Page 2 of 5 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast

Thread: Euro 2012 Scotland Ireland?

Quote Originally Posted by DaveyCakes View Post
    That's 3 cities. Not a chance in hell without at least 3 or 4 more.

The only aspect of the Scottish part of the Euro 2998 bid not to fulfill UEFA criteria was a max of 2 satida per city, and they had 3 in Glasgow. 8 stadia are required so there is nothing to prevent you using just 4 cities.

How is it irrelevant? It's very relevant.

It's irrelevant as in as long as the grounds are available for the tournament, the fact that Celtic, and not the SFA own Celtic Park, the SRFU own Murrayfield and the GAA own Croker is not relevant if they are available.

One of the first stipulations from UEFA will be that no other events will take place in any of the grounds for the duration of the torunament and for probably 2 or 3 weeks beforehand.
    Yes this would be an issue to be got around, but the starting date of the tournament could be the last week in May as in the 2002 WC, and if there is a will and desire to make it happen, well just maybe the GAA would see it to their benefit to provide the ground.

My main point is why do we as a nation have the attitude "we can not do it" I mean why not stop entering tournaments because we can not win them. We have part held the Ruby world cup, held the Ryder Cup, Special Olympics etc, We are a capable nation if we want to be.

I'm sure in the future you will see a Rugby world cup use both Lansdowne and Croke Park with possibly Scotland and Wales also co-hosting.
    Fair Play died Nov 18th 2009, Stade Francais.

We don't deserve to hold it. No infrastructure, track record or ability to cater for large crowds (Lansdowne riots).

The suggestions that the GAA would give up Croke Park in the middle of the summer is the funniest thing I have heard in a while. They would prefer to eat their young. I can see it now "sorry lads Dublin game moved to Portlaoise cos England are playing Holland"

We should bid for the U-18 or U21 & show Uefa we are not there for the glamour days.

When faced with a situation where you have to move finals due to stadium problems you don't move it to countries which need to build several stadiums, you move it to countries with stadiums already in place i.e. Spain, France etc... especially as they have hosted recently. You can't build DIY stadiums as 4 star rating is a minimum (new Lansdowne is 4 star).

Thomand park would be finished by then. Just build temporary seats at the ends. And take them down after the tournament. It's the same situation in Klagenfurt & Innsbruck there is no need for such big stadiums in these cities. The Top tier in these stadiums are temporary and will be pulled down after the Euros. Also cork city's stadium could be another possibility.

Having 2 stadiums in one city should not be a problem as Joburg has 2 for the WC 2010. 3 might be though.
    Pull my finger!!!

Quote Originally Posted by joe_barry80 View Post
    Thomand park would be finished by then. Just build temporary seats at the ends. And take them down after the tournament.
    What could possibly lead you to believe that th FAI, IRFU or government would be willing to spend so much on temporary seating. Remember that the seats used in the Austrian grounds aren't temporary at all, but permanent seats, that will then be removed. The "bucket" type seats won't be allowed.

Having 2 stadiums in one city should not be a problem as Joburg has 2 for the WC 2010. 3 might be though.
    Where the Scots/Irish bid fell down was it had 7 stadiums in 3 cities (Dublin, Edinburgh, Glasgow)

Quote Originally Posted by Greenforever
    Grounds have been listed above on thread, and if you know anything about football and stadiums the following are all well above the required standard...
    I was talking specifically about Irish football

Who owns the grounds is irrelevant
    yep, we've had no bother getting the GAA to let Irish teams use Croke Park. England v Polad should be a piece of ****

6 of 8 grounds is more than acceptable for a credible bid
    This has been proved incorrect. We weren't even recommended for consideration by the committee

386 Posts
    Lansdowne isn't even built yet

Thomond is too small - it'll have a 15,000 seating capacity. It would take a lot of expense to bring it up to the required standards for a once-off. Planning permission would be needed too and we all know what a lengthy process that can be ....

Croke Park is a non-runner as you can't say with any degree of certainity that it would be made available.

There isn't any other suitable venues in the country.

It would be much better if they looked at hosting an underage tournament as this would have more likely long-term benefits for the game in Ireland.

deleted
    Last edited by Greenforever; 12/06/2008 at 7:15 AM. Reason: reposted

Quote Originally Posted by pete View Post
    We don't deserve to hold it. No infrastructure, track record or ability to cater for large crowds (Lansdowne riots).
    Why don't we deserve to? We are consistenly improving our infrastructure. If we were using Croke Park and Lansdowne both are City Centre grounds, and very accessible already. Track record - Ryder Cup and Croke Park most weeks in the summer will host the biggest sporting crowds anywhere in the world.

Only by approaching the GAA will we see if they would be willing to allow the stadium to be used.

2 stadiums are all our part of the bid would require.

Quote Originally Posted by Greenforever View Post
    Why don't we deserve to? We are consistenly improving our infrastructure.
    Do you seriously believe that?

Track record - Ryder Cup and Croke Park most weeks in the summer will host the biggest sporting crowds anywhere in the world.
    There's traffic chaos every single week too.

2 stadiums are all our part of the bid would require.
    Have that confirmed from UEFA do you?

Tabloid talk We would have a better chance bidding for the Winter Olympics !.

Scotland would be better going it alone.

In the highly unlikely scenario that Poland /Ukraine are stripped of the Euro's( Given all uefa are worried about is 5 star hotels for themselves ) there is a country right on Polands doorstep that has everything in place - namely Germany.

Quote Originally Posted by Dodge View Post
    Do you seriously believe that?

There's traffic chaos every single week too.

Have that confirmed from UEFA do you?

Why can't we. We can if we have a positive attitude, it we have a negative one why not stay in bed and not go out the door.

Was there traffic chaos for the Ryder Cup? I only went down on the Sunday and it was no problem getting in or out. A traffic management plan would need to be implemented, but it's hardly rocket science.

Not confirmed personally but I doubt if the Scots would have made a bid with Ireland using 2 grounds if it was against the rules / criteria.

Where we differ is I believe if you want to do something you can, GO DO IT, and there is no reason why IF WE AS A NATION WANT to do something we can't do it.
    Last edited by Greenforever; 12/06/2008 at 8:05 AM.

Quote Originally Posted by Newryrep View Post
    Tabloid talk We would have a better chance bidding for the Winter Olympics !.

Scotland would be better going it alone.

In the highly unlikely scenario that Poland /Ukraine are stripped of the Euro's( Given all uefa are worried about is 5 star hotels for themselves ) there is a country right on Polands doorstep that has everything in place - namely Germany.

Scotland dont have enough Stadiums to go it alone, and if UEFA were of that opinion why not have a permanent home for hte tournament? Probably because UEFA is made up of all national associations, all with different agendas.

Cork City's new stadium is due to have a 28,000 capacity. I'm sure Arkaga would gladly add 7,000 if the government gave them a hand...
    Your Chairperson,
    Gavin
    Membership Advisory Board
    "Ex Bardus , Vicis"

57 Posts
    One of the runners up to stage the tournament was Italy. I think they are much stronger position than we are.

To use Croke Park we'd need a motion at GAA Congress to change Rule 42 (or whatever number it is now). UEFA would laugh if the FAI tried to explain what would be involved in this.

If we staged a successful UEFA Cup final in 2011 or 2012 and subsequently managed to host an U21 championship or even an U17 or U19 then we might be in the running for 2016 or 2020,

However with Swansea and Cardiff I think the Scots will try next time with the Welsh

Quote Originally Posted by Greenforever View Post
    Scotland dont have enough Stadiums to go it alone, and if UEFA were of that opinion why not have a permanent home for hte tournament? Probably because UEFA is made up of all national associations, all with different agendas.
    Greenforever, I admire your enthusiasm but

Scotland would only have to build 2 stadiums (by your reckoning) say Dundee/Dundee utd combined and upgrade Pittodrie. It makes far more sense that tying yourself to another association with a less glorious track record who own part of one stadium and has to request use of another from a hostile (at times) sporting authority.

Arent the number of teams going to be increased in the next few years to 20 then 24 which in turn will require more stadia. which may make co hosting more probable otherwise it is only the big nations who could possibly stage it

Concentrate on the football side, as lets face it, the only reason we want to co host it is that it means we dont have to qualify for it.

Quote Originally Posted by boovidge View Post
    Can't people dream?
    My dreams do not resolve around Ireland hosting football tournaments, they are currently revolving around Mrs Van der Sars or De Vaart what ever her name is

http://foot.ie/showpost.php?p=960269&postcount=7976

Given the criticism of the original bid I would be amazed if the FAI/SFA bid was considered as a suitable back-up. I think UEFA would be much more likely to use somewhere like France (Platini), Germany or even England which have imediately available stadiums and have a recent history of hosting major championships

After 2012 Scotland or IReland will not hav ea chance of holding it as the tournament is going to expand. I think the politics of Uefa gives Scotland a decent chance of stepping in to hold it as they really only need to get Wales on board and renovate one stadium. I am sure they could even do it on their own as Alex Salmond would love to host it as it would be a big help in securing a yes vote to independence.
    In Trap we trust

This talk of building new stadiums in Cork or where ever from scratch is laughable. We are talking about Euro 2012 not 2018. Have you noticed how long it takes to get planning, rezoning etc... for even a 10k stadium - just look at Drogheda.

As it stands Ireland has 0 available stadiums.

See there is a middle ground. Your first point is right your second point does not. Many countries get awarded tournaments when their stadiums are not finished etc. I agree its too late for planning etc but if a stadium is under construction and is due to be finished 2 years before the tournament, UEFA would be totally happy with that. LR would be viable. Croke Park is another issue.

The only way Ireland could step in with Scotland is to only provide 2 stadiums, 1 being LR and the other being Croke Park, but there would have to be prior agreement with the GAA.

However, Spain and Italy are ahead of us on this so one of those will get it, unless politics really comes into it and Taylor manges to get a vote in favour of Scotland.
    In Trap we trust

Quote Originally Posted by NeilMcD View Post
    After 2012 Scotland or IReland will not hav ea chance of holding it as the tournament is going to expand. I think the politics of Uefa gives Scotland a decent chance of stepping in to hold it as they really only need to get Wales on board and renovate one stadium. I am sure they could even do it on their own as Alex Salmond would love to host it as it would be a big help in securing a yes vote to independence.
    I don't see why hosting a football tournament would convince the Scottish public that breaking up the UK would be the best route to go down. Although there was a surge in Scottish nationalism after the release of Braveheart so you might be right!

Page 2 of 5 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast