near the Bons, the glorious weather in Kerry, nor, thankfully, the hangover the day after.

Any decent sized photos?

I'm having to make do with a fairly pixellated photo of the scoreboard on my desktop at the moment.

England '88

I was 13 for the '88 finals and was fanatical about the team having avidly followed the qualifying campaign and attended all of the qualifying games with my Da for the first time and dared to dream we just might qualify.

All of this culminated in our first finals game, against the auld enemy and noone gave us an earthly.

I watched the game at home with my family.

The anticipation and tension before the game was unbearable. Don Givens and John Giles (with black hair!!!) were on the RTE panel. Some footage of Mick Byrne roaring to the supporters "We'll do dem for yis today!!!" and a roar back from the crowd.

The sheer elation of Houghton's goal - even on the players faces - I will never forget. Time appeared to stand still for a few seconds as the ball hit the net.

We rode our luck on occasion - that's undeniable - but we had a few opportunities to score again, during the seige, that our often overlooked - after some great link up play in the middle, Houghton was put through late in the first half but fluffed the square ball out for a corner and Whelan hit the bar with a volley in the 2nd half.

Finally, the nail biting, tortuous wait for the ref's whistle for time up and the release when the victory was sealed.

To celebrate, all of the kids in the area ran through the estate with a tricolour bursting with pride until we reached the green. We played our own match then with various re-enactions of the winning goal we had just witnessed.

Off in the distance we could see older lads with Flagons on top of the Ballymun flats - leaping around like lunatics.

There was a T-shirt doing the rounds with a Team Group photo taken just before kick -off - "On the 12th June 1988 - These men made history" - and I don't think that's a major overstatement.

One of the happiest days of my life.
    Quoting years at random since 1975

FORMERLY: Youwerethereray Traps Cat's Avatar
    Remember it like it was yesterday Wolfie - remember the auld fella nearly jumped through a plate glass window when we scored!!
    "The cat is in it, but it's open - and it's a wild cat"

170 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by G Spain
    The greatest day in Ireland's history bar none (and no I did not leave out the word football by mistake)
    I am genuinely impressed at your lot's powers of recall. I can't remember all the details of games we won two or three years ago.

Quote Originally Posted by Youwerethereray View Post
    Remember it like it was yesterday Wolfie - remember the auld fella nearly jumped through a plate glass window when we scored!!
    Somewhere, he's running still....................................
    Quoting years at random since 1975

Quote Originally Posted by irishultra View Post
    When Houghton scored I was probably becoming a thought in my parents minds.
    well your fathers anyhow

Wolfie the t-shirts were done before the actual game, how was it not an over-statement then? Before it I mean?!

I was 5 and god knows what i was at. I cant remember any of it unfortunately, though my brother tells me i should remember and "am a brat for not remembering" as he was just ond enough to fully understand what was going on.
    Last edited by paul_oshea; 12/06/2008 at 1:13 PM.

288 Posts
    I was a 4 year old, who unfortunately was born to parents with no interest in sport. I watched Italia 90 in the neighbours house because it wasn't to be seem in my gaff. I remember it even though I was 6.

I was only 7 at the time. Oblivious to the going-ons of one Ireland's greatest football achievements. Dont remember anything about football till the build up to Italia '90!
    "We didn't underestimate them. They were just a lot better than we thought."

130 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Wolfie View Post
    England '88

We rode our luck on occasion - that's undeniable - but we had a few opportunities to score again, during the seige, that our often overlooked - after some great link up play in the middle, Houghton was put through late in the first half but fluffed the square ball out for a corner and Whelan hit the bar with a volley in the 2nd half.
    True. didn't Quinn come off the bench and throw himself at a corss for a decent diving header as well.

Bonner was inspired that day, I remember the Irish times the following day had a cartoon entitled 'St. Patrick' with Bonner diving around the goals and the ghostly figure of St. Patrick in full regelia with his crozier in his hand and mitre on his head shadowing Packies every move and saving anything that got past him!

Behind the goal.......

.....pride ,tension, emotion, fear, Neckar Stadion Stuttgart had it all that sunny Sunday.The freakout for the goal remains the best of the lot, falling down steps, total incredulity written accross every face.This was soon followed by the realisation that there was 84 minutes remaining.I still have the Cork City jersey(complete with blood stains thanks to Ingerland fans) I wore that day.The German response afterwards was humbling, free beer ,backslaps, it had never felt so good to be Irish.In the hostel the following morning every fan had that high on life mood, it wasn't a dream, we had beaten England 1 nil

57 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by OwlsFan View Post
    Well, they had failed twice before

It was three times according to the T shirts "2 world wars and 1 world Cup!" on the front - "England invasion of Germany 40 years on" on the back.

It was just 2 British teams according to the locals until we won and there was obviously a lot of stuff on local tv as the attitude changed completely after the game.

Page 2 of 8 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast